Skip to main content
Read about

Symptômes, causes et questions courantes de l'engourdissement de la bouche

·
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated August 21, 2023

Quiz sur l'engourdissement de la bouche

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de votre engourdissement.

Un engourdissement autour et sur la bouche survient généralement lors d'une réaction allergique à certains aliments ou produits chimiques. Un bouton de fièvre ou un faible taux de calcium peuvent également provoquer un engourdissement de la bouche. Poursuivez votre lecture pour plus d’informations sur les différentes causes et comment traiter les picotements dans la bouche.

Quiz sur l'engourdissement de la bouche

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de votre engourdissement.

Répondez au quiz sur l'engourdissement de la bouche

Symptômes d'engourdissement de la bouche

La plupart des gens décrivent l’engourdissement comme une perte de sensation ou de sensation dans une partie du corps. Vous pouvez ressentir un engourdissement dans la main après vous être endormi sur un bras tordu ou un engourdissement dans la jambe après être resté assis trop longtemps dans la même position ; cependant, l’engourdissement autour de la bouche n’est généralement pas courant. L’engourdissement de la bouche, également connu sous le nom d’engourdissement périoral, peut sembler étrange et déconcertant. L'engourdissement est souvent temporaire, mais contrairement au soulagement rapide de symptômes tels que l'engourdissement des mains, l'engourdissement périoral peut être plus difficile à résoudre. Par conséquent, il est important de faire un suivi auprès de votre médecin et d’obtenir les soins appropriés dès que vous remarquez des symptômes.

Caractéristiques communes de l'engourdissement de la bouche

Les caractéristiques associées à l’engourdissement de la bouche comprennent :

  • Paresthésie : Le terme médical désignant l'engourdissement est la paresthésie. Les paresthésies sont définies comme des sensations cutanées sans cause physique apparente. Les paresthésies comprennent des sensations telles que des picotements, des picotements ou des engourdissements – des sensations que beaucoup définissent comme des « fourmillements ».
  • Tétanie : La tétanie est le terme médical désignant une augmentation de l'irritabilité neuromusculaire périphérique. Cela signifie que lenerfs périphériques, les nerfs de tout le corps sont surexcités, ce qui entraîne une stimulation répétitive des muscles. Cette hyperexcitabilité peut se traduire par des manifestations à la fois sensorielles (paresthésies) et motrices (contractions). La tétanie est une caractéristique qui résulte de causes spécifiques qui seront abordées plus loin dans cet article.

Symptômes d'accompagnement courants

L'engourdissement de la bouche peut être associé à de nombreuses affections différentes et les symptômes peuvent varier. Les symptômes associés à un engourdissement de la bouche peuvent inclure :

  • Fièvre
  • Gonflement
  • Démangeaison
  • Faiblesse
  • Douleur faciale
  • Raideur
  • Maladresse
  • Douleurs ou crampes musculaires
  • Hyperventilation (respiration très rapide)
  • Diaphorèse (transpiration)

L'engourdissement de la bouche provoque

La cause de ces sensations est généralement due à une perturbation, une pression ou une irritation passagère des nerfs.dans la zone touchée. De nombreuses conditions différentes peuvent entraîner de tels dommages et sont classées dans les groupes suivants :

Causes inflammatoires

L’inflammation est la réponse du corps aux blessures et aux processus étrangers. C’est le signal permettant au système immunitaire de s’activer et de travailler pour résoudre le problème sous-jacent.

  • Allergique: Si votre langue entre en contact avec un aliment, un produit chimique ou une substance que votre corps et votre système immunitaire reconnaissent comme nocif, elle peut enfler et devenir picotée et engourdie à cause de la réaction. C’est la façon dont votre corps vous dit qu’il souhaite que vous arrêtiez d’ingérer la substance déclenchante.
  • Auto-immune : De nombreuses maladies amènent le corps à s’attaquer lui-même, provoquant une inflammation généralisée. Ces maladies inflammatoires peuvent également affecter les nerfs dans et autour de la bouche et provoquer des blessures entraînant un engourdissement. Des maladies telles que la sclérose en plaques et le lupus sont des exemples de telles maladies auto-immunes.
  • Infectieux: Les infections bactériennes telles que la maladie de Lyme et les infections virales multiples telles que le zona peuvent provoquer une inflammation et des lésions nerveuses entraînant un engourdissement et une paralysie du visage. Cette paralysie peut s’étendre également à la bouche et autour de la langue.

