Skip to main content
Read about

Arten von Aknenarben

Es gibt viele Möglichkeiten, Aknenarben loszuwerden, wie zum Beispiel medizinische Cremes, Verfahren wie Mikrodermabrasion und chemische Peelings oder eine Operation.
·
Table of Contents
Tooltip Icon.
Written by Lauren Levy, MD, FAAD.
Clinical Instructor , Mount Sinai Hospital, Department of Dermatology
Medically reviewed by
Last updated July 9, 2022

Fragebogen zu Arten von Aknenarben

Nutzen Sie unseren kostenlosen Symptom-Checker, um herauszufinden, ob Sie Aknenarbentypen haben.

Aknenarben können schwierig zu behandeln sein – und es braucht Zeit. Narben können verfärbt, erhaben, flach oder narbig sein. Einige Narben verblassen oder verschwinden, andere können jedoch dauerhaft sein.

Der beste Weg, Aknenarben vorzubeugen, besteht darin, sie frühzeitig zu behandeln und nicht daran herumzuhacken. Wenn Sie jedoch Aknenarben haben, kann Ihr Hautarzt je nach Art der Narben, die Sie haben, verschiedene Behandlungsarten empfehlen.

Es ist sehr wichtig, bei der Behandlung von Aknenarben Sonnenschutzmittel zu tragen – es hilft der Haut zu heilen und verhindert weitere Verfärbungen.

Profi-Tipp

Ein weit verbreitetes Missverständnis ist, dass sich Narben nicht bessern. Viele Menschen kommen nicht zu einem Besuch, weil ihnen Familie oder Freunde gesagt haben, dass man Narben nicht behandeln kann. —Dr. Lauren Levy

Was verursacht Aknenarben?

Wenn es eine gibtPickel oder Zyste auf der Haut, die Beule ist mit Bakterien, Öl (Talg) und abgestorbenen Hautzellen gefüllt. Weiße Blutkörperchen versuchen, die Infektion zu bekämpfen, was zu Eiter und Entzündungen führt. Schäden an den Hautschichten können zu Narbenbildung führen.

Aknenarben entstehen aus vielen verschiedenen Gründen.

  • Die Entzündung kann die Freisetzung bestimmter Substanzen auslösen, die Kollagen (das Bindegewebe in der Haut) und anderes Hautgewebe abbauen und eine narbige (atrophische) Narbe verursachen.
  • Erhabene Narben, auch hypertrophe Narben oder Keloide genannt, entstehen, wenn Ihr Körper während des Heilungsprozesses zu viel Kollagen produziert.
  • Flache Narben umfassen postinflammatorische Erytheme (PIE) und postinflammatorische Hyperpigmentierung (PIH). Sie werden durch erweiterte Blutgefäße verursacht, die Ihre Haut rot machen, und durch Melanin (das Pigment, das die Haut dunkler macht). Durch Sonneneinstrahlung können sie dunkler werden, daher ist es sehr wichtig, Sonnenschutzmittel zu tragen.

Dr. Rx

Die Behandlung von Aknenarben ist nicht einfach und erledigt. Es erfordert oft mehrere unterschiedliche Behandlungen und kann 4 bis 6 Monate dauern. Möglicherweise sind mehrere Sitzungen mit Laser, Microneedling oder Peelings erforderlich. —Levy

Können Aknenarben entfernt werden?

Es gibt Behandlungsmöglichkeiten für alle Arten von Aknenarben. Ihr Hautarzt wird Ihnen je nach Art Ihrer Narbe die beste Option empfehlen.

Flache Aknenarben oder Akneflecken verblassen oft mit der Zeit von selbst. Sie können den Prozess mit topischen Medikamenten (z. B. Retinoiden) oder einem Narbengel wie Pracasil beschleunigen, um den Neuaufbau von Kollagen zu unterstützen. Ihr Hautarzt führt möglicherweise auch chemische Peelings oder Laserbehandlungen durch.

