Skip to main content
Read about

Pourquoi vos pieds vous démangent-ils ?

Les démangeaisons aux pieds peuvent être causées par quelque chose d’aussi inoffensif que le pied d’athlète ou d’aussi grave qu’une maladie du foie ou des reins.
·
Tooltip Icon.
Written by Lauren Levy, MD, FAAD.
Clinical Instructor , Mount Sinai Hospital, Department of Dermatology
Medically reviewed by
Last updated May 19, 2023

Quiz sur les pieds qui démangent

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de vos démangeaisons.

Quiz sur les pieds qui démangent

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de vos démangeaisons.

Répondez à un quiz qui démange aux pieds

Que sont les pieds qui démangent ?

Les pieds sont exposés à de nombreux irritants potentiels comme des allergènes, des insectes et des champignons qui peuvent provoquer des démangeaisons. Vos pieds passent également de longues heures dans l’environnement potentiellement humide et chaud de vos chaussures et chaussettes, qui peut constituer un terrain fertile pour les bactéries et les champignons.

Les causes les plus courantes de démangeaisons aux pieds sont la dermatite de contact, les infections fongiques comme le pied d’athlète ou les piqûres d’insectes de la gale, de moustiques ou de punaises de lit. Ces conditions peuvent également provoquer une éruption cutanée, des cloques ou une peau squameuse.

Dans certains cas, des affections telles que le diabète et les maladies rénales ou hépatiques peuvent provoquer une inflammation ou affecter les nerfs, provoquant des démangeaisons aux pieds.

De nombreuses causes de démangeaisons aux pieds peuvent être traitées avec des médicaments anti-démangeaisons ou antifongiques topiques (appliqués sur la peau) ou oraux, ou des stéroïdes topiques.

Conseil de pro

Une idée fausse très répandue est que les démangeaisons aux pieds sont toujours causées par un champignon du pied. Souvent, je vois des patients qui viennent pour une « mycose des pieds », mais quand je regarde les pieds, il s'agit d'eczéma, de dermatite ou de psoriasis. Cela peut même être une cause interne de démangeaisons comme les maladies du foie ou des reins. —Dr Lauren Lévy

Quelles sont les causes des démangeaisons aux pieds ?

1. Pied d’athlète

Symptômes

  • Éruption cutanée rouge et prurigineuse sur les pieds ou entre les orteils
  • Peau squameuse ou qui pèle sur vos pieds

Pied d'athlète (tinea pedis) est une infection fongique courante qui affecte vos pieds et vos orteils. Vous pouvez l’obtenir en marchant pieds nus sur les sols publics, comme le sol d’un vestiaire, la surface entourant les piscines intérieures et les tapis de gym (c’est pourquoi on l’appelle pied d’athlète).

Le pied d’athlète affecte généralement la plante des pieds, mais il peut parfois survenir sur le dessus des pieds, entre les orteils ou dans l’ongle.

Traitement

Le pied d’athlète peut être traité avec des crèmes antifongiques en vente libre (OTC). Le champignon peut vivre sur les chaussures et les chaussettes, alors lavez vos chaussettes à l’eau chaude. Si vous connaissez un magasin de sport qui désinfecte le matériel, vous pouvez demander s'il désinfectera vos chaussures. Le port de chaussures de douche dans les piscines et dans les douches publiques peut également contribuer à prévenir le pied d’athlète.

Consultez votre médecin si l'éruption cutanée ne s'améliore pas après avoir utilisé un médicament antifongique en vente libre pendant 2 à 4 semaines. Vous pourriez avoir besoin de médicaments antifongiques oraux sur ordonnance.

2. Eczéma

Symptômes

  • Éruption cutanée rouge, irritante et squameuse sur la plante ou le dessus de vos pieds
  • Petites ampoules remplies de liquide sur vos orteils ou sur le côté de votre pied

Eczéma, ou dermatite atopique, est une affection cutanée courante chez l'enfant, bien que les adultes puissent également la contracter. Chez l’adulte, l’eczéma se développe généralement sur les pieds et les mains. C’est ce qu’on appelle l’eczéma dyshidrotique. Il se trouve généralement sur la plante de vos pieds, mais peut également se trouver sur le dessus de vos pieds.

L'eczéma est causé par un manque de certaines molécules qui maintiennent votre peau hydratée et humide. L'eau s'échappe de la peau, entraînant des symptômes tels que des démangeaisons et rendant votre peau plus vulnérable aux irritants et aux allergènes.