Causes de déséquilibre/carence

Il existe de nombreux électrolytes, vitamines et autres substances métaboliques que le corps doit maintenir en équilibre. Cet équilibre est appelé homéostasie et les déséquilibres de ce processus peuvent entraîner des effets secondaires tels qu’un engourdissement.

  • Déséquilibre vitaminique : Certaines vitamines sont essentielles au bon fonctionnement nerveux, comme les vitamines D et B12. Au fil du temps, des carences en ces vitamines peuvent entraîner des lésions nerveuses et des blessures. À l’inverse, une exposition excessive à la vitamine B6 peut provoquer des engourdissements.
  • Déséquilibre minéral : Certains minéraux présents dans l’organisme, comme le calcium, sont essentiels au fonctionnement général de l’organisme. De faibles niveaux de calcium, appelés hypocalcémie, peuvent entraîner des picotements autour de la bouche et d'autres symptômes tels qu'une hyperventilation et des crampes musculaires.

Maladie systémique

Les maladies systémiques font référence à des affections qui peuvent affecter plusieurs systèmes et processus organiques.

  • Système nerveux central: Un engourdissement de la langue ou autour du mois peut souvent être le symptôme signalant des affections du système nerveux central telles que des migraines ou des accidents vasculaires cérébraux imminents.
  • Diabète:Les déséquilibres en sucre affectent égalementla façon dont fonctionnent tes nerfs, provoquant un engourdissement et des picotements dans la bouche, la langue et d'autres parties du corps.
  • Hypoparathyroïdie: Une condition qui amène les glandes parathyroïdes à produire moins d’hormone parathyroïdienne. Cela entraîne de faibles niveaux de calcium dans le sang, ce qui peut provoquer un engourdissement ou des picotements dans la bouche.
  • Accident vasculaire cérébral: La circulation sanguine dans le cerveau a été bloquée par un caillot. Les symptômes comprennent une faiblesse, un engourdissement et une paralysie d'un côté du visage et/ou du corps ; troubles de l'élocution; vision anormale; et un mal de tête soudain et sévère. Un mini-accident vasculaire cérébral ou un accident ischémique transitoire peut provoquer des symptômes similaires.

Plaies et piqûres

  • Certaines araignées peuvent provoquer des engourdissements et des réactions plus graves comme des nausées, des maux d'estomac, des vomissements, de la fièvre ou des étourdissements.

Causes liées à l'anxiété/au stress

Chez certaines personnes, l’engourdissement de la bouche peut être un symptôme de stress et d’anxiété. Parfois, les crises de panique (apparition soudaine de peur ou d'inconfort) peuvent provoquer des symptômes tels que des palpitations cardiaques et une hyperventilation qui peuvent provoquer les mêmes troubles électrolytiques ci-dessus et entraîner un engourdissement de la bouche.

Traitements et soulagement de l'engourdissement de la bouche

Traitements à domicile

Le traitement de l’engourdissement de la bouche dépend fortement de la cause spécifique. Si vous présentez des symptômes, il est important de prendre rendez-vous avec votre professionnel de la santé afin d'obtenir le diagnostic approprié avant de traiter vos symptômes à la maison. Votre médecin peut vous suggérer les remèdes maison suivants en fonction de votre diagnostic :

  • Déséquilibre minéral : Si une carence en vitamine ou en minéral est à l’origine de votre engourdissement buccal, votre médecin vous suggérera une supplémentation. Par exemple, des suppléments de calcium et de vitamine D peuvent être trouvés en vente libre et peuvent être très efficaces pour traiter vos symptômes.
  • Allergies : Si vous présentez une réaction allergique, arrêtez de consommer la substance déclenchante.