Erhabene und narbige Aknenarben sind dauerhaft und verschwinden nur durch eine Behandlung. Einige der Behandlungen flacher Narben werden auch zur Behandlung erhabener und narbiger Narben eingesetzt. Um die besten Ergebnisse zu erzielen, sind möglicherweise zusätzliche Eingriffe in der Praxis erforderlich, beispielsweise Steroidinjektionen oder sogar eine Operation.

Akne-Flecken vs. Akne-Narben

Akneflecken sind flache, verfärbte Flecken, die durch PIH oder PIE verursacht werden und normalerweise mit der Zeit von selbst verschwinden. Aknenarben sind erhabene oder narbige Narben. Diese sind dauerhaft und verschwinden nur durch eine Behandlung.

Ready to treat your acne scars?

We show you only the best treatments for your condition and symptoms—all vetted by our medical team. And when you’re not sure what’s wrong, Buoy can guide you in the right direction.See all treatment options
Illustration of two people discussing treatment.

Arten von Aknenarben

Postinflammatorisches Erythem

Postinflammatorisches Erythem (PIE) ist ein roter Kreis oder Fleck, der zurückbleibt, nachdem ein Pickel verschwunden ist. Diese Flecken entstehen, wenn sich Ihre Blutgefäße aufgrund der Entzündung erweitern.

PIE verschwindet normalerweise von selbst ohne Behandlung, typischerweise nach etwa 3 bis 6 Wochen. Es gibt jedoch mehrere Behandlungen, die das Abklingen beschleunigen können:

  • Pulse-Farbstofflaser-Behandlungen zielen auf die betroffenen Blutgefäße ab, um Rötungen zu reduzieren.
  • Topische Medikamente wie Vitamin C, Niacinamid oder Azelainsäure können helfen, Entzündungen zu reduzieren und den Fleck zu verblassen. Sie sind sowohl rezeptfrei als auch auf Rezept erhältlich.
  • Das Tragen von Sonnenschutzmitteln ist bei PIE sehr wichtig, da ultraviolettes Licht die Rötung verschlimmern kann.

Postinflammatorische Hyperpigmentierung

Postinflammatorische Hyperpigmentierung (PIH) ist ein flacher, brauner Fleck, der zurückbleibt, nachdem ein Pickel verschwunden ist. Der Fleck entsteht, wenn eine Entzündung die Freisetzung von Melanin auslöst, einem natürlichen Pigment, das in Ihrer Haut vorkommt.

Genau wie PIE verblasst auch PIH mit der Zeit. Mehrere Behandlungen können dazu beitragen, dass sie schneller verschwinden:

  • Verschreibungspflichtige topische Behandlungen zur Aufhellung der Flecken wie Retinoide, Vitamin C, Hydrochinon, Glykolsäure oder Azelainsäure.
  • In einigen Fällen können in der Praxis durchgeführte Eingriffe wie Laserbehandlungen und chemische Peelings mit Salicyl- oder Glykolsäure empfohlen werden.

Profi-Tipp

Wenn Sie nicht an Akneläsionen herumzupflücken, kann dies dazu beitragen, das Risiko einer bleibenden Narbe zu verringern. Es kann sein, dass Sie auch dann einen dunklen hyperpigmentierten Fleck (PIH) erhalten, wenn Sie ihn nicht auswählen, dieser verblasst jedoch mit der Zeit. —Levy

Erhöhte Aknenarben

Erhabene (hypertrophe) Narben sind harte, rosafarbene oder braune Beulen, die sich über dem Bereich des abgeheilten Pickels bilden. Wenn die Narbe über die Stelle des Pickels hinauswächst, spricht man von einem Keloid.

Erhabene Narben entstehen, wenn die Haut während des Heilungsprozesses zu viel Kollagen produziert. Sie befinden sich häufig auf der Brust, dem Rücken und den Schultern. Bei manchen Menschen ist die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass sie genetisch bedingt sind, höher. Erhabene Narben oder Keloide kommen bei Schwarzen häufiger vor.

