Skip to main content
Read about

Ulcère d'estomac : les 2 principales causes

Les ulcères d’estomac sont une affection douloureuse mais traitable. Apprenez à les prévenir.
·
Estomac jaune avec deux séries de cercles concentriques bruns à l’intérieur.
Tooltip Icon.
Written by Shria Kumar, MD.
Therapeutic Endoscopy Fellow, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX
Medically reviewed by
Last updated October 25, 2022

Quiz sur l'ulcère de l'estomac

Répondez à un quiz pour savoir si vous souffrez d’un ulcère à l’estomac.

Quiz sur l'ulcère de l'estomac

Répondez à un quiz pour savoir si vous souffrez d’un ulcère à l’estomac.

Répondez au quiz sur les ulcères d'estomac

Qu'est-ce qu'un ulcère à l'estomac ?

Les ulcères d’estomac peuvent se former n’importe où dans l’estomac. Ce sont des plaies ou des ruptures de la muqueuse de l’estomac et sont causées par une inflammation. Ils sont également appelés ulcères gastroduodénaux ou ulcère gastroduodénal.

L'inflammation peut provenir d'une infection bactérienne de longue date causée par la bactérie.pylori. Ou cela peut être lié à des médicaments, tels que les anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens (AINS) comme l'ibuprofène (Advil, Motrin) et l'aspirine, entre autres. Ce sont les deux causes les plus courantes.

Les ulcères d’estomac peuvent être aigus (à court terme) ou chroniques (à long terme), selon la cause.

Comment savoir si vous avez un ulcère à l’estomac ?

Vous ressentirez une douleur au centre de votre estomac, surtout après avoir mangé. La sécrétion d'acide dans l'estomac augmente pour faciliter la digestion des aliments. Cela peut irriter l’ulcère et provoquer des douleurs.

Vous pouvez également avoir des saignements (tabouret noir et goudronneux ou vomi sanglant),brûlures d'estomac, nausée et vomissements. Vous pouvez cesser d’avoir faim ou essayer d’éviter de manger à cause de la douleur, ce qui entraînera une perte de poids.

Des symptômes graves, notamment une perte de poids inexpliquée, des saignements et des vomissements, peuvent également être le signe d'autres problèmes liés à votre tractus gastro-intestinal. Il est important d’en parler à votre médecin, car il vous aidera à comprendre ce qui se passe.

Dr Rx

Symptômes que j'écoute lors du diagnostic de cette maladie : Douleur brûlante au ventre juste au-dessus du nombril, souvent aggravée ou améliorée par la consommation d'aliments, et provoquant même des réveils nocturnes. Tout signe de saignement, comme des selles noires et goudronneuses ou des vomissements de sang, m'alerte également sur la possibilité d'un ulcère. —Dr Shria Kumar

Principaux symptômes

  • Douleur abdominale (généralement au centre de votre abdomen, ne se déplace pas vers votre dos ou votre épaule et s'aggrave en mangeant)
  • Saignement (selles noires et goudronneuses ; ouvomi sanglant)
  • Brûlures d'estomac
  • Perte de poids
  • Nausées ou vomissements
  • Éviter de manger (soit parce que vous n’avez pas faim, soit à cause de la douleur que cela provoque)
  • Ballonnements
  • Se sentir rassasié
  • Difficulté ou douleur à avaler

Autres symptômes que vous pourriez avoir

  • Anémie ou faible numération globulaire. Votre médecin confirmera par une prise de sang. Bien que l’anémie puisse être causée par de nombreux autres problèmes médicaux.

Quiz sur l'ulcère de l'estomac

Répondez à un quiz pour savoir si vous souffrez d’un ulcère à l’estomac.

Répondez au quiz sur les ulcères d'estomac

Qu'est-ce qui vous rend plus susceptible d'en être atteint

Les ulcères d’estomac peuvent arriver à n’importe qui. Mais il existe quelques facteurs de risque qui rendent une personne plus susceptible d’en être atteinte, notamment des antécédents familiaux d’ulcère.