Quand consulter un médecin

Si vous présentez plusieurs symptômes associés en plus de votre engourdissement de la bouche, tels que de la fièvre, un gonflement, des douleurs musculaires ou faciales, c'est une raison supplémentaire pour consulter votre médecin et obtenir un diagnostic approprié. Vos symptômes sont plus graves et peuvent nécessiter des soins hospitaliers plus immédiats.

Quand c'est une urgence

L'engourdissement de la bouche peut être associé à de graves troubles métaboliques pouvant entraîner des complications potentiellement mortelles telles que des convulsions et une insuffisance cardiaque. Si vous ressentez des symptômes de difficultés respiratoires graves ou de difficulté à reprendre votre souffle (hyperventilation), consultez immédiatement un médecin.

De plus, si vous ressentez des symptômes de difficultés d’élocution, d’affaissement du visage ou de faiblesse au point que vous ne pouvez pas utiliser d’autres parties du corps, appelez immédiatement le 911. Cela pourrait être le signe d’un accident vasculaire cérébral.

Si vous ressentez un engourdissement de la langue en plus d'une respiration sifflante ou de difficultés respiratoires, de difficultés à avaler, d'un serrement de gorge ou d'urticaire, appelez également immédiatement le 911. Cela pourrait être le signe d’une réaction allergique grave.

La prévention

Les stratégies préventives comprennent des remèdes simples tels que :

  • Nutrition adéquat: Manger une gamme équilibrée de fruits et légumes qui fournissent suffisamment de vitamines et de minéraux.
  • Maintenir de faibles niveaux de stress : Si vos symptômes sont précipités par le stress, des remèdes tels que le yoga, l’exercice et la méditation peuvent aider à contrôler les symptômes.

FAQ sur l’engourdissement de la bouche

Qu'est-ce qu'une crise de panique ?

Les attaques de panique sont des épisodes discrets et spontanés de peur intense qui surviennent brusquement et peuvent durer de quelques minutes à une heure. Certaines personnes peuvent connaître des épisodes récurrents et souffrir de trouble panique.

L'engourdissement de la bouche est-il le signe d'un accident vasculaire cérébral ?

Un engourdissement soudain n’importe où sur le corps, mais en particulier sur le visage et les extrémités, peut être le signe d’un accident vasculaire cérébral et nécessite des soins médicaux immédiats. Voici un moyen rapide de se souvenir des signes d’un AVC et de ce qu’il faut faire : Agissez « RAPIDEMENT »

  • F-VISAGE : Demandez à la personne de sourire. Un côté du visage s’affaisse-t-il ?
  • A - ARMES : Demandez à la personne de lever les deux bras. Un bras dérive-t-il vers le bas ?
  • S - DISCOURS : Demandez à la personne de répéter une phrase simple. Leur élocution est-elle difficile ou étrange ?
  • T - HEURE : Si vous observez l’un de ces signes, appelez immédiatement le 9-1-1.

L'engourdissement de la bouche peut-il être associé à l'anxiété ?

Des engourdissements et des picotements dans des endroits comme la bouche et les doigts sont des symptômes courants d'anxiété et de stress. Ces symptômes peuvent précipiter des épisodes d’anxiété mais peuvent également survenir en raison de manifestations d’anxiété telles que l’hyperventilation.

Quels sont les symptômes de l’anaphylaxie ?

L'anaphylaxie est une réaction allergique grave. Les symptômes peuvent commencer comme légers et inclure des signes tels qu'une éruption cutanée ou un écoulement nasal, mais peuvent rapidement évoluer vers des symptômes graves tels que des difficultés respiratoires, un gonflement, une oppression de la gorge, de l'urticaire, des nausées et/ou des vomissements.

Quel type de suppléments dois-je prendre pour prévenir l’engourdissement de la bouche ?

