Skip to main content
Read about

Pertes vaginales : ce que signifient les différentes couleurs et odeurs

Un guide complet pour comprendre les pertes vaginales, y compris les couleurs, les odeurs et les causes.
·
Tooltip Icon.
Written by Renita Kim, MD, MPH.
Minimally Invasive Gynecologic Surgery, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai in New York
Last updated August 28, 2023

Quiz sur les pertes vaginales

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de votre congé.

Quiz sur les pertes vaginales

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de votre congé.

Répondez au quiz sur les pertes vaginales

Mesdames (et messieurs curieux), le sujet d'aujourd'hui n'est peut-être pas le plus sexy, mais il s'agit d'un aspect important de la santé de chaque femme : les pertes vaginales. Les pertes vaginales sont un sujet qui intéresse de nombreuses femmes et dont elles souhaitent discuter, mais qui hésitent à en parler. C'est pourquoi chez Buoy Health, nous voulions en savoir plus sur ce processus corporel naturel, ce qui est normal et ce à quoi il faut faire attention.

Pour en savoir plus sur les pertes vaginales, nous avons contacté Renita Kim, MD MPH, résidente en obstétrique et gynécologie au Brigham and Women's Hospital et au Massachusetts General Hospital. Voici ce que le Dr Kim avait à dire.

Pertes vaginales normales vs pertes anormales

Pertes vaginales normales

Un écoulement normal ou « physiologique » est sain et c’est quelque chose que l’on s’attend à avoir tous les jours. Lorsque vous vous entraînez ou pratiquez d’autres activités physiques, votre décharge a tendance à augmenter. Vous remarquerez généralement :

  • Une décharge claire
  • Un écoulement blanchâtre
  • Aucune odeur nauséabonde
  • Pertes vaginales aqueuses
  • Pertes vaginales fines ou filandreuses
  • Pendant l'ovulation : Un petit saignement qui, mélangé aux sécrétions vaginales normales, provoque des pertes brunes.
  • Volume varié : Le volume peut également changer. Vous pourriez en consommer un peu tous les jours, ou rien certains jours et beaucoup d’autres jours. Fondamentalement, il existe un large éventail de ce qui est normal, mais il est important de savoir ce qui est normal pour votre corps.

Décharge de grossesse

Les femmes actuellement enceintes ont tendance à avoir plus de pertes que la moyenne. Tellement et cela pourrait en fait être si humide qu’ils auraient l’impression d’uriner ou de perdre de l’urine. Parfois, les pertes peuvent être si abondantes que certaines femmes pensent qu'elles ont perdu les eaux.

Pertes vaginales anormales

Les signes de pertes vaginales anormales sont :

  • Écoulement postménopausique de couleur brune : Cela pourrait être le signe de problèmes d’organes tels que le cancer. Allez voir un médecin.
  • Décharge épaisse
  • Écoulement nauséabond
  • Décharge verte
  • Écoulement avec démangeaisons

Ce sont des signes d’infection ou d’IST. Lisez ci-dessous les causes.

Enfin, si vous êtes enceinte :

  • Écoulement sanglant : Au début de la grossesse, cela pourrait être le signe d’une fausse couche.

Qu’est-ce que les pertes vaginales ?

Définir la décharge

Qu’est-ce que les pertes vaginales ? Il s’agit essentiellement d’un mélange de glaire cervicale et de sécrétions vaginales. Les pertes vaginales « normales » semblent différentes pour de nombreuses femmes. La plupart du temps, vous n’avez rien à craindre, car vos pertes vaginales sont normales. Cependant, certains types sont anormaux et pourraient être le signe d’une infection.

La peau à l’intérieur du vagin et du col de l’utérus va toujours produire une sorte d’écoulement. Il s’agit d’une fonction corporelle normale ou physiologique qui maintient le vagin en bonne santé. Cependant, les pertes peuvent parfois avoir certaines couleurs, odeurs ou textures qui peuvent être le signe de changements physiologiques ou d'une infection.