Diese Narben verschwinden nicht von alleine, aber es gibt mehrere sehr wirksame Behandlungen, die dabei helfen, sie abzuflachen:

  • Steroidinjektionen in die Narbe
  • Tragen eines Silikonpflasters über der Narbe
  • Lasertherapie
  • Topische verschreibungspflichtige Medikamente, einschließlich 5-Fluorouracil und Imiquimod

Lochige Aknenarben

Grübchenförmige (atrophische) Aknenarben entstehen, wenn eine Entzündung zu einem Abbau von Gewebe und Kollagen führt und kleine Grübchen oder Vertiefungen entstehen. Es gibt drei Arten von atrophischen Aknenarben: Eispickel-, Boxcar- und Rolling-Akne-Narben.

Narben vom Eispickel

Dies sind die kleinsten und schmalsten narbigen Narben. Eispickelnarben sind in der obersten Hautschicht am breitesten und werden schmaler, je tiefer sie in die Haut eindringen. Sie treten normalerweise in Bereichen auf, in denen Ihre Haut dünner ist, wie auf der Stirn und den oberen Wangen.

Eispickelnarben gehören zu den schwieriger zu behandelnden Aknenarben, da sie sehr tief sein können. Es gibt jedoch mehrere in der Praxis durchgeführte Verfahren, die dabei helfen können, Kollagen aufzubauen und ihr Aussehen zu verbessern. Diese beinhalten:

  • TCA CROSS (chemische Rekonstruktion von Hautnarben). Eine starke Konzentration an Trichloressigsäure (TCA) lagert sich in der Narbe ab, wodurch neues Kollagen wächst und die Narbentiefe verringert wird. Möglicherweise sind mehrere Behandlungen erforderlich.
  • Chemische Peelings. Tiefere chemische Peelings können die Neubildung von Kollagen auslösen, um die Narbe aufzufüllen. Diese Behandlung eignet sich am besten für flache Eispickelnarben.
  • Stanzexzision (auch Stanzbiopsie genannt). Bei diesem Verfahren schneidet der Dermatologe mit einem kreisförmigen Instrument, das wie ein kleiner Ausstecher aussieht, die Narbe aus und näht dann das Loch, um eine neue flache Narbe zu erzeugen.
  • Stanzhöhe. Bei diesem Verfahren wird mit dem Stanzbiopsieinstrument eine kleine Gewebemenge aus dem tiefsten Teil der Narbe entnommen und anschließend die Narbenbasis angehoben, sodass sie auf gleicher Höhe mit der übrigen Haut liegt.
  • Stanztransplantat. Ihr Hautarzt entfernt die Narbe mit dem Stanzbiopsieinstrument und näht dann ein gleich großes Stück Haut (z. B. aus Ihrem Nacken oder hinter dem Ohr) über die Grube, damit der Bereich flach erscheint.
  • Dermabrasion. Ihr Hautarzt entfernt mit einem Gerät die oberste Hautschicht, wodurch die Narbe ebener wird. Es können 2 bis 6 Behandlungen erforderlich sein.
  • Microneedling. Mithilfe eines Geräts mit mehreren kleinen Nadeln werden flache Löcher in die Haut gestochen, wodurch neues Kollagen wächst und die Narbe auffüllt. Für das Microneedling können 2 bis 6 Behandlungen erforderlich sein.
  • Behandlungen mit plättchenreichem Plasma (PRP). Bei diesem Verfahren verwendet Ihr Hautarzt Plasma aus Ihrem eigenen Blut, um Ihre Narben zu behandeln. Blutplättchenreiches Plasma enthält viele Wachstumsfaktoren, die bei Injektion in die Haut die Produktion von neuem Kollagen auslösen können.
  • Laserbehandlungen. Abhängig von der Tiefe Ihrer Narbe können unterschiedliche Laser zur Behandlung eingesetzt werden. Ablative Laser entfernen die äußere Hautschicht und erhitzen die tieferen Schichten, um das Wachstum neuen Gewebes zu fördern und die Haut glatter und straffer zu machen. Nichtablative Laser erhitzen einfach die tieferen Schichten, um das Wachstum neuen Gewebes zu fördern. Es können mehrere Behandlungen erforderlich sein.

