Skip to main content
Read about

Kollabierte Lunge: Warum es passiert und wie es behandelt wird

Kennen Sie die Symptome: Kurzatmigkeit, plötzliche Brustschmerzen und Atembeschwerden.
·
Die Lunge ist auf einer Seite kollabiert
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated May 31, 2024

Pneumothorax-Quiz

Machen Sie einen Quiz, um herauszufinden, ob Sie Pneumothorax haben.

Pneumothorax-Quiz

Machen Sie einen Quiz, um herauszufinden, ob Sie Pneumothorax haben.

Nehmen Sie am Pneumothorax-Quiz teil

Was ist eine kollabierte Lunge?

Ein Lungenkollaps, auch Pneumothorax genannt, entsteht, wenn Luft in den Bereich zwischen der Lunge und der Brustwand, den sogenannten Pleuraraum, eindringt. Dies kann passieren, wenn sich ein Loch in der Lunge oder in der Brustwand befindet. Sie wird meist durch eine Verletzung wie einen Autounfall oder eine Schusswunde verursacht, kann aber auch bei Menschen mit Lungenerkrankungen oder starken Rauchern auftreten. Die eingeschlossene Luft macht es Ihrer Lunge unmöglich, sich normal aufzublasen.

Ein Lungenkollaps kann einen kleinen oder großen Bereich der Lunge betreffen. Zu den Symptomen gehören Brustschmerzen, Atembeschwerden oder eine erhöhte Herzfrequenz. Wenn Sie einen Lungenkollaps vermuten, ist es wichtig, umgehend einen Arzt aufzusuchen, da dies zusätzlichen Druck auf Ihre Lunge, Ihr Herz und/oder die Gefäße in Ihrer Brusthöhle ausüben kann.

Woher wissen Sie, ob Ihre Lunge kollabiert ist?

Profi-Tipp

Achten Sie auf die Anzeichen und Symptome eines Pneumothorax, damit Sie die entsprechende Behandlung in Anspruch nehmen können. —Dr. Chandra Manuelpillai

Zu den häufigsten Symptomen gehören plötzliche Atembeschwerden und Brustschmerzen. Der Schmerz kann beim Einatmen stärker sein, ein Schmerz, der als „Pleuritis“ bezeichnet wird.

Hauptsymptome

  • Plötzliche Atembeschwerden
  • Plötzlicher pleuritischer Brustschmerz

Andere Symptome, die Sie möglicherweise haben

  • Erhöhter Puls
  • Erhöhte Atemfrequenz

Was führt zum Kollaps der Lunge?

Eine traumatische Verletzung kann zum Kollaps der Lunge führen. Bei einer Schusswunde oder einem Stich führt ein Loch in der Brustwand dazu, dass Luft austritt. Wenn Sie gegen die Brust stoßen, beispielsweise gegen das Lenkrad bei einem Autounfall, kann Ihre Lunge „platzen“ und es kann zu Luftlecks kommen.

In anderen Fällen kommt es ohne ersichtlichen äußeren Grund zu einem Lungenkollaps. Beschädigtes Lungengewebe kollabiert eher. Daher besteht möglicherweise das Risiko eines Lungenkollapses, wenn Sie an einer zugrunde liegenden Lungenerkrankung leiden, zMukoviszidose Undchronisch obstruktive Lungenerkrankung(COPD) oder wenn Sie rauchen (Tabakzigaretten, Zigarren, Marihuana oder E-Zigaretten).

Ein Lungenkollaps kann auch auftreten, wenn kleine Luftbläschen, sogenannte Bläschen, die sich an der Oberseite Ihrer Lunge bilden, platzen. Dies kommt häufiger bei Männern als bei Frauen vor und tritt am wahrscheinlichsten bei Männern zwischen 20 und 40 Jahren auf, die groß und untergewichtig sind.

Ein Lungenkollaps kann auch in der Familie auftreten. Sobald eine Lunge kollabiert ist, besteht ein erhöhtes Risiko für eine weitere, manchmal innerhalb von 1–2 Jahren nach der ersten. Menschen, die in der Vergangenheit einen Lungenkollaps hatten, müssen möglicherweise bei Aktivitäten vorsichtig sein, die zu Luftdruckveränderungen führen, wie z. B. Tauchen oder Fliegen in einem drucklosen Flugzeug.

