Skip to main content
Read about

Maladie cœliaque : causes et symptômes

La maladie coeliaque nécessite des changements majeurs dans votre alimentation, mais ils peuvent vous aider à vous sentir en meilleure santé très rapidement.
·
Un cercle bleu clair avec des bosses roses venant du bas. Ils deviennent plus foncés vers le haut.
Tooltip Icon.
Written by Adam Pont, MD, PhD.
Gastroenterology Fellow, New York Presbyterian Hospital/Columbia
Last updated February 9, 2022

Quiz sur la maladie coeliaque

Répondez à un quiz pour savoir si vous souffrez de la maladie cœliaque.

Quiz sur la maladie coeliaque

Répondez à un quiz pour savoir si vous souffrez de la maladie cœliaque.

Répondez au quiz sur la maladie cœliaque

Qu’est-ce que la maladie coeliaque ?

La maladie cœliaque provoque une inflammation du tube digestif (intestin). Lorsque vous mangez du gluten, une protéine présente dans le blé, le seigle et l'orge, votre système immunitaire attaque votre intestin grêle. Cela provoque une inflammation et entraîne de la diarrhée, une perte de poids, des douleurs abdominales et de nombreux autres symptômes.

Parce que l’inflammation rend plus difficile l’absorption des nutriments par votre corps, elle peut également entraîner des complications telles que l’anémie ferriprive, l’ostéoporose (faible densité osseuse) et d’autres maladies. Suivre un régime strict sans gluten peut aider à éliminer les symptômes.

Quels sont les symptômes de la maladie coeliaque chez l'adulte ?

Dr Rx

Symptômes que j'écoute lors du diagnostic de cette maladie : « J'ai la diarrhée depuis toujours. » "Ma mère souffrait d'anémie ou d'ostéoporose ou était très maigre malgré une bonne alimentation." "J'ai toujours été plus petit que tous mes frères et sœurs." "J'ai ces symptômes depuis des années." "J'ai toujours été anémique." —Dr Adam Point

La maladie cœliaque peut provoquer toute une gamme de symptômes chez les adultes. Cela peut provoquer de la diarrhée, des selles grasses (appelées stéatorrhée), des ballonnements, des douleurs abdominales et une perte de poids, bien que tous les adultes atteints de la maladie coeliaque ne présentent pas de symptômes du tube digestif.

Cela peut également provoquer de la fatigue, des démangeaisons, une anémie ferriprive et une faible densité osseuse. Cela peut ne provoquer aucun symptôme visible chez certaines personnes.

Symptômes courants

Autres symptômes que vous pourriez avoir

  • Fatigue
  • Éruption cutanée chronique avec démangeaisons (dermatite herpétiforme)
  • Anémie ferriprive (car les nutriments ne sont pas absorbés)
  • Densité osseuse réduite (ostéopénie ou ostéoporose)
  • Des picotements, un engourdissement ou une douleur dans les mains et les pieds (appelée neuropathie sensorielle périphérique)
  • Infertilité (chez la femme)
  • L'ataxie, qui est un syndrome neurologique qui rend difficile la coordination des mouvements

Causes de la maladie coeliaque

Presque toutes les personnes atteintes de la maladie cœliaque possèdent une variante génétique particulière. Mais avoir cette variante génétique ne garantit pas que vous contracterez la maladie. Cependant, si un parent, un frère ou une sœur souffre de la maladie cœliaque, vous courez un risque accru d’en être vous-même atteint.

La maladie cœliaque est plus fréquente chez les femmes et les personnes ayant déjà reçu un diagnostic de maladie cœliaque.syndrome du côlon irritable (IBS), diabète de type 1, maladie thyroïdienne ou syndrome de Down ou syndrome de Turner.

Conseil de pro

Il y a eu une augmentation significative du nombre de nouveaux produits alimentaires sans gluten, dont beaucoup sont disponibles dans les supermarchés locaux. Vous pourrez peut-être encore préparer plusieurs de vos plats préférés avec quelques substitutions clés. La lecture des étiquettes sera très importante lorsque vous ferez vos courses. —Dr Point

Quiz sur la maladie coeliaque

Répondez à un quiz pour savoir si vous souffrez de la maladie coeliaque.