Traitement

Votre médecin peut vous suggérer d'hydrater vos pieds quotidiennement avec une crème hydratante à base d'huile, comme la Vaseline ou l'Aquaphor. Les stéroïdes topiques, en vente libre ou sur ordonnance, peuvent réduire l'inflammation et les démangeaisons. Les antihistaminiques en vente libre ou sur ordonnance peuvent également soulager les démangeaisons. Mais si vous souffrez d’eczéma modéré à sévère, vous pourriez avoir besoin d’une thérapie par la lumière ultraviolette ou de médicaments immunosuppresseurs oraux ou injectables.

3. Dermatite de contact

Symptômes

  • Éruption cutanée rouge avec démangeaisons
  • Peau écailleuse
  • Bosses et ampoules
  • Gonflement, brûlure ou sensibilité

Dermatite de contact est une réaction cutanée à un irritant ou à un allergène. Il peut être déclenché par un matériau présent dans votre chaussure, comme du caoutchouc ou du cuir.

S’il n’y a pas de cause claire de votre dermatite de contact, votre dermatologue peut vous aider à identifier ce à quoi vous êtes allergique grâce à des tests cutanés. Des patchs contenant différents allergènes sont placés sur votre dos pendant deux jours. Après avoir retiré les patchs, le dermatologue vérifiera toute éruption cutanée causée par les allergènes.

Traitement

Le traitement de la dermatite de contact consiste à éviter l'allergène et à utiliser une crème d'hydrocortisone en vente libre ou un antihistaminique pour calmer les démangeaisons. Votre médecin peut également vous prescrire un stéroïde topique pour l'éruption cutanée.

4. Psoriasis

Symptômes

  • Plaques rouges qui démangent sur vos pieds
  • Desquamation épaisse et argentée
  • Pustules (bosses remplies de pus) sur la plante des pieds
  • Ongles épais, jaunes ou cassants
  • Douleurs articulaires (arthrite) ou maux de dos

Psoriasis est une maladie auto-immune qui peut toucher n’importe quelle partie de la peau, y compris la plante des pieds. Cela se produit lorsque le système immunitaire attaque par erreur votre peau, provoquant une régénération de vos cellules cutanées plus rapide que la normale. On ne sait pas exactement ce qui cause l’attaque, mais des facteurs génétiques et environnementaux jouent probablement un rôle.

Lorsque le psoriasis affecte les pieds, il se développe généralement également sur la paume des mains. C’est ce qu’on appelle le psoriasis palmoplantaire.

Les symptômes varient selon le type de psoriasis dont vous souffrez. Les formes de la maladie comprennent le psoriasis en plaques, le psoriasis pustuleux et le psoriasis des ongles. Certaines personnes ontarthrite psoriasique, ce qui provoque également des articulations enflées et douloureuses.

Traitement

Il n’existe aucun remède contre le psoriasis, mais il existe plusieurs options de traitement. Ceux-ci incluent des stéroïdes topiques, un médicament oral appelé acitrétine, une thérapie par la lumière ultraviolette ou des immunosuppresseurs oraux ou injectables.

Conseil de pro

Les personnes atteintes de psoriasis ont des plaques rouges nettement délimitées sur les pieds et ont souvent des pustules. Les personnes atteintes de dermatite de contact présentent une éruption cutanée rouge et prurigineuse en forme d’allergène de contact. Les personnes souffrant d’eczéma ou de dermatite dyshidrotique ont de petites ampoules aux pieds. Enfin, les personnes atteintes de mycose des pieds ont des desquamations diffuses sur les pieds ou entre les orteils, et peuvent également avoir une mycose des ongles des pieds. —Dr Lévy

5. Ruches

Symptômes

  • Démangeaison
  • Éruption cutanée rose ou rouge pouvant être légèrement surélevée
  • Des trépointes (bosses ou taches rouges)
  • Brûlure et picotement

Urticaire, ou urticaire, sont des gonflements de la peau qui provoquent souvent des démangeaisons. Ils peuvent être causés par un aliment particulier, un médicament, une infection virale ou une maladie auto-immune. Mais pour beaucoup de gens, il n’y a pas de raison évidente.

L'urticaire peut apparaître sur n'importe quelle partie de la peau, y compris la plante des pieds. Les symptômes durent généralement moins de 24 heures, puis apparaissent dans une autre zone.

