Skip to main content
Read about

Saurer Reflux (GERD)

·
Orangefarbener Magen, halb gefüllt mit brauner Flüssigkeit. Dunklere orange und braune Formen füllen die andere Hälfte.
Tooltip Icon.
Medically reviewed by
Therapeutic Endoscopy Fellow, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX
Last updated June 29, 2023

GERD-Quiz

Nehmen Sie an einem Quiz teil, um herauszufinden, ob Sie an GERD leiden.

Die gastroösophageale Refluxkrankheit (GERD), auch saure Refluxkrankheit genannt, tritt auf, wenn Magensäure in die Speiseröhre aufsteigt (Reflux). Die häufigsten GERD-Symptome sind Sodbrennen, Aufstoßen, Brustschmerzen, Halsschmerzen und Schluckbeschwerden. Der einfachste Weg, die Symptome zu stoppen, besteht darin, Ihren Lebensstil zu ändern, einschließlich einer Umstellung Ihrer Ernährung. Manche Menschen mit GERD nehmen auch Medikamente ein, um die Magensäuremenge zu senken.

GERD-Quiz

Nehmen Sie an einem Quiz teil, um herauszufinden, ob Sie an GERD leiden.

Nehmen Sie am GERD-Quiz teil

Erkennen der Anzeichen von GERD

Das häufigste Anzeichen von GERD sind Symptome wie Sodbrennen, Aufstoßen, Brustschmerzen, Halsschmerzen oder Schluckbeschwerden, die mehr als zweimal pro Woche auftreten. Eine längere Exposition gegenüber schädlicher Magensäure kann außerdem zu einem sauren Geschmack im Mund sowie zu ständigem Husten, Halsschmerzen oder heiserer Stimme führen. Die Symptome, die oft als Verdauungsstörungen bezeichnet werden, hängen alle mit saurem Reflux zusammen.

Andere Gesundheitsprobleme können dem sauren Reflux ähneln, darunter:Magengeschwüre,Herzkrankheit,Entzündung der Magenschleimhaut, UndKrebs der Speiseröhre.Zu den Symptomen, die auf eine schwerwiegendere Erkrankung hinweisen können, gehören Schluckbeschwerden, Kurzatmigkeit, Benommenheit oder Schwindel, schwarzer Teerstuhl, anhaltendes oder blutiges Erbrechen und unerklärlicher Gewichtsverlust. Insbesondere älteren Menschen mit Refluxsymptomen wird empfohlen, zunächst eine Herzerkrankung auszuschließen, da GERD und Herzerkrankungen ähnliche Beschwerden verursachen können. Dies sind alles schwerwiegende Krankheiten. Wenn Sie diese Symptome bemerken, wenden Sie sich an Ihren Hausarzt – auch wenn Sie glauben, dass es sich um GERD handelt.

Hauptsymptome von GERD

  • Sodbrennen fühlt sich wie ein brennendes Gefühl in der Mitte der Brust oder im Oberbauch an. Es passiert normalerweise nach dem Essen oder im Liegen.
  • Aufstoßen von saurem Material führt zu einem sauren oder sauren Geschmack im Mund

Andere Symptome, die bei GERD auftreten können

  • Schlechter Atem
  • Brustschmerzen. Normalerweise in der Mitte Ihrer Brust.
  • Übelkeit und Erbrechen
  • Ständiger Husten. Die Dauer beträgt in der Regel mehr als vier Wochen.
  • Halsentzündung
  • Heisere Stimme
  • Schluckbeschwerden. Es könnte sich anfühlen, als ob etwas im Hals steckt.
  • Zahnerosion. Magensäure, die zurück in den Rachen und Mund gelangt, kann zum Abnutzen der Zähne und damit zu Zahnschmerzen oder Karies führen.
  • Schlafstörungen. Schmerzen können den Schlaf beeinträchtigen.
  • Atemprobleme. Wenn Sie an einer Atemwegserkrankung wie Asthma leiden, kann saurer Reflux zu Schüben führen.

Die Ursachen von GERD verstehen

Eine saure Refluxkrankheit wird normalerweise durch zwei Dinge verursacht: durch die Tatsache, dass Ihr Körper dafür sorgt, dass die Nahrung im Magen verbleibt, und durch Ihre Essgewohnheiten.