Pneumothorax-Quiz

Machen Sie einen Quiz, um herauszufinden, ob Sie Pneumothorax haben.

Nehmen Sie am Pneumothorax-Quiz teil

Was tun, wenn Sie glauben, dass Ihre Lunge kollabiert ist?

Profi-Tipp

Ein Pneumothorax kann lebensbedrohlich sein. Wenn die kollabierte Lunge groß genug ist, kann sie einen Druck auf die anderen Gefäße der Lunge, des Herzens und der Brusthöhle ausüben, was zum Tod führen kann. Holen Sie sich so schnell wie möglich eine Diagnose. —DR. Manuelpillai

Ein Lungenkollaps ist behandelbar, kann jedoch lebensbedrohlich sein. Sie sollten sich direkt an eine Notaufnahme wenden oder die Notrufnummer 911 anrufen, insbesondere wenn Sie Brustschmerzen, Atembeschwerden und Herzrasen haben. Die Symptome einer kollabierten Lunge können denen anderer schwerwiegender medizinischer Notfälle ähneln, beispielsweise einem Herzinfarkt oder einem Blutgerinnsel in der Lunge (Lungenembolie) und ein abnormaler Herzrhythmus.

Kleinere Lungenverletzungen werden unter Beobachtung und Sauerstoff behandelt. Größere Verletzungen erfordern die Platzierung eines Schlauchs in der Brusthöhle, der das Abströmen der Luft und das Aufblasen der Lunge ermöglicht.

Lungenkollaps bei Kindern

Pneumothoraces sind bei Kindern selten. Sie können jedoch bei Neugeborenen bereits in den ersten Lebenstagen auftreten. Frühgeborene sind einem höheren Risiko ausgesetzt, da ihre Lungen möglicherweise noch nicht vollständig entwickelt sind und es daher wahrscheinlicher ist, dass sie sich verletzen und ein Luftleck verursachen. Bei Kindern mit Lungenerkrankungen besteht ein höheres Risiko für einen Lungenkollaps. Kinder mit einer kollabierten Lunge leiden außerdem unter Atembeschwerden und Brustschmerzen. Es kann schwierig sein, festzustellen, ob ein jüngeres Kind einen Lungenkollaps hat, da Babys und Kleinkinder ihre Symptome schlechter äußern können. Anzeichen für einen Lungenkollaps bei Babys und Kleinkindern sind blaue Lippen, schnelles Atmen und ein Zurückziehen der Brust. Dabei sinkt die Haut zwischen den Rippen ein.

Die Behandlung ähnelt der Behandlung bei Erwachsenen.

Behandlung einer kollabierten Lunge

Es ist immer wichtig, bei Verdacht auf einen Lungenkollaps umgehend eine medizinische Behandlung in Anspruch zu nehmen. Wenn die Verletzung jedoch gering ist, kann Ihr Arzt Sauerstoff verabreichen. Mithilfe von Röntgenaufnahmen und Beobachtungen wird beurteilt, wie Ihre Lunge heilt, und Sie werden möglicherweise noch am selben Tag entlassen. Wenn die Verletzung geringfügig ist, werden Sie möglicherweise aus dem Krankenhaus entlassen und aufgefordert, sich auszuruhen, um die Lunge zu heilen. Dies kann einige Wochen mit eingeschränkten Aktivitäten bedeuten.

Wenn die Verletzung jedoch größer ist, muss der Druckunterschied durch das Luftleck korrigiert werden, damit sich die Lunge wieder aufblasen kann. Dazu wird eine Nadel oder ein Schlauch zwischen die Rippen eingeführt, um die zwischen der inneren Brustwand und den äußeren Lungen eingeschlossene Luft zu entfernen. Wenn die Luft aus diesem Raum entfernt wird, kann sich die Lunge wieder aufblasen. Sie müssen zur Beobachtung ins Krankenhaus eingeliefert werden.

Wenn es zu heilen scheint, wird die Sonde entfernt und Sie werden nach Hause entlassen. Wenn keine Besserung eintritt, benötigen Sie möglicherweise einen weiteren Eingriff oder eine Operation, um das Luftleck zu schließen.

Wenn Sie eine Thoraxdrainage benötigen, müssen Sie möglicherweise einen Spezialisten wie einen Intensivmediziner, einen Lungenarzt oder einen Herz-Thorax-Chirurgen konsultieren.

