Skip to main content
Read about

6 raisons pour lesquelles vous régurgitez et comment l'arrêter

La régurgitation se produit lorsque de la nourriture, du liquide ou de l'acide gastrique remonte de l'estomac vers la bouche. Cela survient chez 80 % des personnes atteintes de RGO, qui peuvent être traitées avec des médicaments en vente libre ou sur ordonnance. D'autres causes incluent les ulcères d'estomac, la gastrite et la grossesse ou le surpoids.
·
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated May 23, 2023

Quiz sur les régurgitations

Faites un quiz pour découvrir la cause de vos régurgitations.

4 most common cause(s)

Illustration of various health care options.
Syndrome de rumination
Ulcère de l'estomac
RGO
Illustration of a person thinking with cross bandaids.
Overweight or pregnant

Quiz sur les régurgitations

Faites un quiz pour découvrir la cause de vos régurgitations.

Répondez au quiz sur la régurgitation

Qu’est-ce que la régurgitation ?

La régurgitation se produit lorsque des aliments, des liquides ou des acides gastriques remontent de l'estomac vers la bouche. Contrairement aux vomissements, il n’y a pas de nausée ni de douleurs ou crampes d’estomac. Vous ne réaliserez peut-être même pas que cela se produit jusqu’à ce que vous le sentiez ou le goûtiez dans votre bouche.

Ce qui réapparaît peut inclure des aliments et des boissons non digérés, ainsi que de l'acide gastrique et un liquide jaunâtre-verdâtre appelé bile.

Cela peut être dû à une alimentation trop abondante ou trop rapide, à une grossesse ou à l'obésité. Mais cela est souvent dû àreflux gastro-œsophagien (RGO) ouulcère gastroduodénal. D'autres causes incluentgastrite, gastroparésie,syndrome du côlon irritableet la sclérose en plaques.

Les régurgitations récurrentes (répétitives) peuvent également provoquer les mêmes symptômes que ces autres maladies, car l'acide ou la bile peuvent irriter la muqueuse de l'estomac, de l'œsophage et de la gorge.

La régurgitation est-elle grave ?

"Bien que les régurgitations soient désagréables, elles sont rarement dangereuses." —Dr Chandra Manuelpillai

Causes

1. RGO

Symptômes

  • Brûlure dans le haut de l'abdomen
  • Irritation de la gorge ou de la poitrine
  • Haut-le-cœur ou nausée
  • Reflux acide entrant dans la bouche (brûlures d'estomac) ou régurgitation

Reflux gastro-œsophagien ou le RGO se produit lorsque le muscle sphincter situé entre votre conduit alimentaire (œsophage) et votre estomac ne se ferme pas complètement. Cela peut provoquer une remontée de l'acide gastrique dans votre œsophage, entraînant une sensation de brûlure parfois appelée brûlure d'estomac.

La régurgitation survient chez environ 80 % des personnes atteintes de RGO. Le reflux acide peut occasionnellement survenir en raison des aliments que vous mangez, tels que les aliments épicés, et peut également survenir plus régulièrement chez les personnes enceintes ou peut être un effet secondaire de certains médicaments. Bien que certaines personnes souffrent occasionnellement de reflux acide et que de nombreux symptômes se chevauchent avec une indigestion, les personnes qui présentent fréquemment ces symptômes peuvent recevoir un diagnostic de RGO.

Si vous souffrez de RGO, vous devrez peut-être modifier votre alimentation et prendre des médicaments pour contrôler les symptômes et prévenir les dommages causés par les régurgitations fréquentes de l'acide gastrique.

2. Distension gastrique

Symptômes

  • Ballonnements
  • Se sentir inconfortablement rassasié

La distension gastrique survient principalement lorsque vous mangez ou buvez trop ou trop vite. Les symptômes peuvent s’aggraver lorsque vous mangez des aliments épicés, frits ou gras ou que vous buvez de l’alcool ou des boissons gazeuses. Cela peut également se produire si vous mangez ou buvez avant de vous coucher, si vous êtes trop stressé, si vous prenez certains médicaments, si vous êtes en surpoids ou si vous êtes enceinte.

Malheureusement, si c’est à cause de trop manger, il suffit d’attendre que vous vous sentiez mieux. Le repos ou une activité légère comme une promenade peuvent aider. Ou essayez un médicament en vente libre, notamment :

  • Sous-salicylate de bismuth (Pepto-Bismol ou Kaopectate) pour les maux d'estomac
  • Médicament anti-gaz tel que la siméthicone (Gas-X)
  • Antiacides tels que Tums (carbonate de calcium) ou Milk of Magnesia (hydroxyde de magnésium) ou Maalox.