Un engourdissement de la bouche et autour de la bouche peut être précipité par un faible taux de calcium dans le sang (hypocalcémie). Des suppléments tels que le calcium et la vitamine D peuvent aider à traiter l'hypocalcémie et vos symptômes. En fonction de la cause spécifique de vos symptômes, vous pouvez prendre les suppléments pendant une courte période ou à long terme.

Questions que votre médecin peut poser sur l'engourdissement de la bouche

  • Où es-tu engourdi dans ta bouche ?
  • Votre gorge vous démange ou est irritée ?
  • Avez-vous une éruption cutanée ?
  • Détendez votre visage. Demandez à quelqu'un d'autre de vous tapoter le coin de la bouche. Votre lèvre ou votre visage tremble-t-il à chaque pression ? (C'est ce qu'on appelle le signe de Chvostek.)

Auto-diagnostiquez avec notre service gratuitAssistant bouée si vous répondez oui à l'une de ces questions.

Share your story
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.
Dr. Rothschild has been a faculty member at Brigham and Women’s Hospital where he is an Associate Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School. He currently practices as a hospitalist at Newton Wellesley Hospital. In 1978, Dr. Rothschild received his MD at the Medical College of Wisconsin and trained in internal medicine followed by a fellowship in critical care medicine. He also received an MP...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

1 person found this helpful
Tooltip Icon.

References

  1. Fong J, Khan A. Hypocalcemia: updates in diagnosis and management for primary care. Can Fam Physician. 2012;58(2):158-62. NCBI Link
  2. Levin MC. Numbness. Merck Manual Consumer Version. Updated November 2016. Merck Manual Consumer Version Link
  3. Diabetic Neuropathy. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. NIDDK Link
  4. Act FAST. National Stroke Association. National Stroke Association Link
  5. Anaphylaxis. American College of Allergy Asthma & Immunology. Reviewed Jan. 29, 2018. ACAAI Link

Skip to main contentSkip to accessibility services
7 min read
No Ads

Mouth Numbness Symptoms, Causes & Common Questions

Tooltip Icon.
Last updated August 27, 2020

Mouth numbness questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your numbness.

Numbness around and on the mouth commonly occurs during an allergic reaction to certain foods or chemicals. A cold sore or low calcium levels can also cause the mouth to feel numb. Read on for more information on different causes and how to treat a tingling mouth.

Mouth numbness questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your numbness.

Mouth numbness symptom checker

Mouth numbness symptoms

Most people describe numbness as a loss of sensation or feeling in a body part. You may feel numbness in your hand after falling asleep on a crooked arm or numbness in the leg after sitting in the same position for too long; however, numbness around the mouth is not usually a common occurrence. Mouth numbness, also known as perioral numbness, can feel strange and disconcerting. The numbness is often temporary, but unlike being able to find quick relief for symptoms such as hand numbness, perioral numbness may be more difficult to resolve. As a result, it is important to follow-up with your doctor and get appropriate care as soon as you notice symptoms.

Common characteristics of mouth numbness

Characteristics associated with mouth numbness include:

  • Paresthesia: The medical term for numbness is paresthesia. Paresthesias are defined as dermal sensations with no apparent physical cause. Paresthesias include sensations such as prickling, tingling, or numbness — sensations many define as “pins and needles.”
  • Tetany: Tetany is the medical term for an increase in peripheral neuromuscular irritability. This means that the peripheral nerves, the nerves throughout the body, are overexcited, resulting in repetitive stimulation of the muscles. This hyper-excitability can result in both sensory (paresthesia) and motor (twitching) manifestations. Tetany is a characteristic that results from specific causes that will be discussed later in this article.

