Skip to main content
Read about

Tremblements des mains

Les tremblements des mains peuvent être temporaires, mais ils peuvent également provenir d’une hyperactivité thyroïdienne, d’un problème neurologique ou même d’un accident vasculaire cérébral. Il est donc important d’en parler à votre médecin.
·
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated May 31, 2022

Questionnaire sur les tremblements des mains

Utilisez notre vérificateur de symptômes gratuit pour découvrir la cause de vos tremblements.

4 most common cause(s)

Accident vasculaire cérébral
Illustration of a doctor beside a bedridden patient.
La maladie de Parkinson
Illustration of a doctor beside a bedridden patient.
Essential tremor
Illustration of a health care worker swabbing an individual.
Enhanced physiological tremor

Questionnaire sur les tremblements des mains

Utilisez notre vérificateur de symptômes gratuit pour découvrir la cause de vos tremblements.

Répondez au quiz sur les tremblements des mains

Que faire en cas de tremblements des mains

Utilisez notre vérificateur de symptômes gratuit pour découvrir la cause de vos tremblements.

Vérificateur des symptômes des tremblements des mains

Que sont les tremblements des mains ?

Les tremblements sont des contractions musculaires involontaires qui provoquent des mouvements tremblants. Les tremblements peuvent entraîner des tremblements de mains, de jambes, de tête et même une voix tremblante. Différentes maladies, notamment la maladie de Parkinson, peuvent provoquer des tremblements des mains car elles endommagent les parties du cerveau qui contrôlent les mouvements. D’autres causes incluent une thyroïde hyperactive, une consommation chronique d’alcool ou une anxiété.

Vous remarquerez peut-être un tremblement de la main lorsque vous avez du mal à tenir des objets ou si vous remarquez un changement dans l'écriture manuscrite, ou lorsque quelqu'un d'autre remarque les mouvements de tremblement.

Les tremblements peuvent être différents selon la condition qui les provoque. Ces différences peuvent souvent aider à diagnostiquer la cause du tremblement.

Les médicaments sont le traitement le plus courant, mais les injections ou les interventions chirurgicales peuvent également aider à contrôler les poignées de main. Dans certains cas, les gens n’ont pas besoin de traitement.

Dr Rx

Si vos mains tremblent lorsque vous tenez quelque chose, il peut s’agir d’un tremblement essentiel. Certains tremblements sont aggravés par la pratique d'une activité, comme tenir une tasse ou utiliser une fourchette. Pour déterminer le type de tremblement, votre médecin vous posera des questions sur les difficultés que vous rencontrez avec ces tâches et pourra même vous demander de reproduire certains mouvements. —Dr. Karen Horst

Causes

1. Tremblement physiologique accru

Symptômes

  • Beaux tremblements dans les deux mains qui vont et viennent

Un tremblement physiologique accru n’est pas une maladie neurologique, mais est causé par d’autres facteurs tels que le mouvement musculaire et la circulation sanguine. La plupart du temps, le tremblement n’est pas perceptible. Mais parfois, cela peut devenir plus prononcé et visible.

Certains déclencheurs courants sont l’anxiété, la consommation de caféine, le sevrage alcoolique, l’hyperactivité thyroïdienne (hyperthyroïdie) ou certains médicaments, tels que les stimulants.

Traiter les tremblements physiologiques accrus

Pour diagnostiquer un tremblement physiologique, votre médecin vous posera des questions sur le schéma du tremblement (quand il apparaît et à quoi il ressemble) et sur vos facteurs de risque.

Le traitement consiste généralement à résoudre le problème sous-jacent, par exemple en réduisant les doses de médicaments, en réduisant la consommation de caféine ou en traitant l'hyperthyroïdie.

2. Tremblement essentiel

Symptômes

  • Une poignée de main qui s'aggrave avec le mouvement ou l'activité
  • Secouement de la tête (par exemple selon un schéma non-non)
  • Voix tremblante

Les tremblements essentiels sont la cause neurologique de tremblement la plus courante. Les personnes souffrant de tremblements essentiels des mains remarquent souvent des difficultés à accomplir des tâches, comme écrire, verser une tasse d'eau ou jouer d'un instrument. Les symptômes peuvent fluctuer avec le temps et varier en gravité, mais ils sont généralement légers lorsque vous êtes au repos.

Traiter les tremblements essentiels

Le traitement varie en fonction de l’ampleur de la gêne ressentie par les tremblements. Certaines personnes ont de très légers tremblements qui n’affectent pas leurs activités quotidiennes et peuvent ne pas vouloir le traiter. Si les tremblements sont sévères ou s’ils vous empêchent d’effectuer vos activités quotidiennes, vous aurez peut-être besoin d’un traitement.