Couleurs de décharge et ce qu'elles signifient

Il existe de nombreux types de pertes vaginales, regroupées en fonction de leur couleur et de leur consistance. Il est difficile d’isoler la couleur seule, car il faudrait prendre en compte certains facteurs comme l’âge du patient, ses comportements, son cycle menstruel et d’autres symptômes. Mais fondamentalement, les couleurs peuvent signifier ce qui suit :

Décharge jaune

Les pertes vaginales jaunes sont généralement normales, mais voici quelques signes indiquant que ce n’est pas le cas. Généralement, un écoulement jaune est anormal lorsqu’il s’agit :

  • Épais
  • Gros
  • Malodorant

Cette forme d'écoulement peut être une indication d'une infection à trichomonase, qui se transmet fréquemment lors des rapports sexuels. Cela est particulièrement vrai si l'écoulement est jaune-verdâtre. Bien que de nombreuses femmes atteintes de chlamydia ou de gonorrhée ne présentent aucun symptôme, celles qui en présentent peuvent ressentir ce type d'écoulement.

Écoulement jaune après un rapport sexuel

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, un écoulement jaune épais, volumineux ou nauséabond, accompagné notamment de démangeaisons, est un signe d'IST après un rapport sexuel. Les IST pourraient être la trichomonase, la gonorrhée et la chlamydia pour les pertes jaunes. Le VPH se traduit généralement par un écoulement sanglant, brun ou aqueux avec une odeur. Veuillez en savoir plus sur les IST en détail dans la section « Causes des décharges anormales » ci-dessous.

Décharge verte

Les pertes vaginales vertes sont généralement anormales et évocatrices d’une infection. Un écoulement épais, volumineux et nauséabond n'est pas normal mais pourrait être le signe d'une maladie sexuellement transmissible comme la trichomonase.

Décharge blanche

Un peu de pertes blanches, particulièrement au début ou à la fin de votre cycle menstruel, est normal. Cependant, si l’écoulement est suivi de démangeaisons et s’il a une consistance épaisse avec une texture de fromage blanc, cela pourrait signifier une infection à levures. Je dirais qu'un écoulement blanc laiteux peut être normal ou suggérer une infection selon qu'il se passe autre chose, comme des démangeaisons, une odeur ou des douleurs pelviennes. S’il existe l’un de ces autres symptômes, cela pourrait être le signe d’une vaginose bactérienne ou d’une IST.

Écoulement clair et aqueux

Parfois, une femme peut avoir un écoulement clair et aqueux. Ceci est tout à fait normal et peut arriver à tout moment du mois. Cela peut être particulièrement lourd après les débrayages.

Décharge brune

Si une femme a des pertes vaginales brunes pendant ses règles ou vers la fin de celles-ci, cela devrait être normal. Une décharge tardive à la fin de vos règles peut paraître brune au lieu de rouge. Il s’agit probablement simplement de sang dans les pertes ou de taches entre les règles. Si vous remarquez l’heure normale de vos règles et que vous n’avez pas eu de rapports sexuels non protégés, cela pourrait indiquer que vous êtes enceinte. En savoir plus surrepérage. Des pertes brunes ou des taches au début de la grossesse pourraient être le signe d’une fausse couche. Vous devriez consulter un médecin pour vous en assurer.

Pertes brunes après la ménopause

Cependant, si une patiente est ménopausée, cela pourrait faire craindre un potentiel cancer des organes féminins. Dans de rares cas, des pertes brunes ou sanglantes peuvent être le signe d’un cancer du col de l’utérus avancé. C’est pourquoi il est important de se faire contrôler chaque année. Faites un examen pelvien et un test Pap afin que votre gynécologue vous examine à la recherche d'anomalies cervicales.

Causes d’écoulements anormaux, d’odeurs ou de démangeaisons

La principale cause de pertes vaginales anormales (c'est-à-dire démangeaisons, odeur nauséabonde et pertes épaisses) est l'infection, y compris les infections sexuellement transmissibles. Voici quelques causes :

Vaginose bactérienne

La vaginose bactérienne est une infection bactérienne courante. Cette infection peut entraîner un excès ou une augmentation de vos pertes vaginales. Il dégage généralement une odeur forte, nauséabonde et parfois semblable à celle du poisson. Dans certains cas, cependant, il ne présente aucun symptôme significatif. Les femmes qui ont fréquemment des relations sexuelles orales ou qui ont de nombreux partenaires sexuels ont tendance à avoir davantage ce type d'infection.