Wenn Sie essen, wandert die Nahrung durch Ihre Speiseröhre (die Speiseröhre) in Ihren Magen. Typischerweise verhindert ein Muskel zwischen Speiseröhre und Magen – der untere Schließmuskel der Speiseröhre (LES) –, dass Nahrung durch die Speiseröhre zurückfließt.

Wenn der LES zu entspannt ist oder Sie liegen, kann die Nahrung in die falsche Richtung (nach oben statt nach unten) in die Speiseröhre gelangen und Symptome von saurem Reflux verursachen.

Bestimmte Nahrungsmittel und sogar Getränke können GERD auslösen. Scharfe, fettreiche Lebensmittel sowie Getränke wie Alkohol, kohlensäurehaltige Getränke wie Limonade, Tee und Kaffee sollten begrenzt sein. Diese können den LES schwächen und auch die Verdauung verlangsamen, was dazu führt, dass die Nahrung länger als gewöhnlich im Magen verbleibt.

Lebensgewohnheiten, die die Refluxsymptome verschlimmern können:

  • Zigaretten rauchen
  • Essen Sie scharfe und fetthaltige Speisen
  • Große Mahlzeiten essen
  • Essen direkt vor dem Hinlegen oder Schlafengehen
  • Alkohol, Limonade, Kaffee und Tee trinken
  • NSAID (nichtsteroidale entzündungshemmende Medikamente wie Ibuprofen)

GERD-Quiz

Nehmen Sie an einem Quiz teil, um herauszufinden, ob Sie an GERD leiden.

Nehmen Sie am GERD-Quiz teil

GERD-Risikofaktoren

Druck auf Ihren Magen, der durch eine Schwangerschaft oder Übergewicht entsteht, kann auch dazu führen, dass Nahrung und Säure zurück in die Speiseröhre gelangen.

Profi-Tipp

Schon ein paar Kilo Übergewicht können zu saurem Reflux führen. Wenn Patienten, die übergewichtig sind und an GERD leiden, abnehmen, stellen sie häufig fest, dass sie zuvor ausgelassene Lebensmittel (Rotwein, scharfe Speisen) wieder in ihre Ernährung aufnehmen können. —Dr. Shria Kumar

Bedingungen, die das Risiko einer GERD erhöhen:

  • Übergewichtig sein
  • Hiatushernie (ein Teil Ihres Magens schiebt sich nach oben in Richtung Brust)
  • Erkrankungen des Bindegewebes (wie Sklerodermie)
  • Gastroparese (Ihr Magen hat Schwierigkeiten, sich zu entleeren)
  • Schwangerschaft

Wenn Sie häufig unter Sodbrennen leiden oder die Symptome schwerwiegend sind, sprechen Sie mit Ihrem Hausarzt. Weitere Gründe, sich an Ihren Arzt zu wenden:

  • Gewicht verlieren
  • Schmerzen beim Schlucken oder nach dem Essen. Ihr Arzt möchte möglicherweise andere Krankheiten ausschließen.
  • Sie haben einen Elternteil, ein Geschwisterkind oder einen anderen nahen Verwandten, der an Speiseröhren-, Magen- oder Darmkrebs erkrankt ist
  • Symptome, die sich trotz Änderungen des Lebensstils und rezeptfreier Medikamente nicht bessern

Gehen Sie zur Notaufnahme oder rufen Sie 911 an, wenn:

  • Schmerzen in der Brust haben
  • Das Essen bleibt im Hals stecken
  • Blut im Stuhl oder Erbrochenem

Profi-Tipp

Die meisten Menschen mit saurem Reflux bekommen es unter Kontrolle. Und kann sogar aufhören, Medikamente zur Säureunterdrückung einzunehmen. Änderungen des Lebensstils – nicht innerhalb von 3 Stunden vor dem Zubettgehen essen, Ernährungsumstellung und Gewichtsverlust – können die meisten Symptome lindern. Verwenden Sie ein Tagebuch, um herauszufinden, ob bestimmte Lebensmittel Ihre Symptome auslösen. —Kumar

GERD-Behandlung

Bei vielen Menschen führen die Änderung einiger Gewohnheiten (insbesondere im Zusammenhang mit dem Essen) und die Einnahme von rezeptfreien Antazida (OTC) wie Tums zu einer Linderung der Symptome. Möglicherweise benötigen Sie jedoch dennoch verschreibungspflichtige Medikamente, um GERD in den Griff zu bekommen.