Les deux causes les plus courantes sont :

  • H pylori est une bactérie courante qui infecte plus de la moitié de la population mondiale. Elle s’acquiert souvent dans l’enfance et ne pose généralement aucun problème. La grande majorité des personnes infectées ne présentent aucun symptôme. Cependant, certains peuvent développer des ulcères d’estomac.
  • Médicaments non stéroïdiens, tels que l'aspirine, l'ibuprofène (Motrin, Advil), le naproxène (Aleve). Ils sont souvent pris comme traitement contre la douleur ou comme prévention de l’inflammation et de la douleur articulaires ou musculaires. Parlez à votre médecin avant de commencer à prendre des non stéroïdiens. Pour certaines personnes, les non stéroïdiens doivent être pris avec un médicament antiacide afin de minimiser le développement d'ulcères d'estomac.

Il existe d’autres causes, moins courantes.

  • Ulcères de stress. Il ne s’agit pas du stress quotidien comme on le croit généralement. Ils sont causés par une maladie grave, comme des brûlures graves, un traumatisme ou un état critique dans une unité de soins intensifs.
  • Radiothérapie pour les cancers.
  • Virus.
  • Faible flux sanguin.
  • Médicaments.
  • Syndrome de Zollinger-Ellison (quantité inhabituelle d'excès d'acide).
  • Fumeur.
  • la maladie de Crohn.

Prochaines étapes

Si vous craignez d'avoir un ulcère à l'estomac, appelez votre médecin. En cas de saignement (selles ou vomissements noirs et goudronneux ou sanglants) ou de nausées et de vomissements sévères, rendez-vous aux urgences.

Ulcères d'estomac chez les enfants

Les enfants peuvent également développer des ulcères d’estomac, pour les mêmes raisons que les adultes. Mais les ulcères sont moins fréquents chez les enfants. Gardez à l’esprit que les symptômes peuvent être plus difficiles à identifier chez les enfants et les bébés (les ulcères d’estomac sont très rares chez les bébés). Il est important d'en parler avec votre pédiatre.

Qu’est-ce qui cause les ulcères à l’estomac ?

L’estomac est essentiel à la décomposition des aliments que nous mangeons. Cela signifie qu’il s’agit d’une zone très acide. La muqueuse de votre estomac est généralement dure et capable de le supporter. Mais s'il y a une inflammation, deH pylori infection ou agents non stéroïdiens, cette muqueuse peut devenir irritée, interférant avec les défenses de l’estomac. Ensuite, à cause de l’acide présent dans l’estomac, l’ulcère peut se former.

Conseil de pro

Il est très rare que le stress quotidien – qu’il s’agisse du travail, de la maison ou autre – entraîne un ulcère à l’estomac. —Dr Kumar

Traitement de l'ulcère de l'estomac

Le traitement implique généralement 1) le diagnostic de l'ulcère, 2) le diagnostic de la cause et 3) la protection contre les acides et le traitement de la cause.

Pour diagnostiquer un ulcère, un gastro-entérologue (médecin spécialisé dans les problèmes intestinaux) réalisera une endoscopie de votre tractus gastro-intestinal supérieur. Il s’agit d’un tube flexible doté d’une caméra qui est placé dans la bouche jusqu’à l’estomac. Il permet au gastro-entérologue de voir s’il y a des ulcères à l’estomac. Des biopsies peuvent être effectuées pour rechercherH pylori infection.

Les biopsies et un historique médical minutieux aideront le médecin à en déterminer la cause.

Si c'estH pylori, des antibiotiques vous seront prescrits pour traiter l’infection. Une fois que vous êtes traité pourH pylori, un nouveau test doit être effectué pour vérifier que l'infection a disparu. Habituellement, un échantillon de selles est envoyé à un laboratoire ou un alcootest est effectué pour rechercher la bactérie.

Lorsque les médicaments non stéroïdiens en sont la cause, votre médecin envisagera de réduire ou de modifier ce que vous prenez. Réduire l'acide gastrique avec un inhibiteur de la pompe à protons (comme Nexium et Prilosec) peut aider à la guérison.

Médicament

  • Antibiotiques. Même si vous commencez à vous sentir mieux après quelques jours, il est important de terminer toute la cure d’antibiotiques.
  • Médicament antiacide à haute dose. La production d'acide est réduite grâce à un inhibiteur de la pompe à protons (comme Nexium et Prilosec) pour permettre à l'estomac de guérir. Ceux-ci sont généralement utilisés à court terme (2 à 3 mois).

Ready to treat your stomach ulcer?

We show you only the best treatments for your condition and symptoms—all vetted by our medical team. And when you’re not sure what’s wrong, Buoy can guide you in the right direction.See all treatment options
Illustration of two people discussing treatment.