Ready to treat your pneumothorax?

We show you only the best treatments for your condition and symptoms—all vetted by our medical team. And when you’re not sure what’s wrong, Buoy can guide you in the right direction.See all treatment options
Illustration of two people discussing treatment.

Pneumothorax-Quiz

Machen Sie einen Quiz, um herauszufinden, ob Sie Pneumothorax haben.

Nehmen Sie am Pneumothorax-Quiz teil

Verhütung

Leider gibt es keine definitive Möglichkeit, einen Pneumothorax zu verhindern, da er spontan oder aufgrund eines Traumas auftreten kann.

Sie können Ihr Risiko jedoch verringern, indem Sie nicht rauchen oder dampfen. Menschen, die in der Vergangenheit einen Lungenkollaps hatten, müssen möglicherweise bei Aktivitäten vorsichtig sein, die zu Luftdruckveränderungen führen, wie z. B. Tauchen oder Fliegen in einem drucklosen Flugzeug. Diese können einen erneuten Pneumothorax verursachen.

Dr. Rx

Wenn Sie einmal einen Pneumothorax hatten, besteht ein erhöhtes Risiko, einen weiteren Pneumothorax zu entwickeln. Besprechen Sie mit Ihrem Arzt die möglichen Ursachen Ihres Pneumothorax und Möglichkeiten, ein erneutes Auftreten zu vermeiden, z. B. mit dem Rauchen aufzuhören, sowie mögliche Aktivitäten, die Sie vermeiden sollten, wie z. B. Tauchen. —DR. Manuelpillai

Share your story
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.
Dr. Le obtained his MD from Harvard Medical School and his BA from Harvard College. Before Buoy, his research focused on glioblastoma, a deadly form of brain cancer. Outside of work, Dr. Le enjoys cooking and struggling to run up-and-down the floor in an adult basketball league.

Was this article helpful?

1 person found this helpful
Tooltip Icon.
Read this next
Slide 1 of 4

Skip to main contentSkip to accessibility services
5 min read
No Ads

Collapsed Lung: Why It Happens & How It’s Treated

Know the symptoms: Shortness of breath, sudden chest pain, and difficulty breathing.
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated July 21, 2021

Try our free symptom checker

Get a thorough self-assessment before your visit to the doctor.

What is a collapsed lung?

A collapsed lung, also called a pneumothorax, occurs when air enters the area between the lung and the chest wall, known as the pleural space. This can happen if there is a hole in the lung or in the chest wall. It’s usually caused by an injury, like a car accident or gunshot wound, but can also occur in people with lung disease or heavy smokers. The trapped air makes it impossible for your lung to inflate normally.

A collapsed lung can affect a small or large area of the lung. Symptoms include chest pain, difficulty breathing, or an elevated heart rate. It’s important to seek prompt medical treatment if you suspect a collapsed lung, since it can place additional pressure on your lungs, heart, and/or vessels in your chest cavity.

How do you know if your lung has collapsed?

Pro Tip

Be aware of the signs and symptoms of a pneumothorax so that you can seek the appropriate care. —Dr. Chandra Manuelpillai

The most common symptoms include sudden difficulty breathing and chest pain. The pain may be sharper when you breathe in, a pain known as “pleuritic.”

Main symptoms

  • Sudden difficulty breathing
  • Sudden pleuritic chest pain

Other symptoms you may have

  • Increased heart rate
  • Increased rate of breathing

What causes lungs to collapse?

A traumatic injury can cause lungs to collapse. In a gunshot wound or stabbing, a hole in the chest wall causes air to leak. If you hit your chest, such as on the steering wheel in a car accident, your lung can “pop” and air can begin to leak.

In other cases, a collapsed lung occurs for no apparent external reason. Damaged lung tissue is more likely to collapse, so you may be at risk of a collapsed lung if you have underlying lung disease such as cystic fibrosis and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) or if you smoke (tobacco cigarettes, cigars, marijuana, or vaping).

A collapsed lung can also occur when small air blisters, called blebs, that develop on the top of your lungs burst. This is more common in men than women, and most likely to occur in males between 20 and 40 years old who are tall and underweight.

Collapsed lungs may also run in families. Once you have one collapsed lung, you are at an increased risk of having another one, sometimes within 1-2 years of the first. People who have had a collapsed lung in the past may need to be careful about activities that cause air pressure changes, like scuba diving or flying in an unpressurized aircraft.