Trichomonase

C'est le deuxième type d'infection. Elle est généralement causée par un organisme unicellulaire appelé protozoaire. L'infection se contracte généralement lors d'interactions sexuelles, mais elle peut également se transmettre en partageant des serviettes ou des maillots de bain. Cette infection est généralement de couleur jaune ou verte et dégage une odeur nauséabonde. Cela peut également entraîner des douleurs, des inflammations et des démangeaisons. Cependant, quelques personnes ne ressentiraient aucun symptôme.

Décharge d’infection à levures

Une infection à levures est une infection fongique qui entraîne des pertes vaginales blanches ressemblant à du fromage cottage. Il en résulte également des sensations de brûlure et des démangeaisons. Il est normal d’avoir de la levure dans votre vagin, mais si elle se développe de manière incontrôlable, cela pourrait entraîner des infections à levures. Ce type de condition se produit fréquemment lorsque vous présentez l’une des conditions ci-dessous :

  • Stresser
  • Diabétique
  • Prendre la pilule contraceptive
  • Enceinte
  • Prendre des médicaments antibiotiques : Surtout si vous l'utilisez depuis plus de 10 jours

Gonorrhée et Chlamydia

La gonorrhée et la chlamydia sont des infections sexuellement transmissibles. Ils peuvent créer un écoulement anormal, souvent de couleur jaune, verdâtre ou trouble.

Maladie inflammatoire pelvienne

La maladie inflammatoire pelvienne est une infection fréquemment transmise par contact sexuel. Il existe lorsque les bactéries se dispersent autour du vagin et dans d’autres parties du système reproducteur de la femme. Cela peut entraîner des pertes abondantes et nauséabondes.

Virus du papillome humain (VPH) ou cancer du col de l'utérus

L'infection par le virus du papillome humain (VPH) est un cancer du col de l'utérus. Elle se transmet normalement par contact sexuel. Cela peut entraîner un cancer du col de l’utérus. Bien qu’il ne s’accompagne pas de symptômes, ce type de cancer peut entraîner des pertes sanglantes, brunes et/ou aqueuses avec une mauvaise odeur. Le cancer du col de l'utérus peut être facilement évité ou découvert lorsque vous effectuez des tests Pap annuels de routine grâce au test HPV.

Types de pertes vaginales

Enfin, quelques textures supplémentaires importantes :

Écoulement blanc épais

Une consistance épaisse, en particulier celle qui a une texture de fromage cottage, est un signe d'infection à levures. Cela est particulièrement vrai si le patient ressent des démangeaisons après la sortie.

Décharge claire et extensible

Lorsque vos pertes sont claires et extensibles ou ressemblent à du mucus au lieu de l’eau, c’est un signe que vous êtes peut-être en train d’ovuler. Il s’agit d’un écoulement sain et parfaitement normal.

Share your story
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.
Dr. Rothschild has been a faculty member at Brigham and Women’s Hospital where he is an Associate Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School. He currently practices as a hospitalist at Newton Wellesley Hospital. In 1978, Dr. Rothschild received his MD at the Medical College of Wisconsin and trained in internal medicine followed by a fellowship in critical care medicine. He also received an MP...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

Tooltip Icon.
Read this next
Slide 1 of 6

Skip to main contentSkip to accessibility services
7 min read
No Ads

Vaginal Discharge: What Different Colors & Odors Mean

A comprehensive guide to understanding vaginal discharge including colors, odors, and causes.
Tooltip Icon.
Written by
Renita Kim, MD, MPH.
Minimally Invasive Gynecologic Surgery, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai in New York
Last updated September 21, 2020

Try our free symptom checker

Get a thorough self-assessment before your visit to the doctor.

Vaginal discharge questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your discharge.

Vaginal discharge symptom checker

Ladies (and curious gentlemen), today's topic may not be the sexiest one, but it's an important aspect of every woman's health: vaginal discharge. Vaginal discharge is something that many women are curious about and want to discuss, but feel reluctant bringing up. That's why we at Buoy Health wanted to learn more about this natural body process, what's normal, and what to watch out for.

To get the skinny on vaginal discharge, we reached out to Renita Kim, MD MPH, an Obstetrics and Gynecology resident at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Massachusetts General Hospital. Here's what Dr. Kim had to say.