Vous pouvez commencer avec une technologie adaptative telle que des ustensiles lestés. D'autres traitements vont des médicaments oraux comme le propranolol aux injections, comme le Botox, qui paralyse les muscles pour arrêter les tremblements.

Lorsque les tremblements sont sévères, vous pourriez avoir besoin d’une intervention chirurgicale appelée stimulation cérébrale profonde (DBS).

Que faire en cas de tremblements des mains

Utilisez notre vérificateur de symptômes gratuit pour découvrir la cause de vos tremblements.

Vérificateur des symptômes des tremblements des mains

3. La maladie de Parkinson

Symptômes

  • Tremblement
  • Mouvements rigides, raides ou lents
  • Instabilité et chutes
  • Problèmes de mémoire
  • Changement de comportement
  • Hallucinations (auditives, visuelles)

La maladie de Parkinson est un trouble neurologique qui entraîne des problèmes importants au niveau du système moteur ou du système moteur en raison d’un problème avec une substance chimique cérébrale appelée dopamine. Les symptômes classiques sont des tremblements et des mains tremblantes. Les tremblements s'aggravent avec le temps.

Contrairement aux tremblements essentiels, les tremblements surviennent principalement lorsque vous êtes au repos. Les personnes atteintes de la maladie de Parkinson ont des mouvements raides et lents, des problèmes d’équilibre et courent un risque de chute. Le tremblement peut également affecter les jambes. D’autres symptômes de la maladie de Parkinson comprennent la démence, les troubles de l’humeur comme la dépression, la psychose et les hallucinations.

Traiter la maladie de Parkinson

La maladie de Parkinson est traitée avec un médicament appelé lévodopa, qui augmente la quantité de dopamine dans le cerveau. La physiothérapie est également utile pour améliorer le mouvement et l’équilibre. Votre médecin peut vous demander d’essayer une technologie adaptative, telle que des ustensiles ou des gants lestés.

Vous pourriez avoir besoin de médicaments pour traiter d’autres symptômes, comme des antidépresseurs pour la dépression ou des émollients fécaux pour la constipation. La chirurgie, telle que la stimulation cérébrale profonde, peut réduire les symptômes physiques de la maladie de Parkinson chez certaines personnes.

4 impactes

Symptômes

  • Faiblesse d'un côté du corps
  • Faiblesse faciale ou troubles de l'élocution
  • Mal de tête soudain et intense
  • Tremblement

Accident vasculaire cérébralpeut provoquer un type spécifique de tremblement appelé tremblement rubral. Cela peut survenir lors d’un accident vasculaire cérébral et persister après l’accident vasculaire cérébral. Le tremblement rubral provoque des mouvements irréguliers et saccadés des bras ou des jambes. La situation est souvent aggravée par le mouvement.

Un accident vasculaire cérébral peut également provoquer un autre type de tremblement appelé tremblement cérébelleux, qui a tendance à se produire lorsque notre cerveau doit coordonner un mouvement spécifique, comme atteindre un objet. Cela se produit parce qu’une partie du cerveau appelée cervelet, qui contrôle la coordination, est endommagée.

Traiter l'AVC

Si vous présentez des symptômes d’accident vasculaire cérébral et développez un tremblement soudain, vous devez appeler le 9-1-1.

Le traitement comprend des médicaments pour inverser les effets d’un accident vasculaire cérébral (appelés activase plasminogène tissulaire ou tPA). Vous pouvez également recevoir des médicaments tels que de l’aspirine ou d’autres anticoagulants pour prévenir davantage d’accidents vasculaires cérébraux.

Le traitement des tremblements causés par un accident vasculaire cérébral comprend une combinaison de médicaments, tels que la lévodopa, le médicament utilisé pour la maladie de Parkinson, ou certains médicaments anti-épileptiques. Vous pourriez avoir besoin d’une intervention chirurgicale, telle qu’une stimulation cérébrale profonde.

Conseil de pro

Certains médicaments peuvent provoquer des tremblements des mains. Les médicaments de type stimulant comme le méthylphénidate, utilisé pour traiter le TDAH, et les médicaments de remplacement de la thyroïde appelés lévothyroxine, provoquent généralement des tremblements. Il en va de même pour les médicaments contre l’asthme et d’autres problèmes respiratoires, comme les stéroïdes et les inhalateurs d’albutérol. —Dr Hoerst

Autres causes possibles

D'autres conditions pouvant provoquer une poignée de main comprennent :

  • Sclérose en plaques
  • La maladie de Wilson
  • Troubles métaboliques
  • Tumeurs cérébrales

Que faire en cas de tremblements des mains

Utilisez notre vérificateur de symptômes gratuit pour découvrir la cause de vos tremblements.