What to do if you think you have a collapsed lung

Pro Tip

A pneumothorax can be life threatening. If the collapsed lung is large enough, it can cause pressure on the other lung, heart and chest cavity vessels, which can lead to death. Get a diagnosis as soon as possible. —Dr. Manuelpillai

A collapsed lung is treatable, but can be life-threatening. You should go directly to an emergency department or call 911, particularly if you are having chest pain, difficulty breathing, and heart racing. The symptoms of a collapsed lung may be similar to other serious medical emergencies, such as a heart attack, blood clot in the lungs (pulmonary embolism), and an abnormal heart rhythm.

Minor lung injuries are treated with observation and oxygen. More extensive injuries require a tube to be placed within your chest cavity, which allows air to flow out and allows your lungs to inflate.

Collapsed lung in children

Pneumothoraces are uncommon in children. However, they may occur in newborns within the first few days of life. Premature babies are more at risk since their lungs may not be fully developed and therefore more likely to get injured and cause an air leak. Children with lung disease are at greater risk of a collapsed lung. Children with a collapsed lung also experience difficulty breathing and chest pain. It may be difficult to know if a younger child has a collapsed lung since babies and toddlers are less able to voice their symptoms. Signs of a collapsed lung in babies and toddlers include blue lips, rapid breathing, and chest retraction. This is when the skin sinks between the ribs.

Treatment is similar to treatment in adults.

Collapsed lung treatment

It is always essential to get prompt medical treatment for a suspected collapsed lung. But if the injury is small, your doctor may administer oxygen. They will use X-Rays and observation to assess how your lung is healing, and you may be discharged the same day. If the injury is minor, you may be discharged from the hospital and told to rest to heal the lung. This could be a few weeks of limiting activities.

But if the injury is larger, the pressure difference from the air leak needs to be corrected to allow the lung to reinflate. This is done by inserting a needle or tube between the ribs to allow the air trapped between the inner chest wall and outer lungs to be removed. As the air is removed from that space, the lung is able to reinflate. You will need to be admitted to the hospital for observation.

If it appears to be healing, the tube will be removed and you will be discharged home. If it’s not improving, you may need another procedure or surgery to close the air leak.

If you require a chest tube, you may need to follow up with a specialist like a critical care specialist, pulmonologist, or cardiothoracic surgeon.

Prevention

Unfortunately, there is no definitive way to prevent a pneumothorax since they can occur spontaneously or due to trauma.

However, you can decrease your risk by not smoking or vaping. People who have had a collapsed lung in the past may need to be careful about activities that cause air pressure changes, like scuba diving or flying in an unpressurized aircraft. These can cause a repeat pneumothorax.

Dr. Rx

Once you have had a pneumothorax, you are at an increased risk of developing another one. Discuss with your doctor the possible causes of your pneumothorax and ways to avoid recurrence such as quitting smoking, as well as possible activities to avoid like scuba diving. —Dr. Manuelpillai

Share your story

Dr. Manuelpillai is a board-certified Emergency Medicine physician. She received her undergraduate degree in Health Science Studies from Quinnipiac University (2002). She then went on to graduated from Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Sciences/The Chicago Medical School (2007) where she served on the Executive Student Council, as well as was the alternate delegate to the AMA/ISMS-MSS Governing Council and the student representative to the Illinois State Medical Society (ISMS) Education and Health Workforce committee. She completed an internship year with UCLA-Harbor Medical Center's Department of Internal Medicine followed by an emergency medicine residency program at Boston Medical Center (2011) while also serving as the resident representative to the Massachusetts Medical Society (MMS) committee on Student Health & Sports Medicine. She then started working at Saints Medical Center (later Lowell General Hospital/Saints Campus and Main Campus) in Lowell Massachusetts where she served as the Continuous Quality Improvement Director for the emergency medicine group, as well as was the representative for the emergency department on the Sepsis, Stroke and PCI Quality Assurance and Compliance Committees. She joined Buoy Health in 2019. She currently works in multiple emergency departments both in the community and academics, as well as previously worked in multiple urgent care centers. She believes this mix of experiences has given her a unique perspective on the care of acute illnesses.

Was this article helpful?

Tooltip Icon.
Read this next