Traitement

Bien que l’urticaire mineure ne constitue pas une urgence, l’urticaire peut parfois faire partie d’une réaction allergique grave. Si vous ressentez également un gonflement des lèvres ou de la langue, des difficultés respiratoires ou de la diarrhée, rendez-vous aux urgences.

L'urticaire mineure peut être traitée avec des antihistaminiques en vente libre. Si vos symptômes ne s’améliorent pas après une semaine ou s’ils interfèrent avec votre vie quotidienne, consultez votre médecin. Vous devrez peut-être prendre des médicaments sur ordonnance pour obtenir un soulagement.

6. Gale

Symptômes

  • Fortes démangeaisons
  • Bosses rouges

La gale est une infestation de minuscules acariens appelésSarcoptes scabiei. Les symptômes se développent lorsque les acariens s'enfouissent dans votre peau. Il s’agit d’une maladie contagieuse qui peut se propager rapidement par contact étroit avec des groupes de personnes, tels que les familles, les résidents des maisons de retraite et les patients hospitalisés.

Les bosses apparaissent souvent dans les plis de la peau, y compris ceux de la plante des pieds. Les autres zones couramment touchées comprennent entre les doigts, autour de la taille et sous les aisselles.

Traitement

La gale est traitée avec un médicament antiparasitaire topique (perméthrine) ou un médicament antiparasitaire oral (ivermectine). Votre médecin peut également vous prescrire des stéroïdes topiques pour soulager les démangeaisons. Les démangeaisons peuvent durer plusieurs semaines après le traitement de l'acarien. C’est ce qu’on appelle la dermatite post-scabétique.

La gale étant très contagieuse, vous devrez laver tous vos vêtements et votre linge de maison à l’eau chaude. Toute personne avec qui vous vivez doit également être traitée contre la gale, car les personnes peuvent être porteuses sans présenter de symptômes.

7. Maladie du foie

Symptômes

  • La peau qui gratte
  • Peau et yeux jaunes
  • Douleurs abdominales et gonflement
  • Gonflement des jambes et des chevilles
  • Couleur d'urine foncée
  • Couleur des selles pâle
  • Fatigue chronique
  • Nausée
  • Vomissement

Quand ton foie ne l’est pasfonctionne correctement, une substance jaunâtre appelée bilirubine s’accumule dans votre sang. La bilirubine se forme lorsque les globules rouges se décomposent. Il est normalement éliminé de votre corps par votre foie. Lorsque votre taux de bilirubine est élevé, votre peau démange et jaunit.

Traitement

Si vous présentez des symptômes d’une maladie du foie, votre médecin vous prescrira des tests pour déterminer pourquoi votre foie ne fonctionne pas. Ceux-ci comprennent des analyses de sang et une échographie ou une tomodensitométrie de votre abdomen.

Les démangeaisons causées par une maladie du foie peuvent être traitées avec un hydratant hypoallergénique doux, des antihistaminiques en vente libre ou sur ordonnance ou, dans les cas graves, une thérapie par la lumière ultraviolette. Votre médecin peut également vous recommander de modifier votre mode de vie, comme prendre des douches tièdes pour éviter que votre peau ne se dessèche. Si votre fonction hépatique s'améliore, vos démangeaisons peuvent cesser.

8. Maladie rénale

Symptômes

  • Démangeaison
  • Peau sèche
  • Nausée
  • Vomissement
  • Perte d'appétit
  • Fatigue et faiblesse
  • Changements urinaires
  • Contractions musculaires et crampes
  • Pieds et chevilles enflés

Démangeaisons causées parmaladie du rein est appelé prurit urémique. Lorsque les reins ne fonctionnent pas correctement, cela peut entraîner une accumulation de certaines substances qu’ils filtreraient normalement de votre sang, comme l’urée. Ces substances peuvent provoquer de fortes démangeaisons, notamment au niveau de la paume ou de la plante des pieds. Les démangeaisons peuvent être pires la nuit.

Traitement

Si vous présentez des symptômes de maladie rénale, votre médecin effectuera des analyses de sang et d’urine pour déterminer pourquoi vos reins ne fonctionnent pas. Traiter les démangeaisons avec des antihistaminiques oraux en vente libre ou sur ordonnance peut être utile. D'autres médicaments qui aident à la conduction nerveuse, comme la gabapentine, peuvent être recommandés.

