Skip to main content
Read about

Comment retrouver le goût et l’odeur

Si vous perdez votre odorat (et votre goût), cela revient généralement, mais vous pouvez suivre une thérapie de rééducation olfactive, prendre des médicaments pour traiter la cause sous-jacente et boire beaucoup d'eau pour accélérer la récupération.
·
Tooltip Icon.
Written by David Lee, MD.
Clinical Fellow, Pediatric Otolaryngology, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Last updated July 15, 2022

Try our free symptom checker

Get a thorough self-assessment before your visit to the doctor.

Quelles sont les causes de la perte du goût et de l’odorat ?

La perte de l’odorat et du goût est un symptôme courant du COVID-19 et qui persiste souvent après la guérison de la maladie. Cela peut également être causé par d’autres maladies et problèmes structurels.

Une perte temporaire du goût et de l'odorat peut être causée par une obstruction du nez, comme si vous souffrez d'une inflammation (provoquant un nez bouché) due à des allergies, à un rhume ou à une grippe. L’inflammation empêche les odeurs et les odeurs d’atteindre le sommet des voies nasales, où se trouvent les cellules olfactives qui détectent l’odorat.

La perte à long terme du goût et de l'odorat peut provenir des cellules olfactives ou de certains nerfs qui ont été endommagés par un traumatisme à la tête ou au crâne (comme une commotion cérébrale). Il existe des théories selon lesquelles le COVID-19 pourrait endommager ces nerfs ou endommager votre muqueuse (une muqueuse de votre nez qui aide votre nez à détecter les odeurs).

Le vieillissement normal peut entraîner une diminution du goût et de l’odorat, en raison d’un déclin de la densité et des fonctions globales du cerveau.

La plupart des gens qui pensent avoir perdu le goût ont en réalité simplement perdu l’odorat. En effet, l’odorat contribue tellement au goût que lorsque les cellules olfactives ne fonctionnent pas correctement, il est difficile de goûter les aliments. De nombreuses personnes remarquent d’abord la perte du goût. Dans certains cas, comme après une radiothérapie, vos papilles gustatives peuvent être affectées.

D’autres causes de perturbation du goût et de l’odorat comprennent :

  • Causes neurologiques (tumeur ou masse cérébrale, ou maladie neurodégénérative)
  • Toxines (telles que produits chimiques puissants inhalés)
  • Troubles congénitaux

Comment goûtons-nous et sentons-nous ?

Le goût et l’odorat sont deux sens étroitement liés, mais qui fonctionnent de manières très différentes. Le goût est fourni par les papilles gustatives, qui se trouvent à la surface de votre langue et vous indiquent si quelque chose que vous mangez est salé, sucré, amer ou aigre.

L’odorat, quant à lui, est assuré par les cellules olfactives situées sur le toit de vos voies nasales. Ils identifient non seulement les odeurs, mais aussi les saveurs. Pour cette raison, les cellules olfactives jouent un rôle important dans la façon dont vous goûtez les aliments.

Conseil de pro

Certaines causes beaucoup moins courantes incluent des masses nasales, des antécédents de traumatisme crânien (comme une commotion cérébrale) ou même des troubles neurologiques (comme la maladie de Parkinson). Pour cette raison, il est important que toute personne présentant un changement persistant dans son goût ou son odeur soit pleinement évaluée par un médecin. —Dr David Lee

Combien de temps faut-il pour récupérer ?

Le goût et l’odorat reviennent le plus souvent lorsque la cause est traitée, par exemple lorsque vous vous remettez d’un rhume ou que la saison des allergies se termine. Si votre perte de goût et d'odorat est due à des lésions des nerfs olfactifs, vous pouvez récupérer en quelques semaines, voire plusieurs mois (les cellules se guérissent d'elles-mêmes pendant ce temps).

Chez un petit pourcentage de personnes, ces cellules sont incapables de récupérer complètement et l’odorat peut ne pas revenir complètement. Cela peut affecter considérablement la qualité de vie, de nombreuses personnes signalant une perte d'intérêt pour la nourriture ou les boissons et étant même moins conscientes de leur propre hygiène.selon une étude parue dans la revuel Archives Européennes d'Oto-Rhino-Laryngologie.

Dr Rx

Pour la grande majorité des patients, une perte du goût ou de l’odorat n’est pas permanente. Le meilleur traitement est le temps, il suffit d’attendre que le corps se guérisse. Il devrait y avoir au moins un certain retour de votre goût ou de votre odeur dans les semaines ou les mois suivant le début. —Dr Lee

Est-ce que toutes les personnes atteintes du COVID-19 perdent le sens du goût et de l’odorat ?

Bien que la perte du goût et de l’odorat soient deux des signes les plus connus du COVID-19, cela arrive à moins de la moitié des personnes qui contractent la maladie. Si vous souffrez d’une forme bénigne de la maladie, vous risquez beaucoup plus de perdre le goût et l’odorat que si vous souffrez d’une forme modérée ou grave.


