Skip to main content
Read about

Les 7 principales causes de l'éjaculation douloureuse

Une éjaculation douloureuse peut affecter votre vie sexuelle et peut être le signe d'une infection, d'un blocage ou d'une inflammation.
·
Une illustration d’un pénis et d’un scrotum droits. Le pénis est jaune et le scrotum est bleu foncé. Deux gouttes de sperme sortent du bout du pénis, ainsi que deux éclairs bleu foncé. Le fond est un rectangle bleu clair.
Tooltip Icon.
Written by Jason Chandrapal, MD.
Interprofessional Advanced Clinical Simulation Fellow. Durham, NC
Last updated July 10, 2023

Quiz sur l'éjaculation douloureuse

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de votre douleur.

9 most common cause(s)

Orchite
Illustration of a health care worker swabbing an individual.
Syndrome de la vessie douloureuse (cystite interstitielle)
Illustration of a doctor beside a bedridden patient.
Cystitis
Prostatite chronique
Infections de la prostate
Illustration of a person thinking with cross bandaids.
Blocked ejaculatory duct
Infection gonococcique disséminée
Infection à Chlamydia
Illustration of a person thinking with cross bandaids.
Urethral stricture

Quiz sur l'éjaculation douloureuse

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de votre douleur.

Répondez au quiz sur l'éjaculation douloureuse

Qu'est-ce que l'éjaculation douloureuse ?

L'éjaculation est la libération de sperme du pénis lors de l'orgasme masculin. C’est normalement une expérience agréable et ne devrait pas être inconfortable.

Pourtant, l’éjaculation peut parfois être douloureuse, et ce n’est pas un problème rare. Un article de synthèse publié dans la revue,Andrologie translationnelle et urologie, a rapporté que jusqu'à 10 % des hommes ont eu une éjaculation douloureuse à un moment donné de leur vie. Parmi les personnes souffrant de problèmes de prostate, ce taux est passé de 30 à 75 %.

Les sensations d'éjaculation douloureuse varient. Cela peut ressembler à une douleur ou à une brûlure dans le périnée (la zone située entre l'anus et les organes génitaux), l'urètre ou le scrotum. La douleur peut commencer pendant les rapports sexuels et s’aggraver lorsque vous jouissez, ou elle peut être douloureuse uniquement lorsque vous éjaculez.

L'éjaculation douloureuse peut être le symptôme d'une infection, d'une inflammation ou d'un blocage des voies urinaires inférieures (vessie, prostate, vésicules séminales ou urètre). L’une des causes les plus courantes est la prostatite, une inflammation de la prostate.

L'éjaculation peut également être douloureuse en raison de facteurs psychologiques et émotionnels. Discutez de l'éjaculation douloureuse et de tout autre symptôme, tel qu'un écoulement ou une douleur, avec votre médecin.

Causes

1. Prostatite

Symptômes

  • Dysfonction érectile
  • Éjaculation douloureuse
  • Miction douloureuse
  • Sensation de devoir uriner fréquemment
  • Douleur dans la région pelvienne

La prostatite est une inflammation de la prostate, située entre la vessie et le pénis. L'inflammation peut être aiguë (de courte durée) ouchronique (les symptômes durent 6 semaines ou plus).

La gravité des symptômes varie. Les symptômes de la prostatite aiguë sont plus graves que ceux de la prostatite chronique, qui peuvent être gênants mais supportables.

La prostatite peut être infectieuse ou non infectieuse. La prostatite infectieuse est causée par une infection bactérienne. La prostatite non infectieuse est une inflammation de la prostate sans aucun signe d'infection.

Votre médecin diagnostiquera la prostatite sur la base d'analyses d'urine et de sang. La prostatite non infectieuse peut disparaître d'elle-même, tandis que la prostatite infectieuse doit être traitée avec des antibiotiques.

Quelles questions le médecin va-t-il poser ?

«Je veux d'abord déterminer si la douleur est liée aux érections, aux rapports sexuels ou simplement à l'éjaculation. Ensuite, j’essaie d’exclure les infections telles que les infections urinaires ou les IST. Je leur demanderais alors s'ils ont remarqué quelque chose de différent à propos de l'éjaculat. J’essaie ensuite de déterminer s’il existe une raison psychosociale plus large. Ensuite, je pose des questions sur les antécédents chirurgicaux, à la recherche d’une opération récente à l’aine ou à une hernie. J'interroge également leurs médicaments pour tout ajout ou augmentation récente de doses, en particulier les antidépresseurs.Dr Jason Chandrapal

2. Cystite

Symptômes

La cystite est une infection de la vessie. Bien qu'elle soit plus fréquente chez les femmes, la cystite peut survenir chez les hommes, en particulier chez les hommes qui ont des difficultés à uriner (comme ceux qui ont une hypertrophie de la prostate). L'infection se produit lorsque les bactéries qui tapissent l'intérieur de la vessie pénètrent dans les tissus de la vessie, provoquant une inflammation. .