Si vous avez besoin d'une dialyse (une procédure qui élimine l'excès d'eau et les toxines du sang), les démangeaisons peuvent disparaître après votre traitement.

9. Neuropathie

Symptômes

  • Démangeaisons, engourdissements ou picotements sur la plante des pieds
  • Douleur aiguë, lancinante, lancinante ou brûlante
  • Sensibilité au toucher
  • Manque de coordination et chute

La neuropathie est un dysfonctionnement des nerfs. Cela peut survenir n’importe où sur votre corps, mais cela affecte généralement vos pieds et vos mains. Lorsque vous souffrez de neuropathie, votre système immunitaire libère des substances (cytokines) qui peuvent irriter les nerfs et provoquer des démangeaisons.

Il existe plusieurs causes de neuropathie, notamment des blessures, des infections et des affections telles que le diabète, la sclérose en plaques ou d'autres troubles neurologiques.

Traitement

Les traitements de la neuropathie comprennent des analgésiques topiques en vente libre (tels que la crème de capsaïcine ou la lidocaïne) qui engourdissent les nerfs et réduisent les démangeaisons, la douleur et les brûlures aux pieds. Votre médecin peut vous prescrire un médicament oral qui soulage les douleurs nerveuses, comme la gabapentine.

La grossesse provoque-t-elle des démangeaisons aux pieds ?

L’augmentation des hormones qui se produit pendant la grossesse peut assécher votre peau et faire gonfler vos pieds. Les deux peuvent provoquer des démangeaisons aux pieds.

Dans certains cas, les démangeaisons aux pieds pendant la grossesse peuvent être le signe d'une maladie appelée cholestase intrahépatique de la grossesse, qui affecte la libération de bile (liquide digestif) par les cellules du foie. La bile reste emprisonnée dans le foie, puis se déverse dans la circulation sanguine, ce qui provoque des démangeaisons.

Si vos pieds vous démangent pendant la grossesse, consultez votre médecin, qui pourra effectuer une analyse de sang pour vérifier vos enzymes hépatiques. S’ils sont élevés, vous devrez peut-être accoucher tôt pour éviter les complications.

Vos pieds vous démangent seulement la nuit ?

Vous remarquerez peut-être que vos pieds vous démangent davantage la nuit. Les démangeaisons peuvent sembler plus intenses simplement parce que votre esprit n’est pas aussi occupé la nuit, vous remarquerez donc probablement davantage les démangeaisons. De plus, les démangeaisons peuvent s’atténuer pendant la journée lorsque vous vous promenez, car la pression sur les pieds peut aider à réduire les démangeaisons.

Dr Rx

Les pieds démangent toujours plus la nuit. La pression exercée par la marche aide généralement à bloquer les nerfs qui envoient les signaux de démangeaison. Lorsque vous êtes au lit, les démangeaisons peuvent devenir plus visibles et certainement plus frustrantes si elles interfèrent avec le sommeil. —Dr Lévy

Comment arrêter les démangeaisons aux pieds

Remèdes maison

  • Faites tremper vos pieds dans de l'eau froide ou dans un bain de glace.
  • Hydratez vos pieds avec une crème douce.

Solutions en vente libre

  • Stéroïdes topiques pour les éruptions cutanées
  • Crèmes antifongiques (Lamisil) pour le pied d'athlète
  • Antihistaminiques (Benadryl, Claritin, Zyrtec, etc.) pour les allergies
  • Une crème à base de menthol, comme la lotion SARNA, à appliquer plusieurs fois par jour contre les démangeaisons (à conserver au réfrigérateur.)

Quand consulter un médecin

  • Les démangeaisons des pieds durent plus de 2 semaines malgré un traitement en vente libre
  • Démangeaisons des pieds qui surviennent pendant la grossesse
  • Les démangeaisons sont sévères et vous empêchent de dormir la nuit
  • Une éruption cutanée sur vos pieds ne s’améliore pas avec un traitement en vente libre
  • Signes de problèmes rénaux ou hépatiques, tels qu’un gonflement des jambes, des bras et de l’estomac ; jaunissement de la peau ou des yeux ; ou une diminution de la fréquence des mictions.
Hear what 1 other is saying
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.
Démangeaison des talons du piedsPosted February 5, 2024 by A.
Salut !! J'ai un problème avec les talons de mes pieds Ils demangent toujours pendant l'hiver, seulement les talons de mes pieds ,sa donne l'impression de petits vert de terre qui y circulent ,ou bien même de petit chatouilles et des fois sa m'empêche de bien dormir la nuit sa ne me fait pas mal,mai me dérange énormément Je ne sais quoi faire .Merci
Dr. Le obtained his MD from Harvard Medical School and his BA from Harvard College. Before Buoy, his research focused on glioblastoma, a deadly form of brain cancer. Outside of work, Dr. Le enjoys cooking and struggling to run up-and-down the floor in an adult basketball league.