Normal vaginal discharge vs abnormal discharge

Normal vaginal discharge

Normal or “physiologic” discharge is healthy and something that you would expect to have every day. When you work out or engage in other physical activities, the tendency is for your discharge to increase. You’ll typically notice:

  • A clear discharge
  • A whitish discharge
  • No foul odor
  • Watery vaginal discharge
  • Thin or stringy vaginal discharge
  • During ovulation: A little bleeding, which when mixed into normal vaginal secretions causes a brown discharge.
  • Varied volume: The volume might change as well. You might have a little bit every day, or nothing on some days and a lot on other days. Basically, there is a wide range of what is normal but it is important to know what is normal for your body.

Pregnancy discharge

For women that are currently pregnant, they tend to experience more discharge than average. So much and it could actually feel so wet that they feel like are urinating or leaking urine. Sometimes there can be so much discharge that some women think they might have broken their water.

Abnormal vaginal discharge

Signs of abnormal vaginal discharge are:

  • Postmenopausal discharge that is brown in color: This could be a sign of organ issues such as cancer. Go see a doctor.
  • Thick discharge
  • Foul smelling discharge
  • Green discharge
  • Itchy discharge

These are signs of an infection or STI. Read below on causes.

Lastly, if you're pregnant:

  • Bloody discharge: During early stages of pregnancy, this could be signs of a miscarriage.

What is vaginal discharge?

Defining discharge

What is vaginal discharge? Essentially, it is just a mix of cervical mucus and vaginal secretions. “Normal” vaginal discharge looks and feels different for many women. Most of the time, you have nothing to worry about, because your vaginal discharge is normal. However, there are certain types that are abnormal and could be a sign of an infection.

The skin inside the vagina and the cervix are always going to produce some kind of discharge. It is a normal or physiological bodily function that keeps the vagina healthy. However, sometimes the discharge can have certain colors, odors, or textures that can be a sign of either physiologic changes or an infection.

Vaginal discharge questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your discharge.

Vaginal discharge symptom checker

Discharge colors and what they mean

There are a lot of types of vaginal discharge, grouped based on their color and consistency. It’s hard to isolate the color alone, as one would have to take into account certain factors like a patient’s age, behaviors, menstrual cycle, and other symptoms. But basically, the colors can mean the following:

Yellow discharge

Yellow vaginal discharge is usually normal, but here are a few signs that it's not. Generally, a yellow discharge is abnormal when it is:

  • Thick
  • Chunky
  • Smelly

This form of discharge may be an indication of trichomoniasis infection, which is frequently transmitted through sexual intercourse. This is especially true if the discharge is yellow-greenish. Although many women with chlamydia or gonorrhea have no symptoms at all, those that do may experience this type of discharge.

Yellow discharge after sex

As mentioned above, a thick, chunky or foul-smelling yellow discharge, especially accompanied by itchiness, is a sign of STI after sex. The STIs could be trichomoniasis, Gonorrhea and Chlamydia for yellow discharge. HPV usually results in a bloody, brown or watery discharge with an odor. Please read further about the STIs in detail in "Causes of Abnormal Discharge" below.

Green discharge

Green vaginal discharge is usually abnormal and suggestive of an infection. A thick, chunky and foul-smelling discharge is not normal but could be a sign of sexually transmitted disease like trichomoniasis.

White discharge

A little bit of white discharge, particularly at the start or end of your menstrual cycle, is normal. However, if the discharge is followed by itching and if it has a thick consistency with a cottage cheese texture, it could mean there is a yeast infection. I would say a milky white discharge can be anything from normal to suggestive of an infection depending on if there is anything else going on, such as itching, odor, or pelvic pain. If there are any of these other symptoms, it could be a sign of bacterial vaginosis or an STI.

Clear and watery discharge

Sometimes a woman may experience a clear and watery discharge. This is completely normal and can happen at any time of the month. It may be particularly heavy after walkouts.

Brown discharge

If a woman has brown vaginal discharge while she is menstruating or towards the tail end of a period, it should be normal. A late discharge at the end of your period can look brown instead of red. This is probably just blood in the discharge or spotting in between periods. If you experience spotting the normal time of your period and you have not had unprotected sex, it could be an indication that you are pregnant. See more on spotting. Brown discharge or spotting during early pregnacy could be a sign of miscarriage. You should see a doctor to make sure.