Common accompanying symptoms

Mouth numbness can be associated with many different conditions and symptoms can vary. Symptoms associated with mouth numbness may include:

  • Fever
  • Swelling
  • Itching
  • Weakness
  • Facial pain
  • Stiffness
  • Clumsiness
  • Muscle pain or cramping
  • Hyperventilation (breathing very fast)
  • Diaphoresis (sweating)

Mouth numbness causes

The cause of these sensations is usually due to transient disruption, pressure, or irritation to nerves in the affected area. Many different conditions can result in such damage, and are categorized into the following groups:

Inflammatory causes

Inflammation is the body’s response to injury and foreign processes. It is the signal for the immune system to activate and work to fix the underlying problem.

  • Allergic: If your tongue comes into contact with a food, chemical or substance that your body and immune system recognizes as harmful, it may swell and become tingly and numb due to the reaction. This is your body’s way of saying that it wants you to discontinue ingesting the triggering substance.
  • Autoimmune: Many diseases result in the body attacking itself, causing widespread inflammation. These inflammatory diseases can also affect the nerves in and around the mouth and cause injury that results in numbness. Conditions such as Multiple Sclerosis and Lupus are examples of such autoimmune diseases.
  • Infectious: Bacterial infections such as Lyme disease and multiple viral infections such as shingles can cause inflammation and nerve injury that results in numbness and paralysis of the face. This paralysis can spread to also include the mouth and around the tongue.

Imbalance/Deficiency causes

There are many electrolytes, vitamins, and other metabolic substances that the body must maintain in balance. This balance is called homeostasis and imbalances in this process can result in side effects such as numbness.

  • Vitamin imbalance: There are certain vitamins that are essential to healthy nerve function such as vitamins D and B12. Deficiencies in these vitamins over time can lead to nerve damage and injury. Conversely, exposure to too much vitamin B6 can cause numbness.
  • Mineral imbalance: There are certain minerals in the body such as calcium that are essential to the body’s general functioning. Low levels of calcium, called hypocalcemia, can lead to tingling around the mouth and other symptoms such as hyperventilation and muscle cramps.

Mouth numbness questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your numbness.

Mouth numbness symptom checker

Systemic disease

Systemic diseases refer to conditions that can affect multiple organ systems and processes.

  • Central nervous system: Numbness of the tongue or around the month can often be the signaling symptom of central nervous system conditions such as imminent migraines or strokes.
  • Diabetes: Sugar imbalances also affect the way your nerves function, causing numbness and tingling in the mouth, the tongue, and other body parts.
  • Hypoparathyroidism: A condition that causes the parathyroid glands to produce less parathyroid hormone. This leads to low levels of calcium in the blood, which can cause numbness or tingling in the mouth.
  • Stroke: Blood flow in the brain has been blocked by a clot. Symptoms include weakness, numbness, and paralysis on one side of the face and/or body; slurred speech; abnormal vision; and sudden, severe headache. A mini stroke or transient ischemic attack can cause similar symptoms.

Sores and bites

  • Some spiders can cause numbness and more serious reactions like nausea, stomach ache, vomiting, fever, or dizziness.

Anxiety/Stress-related causes

In some individuals, mouth numbness may be a symptom of stress and anxiety. Sometimes panic attacks (abrupt onset of fear or discomfort) can cause symptoms such as heart palpitations and hyperventilation that can cause the same electrolyte disturbances above and result in mouth numbness.

Mouth numbness treatments and relief

At-home treatments

Treatment for mouth numbness is very dependent on the specific cause. If you are experiencing symptoms, it is important to make an appointment with your healthcare provider in order to get the appropriate diagnosis before treating your symptoms at home. Your healthcare provider may suggest the following at-home remedies depending on your diagnosis:

  • Mineral imbalance: If a deficiency in a vitamin or mineral is the reason for your mouth numbness, your healthcare provider will suggest supplementation. For example, calcium and vitamin D supplements can be found over-the-counter and can be very effective in treating your symptoms.
  • Allergies: If you are experiencing an allergic reaction, stop consuming the triggering substance.

When to see a doctor

If you are experiencing multiple associated symptoms in addition to your mouth numbness such as fever, swelling, muscle or facial pain, this is more of a reason to see your doctor and get an appropriate diagnosis. Your symptoms are more severe and may need more immediate in-hospital care.