Narben von Güterwagen

Diese runden oder ovalen Narben sind breiter als Eispickelnarben und haben scharfe, klar definierte Kanten. Boxcar-Narben treten meist an den unteren Wangen und am Kiefer auf, wo die Haut dicker ist.

Ihr Hautarzt behandelt diese Narben möglicherweise mit einem Verfahren namens Subzision. Mit einer Nadel wird die oberste Hautschicht vom darunter liegenden Narbengewebe getrennt, wodurch sich neues Kollagen bildet und die Narbe nach oben drückt, sodass sie auf gleicher Höhe mit der restlichen Haut liegt.

Auch chemische Peelings, Microneedling, Dermabrasion und Lasertherapie können zur Behandlung von Güterwagennarben eingesetzt werden. Oder Ihr Hautarzt schlägt möglicherweise vor, einen Füller wie Hyaluronsäure oder Polymethylmethacrylat zu injizieren, um die Narbe aufzufüllen.

Rollende Narben

Rollnarben sind wie Güterwagennarben breit und erscheinen häufig an den unteren Wangen und am Kiefer. Aber haben Sie schräge Kanten, wodurch die Textur Ihrer Haut ungleichmäßig erscheint.

Die gleichen Behandlungen wie bei Güterwagennarben können auch zur Behandlung von Rollnarben eingesetzt werden. Dazu gehören chemische Peelings, Microneedling, Dermabrasion, Lasertherapie und Filler-Injektionen.


Share your story
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.
Dr. Le obtained his MD from Harvard Medical School and his BA from Harvard College. Before Buoy, his research focused on glioblastoma, a deadly form of brain cancer. Outside of work, Dr. Le enjoys cooking and struggling to run up-and-down the floor in an adult basketball league.

Was this article helpful?

Tooltip Icon.

Skip to main contentSkip to accessibility services
7 min read
No Ads

Types of Acne Scars

There are many ways to get rid of acne scars, like medicated creams, procedures like microdermabrasion and chemical peels, or surgery.
Table of Contents
Tooltip Icon.
Written by
Lauren Levy, MD, FAAD.
Clinical Instructor , Mount Sinai Hospital, Department of Dermatology
Last updated July 9, 2021

Try our free symptom checker

Get a thorough self-assessment before your visit to the doctor.

Acne scars can be difficult to treat—and it takes time. Scars can be discolored, and may be raised, flat, or pitted. Some scars fade or disappear, but others may be permanent.

The best way to prevent acne from scarring is to treat it early and not pick at it. But if you do end up with acne scars, your dermatologist can recommend various types of treatments based on the type of scars you have.

It’s very important to wear sunscreen when being treated for acne scars—it helps the skin heal and prevent more discoloration.

Pro Tip

A common misconception is that scars won't improve. Many people don’t come in for a visit because they were told by family or friends that nothing can be done to treat scars. —Dr. Lauren Levy

What causes acne scarring?

When there is a pimple or cyst on the skin, the bump is filled with bacteria, oil (sebum), and dead skin cells. White blood cells try to fight the infection, causing pus and inflammation. Damage to the skin layers can lead to scarring.

Acne scars form for many different reasons.

  • The inflammation can trigger a release of certain substances that break down collagen (the connective tissue in skin) and other skin tissue, causing a pitted (atrophic) scar.
  • Raised scars, also called hypertrophic scars or keloids, develop when your body produces too much collagen during the healing process.
  • Flat scars include post-inflammatory erythema (PIE) and post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation (PIH). They are caused by dilated blood vessels, which make your skin red, and melanin (the pigment that makes skin darker). Exposure to sunlight can make them darker, so it’s really important to wear sunscreen.