Vérificateur des symptômes des tremblements des mains

Quand appeler le médecin

  • Vos tremblements s’aggravent ou interfèrent avec vos activités quotidiennes.
  • Vous remarquez un tremblement après avoir commencé ou modifié la dose d’un médicament.
  • Vous présentez d'autres symptômes associés à vos tremblements, tels que des problèmes d'équilibre, une raideur ou des difficultés d'élocution.

Conseil de pro

Essayez d'arrêter les mains tremblantes en les maintenant dans certaines positions. Dormir davantage et réduire la quantité de café que vous buvez peut également aider. Si ces stratégies ne font aucune différence, parlez-en à votre médecin. —Dr Hoerst

Dois-je aller aux urgences ?

La plupart des tremblements ne constituent pas une urgence, mais si vous avez un tremblement qui commence brusquement (en quelques minutes à une heure), vous pourriez avoir un accident vasculaire cérébral et vous devriez appeler le 911.

Traitement

Soins à domicile

  • Évitez les déclencheurs de tremblements physiologiques, tels que la caféine.
  • Techniques de relaxation pour l'anxiété si cela aggrave les tremblements
  • Technologie adaptative, telle que les ustensiles lestés

Meilleur exercice pour les tremblements des mains

Il existe des preuves selon lesquelles faire des exercices de méditation peut réduire les tremblements. Suivez-lesexercices de relaxation de l’International Essential Tremor Foundation.

Autres options de traitement

  • Médicaments contre la maladie de Parkinson, notamment la lévodopa et le propranolol, et médicaments contre les crises
  • Injections, telles que le Botox
  • Chirurgie de stimulation cérébrale profonde
Share your story
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.
Dr. Hoerst is a board-certified Neurologist. She received her undergraduate degree in Neuroscience from the University of Scranton in 2005 and Jefferson Medical College (now Sidney Kimmel Medical College) in 2009. She completed an internal medicine internship, neurology residency and vascular neurology fellowship at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital in Philadelphia (2014). After completing her...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

2 people found this helpful
Tooltip Icon.

Skip to main contentSkip to accessibility services
5 min read
No Ads

Hand Tremors

Hand tremors can be temporary but it can also be from an overactive thyroid, a neurological problem, or even stroke, so it’s important to talk to your doctor.
Table of Contents
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated October 12, 2021

Hand tremors questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your tremors.

Hand tremors questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your tremors.

Hand tremors symptom checker

What are hand tremors?

Tremors are involuntary muscle contractions that cause shaking movements. Tremor can lead to shaking hands, legs, head, and even a shaky voice. Different diseases, most notably, Parkinson’s disease, can cause hand tremor because they damage the parts of the brain that control movement. Other causes include an overactive thyroid, chronic alcohol use, or anxiety.

You may notice a hand tremor when you have trouble holding objects or you notice a change in handwriting—or when someone else notices the shaking movements. 

Tremors can look different depending on the condition that causes it. These differences can often help diagnose the cause of the tremor.

Medication is the most common treatment, but injections, or surgeries may also help control shaking hands. In some cases, people don’t need treatment.

Dr. Rx

If your hands shake when you hold something, it may be an essential tremor. Some tremors are made worse by doing an activity, like holding a cup or using a fork. To determine the type of tremor, your doctor will ask about any difficulties you have with these tasks and may even have you replicate some of the movements. —Dr. Karen Hoerst

Causes

1. Enhanced physiological tremor

Symptoms

  • Fine shaking in both hands that comes and goes

An enhanced physiological tremor is not a neurological disease, but caused by other things like muscle movement and blood flow. Most of the time, the tremor is not noticeable. But sometimes it can become more pronounced and visible.

Some common triggers are anxiety, caffeine use, alcohol withdrawal, overactive thyroid (hyperthyroidism), or certain medications, such as stimulants.

Treating enhanced physiological tremor

To diagnose physiological tremor, your doctor will ask you about the pattern of the tremor (when it appears and what it looks like) and your risk factors.

Treatment is usually fixing the underlying issue, such as reducing doses of medications, reducing caffeine use, or treating hyperthyroidism.

2. Essential tremor

Symptoms

  • Shaking in hands that is worse with movement or activity
  • Head shaking (for example in a no-no pattern)
  • Shaking voice

Essential tremor is the most common neurological cause of tremor. People with essential tremor of the hands often notice problems completing tasks, such as writing, pouring a cup of water, or playing an instrument. The symptoms may fluctuate with time and vary in severity, but they are usually mild when you are at rest.