Répondez au quiz sur la maladie cœliaque

Traitement de la maladie cœliaque

La maladie cœliaque est gérée en suivant un régime strict sans gluten pour aider à prévenir les symptômes et les complications à long terme.

Éviter le gluten dans son alimentation n’est pas facile. Cela signifie que vous ne pouvez pas manger de pain, de pâtes et d’autres aliments à base de blé. Mais la bonne nouvelle est qu’il existe de plus en plus d’aliments sans gluten, notamment du pain et des pâtes.

Néanmoins, lisez toujours attentivement les étiquettes des emballages et recherchez les inscriptions « sans gluten ». Parfois, il y a du gluten dans des aliments auxquels on ne penserait pas, comme les vinaigrettes, les cornichons, les sauces et certains aliments transformés.

Votre médecin devrait vous orienter vers un nutritionniste expérimenté qui pourra vous apprendre à manger sans gluten. Vous pouvez également visiter leFondation pour la maladie coeliaque pour plus de conseils et d'informations.

Les adultes qui reçoivent un nouveau diagnostic de maladie coeliaque peuvent avoir besoin d’un test de densité osseuse pour voir s’ils ont perdu leur densité osseuse en raison d’une maladie coeliaque non diagnostiquée.

En moyenne, l’inflammation causée par la maladie coeliaque met environ 3 ans à guérir complètement après le début d’un régime sans gluten, mais vos symptômes devraient commencer à s’améliorer au bout de quelques semaines.

Si vous avez une éruption cutanée, votre médecin pourra vous prescrire de la dapsone, un antibiotique qui a également un effet anti-inflammatoire. Dans presque tous les cas, votre médecin vous recommandera de prendre quotidiennement une multivitamine (sans gluten).

Ready to treat your celiac disease?

We show you only the best treatments for your condition and symptoms—all vetted by our medical team. And when you’re not sure what’s wrong, Buoy can guide you in the right direction.See all treatment options
Illustration of two people discussing treatment.

Que se passe-t-il lorsque vous souffrez de la maladie coeliaque ?

Le gluten, une protéine présente dans le blé, le seigle, l'orge et leurs dérivés, amène votre corps à déclencher une réponse immunitaire. De petits morceaux de gluten s’attachent aux cellules immunitaires de l’intestin grêle et déclenchent une réaction en chaîne d’événements. Cela provoque une inflammation de l’intestin.

L'inflammation endommage la muqueuse de l'intestin grêle. La muqueuse endommagée ne peut pas non plus absorber les vitamines et les minéraux, ce qui entraîne une carence en certains nutriments. Il libère également plus d’eau, ce qui provoque de la diarrhée et des douleurs abdominales.

Comment la maladie coeliaque affecte-t-elle les enfants ?

Les nourrissons et les enfants peuvent souffrir de la maladie coeliaque. Les enfants ont tendance à présenter davantage de symptômes du tube digestif, notamment de la diarrhée, des selles grasses (appelées stéatorrhée), des vomissements, des douleurs abdominales, de la constipation et une perte de poids. Ils peuvent également présenter des défauts dans l’émail des dents qui se manifestent par des dents décolorées ou piquées.

Un diagnostic précoce est important chez les enfants. Parce qu’ils sont encore en développement et en croissance, les effets de la maladie cœliaque peuvent entraîner des problèmes à long terme, notamment une croissance insuffisante et des retards de développement. Tout enfant qui ne grandit pas bien, présente des retards de développement ou présente une diarrhée chronique doit être évalué dès que possible pour la maladie cœliaque par un pédiatre.

Prochaines étapes

Si vous pensez souffrir de la maladie coeliaque, appelez votre médecin. Il existe un test sanguin qui permet de détecter certains anticorps (protéines du système immunitaire). Si votre test est positif, vous serez référé à un gastro-entérologue (spécialiste du tube digestif), qui effectuera d'autres tests pour confirmer le diagnostic.

Le gastro-entérologue réalisera une endoscopie haute, qui peut être réalisée dans un centre chirurgical ambulatoire. Pendant que vous êtes sous sédation, un mince tube flexible doté d’une petite caméra à son extrémité est inséré dans votre bouche et dans votre gorge. Le médecin peut examiner votre œsophage, votre estomac et votre intestin grêle. Et prélevez plusieurs petits échantillons de tissus (biopsies) de votre intestin grêle. Les tissus seront examinés au microscope pour confirmer un diagnostic.