Ready to treat your GERD?

We show you only the best treatments for your condition and symptoms—all vetted by our medical team. And when you’re not sure what’s wrong, Buoy can guide you in the right direction.See all treatment options
Illustration of two people discussing treatment.

GERD-Quiz

Nehmen Sie an einem Quiz teil, um herauszufinden, ob Sie an GERD leiden.

Nehmen Sie am GERD-Quiz teil

Statistiken zu GERD

GERD ist eine recht häufige Erkrankung, die sowohl bei Kindern als auch bei Erwachsenen auftritt. Entsprechendeine Studie aus dem Jahr 2018 Laut einer im Journal of Neurogastroenterology and Motility veröffentlichten Studie leben 18 bis 27 % der Menschen in Nordamerika mit GERD.


60 % der GERD-Patienten hatten weniger als 6 Arztbesuche:22 % hatten 1 Arztbesuch, 16 % hatten 2 Arztbesuche, 11 % hatten 3 Arztbesuche

Ihr Arzt fragt Sie möglicherweise nach Ihren Symptomen und Ihrem Lebensstil. Untersuchen Sie Ihren Bauch, Ihre Brust und Ihre Lunge. Führen Sie Diagnose- und Labortests durch. und empfehlen rezeptfreie oder verschreibungspflichtige Medikamente. Ihr Arzt kann eine Nachuntersuchung zur Überwachung Ihrer Symptome vereinbaren. Wenn sich Ihre Symptome bessern, wird möglicherweise versucht, die Medikamenteneinnahme zu reduzieren. Wenn sich Ihre Symptome nicht bessern, sind möglicherweise weitere Tests wie eine Endoskopie und weitere Nachuntersuchungen erforderlich.

11 % der Patienten mit GERD wurden in der Notaufnahme behandelt

Während eine milde GERD normalerweise keinen Gang in die Notaufnahme erfordert, sollten Sie sofort einen Arzt aufsuchen, wenn Sie Schmerzen im Brustbereich haben, das Gefühl haben zu würgen, Blut im Stuhl bemerken oder sich heftig übergeben müssen.

Bei 45 % der GERD-Patienten wurde ein bildgebendes Verfahren durchgeführt

Ärzte können eine Bildgebung anordnen, um auf anatomische Anomalien in der Speiseröhre oder im Magen zu prüfen oder um festzustellen, ob sich Nahrung in Ihrer Lunge befindet (aufgrund von Aspiration). Von den Patienten, bei denen bildgebende Verfahren durchgeführt wurden, benötigten 58 % nur ein bildgebendes Verfahren.

Methodik

Die Studie wurde unter Verwendung synthetisch abgeleiteter medizinischer Angaben, Apothekenunterlagen und Labortests durchgeführt. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unterHumanas Datenaustauschprogramm.

Share your story
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.
Therapeutic Endoscopy Fellow, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX
Dr. Kumar is a gastroenterologist, who completed her fellowship at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia. She received her undergraduate degrees in Religious Studies and Chemistry from New York University (2010) and graduated from the Albert Einstein College of Medicine (2014), where she was inducted into the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society. She is completing her t...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

Tooltip Icon.
Read this next
Slide 1 of 4

Skip to main contentSkip to accessibility services
6 min read
No Ads

Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease (GERD)

Tooltip Icon.
Medically reviewed by
Last updated February 18, 2021

GERD questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out if you have GERD.

Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease (GERD), also known as acid reflux disease, occurs when stomach acid flows up (refluxes) to the esophagus. The most common GERD symptoms are heartburn, regurgitation, chest pain, throat pain, and trouble swallowing. The easiest way to stop symptoms is by making lifestyle changes, including modifying what you eat. Some people with GERD also take medication to lower the amount of stomach acid. 

GERD questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out if you have GERD.

GERD symptom checker

Spotting the signs of GERD

The most common sign of GERD is experiencing symptoms of heartburn, regurgitation, chest pain, throat pain, or trouble swallowing more than twice a week. Prolonged exposure to damaging stomach acid can also cause a sour taste in your mouth along with a constant cough, sore throat, or hoarse voice. Symptoms that are often called indigestion are all related to acid reflux.