Was this article helpful?

5 people found this helpful
Tooltip Icon.

Skip to main contentSkip to accessibility services
9 min read
No Ads

Why do your feet itch?

Itchy feet may be caused by something as harmless as athlete’s foot or as serious as liver or kidney disease.
Table of Contents
Tooltip Icon.
Written by
Lauren Levy, MD, FAAD.
Clinical Instructor , Mount Sinai Hospital, Department of Dermatology
Last updated October 12, 2021

Itchy feet questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your itch.

Itchy feet questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your itch.

Itchy feet symptom checker

What are itchy feet?

Feet are exposed to many potential irritants like allergens, bugs, and fungus that can cause itchiness. Your feet also spend long hours in the potentially moist, hot environment of your shoes and socks, which can be a breeding ground for bacteria and fungi.

The most common causes of itchy feet are contact dermatitis, fungal infections like athlete’s foot, or bug bites from scabies, mosquitos, or bed bugs. These conditions may also cause a rash, blisters, or scaly skin.

In some cases, conditions such as diabetes and kidney or liver disease can cause Inflammation or affect the nerves, making your feet feel itchy.

Many causes of itchy feet can be treated with topical (applied to the skin) or oral anti-itch or antifungal medications, or topical steroids.

Pro Tip

A common misconception is that itchy feet are always caused by a foot fungus. Many times I see patients who come in for “foot fungus,” but when I look at the feet it's eczema, dermatitis, or psoriasis. It may even be an internal cause of itching like liver or kidney diseases. —Dr. Lauren Levy

What causes itchy feet?

1. Athlete’s foot

Symptoms

  • Red, itchy rash on your feet or between your toes
  • Flaky or peeling skin on your feet

Athlete’s foot (tinea pedis) is a common fungal infection that affects your feet and toes. You can get it from walking barefoot on public floors, such as the floor in a locker room, the surface surrounding indoor pools, and gym mats (which is why it’s called athlete’s foot).

Athlete’s foot typically affects the bottom of your feet, but sometimes it can occur on the top of your feet, in between your toes or in the nail.

Treatment

Athlete’s foot can be treated with over-the-counter (OTC) antifungal creams. The fungus can live on shoes and socks, so wash your socks in hot water. If you know of a sports store that sanitizes equipment, you can ask if they will sanitize your shoes. Wearing shower shoes in pool and public shower areas can also help prevent athlete’s foot.

See your doctor if the rash does not improve after using OTC antifungal medication for 2 to 4 weeks. You may need prescription oral antifungal medication.

2. Eczema

Symptoms

  • Red, itchy, and scaly rash on the bottom or top of your feet
  • Small, fluid-filled blisters on your toes or the side of your foot

Eczema, or atopic dermatitis, is a common childhood skin condition, though adults can get it too. In adults, eczema usually develops on the feet and hands. This is called dyshidrotic eczema. It is usually on the soles of your feet but can be on the top of your feet as well.

Eczema is caused by a lack of certain molecules that keep your skin hydrated and moist. Water escapes from the skin, leading to symptoms such as itching and making your skin more vulnerable to irritants and allergens.

Treatment

Your doctor may suggest hydrating your feet daily with an oil-based moisturizer, such as Vaseline or Aquaphor. Topical steroids, either OTC or prescription, can lessen the inflammation and itching. OTC or prescription antihistamines can also help with itching. But if you have moderate to severe eczema, you may need ultraviolet light therapy or immune-suppressing oral or injectable medications.

3. Contact dermatitis

Symptoms

  • Red, itchy rash
  • Scaly skin
  • Bumps and blisters
  • Swelling, burning, or tenderness

Contact dermatitis is a skin reaction to an irritant or allergen. It may be triggered by a material in your shoe, like rubber or leather.