3. Ulcère peptique

Symptômes

  • Douleur brûlante dans le haut de l'abdomen qui s'aggrave après avoir mangé
  • Perte d'appétit et/ou nausées
  • Ballonnements ou éructations

Ulcères gastroduodénaux, également appelés ulcères d'estomac, peut se former n’importe où sur la muqueuse de l’estomac ou de l’intestin grêle. Ce sont des plaies ou des ruptures de la muqueuse de l’estomac causées par une inflammation.

Ceci est généralement dû à :

  • Infection par la bactérie H pylori
  • Médicaments, y compris les anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens (AINS) comme l'ibuprofène (Advil) ou l'aspirine
  • Abus d'alcool

Tout comme pour une coupure ou une autre blessure, votre corps a besoin de temps pour guérir. Mais c’est difficile pour votre estomac car à chaque fois que vous mangez, vous libérez de l’acide pour digérer les aliments. Cela peut blesser à nouveau la muqueuse de l'estomac.

Votre médecin peut vous prescrire des médicaments qui diminuent la production d'acide, protègent la muqueuse de l'estomac et/ou traitent l'infection à H pylori, le cas échéant. Vous devez également éviter l’alcool, le tabac, ainsi que les aliments et médicaments susceptibles de provoquer une irritation et une inflammation.

4. En surpoids ou enceinte

Symptômes

  • Se sentir rassasié plus tôt que d'habitude ou après avoir mangé moins que d'habitude

Le surpoids ou la grossesse peuvent provoquer des régurgitations. Normalement, le sphincter (un anneau musculaire) empêche le contenu de l’estomac de refluer dans l’œsophage (le tube reliant votre bouche à votre estomac).

Mais une pression accrue dans l’abdomen (due à un excès de poids ou au développement du bébé) force la nourriture à remonter à travers le sphincter et dans votre bouche.

Manger ou boire trop ou trop vite peut provoquer des symptômes. Manger certains aliments ou boissons (comme des aliments épicés, frits ou gras, ou de l'alcool ou des boissons gazeuses) ou s'allonger ou s'endormir immédiatement après avoir mangé ou bu peut aggraver les symptômes.

Le traitement consiste à manger des repas plus petits et plus fréquents, à éviter les aliments qui déclenchent des symptômes, à rester debout après avoir mangé et à ne pas porter de vêtements serrés.

5. Anatomie anormale

Symptômes

  • Avoir la sensation que de la nourriture reste coincée dans l'œsophage
  • L'impression que la nourriture reste dans l'estomac
  • Avoir la sensation que la nourriture passe de l'estomac à l'œsophage

Certains problèmes anatomiques peuvent interférer avec votre déglutition et votre digestion normales. Ceux-ci incluent une sténose œsophagienne, une hernie hiatale ou un trouble de la motilité.

  • La sténose œsophagienne est un rétrécissement anormal de l'œsophage, qui peut être dû à une anomalie génétique congénitale, à un cancer, à une inflammation ou à des cicatrices dues au reflux acide. Il est traité par une procédure visant à dilater (élargir) l’œsophage.
  • Une hernie hiatale se produit lorsqu’une partie de votre estomac est poussée dans la cavité thoracique. Selon la taille de la hernie et la gravité des symptômes, le traitement peut inclure une perte de poids, des médicaments ou une intervention chirurgicale.
  • Les troubles de la motilité (problèmes du tractus gastro-intestinal) peuvent entraîner des retards dans la vidange gastrique. Cela peut alors amener les aliments à rester trop longtemps dans l’estomac et éventuellement remonter dans l’œsophage. Ceux-ci sont généralement traités par des changements de régime alimentaire et des médicaments.

6. Syndrome de rumination

Symptômes

  • Difficulté à avaler
  • Avoir la sensation que de la nourriture reste coincée dans l'œsophage
  • Ballonnements

Syndrome de rumination est une cause rare de régurgitation. Elle est plus fréquente chez les nourrissons et les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle. Cela peut être considéré comme une cause chronique de régurgitation. Les symptômes surviennent quotidiennement et à presque chaque repas. Elle est causée par des contractions musculaires involontaires faisant reculer la nourriture.

Le traitement dépend de la cause. Le traitement des nourrissons se concentre souvent sur l’enseignement aux parents des positions d’alimentation appropriées et sur l’évitement des distractions pendant l’alimentation. Les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle peuvent utiliser une thérapie comportementale telle que la respiration diaphragmatique et le biofeedback.