Can acne scars be removed?

There are treatments available for all types of acne scars. Your dermatologist will recommend the best option based on the type of scar you have.

Flat acne scars, or acne marks, often fade on their own over time. You can speed up the process with topical medications (such as retinoids) or a scar gel, like Pracasil, to help rebuild collagen. Your dermatologist may also do chemical peels or laser treatments.

Dr. Rx

Treatment of acne scars is not just one and done. It often requires several different treatments and may take 4 to 6 months. Several sessions of laser, microneedling, or peels may be needed. —Dr. Levy

Raised and pitted acne scars are permanent and only go away with treatment. Some of the treatments for flat scars are also used to treat raised and pitted scars. For the best results, you may need additional types of in-office procedures, such as steroid injections or even surgery.

Acne marks vs. acne scars

Acne marks are flat discolored spots caused by PIH or PIE that usually fade on their own over time. Acne scars are those that are raised or pitted. These are permanent and will only go away with treatment.

Types of acne scars

Post-inflammatory erythema

Post-inflammatory erythema (PIE) is a red circle or mark that remains after a pimple has gone away. These marks develop when your blood vessels dilate (widen) from the inflammation.

PIE usually goes away on its own without any treatment, typically in about 3 to 6 weeks. But there are several treatments that can fade it faster:

  • Pulse dye laser treatments target the affected blood vessels to reduce redness.
  • Topical medications such as vitamin C, niacinamide, or azelaic acid can help reduce inflammation and fade the mark. They are available by both over-the-counter or prescription.
  • Wearing sunscreen is very important if you have PIE, as ultraviolet light can make the redness worse.

Post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation

Post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation, or PIH, is a flat, brown mark that remains after a pimple has gone away. The mark occurs when inflammation triggers the release of melanin, a natural pigment found in your skin.

Just like PIE, PIH will fade over time. Several treatments may help them go away faster:

  • Prescription topical treatments to lighten the marks such as retinoids, vitamin C, hydroquinone, glycolic acid, or azelaic acid.
  • In-office procedures such as laser treatments and chemical peels with salicylic or glycolic acid may be recommended in some cases.

Pro Tip

Not picking at acne lesions can help reduce the chance of causing a permanent scar. You may still get a dark hyperpigmented mark (PIH) even if you do not pick, but this will fade with time. —Dr. Levy

Raised acne scars

Raised (hypertrophic) scars are hard, pink or brown bumps that form over the area of the healed pimple. When the scar grows beyond the location of the pimple, it is called a keloid.

Raised scars develop when the skin produces too much collagen during the healing process. They are often on the chest, back, and shoulders. Some people are more likely to develop them due to genetics. Raised scars or keloids are more common in Black people.

These scars don’t go away on their own, but there are several very effective treatments that help flatten them:

  • Steroid injections into the scar
  • Wearing a silicone patch over the scar
  • Laser therapy
  • Topical prescription medications, including 5-fluorouracil and imiquimod

Pitted acne scars

Pitted (atrophic) acne scars develop when inflammation causes a breakdown of tissue and collagen, creating small pits or indents. There are three types of atrophic acne scars: ice pick, boxcar, and rolling.

Ice pick scars

These are the smallest, narrowest pitted scars. Ice pick scars are widest at the top layer of your skin and narrow as they go deeper into your skin. They usually appear in areas where your skin is thinner, like your forehead and upper cheeks.