La cystite est traitée avec des antibiotiques. Si vous ne le traitez pas, cela peut entraîner des complications telles qu’une infection rénale ou sanguine.

3. Infections sexuellement transmissibles

Symptômes

  • Éjaculation douloureuse
  • Miction douloureuse
  • Douleur autour du pénis
  • Écoulement du pénis qui peut être vert ou laiteux
  • Plaies ou ampoules autour du pénis et de la région génitale
  • L'impression que tu dois le faireuriner fréquemment

L'éjaculation douloureuse est un symptôme de plusieurs infections sexuellement transmissibles (IST). Les IST bactériennes courantes pouvant provoquer une éjaculation douloureuse comprennent :

Les IST doivent être traitées par votre médecin. Une analyse de sang ou un échantillon de liquide provenant de votre pénis déterminera si vous en avez un. Les IST se traitent avec des antibiotiques.

Si vous recevez un diagnostic d’IST, vous devez en informer vos partenaires sexuels et les encourager à se faire tester.

4. Cystite interstitielle (syndrome de la vessie douloureuse)

Symptômes

  • Douleur pendant l'éjaculation ourapports
  • Douleur à la vessie
  • Envie fréquente d’uriner
  • Inconfort ou douleur dans le bas de l'abdomen

La cystite interstitielle (CI), ou syndrome de la vessie douloureuse, est une maladie chronique qui provoque des douleurs et un inconfort dans les voies urinaires. Cela peut être léger ou grave.

La cause de la CI est inconnue, même si on pense qu’il s’agit d’une maladie auto-immune. Cela survient souvent chez les personnes atteintesfibromyalgie,syndrome du côlon irritable, etsyndrome de fatigue chronique. La CI est plus fréquente chez les femmes que chez les hommes, mais elle peut arriver à n’importe qui.

Le médecin effectuera plusieurs tests, notamment des analyses de sang et d'urine, et parfois une cystoscopie, au cours de laquelle il examinera votre vessie avec un télescope. Vous devrez peut-être également passer un examen rectal numérique.

Bien qu’il n’existe aucun remède contre la CI, il existe des moyens de contrôler vos symptômes. Les traitements comprennent des changements de mode de vie, une thérapie physique du plancher pelvien, des médicaments oraux, des instillations vésicales (lavages de la vessie) ou une intervention chirurgicale.

L'éjaculation douloureuse doit-elle être traitée ?

"L'éjaculation douloureuse n'est pas une chose ponctuelle et ne peut pas disparaître d'elle-même." —dr. Chandra Pal


5. Épididymo-orchite

Symptômes

L'épididymo-orchite est une infection de l'épididyme, un tube situé dans le testicule qui stocke et transporte les spermatozoïdes. Dans certains cas, les testicules sont également touchés. L'orchite-épididymite est généralement causée par des infections bactériennes (telles que les IST) ou par un virus.

Les symptômes sont similaires à ceux detorsion testiculaire, qui est une maladie grave pouvant nécessiter une intervention chirurgicale ; consultez votre médecin immédiatement.

Votre médecin fera une échographie et prélèvera un échantillon d'urine pour confirmer le diagnostic. Le traitement dépend de la cause. Si c’est bactérien, des antibiotiques vous seront administrés. L’orchépididymite virale peut disparaître d’elle-même. Vous pouvez soulager toute douleur avec des analgésiques en vente libre.

6. Sténose urétrale

Symptômes

  • Éjaculation douloureuse
  • Miction douloureuse
  • Besoin fréquent d'uriner
  • Faible débit ou « dribble » en urinant
  • Impossible de commencer à uriner
  • Flux faible
  • Vidange incomplète de la vessie

On parle de rétrécissement de l'urètre lorsqu'une cicatrice bloque l'urètre, le tube qui vide la vessie. Le blocage diminue le débit d’urine et rend difficile la vidange complète de votre vessie. Étant donné que le sperme passe également par l'urètre, une sténose peut bloquer tout ou partie de l'éjaculat pendant l'orgasme, provoquant ainsi des douleurs.