Other health issues can seem similar to acid reflux, including stomach ulcers, heart disease, inflammation of the stomach lining, and cancer of the esophagus. Symptoms that may be a sign that you have a more serious health condition include difficulty swallowing, shortness of breath, feeling lightheaded or dizzy, black tarry stool, persistent or bloody vomiting, and unexplained weight loss. In particular, it is recommended that older people with reflux symptoms have heart disease ruled out first because GERD and heart disease can cause similar complaints. These are all serious diseases, so if you are experiencing these symptoms see your primary care doctor—even if you think it is GERD.

Main Symptoms of GERD

  • Heartburn feels like a burning sensation in the middle of the chest or upper abdomen. It usually happens after eating or when lying down.
  • Regurgitation of acidic material leading to an acidic or sour taste in the mouth

Other symptoms you may have with GERD

  • Bad breath
  • Chest pain. Usually, in the center of your chest.
  • Nausea and vomiting
  • Constant cough. It usually lasts more than four weeks.
  • Sore throat
  • Hoarse voice
  • Trouble swallowing. It might feel like something is in your throat.
  • Teeth erosion. Stomach acid that comes back up toward your throat and mouth can cause teeth to wear away, causing tooth pain or tooth decay.
  • Trouble sleeping. Pain may interfere with sleep.
  • Breathing issues. If you have a respiratory disease like asthma, acid reflux can cause flare-ups.

Understanding the causes of GERD

Acid reflux disease is usually caused by two things: your body making food stay in your stomach and your eating habits.

When you eat, food travels down your food pipe (the esophagus) into your stomach. Typically, a muscle between the esophagus and stomach—the lower esophageal sphincter (LES)—prevents food from coming back up through the esophagus.

When the LES is too relaxed or you're lying down, food can travel in the wrong direction (up, instead of down) into the esophagus, causing symptoms of acid reflux.

Certain foods and even drinks can trigger GERD. Spicy, high-fat foods, along with drinks like alcohol, carbonated drinks like soda, tea and coffee, should be limited. These can weaken the LES and also slow down digestion, causing the food to sit in the stomach longer than usual.

Lifestyle habits that can make acid reflux symptoms worse:

  • Smoking cigarettes
  • Eating spicy and fatty foods
  • Eating large meals
  • Eating right before lying down or going to sleep
  • Drinking alcohol, soda, coffee, and tea
  • NSAID (nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs, such as ibuprofen)

GERD questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out if you have GERD.

GERD symptom checker

GERD risk factors

Pressure on your stomach, from being pregnant or overweight, can also push food and acid back up into the esophagus.

Pro Tip

Even a few pounds overweight can lead to acid reflux. Often, as patients who are overweight and have GERD lose weight, they find they can re-introduce previously cut out foods (red wine, spicy foods) into their diet. —Dr. Shria Kumar

Conditions that increase the risk of GERD:

  • Being overweight
  • Hiatal hernias (part of your stomach pushes up toward your chest)
  • Connective tissue disorders (like scleroderma)
  • Gastroparesis (your stomach has trouble emptying)
  • Pregnancy

If you often have heartburn or symptoms are severe, talk to your primary care doctor. Other reasons to get in touch with your doctor:

  • Losing weight
  • Pain when you swallow or after you eat. Your doctor may want to rule out other diseases.
  • Have a parent, sibling, or another close relative who had cancer of the esophagus, stomach, or intestines
  • Symptoms that do not improve despite lifestyle modifications and OTC medications

Go to the ER or call 911 if:

  • Having chest pain
  • Food gets stuck in your throat
  • Blood in stool or vomit

How GERD is treated

For many people, changing some habits (especially related to eating) and taking over-the-counter (OTC) antacids, like Tums, relieve symptoms.

But you still may need prescription medication to get GERD under control. Medications can lower the amount of acid your stomach produces. Depending on the severity of your symptoms or disease, your doctor may prescribe a lower or higher dose and on follow-up, may step up or step down your therapy depending on how you respond to these medications.