Quiz sur l'ulcère de l'estomac

Répondez à un quiz pour savoir si vous souffrez d’un ulcère à l’estomac.

Répondez au quiz sur les ulcères d'estomac

Conseil de pro

Demandez à votre médecin : Pourquoi ai-je eu cet ulcère ? Votre médecin peut vous aider à identifier la cause la plus probable de votre ulcère. Si c'était la bactérie de l'estomac, traitez-la ! S'il s'agit de beaucoup de non stéroïdiens, vous pourrez peut-être passer à des médicaments alternatifs. —Dr. Kumar

Suivi

Quelques mois après avoir traité un ulcère, vous subirez une autre endoscopie. Il s’agit de vérifier que la muqueuse de l’estomac est complètement guérie.

La prévention

La meilleure façon de prévenir les ulcères d’estomac est de toujours informer votre médecin des médicaments que vous prenez. Particulièrement important pour les médicaments en vente libre, comme les non stéroïdiens.

En fonction de vos antécédents médicaux, votre médecin peut vous suggérer de passer à d'autres médicaments, comme l'acétaminophène (Tylenol) ou des non stéroïdiens, moins susceptibles de provoquer des ulcères. Ils peuvent diminuer la dose d’agents non stéroïdiens que vous prenez. Ou prescrire des médicaments antiacides pour protéger l’estomac pendant que vous prenez des non stéroïdiens.

Share your story
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.
Dr. Le obtained his MD from Harvard Medical School and his BA from Harvard College. Before Buoy, his research focused on glioblastoma, a deadly form of brain cancer. Outside of work, Dr. Le enjoys cooking and struggling to run up-and-down the floor in an adult basketball league.

Was this article helpful?

Tooltip Icon.
Read this next
Slide 1 of 4

Skip to main contentSkip to accessibility services
5 min read
No Ads

Stomach Ulcer: Top 2 Causes

Stomach ulcers are a painful but treatable condition. Learn how to prevent them.
Tooltip Icon.
Written by
Shria Kumar, MD.
Last updated January 11, 2021

Try our free symptom checker

Get a thorough self-assessment before your visit to the doctor.

What is a stomach ulcer?

Stomach ulcers can form anywhere in the stomach. They are sores or breaks in the stomach lining and are caused by inflammation. They are also called peptic ulcers or peptic ulcer disease.

The inflammation can be from a longstanding bacterial infection from the bacteria H pylori. Or it can be related to medication, such as nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) like ibuprofen (Advil, Motrin) and aspirin, among others. These are the two most common causes.

Stomach ulcers can be acute (short-term) or chronic (long-term), depending on the cause.

How do you know if you have a stomach ulcer?

Dr. Rx

Symptoms I listen for when diagnosing this illness: Burning belly pain just above the belly button. Often made better or worse by eating foods. Sometimes causing to wake up at night. Having tarry black stools or vomiting blood. —Dr. Shria Kumar

You’ll feel pain in the center of your stomach, particularly after eating. Acid secretion in the stomach increases to help digest food. This can irritate the ulcer, causing pain.

You may also have bleeding (black, tarry stool or bloody vomit), heartburn, nausea, and vomiting. You may stop feeling hungry or try to avoid food because of the pain, leading to weight loss.

Serious symptoms, including unexplained weight loss, bleeding, and vomiting, can also be a sign of other issues with your GI tract. Talking to your doctor is important, as they will help you figure out what is going on.

Main symptoms

  • Abdominal pain (usually in the center of your abdomen, does not move to your back or shoulder, and is worse when eating)
  • Bleeding (black, tarry stool; or bloody vomit)
  • Heartburn
  • Weight loss
  • Nausea or vomiting
  • Avoidance of eating (either because you’re not hungry or the pain it causes)
  • Bloating
  • Feeling full
  • Difficulty or pain with swallowing

Other symptoms you may have

  • Anemia, or low blood counts. Your doctor would confirm with a blood test. Though anemia can be caused by many other medical issues.

What makes you more likely to have it

Stomach ulcers can happen to anyone. But there are a few risk factors that make someone more likely to get it, including a family history of ulcer disease.