If there’s no clear cause of your contact dermatitis, your dermatologist can help you identify what you are allergic to with patch testing. Patches containing different allergens are placed on your back for two days. After removing the patches, the dermatologist will check for any rashes caused by the allergens.

Treatment

Treating contact dermatitis involves avoiding the allergen and using an OTC hydrocortisone cream or antihistamine to quiet the itching. Your doctor may also prescribe a topical steroid for the rash.

Itchy feet questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your itch.

Itchy feet symptom checker

4. Psoriasis

Symptoms

  • Red, itchy plaques on your feet
  • Thick, silvery scaling
  • Pustules (pus-filled bumps) on the soles of your feet
  • Thick, yellow, or brittle nails
  • Joint pain (arthritis) or back pain

Psoriasis is an autoimmune disease that can affect any part of the skin, including the soles of the feet. It occurs when the immune system mistakenly attacks your skin, triggering your skin cells to regenerate faster than normal. It’s not clear what causes the attack, but genetics and environmental factors likely play a role.

When psoriasis affects the feet, it usually develops on the palms of your hands too. This is called palmoplantar psoriasis.

Symptoms vary, depending on the type of psoriasis you have. Forms of the disease include plaque psoriasis, pustular psoriasis, and nail psoriasis. Some people have psoriatic arthritis, which also causes swollen and painful joints.

Treatment

There is no cure for psoriasis, but there are several treatment options. These include topical steroids, an oral medication called acitretin, ultraviolet light therapy, or oral or injectable immunosuppressants.

Pro Tip

People with psoriasis have sharply demarcated red plaques on the feet and often have pustules. Those with contact dermatitis have an itchy, red rash in the shape of the contact allergen. Those with eczema, or dyshidrotic dermatitis, have small blisters on their feet. Lastly, people with foot fungus have scaling diffusely on their feet or in between the toes, and may also have toenail fungus. —Dr. Levy

5. Hives

Symptoms

  • Itching
  • Pink or red skin rash that may be slightly raised
  • Welts (red bumps or splotches)
  • Burning and stinging

Hives, or urticaria, are swellings of the skin that are often itchy. They can be caused by a particular food, medication, viral infection, or autoimmune disease. But for many people, there’s no obvious reason.

Hives can occur on any part of the skin, including the soles of the feet. Symptoms usually last for less than 24 hours, then show up in a different area.

Treatment

While minor hives aren’t an emergency, hives can sometimes be part of a serious allergic reaction. If you’re also experiencing swelling of your lips or tongue, trouble breathing, or diarrhea, go to the ER.

Minor hives can be treated with OTC antihistamines. If your symptoms don’t improve after a week or they interfere with your daily life, see your doctor. You may need to take prescription medication to get relief.

6. Scabies

Symptoms

  • Severe itching
  • Red bumps

Scabies is an infestation of tiny mites called Sarcopte scabiei. Symptoms develop when the mites burrow into your skin. It’s a contagious condition that can spread rapidly through close contact with groups of people, such as families, nursing home residents, and hospital patients.

The bumps often appear in folds of skin, including the ones on the soles of your feet. Other commonly affected areas include between the fingers, around the waist, and in the armpits.

Treatment

Scabies is treated with a topical anti-parasite medication (permethrin) or an oral anti-parasite medication (ivermectin). Your doctor may also prescribe topical steroids to help with itching. The itch can last for several weeks after the mite has been treated. This is called post-scabetic dermatitis.

Because scabies is so contagious, you’ll need to wash all of your clothing and linens in hot water. Anyone you live with should also be treated for scabies because people can be carriers without having symptoms.

7. Liver disease

Symptoms

  • Itchy skin
  • Yellow skin and eyes
  • Abdominal pain and swelling
  • Swelling in your legs and ankles
  • Dark urine color
  • Pale stool color
  • Chronic fatigue
  • Nausea
  • Vomiting

When your liver isn’t functioning properly, a yellowish substance called bilirubin builds up in your blood. Bilirubin is formed when red blood cells break down. It’s normally removed from your body by your liver. When your bilirubin levels are high, your skin becomes itchy and turns yellow.

Treatment

If you have symptoms of liver disease, your doctor will order tests to figure out why your liver isn’t working. These include blood tests and an ultrasound or CT scan of your abdomen.