Il est très important de ne pas arrêter de manger du gluten avant aprèsvous avez terminé vos tests (analyses sanguines et endoscopie) pour la maladie coeliaque. Le test peut ne pas détecter la maladie si vous évitez déjà le gluten lors du test.

Conseil de pro

Sortir dans un nouveau restaurant peut être anxiogène si vous souffrez de la maladie coeliaque. Il existe au moins une entreprise qui développe un appareil capable de tester des morceaux de vos aliments, en temps réel, pour voir s'ils contiennent du gluten. Cela pourrait servir de complément utile pour les patients atteints de la maladie cœliaque. —Dr Point

Quiz sur la maladie coeliaque

Répondez à un quiz pour savoir si vous souffrez de la maladie coeliaque.

Répondez au quiz sur la maladie cœliaque

Suivi

Vous aurez besoin d’un rendez-vous de suivi avec votre médecin dans 3 à 6 mois. Ils examineront votre alimentation, vérifieront vos symptômes et demanderont des analyses de sang. Les tests vous aideront à vous assurer que vous évitez avec succès les aliments contenant du gluten. Il assurera également un suivi de toute carence en vitamines ou autre problème détecté lors de la visite initiale.

Votre médecin fixera ensuite des rendez-vous de suivi à intervalles de 3 à 6 mois en fonction de vos progrès.

Vous devrez peut-être subir une nouvelle endoscopie dans 2 à 3 ans (ou plus tôt si les symptômes persistent) pour vous assurer que votre muqueuse intestinale guérit.

Share your story
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.
Gastroenterology Fellow, New York Presbyterian Hospital/Columbia
Dr. Pont is currently a fellow in Gastroenterology at New York Presbyterian Hospital/Columbia, where he also completed his residency in Internal Medicine. Dr. Pont received his medical degree and PhD at the New York University School of Medicine. He earned his BS in Biological Systems Engineering at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Was this article helpful?

Tooltip Icon.
Read this next
Slide 1 of 4

Celiac Disease: Causes and Symptoms

Celiac disease requires major changes to your diet, but they can make you feel healthier very quickly.

What is celiac disease?

Celiac disease causes inflammation in your digestive tract (gut). When you eat gluten—a protein in wheat, rye, and barley—your immune system attacks your small intestine. That causes inflammation, and leads to diarrhea, weight loss, abdominal pain, and many other symptoms.

Because the inflammation makes it harder for your body to absorb nutrients, it can also lead to complications like iron deficiency anemia, osteoporosis (low bone density), and other diseases. Following a strict gluten-free diet can help get rid of symptoms.

What is causing your symptoms?

Start a chat with Buoy AI assistant to find out if you have celiac disease.

Free, private, and secure to get you the best way to well. Learn about our technology.

What are the symptoms of celiac disease in adults?

Dr. Rx

Symptoms I listen for when diagnosing this illness: “I've had diarrhea forever.” “My mom had anemia or osteoporosis or was really thin despite eating well.” “I’ve always been shorter than all of my siblings.” “I’ve had these symptoms for years.” “I’ve always been anemic.” —Dr. Adam Pont

Celiac disease can cause a range of symptoms in adults. It can cause diarrhea, oily stool (called steatorrhea), bloating, belly pain, and weight loss, though not all adults with celiac have digestive tract symptoms.

It can also cause fatigue, an itchy rash, iron deficiency anemia, and low bone density. It may not cause any noticeable symptoms in some people.

Common symptoms

Other symptoms you may have

  • Fatigue
  • Chronic itchy skin rash (dermatitis herpetiformis)
  • Iron deficiency anemia (because nutrients are not absorbed)
  • Reduced bone density (osteopenia or osteoporosis)
  • Tingling, numbness, or pain in the hands and feet (called peripheral sensory neuropathy)
  • Infertility (in women)
  • Ataxia, which is a neurological syndrome that makes it hard to coordinate movement

Celiac disease causes

Almost all people with celiac disease have a particular gene variant. But having this gene variant does not guarantee you will get the disease. However, if a parent or brother or sister has celiac disease, you have an increased risk of having celiac disease yourself.