Pro Tip

Most people with acid reflux get it under control. And may even stop taking acid suppression medication. Lifestyle changes—not eating within 3 hours of bedtime, modifying diet, and weight loss—can address the majority of symptoms. Use a diary to identify if particular foods trigger your symptoms. —Dr. Kumar

Self-care

  • Eat smaller meals.
  • Avoid spicy, fatty, and fried foods.
  • Don't lie down or go to sleep soon after eating (wait a minimum of three hours).
  • Lose weight if overweight.
  • No smoking cigarettes.
  • Wear loose clothing to avoid pressure on your stomach.
  • If you are taking antacid medications, let your doctor know so they can make sure you are taking them correctly.

Medication

  • OTC antacids
  • Proton pump inhibitors (PPI) and Histamine H2-receptor antagonists (H2 blockers) —available over the counter and by prescription (certain formulations or strengths are only available by prescription)—help decrease the amount of acid in the stomach. PPIs are a step-up from H2RA and are the most potent medications that decrease acid secretion in the stomach.


H2 blockers

  • Famotidine 20 mg twice daily
  • Cimetidine 400 mg twice daily
  • Nizatidine 150 mg twice daily

PPIs

  • Pantoprazole 40 mg daily
  • Lansoprazole 30 mg daily
  • Omeprazole 20 mg daily
  • Esomeprazole 20 mg daily
  • Rabeprazole 20 mg daily
  • Dexlansoprazole 30mg daily

While GERD itself is not usually serious, when the esophagus is repeatedly exposed to acid it can eventually lead to other serious problems like narrowing of the esophagus, inflammation or ulcers, Barrett’s esophagus (when the cell lining of the esophagus changes due to acid exposure), and esophageal cancer

Surgery

If GERD does not go away with medication and lifestyle changes, you might need surgery. Most likely, a Nissen Fundoplication, which tightens the sphincter muscle.

It is often recommended to people who have large hiatal hernias—where the upper part of the stomach bulges through an opening in the diaphragm.

Dr. Rx

Surgery is no longer the only option after lifestyle changes and medical therapy fail. A new endoscopic procedure—transoral incision-less fundoplication (or TIF)—offers a non-surgical approach. It’s currently best for a very select group of individuals. And only certain advanced endoscopists perform it. But it may become more prominent in the future. —Dr. Kumar

GERD questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out if you have GERD.

GERD symptom checker

Statistics on GERD

GERD is a fairly common condition found in both children and adults. According to a 2018 study published in the Journal of Neurogastroenterology and Motility, 18% to 27% of people in North America live with GERD.


60% of GERD patients had less than 6 doctor visits: 22% had 1 doctor’s visit, 16% had 2 doctor’s visit, 11% had 3 doctor’s visits

Your doctor may ask about your symptoms and lifestyle; examine your abdomen, chest, and lungs;  run diagnostic and lab tests; and recommend OTC or prescription drugs. Your doctor may schedule a follow-up to monitor your symptoms. If your symptoms improve, they may try to taper you off your medication. Or, if your symptoms do not improve, you may need further testing like an endoscopy and more follow-up visits.

11% of patients with GERD were treated at the ER

While mild GERD usually does not require going to the ER, when you have pain in the chest area, feel like you’re choking, notice blood in your stool, or are forcefully vomiting, you should get immediate medical attention.

45% of GERD patients had an imaging procedure performed

Doctors may order imaging to check for anatomical abnormalities in the esophagus or stomach or to see if there is food in your lungs (due to aspiration). Of the patients that had imaging procedures performed, 58% needed only one imaging procedure.

Methodology

Study conducted using synthetically derived medical claims, pharmacy records, and lab tests. More information available at Humana's Data Exchange program.

Hear what 1 other is saying
Heartburn when I eatPosted July 24, 2021 by A.
I am 30 years old...I get heartburn with everything I eat. Sour stomach, my left arm starts to hurt, actually the whole shoulder hurts, with pain in lower left side of chest...I can't sleep or lay on my left side because it hurts…also shortness of breath and burning kind of feeling.
Dr. Kumar is a gastroenterologist, who completed her fellowship at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia. She received her undergraduate degrees in Religious Studies and Chemistry from New York University (2010) and graduated from the Albert Einstein College of Medicine (2014), where she was inducted into the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society. She is completing her t...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

36 people found this helpful
Tooltip Icon.