Skip to main content
Read about

Lipome : symptômes et questions courantes

Sachez à quoi ressemble un lipome et s'il doit être traité.
·
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated October 25, 2022

Quiz sur les lipomes

Répondez à un quiz pour savoir si vous souffrez d'un lipome.

Quiz sur les lipomes

Répondez à un quiz pour savoir si vous souffrez d'un lipome.

Répondez au quiz sur le lipome

Qu'est-ce qu'un lipome ?

Un lipome est une masse molle de graisse sous la peau. Ils sont très courants et généralement inoffensifs. Ils sont plus susceptibles d’apparaître sur le tronc et les extrémités, mais peuvent apparaître presque n’importe où sur le corps.

La plupart des lipomes ne provoquent aucun symptôme et sont considérés comme bénins (ni dangereux ni cancéreux). S'ils sont sensibles, il s'agit très probablement d'angiolipomes, c'est-à-dire des collections bénignes (non cancéreuses) de vaisseaux sanguins et de cellules adipeuses.

Comment se sent un lipome ?

Les lipomes sont mous et spongieux. Ils sont constitués de tissu adipeux. En règle générale, les lipomes ressemblent à un gonflement sans changement de texture ou de couleur de la peau sus-jacente. Lorsqu'il est pressé, un lipome ressemble généralement à une bosse ou à un nodule sous la peau.

Ils sont généralement ronds, lisses, facilement mobiles et indolores. Ils peuvent être aussi petits que 1 cm ou aussi grands que 10 cm ou plus.

La plupart des gens développent des lipomes sur le cou, les bras, les jambes, la poitrine ou le dos. Parfois, ils peuvent apparaître sur les mains, les pieds ou la tête.

Dr Rx

Informez votre médecin si l'éventuel lipome est dur, augmente rapidement en taille, restreint les mouvements ou s'il est douloureux au-delà d'une légère sensibilité à la pression. Ces lésions doivent être biopsiées pour confirmer le diagnostic. —Dr. Mollie McCormack

Quiz sur les lipomes

Répondez à un quiz pour savoir si vous souffrez d'un lipome.

Répondez au quiz sur le lipome

Pourquoi les lipomes se forment-ils ?

Conseil de pro

La maladie de Madelung (lipomatose symétrique multiple) est un trouble du métabolisme des graisses le plus souvent observé chez les hommes d'âge moyen ayant des antécédents d'abus d'alcool. Les patients développent de gros lipomes défigurants impliquant le cou et les épaules. —Dr. McCormack

Les médecins ne savent pas pourquoi les gens contractent des lipomes. La plupart des personnes atteintes de lipomes sont par ailleurs en bonne santé. Lorsque vous avez de nombreux lipomes, surtout si d'autres membres de la famille présentent des symptômes similaires, cela peut être le signe d'une maladie génétique appelée lipomatose multiple familiale.

Il existe néanmoins certains facteurs de risque qui peuvent vous rendre plus susceptible de les développer.

  • Être en surpoids ou obèse
  • Taux de cholestérol élevé
  • Diabète
  • Conditions génétiques

Les lipomes disparaissent-ils ?

Les lipomes ne disparaissent pas d’eux-mêmes. Ils atteignent généralement une certaine taille puis se stabilisent, mais ils peuvent grossir si vous prenez du poids. Malheureusement, si vous perdez du poids, ils ne diminuent pas. En fait, ils pourraient devenir plus visibles.

Parfois, les bosses sont confondues avec des kystes (appelés kystes à inclusions épidermiques). L'une des principales différences est qu'un kyste d'inclusion épidermique a un pore central dilaté que vous pouvez voir et qui peut drainer du sang, de la kératine ou du pus. Les lipomes sont également généralement moins fermes et moins sensibles que les kystes.

Prochaines étapes

Si vous remarquez une bosse sous votre peau, consultez votre médecin. Ils peuvent suggérer de prendre rendez-vous avec un dermatologue (médecin spécialisé dans les maladies de la peau).

Habituellement, les lipomes sont diagnostiqués lors d’un examen cutané. Parfois, le médecin fera une échographie. Ils voudront peut-être exclure qu’il ne s’agisse pas d’autre chose en effectuant une biopsie.

Un lipome peut-il se transformer en cancer ?

Habituellement, les lipomes ne se transforment pas en cancer. L'ablation n'est pas nécessaire, sauf si la lésion est douloureuse, se développe rapidement ou présente d'autres symptômes.

Conseil de pro

La plupart des lipomes sont diagnostiqués par un examen clinique. Si le diagnostic n'est pas clair, une échographie peut être utile. —Dr. McCormack

Quiz sur les lipomes

Répondez à un quiz pour savoir si vous souffrez d'un lipome.

Répondez au quiz sur le lipome

Traitement du lipome

Les lipomes sont facilement éliminés lors d’une intervention chirurgicale. Elle est généralement réalisée sous anesthésie locale. Les effets secondaires de la chirurgie comprennent les cicatrices postopératoires et d’autres risques tels que les saignements et les infections. La guérison de la peau peut prendre plusieurs semaines.