Celiac is more common in women and people previously diagnosed with irritable bowel syndrome (IBS), type 1 diabetes, thyroid disease, or Down syndrome or Turner syndrome.

Wondering if you have celiac disease?

Free, secure, and powered by Buoy advanced AI to get you the best way to better. Learn about our technology.

Treatment for celiac disease

Pro Tip

There has been a significant increase in new gluten-free food products, with many available at local supermarkets. You may still be able to make many of your favorite food dishes with some key substitutions. Reading labels will be very important when you go food shopping. —Dr. Pont

Celiac disease is managed by following a strict gluten-free diet to help prevent symptoms and long-term complications.

Avoiding gluten in your diet is not easy. It means you can't eat bread, pastas, and other wheat-based foods. But the good news is that there are more foods available—including bread and pasta—that are gluten-free.

Still, always read package labels carefully and look for “gluten-free” markings. Sometimes there is gluten in foods you wouldn’t think would have it, such as salad dressings, pickles, gravies, and some processed foods.

Your doctor should refer you to an experienced nutritionist who can teach you all about eating gluten-free. You can also visit the Celiac Disease Foundation for more advice and information.

Adults who are newly diagnosed with celiac disease should also get a bone density test to see if they’ve lost bone density from having undiagnosed celiac.

On average, the inflammation from celiac takes about 3 years to fully heal after starting a gluten-free diet, but your symptoms should start to improve within several weeks.

If you have a skin rash, your doctor might prescribe dapsone, an antibiotic that also has an anti-inflammatory effect. In almost all cases, your doctor will recommend you take a daily (gluten-free) multivitamin.

What happens when you have celiac disease?

Gluten—a protein found in wheat, rye, barley, and their derivatives—causes your body to launch an immune response. Small bits of gluten attach to immune cells in the small intestine and set off a chain reaction of events. This causes the gut to become inflamed.

The inflammation causes damage to the lining of the small intestine. The damaged lining cannot absorb vitamins and minerals as well, causing you to be deficient in certain nutrients. It also releases more water, which causes the diarrhea and abdominal pain.

How does celiac disease affect children?

Infants and children can have celiac disease. Children tend to have more symptoms of the digestive tract including diarrhea, oily stool (called steatorrhea), vomiting, belly pain, constipation, and weight loss. They may also have defects in tooth enamel that show up as discolored or pitted teeth.

Early diagnosis is important in kids. Because they are still developing and growing, the effects of celiac disease can cause long-term issues, including not growing to full height and developmental delays. Any child who is not growing well, has developmental delays, or chronic diarrhea should be evaluated for celiac disease by a pediatrician as soon as possible.

Buoy Chat Icon.
Take a thorough self-assessment on what you may have

Next steps

If you think you might have celiac disease, call your doctor. There is a blood test that can detect certain antibodies (immune system proteins). If you test positive, you will be referred to a gastroenterologist (specialist in the digestive tract), who will do more tests to confirm the diagnosis.

The gastroenterologist will perform an upper endoscopy, which can be done in an outpatient surgical center. While you are sedated, a thin flexible tube with a tiny camera at the tip is inserted into your mouth and down your throat. The doctor can examine your esophagus, stomach, and small intestine. And take several small tissue samples (biopsies) from your small intestine. The tissues will be looked at under a microscope to confirm a diagnosis.

It is very important that you don’t stop eating gluten until after you’ve completed your testing (both blood tests and endoscopy) for celiac. The test may not detect the disease if you are already avoiding gluten when tested.

Pro Tip

Going out to a new restaurant can be anxiety-inducing if you have celiac disease. There is at least one company that is developing a device that can test bits of your food, in real-time, to see if it contains gluten. This could serve as a helpful back-up for patients with celiac disease. —Dr. Pont

Follow up

You will need a follow-up appointment with your doctor in 3 to 6 months. They will review your diet, check on your symptoms, and request blood testing. The testing will help make sure you are successfully avoiding foods containing gluten. It also will follow-up on any vitamin deficiencies or other issues detected at the initial visit.

Your doctor will then schedule follow-up appointments at 3 to 6 month intervals depending on your progress.

You may need to have a repeat endoscopy in 2 to 3 years (or sooner if symptoms persist) to be sure your intestinal lining is healing.

Share your story
Was this article helpful?
Read this next
Slide 1 of 4