The two most common causes are:

  • H pylori is a common bacteria that infects over half the world’s population. It’s often acquired in childhood, and usually causes no issues. The vast majority of people who have the infection never have any symptoms. However, some can develop stomach ulcers.
  • Nonsteroidal medications, such as aspirin, ibuprofen (Motrin, Advil), naproxen (Aleve). Often these are taken as a treatment for pain or prevention for joint or muscle inflammation and pain. Talk to your doctor before starting nonsteroidals. For some people, nonsteroidals should be taken with an antacid medication, to minimize developing stomach ulcers.

There are other, less common, causes.

  • Stress ulcers. These are not from day-to-day stress as widely believed. They are caused by severe illness, such as severe burns, trauma, or being critically ill in an intensive care unit.
  • Radiation therapy for cancers.
  • Viruses.
  • Low blood flow.
  • Medications.
  • Zollinger-Ellison syndrome (unusual amount of excess acid).
  • Smoking.
  • Crohn's disease.

Next steps

If you are worried you have a stomach ulcer, call your doctor. If bleeding—black and tarry or bloody stool or vomit—or have severe nausea and vomiting, go to the ER.

Stomach ulcers in children

Children can also develop stomach ulcers, for similar reasons as adults. Though it is less common. Keep in mind that symptoms may be harder to figure out in children and babies (stomach ulcers are very rare in babies). Talking with your pediatrician is important.

What causes ulcers in the stomach?

The stomach is essential to breaking down the foods we eat. This means it is a high acid area. The lining of your stomach is generally tough and able to handle it. But if there is inflammation, from H pylori infection or nonsteroidal agents, this lining can become irritated, interfering with the stomach’s defenses. Then, because of the acid in the stomach, the ulcer may form.

Pro Tip

It is very rare that everyday stress—think work, home, or otherwise—results in a stomach ulcer. —Dr. Kumar

Stomach ulcer treatment

Pro Tip

Ask your doctor: Why did I get this ulcer? Your doctor can help pinpoint the most likely cause of your ulcer. If it was the stomach bacteria, treat it! If it was lots of nonsteroidals, you may be able to switch to alternative medications. —Dr. Kumar

Treatment usually involves 1) diagnosing the ulcer, 2) diagnosing the cause, and 3) providing acid protection and treating the cause.

To diagnose an ulcer, a gastroenterologist (doctor who specializes in intestinal problems) will do an endoscopy of your upper gastrointestinal tract. It’s a flexible tube with a camera that is placed through the mouth, into the stomach area. It allows the gastroenterologist to see if there are ulcers in the stomach. Biopsies may be taken to look for H pylori infection.

The biopsies and a careful medical history will help the doctor figure out the cause.

If it’s H pylori, you’ll be prescribed antibiotics to treat the infection. Once you are treated for H pylori, a repeat test should be done to check that the infection is gone. Usually, a stool sample is sent to a laboratory or a breath test is done to look for the bacteria.

When nonsteroidal medications are the cause, your doctor will consider lowering or changing what you are taking. Reducing stomach acid with a proton pump inhibitor (like Nexium and Prilosec) can help with healing.

Medication

  • Antibiotics. Even if you start to feel better after a few days, it’s important to finish the entire course of antibiotics.
  • High-dose acid suppression medication. Acid production is lessened with a proton pump inhibitor (like Nexium and Prilosec) to allow the stomach to heal. These are usually used short-term (2 to 3 months).

Follow up

A few months after treating an ulcer, you will have another endoscopy. This is to check that the stomach lining is completely healed.

Prevention

The best way to prevent stomach ulcers is to always let your doctor know about any medications you are taking. Especially important for over-the-counter medications, like nonsteroidals.

Depending on your medical history, your doctor may suggest switching to other medications, such as acetaminophen (Tylenol) or nonsteroidals that are less likely to cause ulcers. They may decrease the dose of the nonsteroidals you are taking. Or prescribe antacid medication to protect the stomach while taking the nonsteroidals.

Share your story

Dr. Kumar is a gastroenterologist, who completed her fellowship at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia. She received her undergraduate degrees in Religious Studies and Chemistry from New York University (2010) and graduated from the Albert Einstein College of Medicine (2014), where she was inducted into the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society. She is completing her therapeutic endoscopy fellowship at MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston. She joined Buoy Health in 2020. She believes in the importance of patients being educated about their health, and joined Buoy in order to be part of a platform that helps disseminate clear and verified advice directly to patients.

Was this article helpful?

Tooltip Icon.
Read this next