Skip to main content
Read about

Poumon effondré : pourquoi cela se produit et comment il est traité

Connaissez les symptômes : essoufflement, douleur thoracique soudaine et difficulté à respirer.
·
Poumons avec un côté effondré
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated May 31, 2024

Quiz sur le pneumothorax

Répondez à un quiz pour savoir si vous souffrez de pneumothorax.

Quiz sur le pneumothorax

Répondez à un quiz pour savoir si vous souffrez de pneumothorax.

Répondez au quiz sur le pneumothorax

Qu’est-ce qu’un poumon affaissé ?

Un poumon affaissé, également appelé pneumothorax, se produit lorsque l'air pénètre dans la zone située entre le poumon et la paroi thoracique, appelée espace pleural. Cela peut se produire s’il y a un trou dans le poumon ou dans la paroi thoracique. Elle est généralement causée par une blessure, comme un accident de voiture ou une blessure par balle, mais peut également survenir chez les personnes souffrant d’une maladie pulmonaire ou chez les gros fumeurs. L’air emprisonné empêche vos poumons de se gonfler normalement.

Un poumon effondré peut affecter une petite ou une grande partie du poumon. Les symptômes comprennent des douleurs thoraciques, des difficultés respiratoires ou une fréquence cardiaque élevée. Il est important de consulter rapidement un médecin si vous soupçonnez un collapsus pulmonaire, car cela peut exercer une pression supplémentaire sur vos poumons, votre cœur et/ou les vaisseaux de votre cavité thoracique.

Comment savoir si votre poumon s'est effondré ?

Conseil de pro

Soyez conscient des signes et symptômes d’un pneumothorax afin de pouvoir demander les soins appropriés. —Dr Chandra Manuelpillai

Les symptômes les plus courants comprennent des difficultés respiratoires soudaines et des douleurs thoraciques. La douleur peut être plus vive lorsque vous inspirez, une douleur dite « pleurétique ».

Principaux symptômes

  • Difficulté soudaine à respirer
  • Douleur pleurétique soudaine à la poitrine

Autres symptômes que vous pourriez avoir

  • Rythme cardiaque augmenté
  • Augmentation du rythme respiratoire

Qu’est-ce qui provoque l’effondrement des poumons ?

Une blessure traumatique peut provoquer l’effondrement des poumons. Lors d'une blessure par balle ou par coup de couteau, un trou dans la paroi thoracique provoque une fuite d'air. Si vous vous cognez la poitrine, par exemple contre le volant lors d'un accident de voiture, vos poumons peuvent « éclater » et de l'air peut commencer à s'échapper.

Dans d’autres cas, un poumon effondré survient sans raison externe apparente. Le tissu pulmonaire endommagé est plus susceptible de s'effondrer. Vous pourriez donc présenter un risque d'effondrement du poumon si vous souffrez d'une maladie pulmonaire sous-jacente telle quefibrose kystique etbronchopneumopathie chronique obstructive(MPOC) ou si vous fumez (cigarettes de tabac, cigares, marijuana ou vapotage).

Un poumon effondré peut également survenir lorsque de petites cloques d’air, appelées bulles, qui se développent au sommet de vos poumons éclatent. Ceci est plus fréquent chez les hommes que chez les femmes, et plus susceptible de survenir chez les hommes âgés de 20 à 40 ans, de grande taille et de poids insuffisant.

Les poumons effondrés peuvent également être héréditaires. Une fois que vous avez un poumon effondré, vous courez un risque accru d’en avoir un autre, parfois dans les 1 à 2 ans suivant le premier. Les personnes qui ont déjà eu un poumon effondré doivent faire attention aux activités qui provoquent des changements de pression atmosphérique, comme la plongée sous-marine ou le vol dans un avion non pressurisé.

Quiz sur le pneumothorax

Répondez à un quiz pour savoir si vous souffrez de pneumothorax.