La cicatrice se développe à partir d’une inflammation de l’urètre. L’inflammation peut être causée par une infection (comme une IST), une intervention chirurgicale antérieure ou si vous avez eu plusieurs cathéters urinaires.

Un spécialiste, tel qu'un urologue, peut vous diagnostiquer en mesurant votre débit urinaire, en mesurant le résidu post-mictionnel (la quantité d'urine qui reste dans votre vessie après avoir uriné) et en effectuant des radiographies. Les traitements comprennent la dilatation de l'urètre (une procédure visant à étirer les côtés de l'urètre) et la chirurgie.

7. Canal éjaculateur bloqué

Symptômes

  • Éjaculation douloureuse
  • Moins d'éjaculation que la normale
  • Du sang dans le sperme
  • Douleur dans lepérinée, le pénis ou le scrotum

Le canal éjaculateur est le canal par lequel le sperme passe des testicules jusqu’à l’urètre, où il est libéré du pénis. Bien que cela ne soit pas courant, le canal éjaculateur peut parfois se bloquer, provoquant des douleurs et diminuant la quantité normale d'éjaculat.

Un blocage peut se développer à la suite d'une opération récente à l'aine,petites pierres, une inflammation ou des cicatrices.

Une intervention chirurgicale est généralement nécessaire pour éliminer le blocage.

Autres causes possibles

D’autres conditions pouvant provoquer une éjaculation douloureuse comprennent :

  • Lésions nerveuses résultant d'une récente opération de hernie.
  • Effets secondaires des médicaments utilisés pour traiter la dépression.
  • Causes psychosociales telles qu'antécédents d'anxiété,trouble de stress post-traumatique, ou des abus sexuels.

Quand appeler le médecin

Une éjaculation douloureuse peut nuire à votre qualité de vie et peut être le signe d’un problème médical plus grave. Consultez votre médecin si vous avez :

  • Douleur quand vous éjaculez
  • Douleur quand vous urinez
  • Décharge de votre pénis
  • Sang dans votre sperme ou votre urine
  • Douleur abdominale
  • Difficulté à contrôler le flux d’urine
  • Difficulté à éjaculer

N'ayez pas peur d'en parler à votre médecin

"L'une des premières choses que je dirais est : Merci d'être honnête et de venir me voir avec ce problème. Je comprends qu'il s'agit d'un sujet difficile et j'apprécie votre confiance. Le but de mes questions n'est pas d'interférer dans votre vie privée ou relations personnelles. J’essaie d’aider. —dr. Chandra Pal

Dois-je aller aux urgences pour une éjaculation douloureuse ?

Vous devriez vous rendre aux urgences si vous présentez l’un de ces signes d’un problème plus grave :

  • Douleur extrême dans la région génitale
  • Douleur soudaine et gonflement du testicule
  • Difficulté à uriner avec fièvre ou frissons

Traitements

  • Changements de style de vie
  • Physiothérapie du plancher pelvien
  • Médicaments sur ordonnance pour traiter les infections sous-jacentes
  • Chirurgie
Share your story
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.
Interprofessional Advanced Clinical Simulation Fellow. Durham, NC
Dr. Chandrapal is the current Interprofessional Advanced Clinical Simulation Fellow at the VA medical center in Durham, NC. Prior to his current position he was a urology resident at Duke University. Originally from Houston, TX he went to undergrad at the University of Texas in Austin, followed by a masters degree from the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio, and medical schoo...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

4 people found this helpful
Tooltip Icon.
Read this next
Slide 1 of 4

Skip to main contentSkip to accessibility services
6 min read
No Ads

Top 7 Causes of Painful Ejaculation

Painful ejaculation can affect your sexual life, and may be a sign of an infection, blockage, or inflammation.
Last updated April 15, 2021

Try our free symptom checker

Get a thorough self-assessment before your visit to the doctor.

Painful ejaculation questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your pain.

Painful ejaculation symptom checker

What is painful ejaculation?

Ejaculation is the release of semen from the penis during the male orgasm. It is normally a pleasurable experience and shouldn’t be uncomfortable.

Yet ejaculation can sometimes be painful, and it’s not an uncommon problem. A review article published in the journal, Translational Andrology and Urology, reported that up to 10% of men have had painful ejaculation at some point in their lives. Among those with prostate issues, that rate climbed to 30% to 75%.