When it is an emergency

Mouth numbness can be associated with serious metabolic disturbances that can result in life-threatening complications such as seizures and heart failure. If you experience symptoms of severe difficulty breathing or catching your breath (hyperventilation), seek immediate medical attention.

Furthermore, if you experience any symptoms of speech difficulty, facial drooping, or weakness to the point you cannot other body parts, call 911 immediately. These could be signs of a stroke.

If you experience tongue numbness in addition to wheezing or trouble breathing, difficulty swallowing, throat tightness, or hives, also call 911 immediately. These could be signs of a serious allergic reaction.

Prevention

Preventative strategies include simple remedies such as:

  • Proper nutrition: Eating a balanced range of fruits and vegetables that provide adequate vitamins and minerals.
  • Maintaining low stress levels: If your symptoms are precipitated by stress, remedies such as yoga, exercise and meditation may help to control symptoms.

Mouth numbness questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your numbness.

Mouth numbness symptom checker

FAQs about mouth numbness

What is a panic attack?

Panic attacks are unprompted, discrete episodes of intense fear that happen abruptly and can last anywhere from minutes to an hour. Some people can experience recurrent episodes and suffer from panic disorder.

Is numbness of the mouth a sign of a stroke?

Sudden-onset numbness anywhere in the body, but especially the face and extremities, can be a sign of stroke and requires immediate medical attention. Here is a quick way to remember the signs of stroke and what to do: Act “FAST”

  • F - FACE: Ask the person to smile. Does one side of the face droop?
  • A - ARMS: Ask the person to raise both arms. Does one arm drift downward?
  • S - SPEECH: Ask the person to repeat a simple phrase. Is their speech slurred or strange?
  • T - TIME: If you observe any of these signs, call 9-1-1 immediately.

Can numbness in the mouth be associated with anxiety?

Numbness and tingling in places like the mouth and fingers are common symptoms of anxiety and stress. These symptoms can precipitate episodes of anxiety but can also occur due to manifestations of anxiety such as hyperventilation.

What are symptoms of anaphylaxis?

Anaphylaxis is a severe allergic reaction. Symptoms can start out as mild and include signs such as rash or runny nose, but can quickly progress to serious symptoms such as trouble breathing, swelling, throat tightness, hives, nausea, and/or vomiting.

What type of supplements should I take to prevent mouth numbness?

Numbness of the mouth and around the mouth can be precipitated by low calcium in the blood (hypocalcemia). Supplements such as calcium and vitamin D can help treat the hypocalcemia and your symptoms. Depending on the specific cause of your symptoms, you may take the supplements for a short period of time or long-term.

Questions your doctor may ask about mouth numbness

  • Where in your mouth are you numb?
  • Does your throat feel itchy or irritated?
  • Do you have a rash?
  • Relax your face. Have someone else tap the corner of your mouth. Does your lip or face twitch with each tap? (This is known as Chvostek's sign.)

Self-diagnose with our free Buoy Assistant if you answer yes on any of these questions.

Share your story
Dr. Rothschild has been a faculty member at Brigham and Women’s Hospital where he is an Associate Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School. He currently practices as a hospitalist at Newton Wellesley Hospital. In 1978, Dr. Rothschild received his MD at the Medical College of Wisconsin and trained in internal medicine followed by a fellowship in critical care medicine. He also received an MP...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

Tooltip Icon.

References

  1. Fong J, Khan A. Hypocalcemia: updates in diagnosis and management for primary care. Can Fam Physician. 2012;58(2):158-62. NCBI Link
  2. Levin MC. Numbness. Merck Manual Consumer Version. Updated November 2016. Merck Manual Consumer Version Link
  3. Diabetic Neuropathy. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. NIDDK Link
  4. Act FAST. National Stroke Association. National Stroke Association Link
  5. Anaphylaxis. American College of Allergy Asthma & Immunology. Reviewed Jan. 29, 2018. ACAAI Link