Répondez au quiz sur le pneumothorax

Que faire si vous pensez avoir un poumon affaissé

Conseil de pro

Un pneumothorax peut mettre la vie en danger. Si le poumon affaissé est suffisamment gros, il peut exercer une pression sur les autres vaisseaux du poumon, du cœur et de la cavité thoracique, ce qui peut entraîner la mort. Obtenez un diagnostic le plus tôt possible. —Dr. Manuelpillai

Un poumon effondré est traitable, mais peut mettre la vie en danger. Vous devez vous rendre directement aux urgences ou appeler le 911, en particulier si vous ressentez des douleurs thoraciques, des difficultés respiratoires et des battements cardiaques. Les symptômes d'un collapsus pulmonaire peuvent être similaires à ceux d'autres urgences médicales graves, comme une crise cardiaque, un caillot de sang dans les poumons (embolie pulmonaire), et un rythme cardiaque anormal.

Les blessures mineures aux poumons sont traitées par observation et oxygène. Des blessures plus étendues nécessitent qu’un tube soit placé dans votre cavité thoracique, ce qui permet à l’air de s’écouler et à vos poumons de gonfler.

Poumon effondré chez les enfants

Les pneumothoraces sont rares chez les enfants. Cependant, ils peuvent survenir chez les nouveau-nés au cours des premiers jours de leur vie. Les bébés prématurés sont plus à risque car leurs poumons ne sont peut-être pas complètement développés et sont donc plus susceptibles de se blesser et de provoquer une fuite d'air. Les enfants atteints d’une maladie pulmonaire courent un plus grand risque d’effondrement du poumon. Les enfants présentant un poumon affaissé éprouvent également des difficultés respiratoires et des douleurs thoraciques. Il peut être difficile de savoir si un enfant plus jeune présente un poumon affaissé, car les bébés et les tout-petits sont moins capables d'exprimer leurs symptômes. Les signes d'un poumon affaissé chez les bébés et les tout-petits comprennent des lèvres bleues, une respiration rapide et une rétraction thoracique. C'est à ce moment-là que la peau s'enfonce entre les côtes.

Le traitement est similaire au traitement chez les adultes.

Traitement des poumons effondrés

Il est toujours essentiel d’obtenir un traitement médical rapide en cas de suspicion d’affaissement pulmonaire. Mais si la blessure est légère, votre médecin pourra vous administrer de l’oxygène. Ils utiliseront des radiographies et des observations pour évaluer la guérison de vos poumons, et vous pourrez peut-être sortir le jour même. Si la blessure est mineure, vous pourrez sortir de l'hôpital et vous demander de vous reposer pour guérir le poumon. Cela pourrait représenter quelques semaines de limitation des activités.

Mais si la blessure est plus importante, la différence de pression due à la fuite d’air doit être corrigée pour permettre au poumon de se regonfler. Cela se fait en insérant une aiguille ou un tube entre les côtes pour permettre à l'air emprisonné entre la paroi thoracique interne et les poumons externes d'être éliminé. À mesure que l’air est éliminé de cet espace, le poumon est capable de se regonfler. Vous devrez être admis à l’hôpital pour observation.

S’il semble guérir, le tube sera retiré et vous rentrerez chez vous. Si la situation ne s’améliore pas, vous aurez peut-être besoin d’une autre procédure ou d’une intervention chirurgicale pour colmater la fuite d’air.

Si vous avez besoin d'un drain thoracique, vous devrez peut-être faire un suivi auprès d'un spécialiste comme un spécialiste des soins intensifs, un pneumologue ou un chirurgien cardiothoracique.

Ready to treat your pneumothorax?

We show you only the best treatments for your condition and symptoms—all vetted by our medical team. And when you’re not sure what’s wrong, Buoy can guide you in the right direction.See all treatment options
Illustration of two people discussing treatment.

Quiz sur le pneumothorax

Répondez à un quiz pour savoir si vous souffrez de pneumothorax.