Pour ceux qui remarquent une diminution de leur capacité à goûter ou à sentir,la recherche dans leJournal de médecine interne a constaté que 95 pour cent le retrouveront complètement dans les 6 mois.

Conseils pour retrouver l’odorat

Si votre odeur ne revient pas immédiatement, vous pouvez essayer l’une des techniques suivantes pour l’aider à revenir.

Thérapie de rééducation olfactive

C’est la plus prometteuse de toutes les méthodes connues pour aider à ramener les odeurs. L’idée est simple : traiter les cellules qui détectent les odeurs comme un groupe musculaire et les « exercer » quotidiennement. Vous prenez un ensemble de 10 à 15 odeurs très fortes que vous reconnaîtriez facilement (comme le café, l'eucalyptus, les oranges ou le chocolat) et vous les inhalez profondément pendant 20 secondes, deux fois par jour, pendant 3 mois ou plus. Bien que cela semble étrange, cela a été démontré dans des études commecelui-ci dePerspectives JAMA pour améliorer l'odorat chez les personnes qui l'ont perdu depuis des mois, voire des années.

Conseil de pro

Plusieurs études très prometteuses montrent que la thérapie de rééducation olfactive, au fil du temps, peut réhabiliter le sens de l'odorat en rééduquant le cerveau à reconnaître les parfums et les odeurs. —Dr Lee

Corticostéroïdes

Si votre perte d'odorat est due à une infection, un stéroïde oral ou nasal peut diminuer l'inflammation des voies nasales, aidant ainsi votre odorat à revenir plus tôt. Cela est vrai pour les maladies courantes comme le rhume et les allergies, mais aussi pour le COVID-19.

Autres médicaments

Il n’existe aucun autre médicament dont il a été démontré de manière constante qu’il ramène les odeurs, mais certains font l’objet d’avis mitigés. Cela inclut les inhibiteurs de la phosphodiestérase (comme le sildénafil, la théophylline ou la caféine) et le citrate de sodium intranasal. Discutez avec votre médecin pour savoir si l’une de ces options est une option.

Conseils pour retrouver les papilles

Pour la plupart, les personnes qui pensent avoir perdu le sens du goût ont en réalité un problème avec leur odorat. Cela dit, certains traitements sont utilisés dans des situations rares où il s’agit véritablement d’une perte du goût.

Une hydratation adéquate

Si vous ne produisez pas suffisamment de salive, vos papilles gustatives ne fonctionneront pas correctement, entraînant une perte de goût. Si vous ne produisez pas suffisamment de salive, vous pourriez avoir l’impression que votre bouche est toujours sèche. Cela peut se produire pendant une radiothérapie, mais cela peut également se produire chez des personnes qui ne subissent pas de radiothérapie. Quelle qu’en soit la cause, rester hydraté est un moyen simple d’essayer de retrouver votre sens du goût.

Zinc

Les papilles gustatives ont besoin de zinc pour fonctionner normalement. Bien que la carence en zinc soit rare aux États-Unis,la recherche montre que les suppléments de zinc peut aider les personnes ayant des problèmes de goût. Certains médicaments peuvent également provoquer une carence en zinc, alors informez votre médecin de votre perte de goût au cas où il pourrait s'agir d'un effet secondaire d'un médicament.

Share your story
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.
Clinical Fellow, Pediatric Otolaryngology, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Dr. Lee is a board-certified otolaryngologist and medical consultant for Buoy Health. He completed his undergraduate degree in Biochemistry and Spanish at the University of Arkansas (2011) and went on to complete medical school from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (2015). He completed his residency training in Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery at the University of Cincinnati (...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

2 people found this helpful
Tooltip Icon.

Skip to main contentSkip to accessibility services
5 min read
No Ads

How to Get Taste and Smell Back

If you lose your sense of smell (and taste), it usually comes back but you can do smell retraining therapy, take medications to treat the underlying cause, and drink lots of water to speed up the recovery.
Tooltip Icon.
Written by
David Lee, MD.
Clinical Fellow, Pediatric Otolaryngology, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Last updated September 8, 2021

Try our free symptom checker

Get a thorough self-assessment before your visit to the doctor.

What causes loss of taste and smell?

A loss of sense of smell and taste is a common symptom of COVID-19, and one that often lingers after people recover from the illness. It can also be caused by other illnesses and structural problems.

A temporary loss of taste and smell can be caused by an obstruction in the nose, like if you have inflammation (causing a stuffy nose) from allergies or a cold or flu. The inflammation prevents smells and odors from reaching the very top of the nasal passages, where olfactory cells, which sense smell, are located.

Long-term loss of taste and smell can be from the olfactory cells or certain nerves that have been damaged through trauma to the head or skull (such as a concussion). There are theories that COVID-19 might damage these nerves, or damage your mucosa (a lining in your nose that helps your nose sense odors).