The sensations of painful ejaculation vary. It may feel like pain or burning in the perineum (the area between the anus and genitals), the urethra, or scrotum. The pain may begin during sex and become more severe when you climax, or it may be painful only when you ejaculate.

Painful ejaculation can be a symptom of an infection, inflammation, or blockage of the lower urinary tract (bladder, prostate, seminal vesicles, or urethra). One of the most common causes is prostatitis, an inflammation of the prostate.

Ejaculation could also be painful because of psychological and emotional factors. Discuss painful ejaculation, and any other symptoms, such as discharge or pain, with your doctor.

Causes of painful ejaculation

1. Prostatitis

Pro Tip

I first want to determine if the pain is with erections, sex, or just isolated to ejaculation. Next, I try to rule out infections such as UTIs or STIs. I would then ask if they noticed anything different about the ejaculate. I then try to determine if there is a larger, psychosocial reason. Next, I ask about surgical history, looking for recent groin or hernia surgery. I also query their medications for any recent additions or increases of doses, particularly antidepressants. —Dr. Jason Chandrapal

Symptoms

  • Erectile dysfunction
  • Painful ejaculation
  • Painful urination
  • Feeling like you have to urinate frequently
  • Pain in your pelvic area

Prostatitis is an inflammation of the prostate gland, which is located between the bladder and penis. The inflammation may be acute (short-lived) or chronic (symptoms last 6 weeks or longer).

The severity of symptoms varies. Acute prostatitis symptoms are more severe than chronic prostatitis, which can be bothersome but bearable.

Prostatitis can be infectious or non-infectious. Infectious prostatitis is caused by a bacterial infection. Non-infectious prostatitis is an inflammation of the prostate without any signs of infection.

Your doctor will diagnose prostatitis based on urine and blood tests. Non-infectious prostatitis may go away on its own, while infectious prostatitis needs to be treated with antibiotics.

Painful ejaculation questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your pain.

Painful ejaculation symptom checker

2. Cystitis

Symptoms

Cystitis is an infection of the bladder. Though it’s more common in women, cystitis can occur in men, particularly in men who have difficulty urinating (such as those who have an enlarged prostate.) The infection occurs when bacteria that line the inside of the bladder enter the bladder tissue, causing inflammation.

Cystitis is treated with antibiotics. If you leave it untreated, it can lead to complications such as a kidney or blood infection.

3. Sexually transmitted infections

Symptoms

  • Painful ejaculation
  • Painful urination
  • Pain around the penis
  • Discharge from the penis that may be green or milky
  • Sores or blisters around the penis and genital area
  • Feeling like you have to urinate frequently

Painful ejaculation is a symptom of several sexually transmitted infections (STIs). Common bacterial STIs that may cause painful ejaculation include:

STIs need to be treated by your doctor. A blood test or a sample of fluid from your penis will determine if you have one. STIs are treated with antibiotics.

If you’re diagnosed with an STI, you should let your sexual partners know and encourage them to get tested.

4. Interstitial cystitis (painful bladder syndrome)

Pro Tip

A common misconception is that painful ejaculation is a one-time thing and may go away on its own. —Dr. Chandrapal

Symptoms

  • Pain during ejaculation or intercourse
  • Bladder pain
  • Frequent urge to urinate
  • Discomfort or pain in your lower abdomen

Interstitial cystitis (IC), or painful bladder syndrome, is a chronic condition that causes pain and discomfort in the urinary tract. It may be mild or severe.

The cause of IC is unknown, though it’s thought to be an autoimmune disorder. It often occurs in people with fibromyalgia, irritable bowel syndrome, and chronic fatigue syndrome. IC is more common in women than in men but can happen to anyone.

The doctor will do several tests, including blood and urine tests, and sometimes a cystoscopy, where they look in your bladder with a scope. You may also need to have a digital rectal examination.

While there is no cure for IC, there are ways to control your symptoms. Treatments include lifestyle changes, pelvic floor physical therapy, oral medication, bladder instillations (bladder washes), or surgery.

5. Epididymo-orchitis

Symptoms

Epididymo-orchitis is an infection of the epididymis, a tube in the testicle that stores and transports sperm. In some cases, the testicles are also affected. Epididymo-orchitis is usually caused by bacterial infections (such as STIs) or a virus.

Symptoms are similar to the symptoms of testicular torsion, which is a serious condition that may require surgery—see your doctor right away.