Répondez au quiz sur le pneumothorax

La prévention

Malheureusement, il n'existe aucun moyen définitif de prévenir un pneumothorax, car il peut survenir spontanément ou à la suite d'un traumatisme.

Cependant, vous pouvez réduire votre risque en ne fumant pas et en ne vapotant pas. Les personnes qui ont déjà eu un poumon effondré doivent faire attention aux activités qui provoquent des changements de pression atmosphérique, comme la plongée sous-marine ou le vol dans un avion non pressurisé. Ceux-ci peuvent provoquer un pneumothorax répété.

Dr Rx

Une fois que vous avez eu un pneumothorax, vous courez un risque accru d’en développer un autre. Discutez avec votre médecin des causes possibles de votre pneumothorax et des moyens d'éviter les récidives, comme arrêter de fumer, ainsi que des activités possibles à éviter comme la plongée sous-marine. —Dr. Manuelpillai

Share your story
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.
Dr. Le obtained his MD from Harvard Medical School and his BA from Harvard College. Before Buoy, his research focused on glioblastoma, a deadly form of brain cancer. Outside of work, Dr. Le enjoys cooking and struggling to run up-and-down the floor in an adult basketball league.

Was this article helpful?

Tooltip Icon.
Read this next
Slide 1 of 4

Skip to main contentSkip to accessibility services
5 min read
No Ads

Collapsed Lung: Why It Happens & How It’s Treated

Know the symptoms: Shortness of breath, sudden chest pain, and difficulty breathing.
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated July 21, 2021

Try our free symptom checker

Get a thorough self-assessment before your visit to the doctor.

What is a collapsed lung?

A collapsed lung, also called a pneumothorax, occurs when air enters the area between the lung and the chest wall, known as the pleural space. This can happen if there is a hole in the lung or in the chest wall. It’s usually caused by an injury, like a car accident or gunshot wound, but can also occur in people with lung disease or heavy smokers. The trapped air makes it impossible for your lung to inflate normally.

A collapsed lung can affect a small or large area of the lung. Symptoms include chest pain, difficulty breathing, or an elevated heart rate. It’s important to seek prompt medical treatment if you suspect a collapsed lung, since it can place additional pressure on your lungs, heart, and/or vessels in your chest cavity.

How do you know if your lung has collapsed?

Pro Tip

Be aware of the signs and symptoms of a pneumothorax so that you can seek the appropriate care. —Dr. Chandra Manuelpillai

The most common symptoms include sudden difficulty breathing and chest pain. The pain may be sharper when you breathe in, a pain known as “pleuritic.”

Main symptoms

  • Sudden difficulty breathing
  • Sudden pleuritic chest pain

Other symptoms you may have

  • Increased heart rate
  • Increased rate of breathing

What causes lungs to collapse?

A traumatic injury can cause lungs to collapse. In a gunshot wound or stabbing, a hole in the chest wall causes air to leak. If you hit your chest, such as on the steering wheel in a car accident, your lung can “pop” and air can begin to leak.

In other cases, a collapsed lung occurs for no apparent external reason. Damaged lung tissue is more likely to collapse, so you may be at risk of a collapsed lung if you have underlying lung disease such as cystic fibrosis and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) or if you smoke (tobacco cigarettes, cigars, marijuana, or vaping).

A collapsed lung can also occur when small air blisters, called blebs, that develop on the top of your lungs burst. This is more common in men than women, and most likely to occur in males between 20 and 40 years old who are tall and underweight.

Collapsed lungs may also run in families. Once you have one collapsed lung, you are at an increased risk of having another one, sometimes within 1-2 years of the first. People who have had a collapsed lung in the past may need to be careful about activities that cause air pressure changes, like scuba diving or flying in an unpressurized aircraft.