Normal aging can cause diminished sense of taste and smell, because of a decline in overall brain density and function.

Most people who think they’ve lost taste have actually just lost smell. That’s because smell contributes so much to taste that when the olfactory cells aren’t working properly, you have a hard time tasting food. Many people actually notice the loss of taste first. In some cases, like after having radiation treatment, your taste buds may be affected.

Other causes of taste and smell disturbance include:

  • Neurological causes (brain tumor or mass, or a neurodegenerative disease)
  • Toxins (such as strong chemicals that are inhaled)
  • Congenital disorders

How do we taste and smell?

Taste and smell are two senses that are closely connected, but they work in very different ways. Taste is provided by taste buds, which are on the surface of your tongue and tell you if something you’re eating is salty, sweet, bitter, or sour.

Smell, on the other hand, is provided by olfactory cells, which are on the roof of your nasal passage. They not only identify odors, but also flavors. Because of that, olfactory cells play a huge part in how you taste food.

Pro Tip

Some much less common causes include nasal masses, a history of head trauma (like a concussion), or even neurologic disorders (like Parkinson’s disease). For this reason, it is important that everyone who has a persistent change in their taste or smell be fully evaluated by a physician. —Dr. David Lee

How long does it take to recover?

Taste and smell most often return when the cause is addressed, for example, you recover from a cold or allergy season ends. If your loss of taste and smell is because olfactory nerves were damaged, you can recover in a period of weeks to months (the cells actually heal themselves in that time).

In a small percentage of people, these cells are unable to fully recover, and the sense of smell may not completely return. This can significantly affect quality of life, with many people reporting loss of interest in food or drink and even being less aware of their own hygiene, according to a study in the journal Rhinology.

Dr. Rx

For the vast majority of patients, a loss of taste or smell is not permanent. The best treatment is time—simply waiting for the body to heal itself. There should be at least some return of your taste or smell within weeks to months after the onset. —Dr. Lee

Does everyone with COVID-19 lose the sense of taste and smell?

While losing your taste and smell are two of the most well-known signs of COVID-19, it happens to less than half of people who contract the disease. If you have a mild form of the disease, you’re much more likely to lose your sense of taste and smell than if you have a moderate or severe form.


For those who do notice a decrease in their ability to taste or smell, research in the Journal of Internal Medicine found that 95 percent will completely regain it within 6 months.

Tips to regain sense of smell

If your smell doesn’t come back right away, you might want to try one of the following techniques to help it return.

Smell retraining therapy

This is the most promising of all the methods known to help bring back smell. The idea is simple: Treat the cells that sense odors like a muscle group, and “exercise” them every day. You take a set of 10 to 15 very strong smells that you would easily recognize (like coffee, eucalyptus, oranges, or chocolate) and deeply inhale them for 20 seconds, twice a day, for 3 months or longer. While this sounds strange, it has been shown in studies like this one from JAMA Insights to improve smell in people who have lost it for months or even years.

Pro Tip

Several very promising studies show that smell retraining therapy, over time, can rehabilitate the sense of smell by retraining the brain to recognize scents and odors. —Dr. Lee

Corticosteroids

If your loss of smell is because of an infection, an oral or nasal steroid can decrease inflammation in the nasal passages, helping your sense of smell come back sooner. This is true for common illnesses like a cold and allergies but also for COVID-19.

Other medications

There are no other medications that have been consistently shown to bring back smell, but there are some with mixed reviews. This includes phosphodiesterase inhibitors (like sildenafil, theophylline, or caffeine) and intranasal sodium citrate. Talk to your doctor about whether any of these are an option.

Tips to getting taste buds back

For the most part, people who think they’ve lost their sense of taste actually have an issue with their smell. That said, there are some treatments used in the uncommon situation where it’s truly a lost sense of taste.

Adequate hydration

If you aren’t producing enough saliva, your taste buds won’t work properly, causing a loss of taste. If you’re not producing enough saliva, you may feel like your mouth is always dry. This can happen during radiation treatment, but it can also happen in people who aren’t undergoing radiation. Whatever the cause, staying hydrated is an easy way to try to bring back your sense of taste.

Zinc

Taste buds need zinc to function normally. While zinc deficiency is uncommon in the U.S., research shows that zinc supplements can help people with taste issues. Some medications may cause a zinc deficiency too, so let your doctor know about your loss of taste in case it might be a drug side effect.

Share your story
Clinical Fellow, Pediatric Otolaryngology, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Dr. Lee is a board-eligible otolaryngologist and medical consultant for Buoy Health. He completed his undergraduate degree in Biochemistry and Spanish at the University of Arkansas (2011) and went on to complete medical school from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (2015). He completed his residency training in Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery at the University of Cincinnati (2...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

2 people found this helpful
Tooltip Icon.