Your doctor will do an ultrasound and take a urine sample to confirm the diagnosis. Treatment depends on the cause. If it’s bacterial, you will be given antibiotics. Viral epididymo-orchitis may go away on its own. You can ease any pain with over-the-counter pain medications.

6. Urethral stricture

Symptoms

  • Painful ejaculation
  • Painful urination
  • Frequent need to urinate
  • Low flow or “dribbling” while urinating
  • Unable to start urinating
  • Weak stream
  • Incomplete bladder emptying

Urethral stricture is when there is scarring that blocks the urethra, the tube that empties the bladder. The blockage decreases the flow of urine and makes it difficult to empty your bladder completely. Because semen also passes through the urethra, a stricture can block some or all of the ejaculate during orgasm, causing pain.

The scarring develops from inflammation in the urethra. The inflammation may be caused by an infection (such as an STI), previous surgery, or if you’ve had multiple urinary catheters.

A specialist, such as a urologist, can diagnose you by measuring your urine flow, measuring the post-void residual (the amount of urine that is left in your bladder after you urinate), and X-rays. Treatments include urethral dilation—a procedure to stretch the sides of the urethra—and surgery.

Painful ejaculation questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your pain.

Painful ejaculation symptom checker

7. Blocked ejaculatory duct

Symptoms

  • Painful ejaculation
  • Less ejaculate than normal
  • Blood in the semen
  • Pain in the perineum, penis, or scrotum

The ejaculatory duct is the channel semen travels through on its way from the testicles to the urethra, where it’s released from the penis. Though not common, the ejaculatory duct can sometimes become blocked, causing pain and decreasing your normal amount of ejaculate.

A blockage can develop from recent groin surgery, small stones, inflammation, or scarring.

Surgery is usually needed to remove the blockage.

Other possible causes

Other conditions that can cause painful ejaculation include:

  • Nerve damage from recent hernia surgery.
  • Side effects of medications used to treat depression.
  • Psychosocial causes such as a history of anxiety, post-traumatic stress disorder, or sexual abuse.

When to call the doctor

Painful ejaculation can interfere with your quality of life and may be a sign of a more serious medical condition. See your doctor if you have:

  • Pain when you ejaculate
  • Pain when you urinate
  • Discharge from your penis
  • Blood in your semen or urine
  • Abdominal discomfort
  • Trouble controlling the flow of urine
  • Trouble ejaculating

Dr. Rx

One of the first things I would say is: Thank you for being honest and coming to me with this problem. I understand it is a difficult subject to talk about and appreciate your trust. The goal of my questions are not to interfere in your private life or personal relationships. I am trying to help.  —Dr. Chandrapal

Should I go to the ER for painful ejaculation?

You should go to the ER if you have any of these signs of a more serious problem:

  • Extreme pain in the genital area
  • Sudden pain and swelling of the testicle
  • Difficulty urinating with fever or chills

Treatments

  • Lifestyle changes
  • Pelvic floor physical therapy
  • Prescription medication to treat underlying infections
  • Surgery
Hear what 1 other is saying
Mystery painPosted April 16, 2021 by W.
So for about three months now I have had pain in my testicles, in my bladder area, and my sides. I went to the doctor and they sent me for an ultrasound of my testicles, bladder, and kidneys, checked my urine for UTI and bladder infection and also sent urine for std testing. prescribed doxycycline for ten days twice a day. I took the full course as prescribed, went back to get my results of std test and ultrasound to find negative std test and nothing wrong on the ultrasound. I was referred to a urologist. While waiting to see the urologist my ejaculate had changed consistency. It had become thicker than normal and doesn’t all come out. I have to work it out like you would toothpaste out of the tube. I went to the urologist and he prescribed an anti-inflammatory, which has helped, but I still have pain when I ejaculate. It doesn’t hurt but thirty minutes to an hour later the same pain I have been having increases. The pain on some days is constant and some days comes and goes. Since this all started I have had maybe four days with no pain, none of which have been consecutive. The pain ranges from mild discomfort to very distracting

Dr. Chandrapal is the current Interprofessional Advanced Clinical Simulation Fellow at the VA medical center in Durham, NC. Prior to his current position he was a urology resident at Duke University. Originally from Houston, TX he went to undergrad at the University of Texas in Austin, followed by a masters degree from the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio, and medical school at Texas Tech Health Science Center. He interested in adult learning, emotional intelligence, systems thinking, and biotechnology/innovation. In his free time he enjoys fly fishing and playing tennis.

Was this article helpful?

Tooltip Icon.
Read this next