Brown discharge post menopausal

However, if a patient is postmenopausal, this could raise concern for a potential cancer of the female organs. In uncommon occasions, brown or bloody discharge could be a signal of advanced cervical cancer. This is why it’s significant to get yourself checked every year. Go for a pelvic exam and Pap smear so that your gynecologist will examine you for cervical abnormalities.

Vaginal discharge questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your discharge.

Vaginal discharge symptom checker

Causes of abnormal discharge, odor or itching

The major cause of abnormal vaginal discharge (i.e. itching, foul-smell, thick discharge) is infection, including sexually transmitted infections. Here are a few causes:

Bacterial Vaginosis

Bacterial vaginosis is a common bacterial infection. This infection can result to excessive or a boost in your vaginal discharge. It usually comes in a strong, foul-smelling and occasionally fish-like odor. In some instances, however, it doesn’t have any significant symptom. Women who commonly receive oral sex or who have many sexual partners tend to have more of this type of infection.

Trichomoniasis

This is second type of infection. It is usually caused by a single celled organism known as protozoan. The infection is usually contracted during sexual interactions, but it can as well be transmitted by sharing towels or bathing suits. This infection usually comes in a yellow or green color and has a foul-smelling odor. It can as well result to pain, inflammation, and itching. However, a few people would not experience any symptoms.

Yeast Infection Discharge

A yeast infection is a fungal infection that results in white, cottage cheese-like vaginal discharge. It also results in burning and itching sensations. It is normal to have yeast in your vagina but, if it grows out of hand it could result in yeast infections. This type of condition frequently occurs when you are having any of the conditions below:

  • Stress
  • Diabetic
  • Taking birth control pill
  • Pregnant
  • Taking antibiotic medication: Particularly if you have used it for more than 10 days

Gonorrhea and Chlamydia

Gonorrhea and chlamydia are sexually transmitted infections. They can create an abnormal discharge, which is frequently yellow, greenish, or cloudy in color.

Pelvic Inflammatory Disease

Pelvic inflammatory disease is an infection that is frequently transmitted through sexual contact. It exists when bacteria disperses round the vagina and into other parts of the woman’s reproductive system. It may result in a heavy and distasteful smelling discharge.

Human Papillomavirus (HPV) or Cervical Cancer

The human papilloma virus (HPV) infection is cancer of the cervix. It is normally transmitted through sexual contact. It can result in cervical cancer. Although, it may not come with symptoms, this type of cancer can result in a bloody, brown, and/or watery discharge with a bad odor. Cervical cancer can readily be prevented or discovered when you go for normal annual pap smears routine checks through HPV testing.

Types of vaginal discharge

Lastly, some additional textures that are important:

Thick white discharge

A thick consistency, especially one that has a cottage cheese texture, is a sign of yeast infection. This is particular true if the patient feels an itch following the discharge.

Clear and Stretchy Discharge

When your discharge is clear and stretchy or looks like mucus instead of water, it is a sign that you are possibly ovulating. This is a healthy and perfectly normal discharge.

Hear what 1 other is saying
Brown discharge concernPosted June 11, 2021 by J.
The guy who I have sex with once monthly for the last decade or more tricked me on Memorial Day 2021 by not wearing a condom. I exploded. I knew because after he was done I looked and he didn’t have it on. I almost never check as of recently, because I trust him after so many years but now it makes me question everything about him that he would go to that measure. June 9—that’s when I discovered a little bit of gray discharge that has extended into brown every day. I notice no smell but it’s more prevalent and I’m praying I’m not pregnant, have an infection or worse CANCER! It’s 7:33 am and my stomach is churning. I’m going to the Doc today! I have to know what’s wrong! Also, I had just recently come off my period on the 28th of May as well. It’s just that I rarely had any vaginal problems in recent years and it’s really bothering me.
Minimally Invasive Gynecologic Surgery, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai in New York

Dr. Renita Kim is an Obstetrics and Gynecology resident at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Massachusetts General Hospital, one of the leading hospitals in the country. She pursued her undergraduate at University of Southern California, followed by her MD, MPH at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai. Her colleagues describe her as data-driven, determined, and compassionate.

Was this article helpful?

Tooltip Icon.
Read this next