Ice pick scars are one of the more difficult acne scars to treat because they can be quite deep. But there are several in-office procedures that can help build collagen and improve their appearance. These include:

  • TCA CROSS (chemical reconstruction of skin scars). A strong concentration of trichloroacetic acid (TCA) is deposited into the scar, causing new collagen to grow and reduce the depth of the scar. Multiple treatments may be needed.
  • Chemical peels. Deeper chemical peels can trigger new collagen formation to help fill in the scar. This treatment is best for shallow ice pick scars.
  • Punch excision (also called a punch biopsy). In this procedure, the dermatologist uses a circular instrument that looks like a tiny cookie cutter to cut out the scar, then stitches the hole to create a new flat scar.
  • Punch elevation. In this procedure, the punch biopsy instrument is used to collect a small amount of tissue from the deepest part of the scar, which is then used to raise the base of the scar so it’s level with the rest of your skin.
  • Punch graft. Your dermatologist removes the scar with the punch biopsy instrument, then sews a piece of skin of the same size (taken from your neck or behind the ear, for example) over the pit to make the area appear flat.
  • Dermabrasion. Your dermatologist uses a device to remove the top layer of your skin, which makes the scar more level. It may require 2 to 6 treatments.
  • Microneedling. A device with several small needles in it is used to prick shallow holes in the skin, which causes new collagen to grow, filling in the scar. Microneedling may require 2 to 6 treatments.
  • Platelet-rich plasma (PRP) treatments. In this procedure, your dermatologist uses plasma from your own blood to treat your scars. Platelet-rich plasma contains a lot of growth factors that, when injected into the skin, can trigger new collagen production.
  • Laser treatments. Depending on the depth of your scarring, different lasers can be used to treat it. Ablative lasers remove the outer layer of the skin and heat up the deeper layers to promote new tissue growth, making skin smoother and tighter. Nonablative lasers simply heat up the deeper layers to promote new tissue growth. Several treatments may be required.

Boxcar scars

These round or oval scars are wider than ice pick scars and have sharp, well-defined edges. Boxcar scars occur mostly on your lower cheeks and jawline, where your skin is thicker.

Your dermatologist may treat these scars with a procedure called subcision. A needle is used to separate the top layer of skin from the scar tissue below, which causes new collagen to form and push the scar up so it’s level with the rest of your skin.

Chemical peels, microneedling, dermabrasion, and laser therapy can also be used to treat boxcar scars. Or your dermatologist may suggest injecting a filler, such as hyaluronic acid or polymethyl methacrylate, to fill in the scar.

Rolling scars

Like boxcar scars, rolling scars are wide and commonly appear on your lower cheeks and jawline. But have sloping edges, which makes the texture of your skin appear uneven.

The same treatments that treat boxcar scars can also be used to treat rolling scars. These include chemical peels, microneedling, dermabrasion, laser therapy, and filler injections.


Share your story
Clinical Instructor , Mount Sinai Hospital, Department of Dermatology

Dr. Levy is a board certified dermatologist specializing in medical derm with expertise in acne, rosacea, skin cancer, psoriasis, and skin manifestations of rheumatologic disease. Her undergraduate education was completed at the University of Pennsylvania where she graduated summa cum laude and was inducted into the Phi Beta Kappa honors society. She graduated with a distinction in research from the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai and was inducted into the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society. During medical school, she received a one year Doris Duke Clinical Research Fellowship Award. During that time, she investigated imaging techniques for early diagnosis of head and neck cancer. Her training continued with a medical internship at Memorial Sloane Kettering Cancer Center followed by dermatology residency in the Department of Dermatology at Yale University, one of the most prestigious dermatology departments in the country. Following her residency, she worked as a clinical Instructor at Yale School of Medicine. She currently sees patients in New York City and Westport Connecticut and is a Clinical Instructor in the Department of Dermatology at Mount Sinai School of Medicine. She is a Fellow of the American Academy of Dermatology.

Dr. Levy is well published in the field of dermatology having written articles on atopic dermatitis, psoriasis, acne, and skin manifestations of systemic disease. She is an avid lecturer and has been invited to lecture at state wide dermatology meetings. She is the editor of a board review Dermatology textbook.

Was this article helpful?

Tooltip Icon.