What to do if you think you have a collapsed lung

Pro Tip

A pneumothorax can be life threatening. If the collapsed lung is large enough, it can cause pressure on the other lung, heart and chest cavity vessels, which can lead to death. Get a diagnosis as soon as possible. —Dr. Manuelpillai

A collapsed lung is treatable, but can be life-threatening. You should go directly to an emergency department or call 911, particularly if you are having chest pain, difficulty breathing, and heart racing. The symptoms of a collapsed lung may be similar to other serious medical emergencies, such as a heart attack, blood clot in the lungs (pulmonary embolism), and an abnormal heart rhythm.

Minor lung injuries are treated with observation and oxygen. More extensive injuries require a tube to be placed within your chest cavity, which allows air to flow out and allows your lungs to inflate.

Collapsed lung in children

Pneumothoraces are uncommon in children. However, they may occur in newborns within the first few days of life. Premature babies are more at risk since their lungs may not be fully developed and therefore more likely to get injured and cause an air leak. Children with lung disease are at greater risk of a collapsed lung. Children with a collapsed lung also experience difficulty breathing and chest pain. It may be difficult to know if a younger child has a collapsed lung since babies and toddlers are less able to voice their symptoms. Signs of a collapsed lung in babies and toddlers include blue lips, rapid breathing, and chest retraction. This is when the skin sinks between the ribs.

Treatment is similar to treatment in adults.

Collapsed lung treatment

It is always essential to get prompt medical treatment for a suspected collapsed lung. But if the injury is small, your doctor may administer oxygen. They will use X-Rays and observation to assess how your lung is healing, and you may be discharged the same day. If the injury is minor, you may be discharged from the hospital and told to rest to heal the lung. This could be a few weeks of limiting activities.

But if the injury is larger, the pressure difference from the air leak needs to be corrected to allow the lung to reinflate. This is done by inserting a needle or tube between the ribs to allow the air trapped between the inner chest wall and outer lungs to be removed. As the air is removed from that space, the lung is able to reinflate. You will need to be admitted to the hospital for observation.

If it appears to be healing, the tube will be removed and you will be discharged home. If it’s not improving, you may need another procedure or surgery to close the air leak.

If you require a chest tube, you may need to follow up with a specialist like a critical care specialist, pulmonologist, or cardiothoracic surgeon.

Prevention

Unfortunately, there is no definitive way to prevent a pneumothorax since they can occur spontaneously or due to trauma.

However, you can decrease your risk by not smoking or vaping. People who have had a collapsed lung in the past may need to be careful about activities that cause air pressure changes, like scuba diving or flying in an unpressurized aircraft. These can cause a repeat pneumothorax.

Dr. Rx

Once you have had a pneumothorax, you are at an increased risk of developing another one. Discuss with your doctor the possible causes of your pneumothorax and ways to avoid recurrence such as quitting smoking, as well as possible activities to avoid like scuba diving. —Dr. Manuelpillai

Share your story

Dr. Manuelpillai is a board-certified Emergency Medicine physician. She received her undergraduate degree in Health Science Studies from Quinnipiac University (2002). She then went on to graduated from Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Sciences/The Chicago Medical School (2007) where she served on the Executive Student Council, as well as was the alternate delegate to the AMA/ISMS-MSS Governing Council and the student representative to the Illinois State Medical Society (ISMS) Education and Health Workforce committee. She completed an internship year with UCLA-Harbor Medical Center's Department of Internal Medicine followed by an emergency medicine residency program at Boston Medical Center (2011) while also serving as the resident representative to the Massachusetts Medical Society (MMS) committee on Student Health & Sports Medicine. She then started working at Saints Medical Center (later Lowell General Hospital/Saints Campus and Main Campus) in Lowell Massachusetts where she served as the Continuous Quality Improvement Director for the emergency medicine group, as well as was the representative for the emergency department on the Sepsis, Stroke and PCI Quality Assurance and Compliance Committees. She joined Buoy Health in 2019. She currently works in multiple emergency departments both in the community and academics, as well as previously worked in multiple urgent care centers. She believes this mix of experiences has given her a unique perspective on the care of acute illnesses.

Was this article helpful?

Tooltip Icon.
Read this next