Treating essential tremor

Treatment varies based on how much the tremor bothers you. Some people have a very mild tremor that does not affect their day-to-day activities and they may not want to treat it. If the tremor is severe or it prevents you from performing daily activities, you may need treatment.

You can start with adaptive technology such as weighted utensils. Other treatments range from oral medications like propranolol to injections, such as Botox, which paralyzes muscles to stop tremors.

When tremor is severe, you may need surgery called deep brain stimulation (DBS).

Hand tremors questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your tremors.

Hand tremors symptom checker

3. Parkinson’s disease

Symptoms

  • Tremor
  • Rigid, stiff, or slow movements
  • Instability and falls
  • Memory problems
  • Change in behavior
  • Hallucinations (auditory, visual)

Parkinson’s disease is a neurological disorder that causes significant problems with the movement or “motor” system because of a problem with a brain chemical called dopamine. Classic symptoms are tremor and shaking or trembling hands. Tremors worsen over time.

Unlike essential tremor, the tremor happens mostly when you are at rest. People with Parkinson’s disease have stiff, slow movements, balance problems, and are at risk of falls. The tremor can also affect the legs. Other symptoms of Parkinson’s include dementia, mood disorders like depression, psychosis, and hallucinations.

Treating Parkinson's disease

Parkinson’s is treated with a medication called levodopa, which increases the amount of dopamine in the brain. Physical therapy is also helpful to improve movement and balance. Your doctor may have you try adaptive technology, such as weighted utensils or gloves.

You may need medications to treat other symptoms, such as antidepressants for depression or stool softeners for constipation. Surgery, such as deep brain stimulation, can reduce the physical symptoms of Parkinson’s disease in some people.

4. Stroke

Symptoms

  • Weakness on one side of the body
  • Facial weakness or slurred speech
  • Sudden, severe headache
  • Tremor

Stroke can cause a specific type of tremor called rubral tremor. It may happen during a stroke and can persist after the stroke. Rubral tremor causes irregular, jerk-like movements of the arms or legs. It is often made worse with movement.

Stroke can also cause a different type of tremor called a cerebellar tremor, which tends to occur when our brain needs to coordinate a specific movement, such as reaching for an object. This happens because a part of the brain called the cerebellum, which controls coordination, is damaged.

Treating stroke

If you have stroke symptoms and develop a sudden tremor, you should call 9-1-1.

Treatment includes medications to reverse the effects of a stroke (called tissue plasminogen activase or tPA). You may also be given medications such as aspirin or other blood thinners to prevent more strokes.

Treating tremor caused by a stroke includes a combination of medications, such as levodopa, the medication used for Parkinson’s disease, or certain anti-seizure medications. You may need surgery, such as deep brain stimulation.

Pro Tip

Some medications can cause hand tremors. Stimulant-type medications like methylphenidate, used to treat ADHD, and thyroid replacement medication called levothyroxine, commonly cause tremors. So can medications for asthma and other breathing problems, like steroids and albuterol inhalers. —Dr. Hoerst


Other possible causes

Other conditions that may cause shaking hands include:

  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Wilson’s disease
  • Metabolic disorders
  • Brain tumors

Hand tremors questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your tremors.

Hand tremors symptom checker

When to call the doctor

  • Your tremor is worsening or interfering in your daily activities.
  • You notice a tremor after starting or changing the dose of a medication.
  • You have other symptoms with your tremor, such as balance problems, stiffness, or speech difficulty.

Should I go to the ER?

Most tremors are not an emergency, but if you have a tremor that starts abruptly (over the course of minutes to an hour) you may be having a stroke and you should call 911.

Treatment

At-home care

  • Avoid triggers for physiological tremor, such as caffeine.
  • Relaxation techniques for anxiety if this makes tremor worse
  • Adaptive technology, such as weighted utensils

Pro Tip

Try to stop shaky hands by holding them in certain positions. Getting more sleep and reducing how much coffee you drink may also help. If these strategies don’t make a difference, talk with your doctor. —Dr. Hoerst

Best exercise for hand tremors

There is some evidence that doing meditation exercises may reduce tremors. Follow these relaxation exercises from the International Essential Tremor Foundation.

Other treatment options

  • Parkinson’s disease medications, including levodopa and propranolol, and seizure medications
  • Injections, such as Botox
  • Deep brain stimulation surgery
Share your story
Dr. Hoerst is a board-certified Neurologist. She received her undergraduate degree in Neuroscience from the University of Scranton in 2005 and Jefferson Medical College (now Sidney Kimmel Medical College) in 2009. She completed an internal medicine internship, neurology residency and vascular neurology fellowship at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital in Philadelphia (2014). After completing her...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

Tooltip Icon.