Les lipomes ont également été traités par liposuccion (une procédure d'élimination des graisses) et par injection de médicaments pour dissoudre les graisses. Cependant, ces traitements sont moins couramment pratiqués en raison de leur coût accru et de leur efficacité réduite.

Ready to treat your lipoma?

We show you only the best treatments for your condition and symptoms—all vetted by our medical team. And when you’re not sure what’s wrong, Buoy can guide you in the right direction.See all treatment options
Illustration of two people discussing treatment.

Suivi

Si le lipome est retiré chirurgicalement, votre médecin planifiera généralement un suivi pour retirer les points de suture.

Si vous souffrez d'une maladie génétique qui provoque de nombreux lipomes, vous devrez peut-être consulter votre médecin régulièrement.

Share your story
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.
Dr. MacCormack is a board-certified dermatologist and the Director of Mohs Surgery / Procedural Dermatology for Solution Health. She graduated magna cum laude from Georgetown University and attended the University of Massachusetts Medical School where she was elected to the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society and received both the Janet M. Glasgow Memorial Award and Janet M. Glasgow American M...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

Tooltip Icon.
Read this next
Slide 1 of 4

Lipoma: Symptoms & Common Questions

Know what a lipoma feels like and whether it needs to be treated.

What is a lipoma?

A lipoma is a soft lump of fat under the skin. They’re very common and are usually harmless. They are most likely to appear on the trunk and extremities, but can appear almost anywhere on the body.

Most lipomas don’t cause any symptoms and are considered benign (not dangerous or cancerous). If they are tender, they are most likely angiolipomas—benign (non-cancerous) collections of blood vessels and fat cells.

What is causing your symptoms?

Start a chat with Buoy AI assistant to find out if you have lipoma.

Free, private, and secure to get you the best way to well. Learn about our technology.

How does a lipoma feel?

Lipomas are soft and squishy. They are made up of fat tissue. Typically, lipomas feel like a swelling with no change in texture or color of the overlying skin. When pressed, a lipoma usually feels like a bump or nodule underneath the skin.

They are typically round, smooth, easily moveable, and painless. They can be as small as 1 cm or as big as 10 cm or more.

Most people develop lipomas on the neck, arm, leg, chest, or back. Sometimes they may appear on your hands, feet, or head.

Dr. Rx

Let your doctor know if the possible lipoma is hard, rapidly increasing in size, restricts movement, or is painful beyond slight tenderness with pressure. These lesions should be biopsied to confirm the diagnosis. —Dr. Mollie MacCormack

Why do lipomas form?

Pro Tip

Madelung disease (multiple symmetric lipomatosis) is a disorder of fat metabolism most commonly seen in middle aged males with a history of alcohol abuse. Patients develop large, disfiguring lipomas involving the neck and shoulders. —Dr. MacCormack

Doctors don’t know why people get lipomas. Most people who get lipomas are otherwise healthy. When you have many lipomas, especially if other family members have similar symptoms, it may be a sign of a genetic disorder called familial multiple lipomatosis.

Still, there are some risk factors that may make you more likely to develop them.

  • Being overweight or obese
  • High cholesterol
  • Diabetes
  • Genetic conditions

Do lipomas go away?

Lipomas do not go away on their own. They typically grow to a certain size and then stabilize, but they may get bigger if you gain weight. Unfortunately, if you lose weight, they do not shrink. In fact, they may become more noticeable.

Sometimes the bumps are mistaken for cysts (called epidermal inclusion cysts). One main difference is that an epidermal inclusion cyst has a central dilated pore that you can see and may drain blood, keratin, or pus. Lipomas are also usually less firm and tender than cysts.

Next steps

If you notice a bump under your skin, see your doctor. They may suggest making an appointment with a dermatologist (a doctor who specializes in skin diseases).

Usually, lipomas are diagnosed with a skin exam. Sometimes, the doctor will do an ultrasound. They may want to rule out that it isn’t something else by performing a biopsy.

Can a lipoma turn into cancer?

Usually, lipomas don’t turn into cancer. Removal is unnecessary unless the lesion is painful, rapidly growing or otherwise symptomatic.

Pro Tip

Most lipomas are diagnosed via clinical exam. If the diagnosis is unclear, an ultrasound can be helpful. —Dr. MacCormack

Lipoma treatment

Lipomas are easily removed in a surgical procedure. Typically it is performed with local anesthesia. Side effects of surgery include post-operative scar and other risks such as bleeding and infection. It may take several weeks for the skin to heal.

Lipomas have also been treated with liposuction (a fat removal procedure) and injection of medications to dissolve fat. However, these treatments are less commonly performed due to increased cost and decreased effectiveness.

Buoy Chat Icon.
Take a thorough self-assessment on what you may have

Follow up

If the lipoma is removed with surgery, your doctor will typically schedule a follow-up to remove the stitches.

If you have a genetic condition that causes many lipomas, you may need regular follow-up visits with your doctor.

Share your story
Was this article helpful?
Read this next
Slide 1 of 4
  • Different skin conditions can cause one or multiple back bumps. The most common causes of a bump on the back include skin abscess, cysts, warts, or a back pimple. Other causes for lump on the back can arise from lipoma or non cancerous cell growth. Read below for more information on causes and how to treat back bumps.
    Read