The itching caused by liver disease can be treated with a gentle hypoallergenic moisturizer, OTC or prescription antihistamines, or, in severe cases, ultraviolet light therapy. Your doctor may also recommend lifestyle changes, such taking lukewarm showers to prevent your skin from becoming dry. If your liver function improves, your itching may stop.

8. Kidney disease

Symptoms

  • Itching
  • Dry skin
  • Nausea
  • Vomiting
  • Loss of appetite
  • Fatigue and weakness
  • Urine changes
  • Muscle twitches and cramps
  • Swollen feet and ankles

Itching caused by kidney disease is called uremic pruritus. When the kidneys aren’t working properly, it can lead to a buildup of certain substances that they would normally filter from your blood, such as urea. These substances can cause severe itching, especially on your palms or the soles of your feet. The itching may be worse at night.

Treatment

If you have symptoms of kidney disease, your doctor will do blood and urine tests to figure out why your kidneys aren’t functioning. Treating the itching with OTC or prescription oral antihistamines may be helpful. Other medications that help with nerve conduction, like gabapentin, may be recommended.

If you require dialysis (a procedure that removes excess water and toxins from the blood), the itching may go away after your treatment.

Itchy feet questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your itch.

Itchy feet symptom checker

9. Neuropathy

Symptoms

  • Itching, numbness, or tingling on the soles of your feet
  • Sharp, jabbing, throbbing, or burning pain
  • Sensitivity to touch
  • Lack of coordination and falling

Neuropathy is a dysfunction of the nerves. It can occur anywhere in your body, but it usually affects your feet and hands. When you have neuropathy, your immune system releases substances (cytokines) that can irritate the nerves and cause itching.

There are several causes of neuropathy, including injuries, infections, and conditions such as diabetes, multiple sclerosis, or other neurological disorders.

Treatment

Treatments for neuropathy include topical, OTC pain medications (such as capsaicin cream or lidocaine) that numb the nerves and reduce itchiness, pain, and burning in the feet. Your doctor may prescribe an oral medication that helps with nerve pain, such as gabapentin.

Does pregnancy cause itchy feet?

The increase in hormones that occurs during pregnancy may dry out your skin and make your feet swell. Both can cause itchy feet.

In some cases, itchy feet during pregnancy may be a sign of a condition called intrahepatic cholestasis of pregnancy, which affects the release of bile (digestive fluid) from your liver cells. The bile gets trapped in the liver, then spills into the bloodstream, which causes itching.

If your feet itch during pregnancy, see your doctor, who may do a blood test to check your liver enzymes. If they’re elevated, you may have to deliver your baby early to prevent complications.

Do your feet itch only at night?

You may notice that your feet are itchier at night. The itch may seem more intense simply because your mind isn’t as busy at night, so you’ll probably notice the itch more. Plus, itchiness may feel better during the day when you’re walking around, since pressure on the feet can help reduce itching.

Dr. Rx

Feet always itch more at night. The pressure from walking usually helps block the nerves that send the itch signals. When you are laying in bed, the itch can become more noticeable and certainly more frustrating if it interferes with sleep. —Dr. Levy

How to stop itchy feet

At-home remedies

  • Soak your feet in cold water or an ice bath.
  • Moisturize your feet with a gentle cream.

Over-the-counter solutions

  • Topical steroids for rashes
  • Antifungal creams (Lamisil) for athlete’s foot
  • Antihistamines (Benadryl, Claritin, Zyrtec, etc.) for allergies
  • A menthol-based cream, like SARNA lotion, applied several times a day for itchiness (Keep it in the refrigerator.)

When to see a doctor

  • Foot itching lasts more than 2 weeks despite OTC treatment
  • Foot itching that occurs during pregnancy
  • Itching is severe and keeps you up at night
  • A rash on your feet isn’t getting better with over-the-counter treatment
  • Signs of kidney or liver problems, such as swelling of the legs, arms, and stomach; yellowing of the skin or eyes; or a decrease in frequency of urination.
Share your story
Clinical Instructor , Mount Sinai Hospital, Department of Dermatology
Dr. Levy is a board certified dermatologist specializing in medical derm with expertise in acne, rosacea, skin cancer, psoriasis, and skin manifestations of rheumatologic disease. Her undergraduate education was completed at the University of Pennsylvania where she graduated summa cum laude and was inducted into the Phi Beta Kappa honors society. She graduated with a distinction in research from t...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

Tooltip Icon.