Bien qu'il n'existe aucun médicament pour traiter le syndrome de rumination, un inhibiteur de la pompe à protons tel que l'oméprazole (Prilosec) peut être pris pour protéger la muqueuse de l'œsophage de l'acide gastrique.

Autres causes possibles

Il existe d’autres affections qui peuvent provoquer une régurgitation, mais elles sont rares ou la régurgitation n’est pas un symptôme typique de la maladie. Il s’agit notamment de la sclérose en plaques et de la maladie de Parkinson.

La régurgitation et le RGO sont-ils la même chose ?

"Les régurgitations récurrentes peuvent entraîner une sensation de brûlure au centre de la poitrine suite à une exposition répétée au contenu de l'estomac, notamment à l'acide et à la bile. Bien que les symptômes puissent devenir très similaires au reflux gastro-œsophagien (RGO), ils ne sont pas la même chose." —Dr. Manuelpillai

Quand appeler le médecin

Dr Rx

"Si les symptômes sont fréquents, il est très important d'en discuter avec votre médecin. Bien que ce soit rarement le signe de quelque chose de plus grave, cela peut être le signe de maladies comme la maladie de Parkinson et la sclérose en plaques. Surtout si les symptômes de régurgitation sont associés à difficulté à avaler, spasmes, tremblements, rigidité, engourdissement ou faiblesse.Dr. Manuelpillai

  • Si les symptômes sont fréquents ou interfèrent avec la vie quotidienne.
  • Si vous développez d’autres symptômes inquiétants tels que des tremblements, une rigidité ou une sensation de lourdeur dans les bras ou les jambes, cela pourrait être un signe de la maladie de Parkinson. Si vous éprouvezflou ouvision double, engourdissements/picotements ou spasmes, ceux-ci peuvent être des signes précoces de la sclérose en plaques.

Dois-je aller aux urgences pour une régurgitation ?

En règle générale, vous ne devriez pas avoir besoin d’aller aux urgences en cas de régurgitation. Mais si vous présentez également ces symptômes, cela pourrait signifier qu’il s’agit d’un problème plus grave :

  • Si vous ne parvenez pas à avaler du liquide, de la nourriture ou votre propre salive, cela peut être le signe d’une obstruction œsophagienne. Il doit être traité sinon il peut causer des lésions tissulaires.
  • Si vous vomissez et êtes incapable de retenir de la nourriture ou des liquides.
  • Si vous ressentez des douleurs thoraciques, des difficultés respiratoires ou des étourdissements.

Traitements

Soins à domicile

Il y a certaines choses que vous pouvez faire pour prévenir les régurgitations :

  • Mangez lentement et mâchez bien vos aliments.
  • Mangez des repas plus petits et plus fréquents.
  • Évitez de vous allonger après avoir mangé.
  • Perdez du poids si vous êtes en surpoids.
  • Portez des pantalons amples et évitez les ceintures. Des vêtements serrés autour de l'abdomen peuvent exercer une pression sur l'estomac, ce qui peut provoquer des régurgitations.
  • Évitez certains aliments et boissons (aliments épicés, gras et boissons gazeuses et alcoolisées).
  • Prenez des antiacides (tels que TUMS) ou des inhibiteurs de la pompe à protons tels que l'ésoméprazole (Nexium), le lansoprazole (Prevacid),oméprazole (Prilosec)et pantoprazole (Protonix). Ces médicaments ne doivent pas être utilisés régulièrement.

Autres options de traitement

  • Si vous présentez des symptômes fréquents ou si vous prenez régulièrement des médicaments en vente libre, discutez de vos symptômes avec votre médecin afin qu'il puisse exclure d'autres problèmes sous-jacents et les traiter séparément.
  • Médicaments sur ordonnance pour le RGO
Share your story
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.
Dr. Le obtained his MD from Harvard Medical School and his BA from Harvard College. Before Buoy, his research focused on glioblastoma, a deadly form of brain cancer. Outside of work, Dr. Le enjoys cooking and struggling to run up-and-down the floor in an adult basketball league.

Was this article helpful?

Tooltip Icon.
Read this next
Slide 1 of 4

Skip to main contentSkip to accessibility services
7 min read
No Ads

6 Reasons You Are Regurgitating and How to Stop It

Regurgitation is when food, liquid, or stomach acid comes up from the stomach into your mouth. It occurs in 80% of people with GERD, which can be treated with over-the-counter and prescription medications. Other causes include stomach ulcers, gastritis, and being pregnant or overweight.
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated September 9, 2021

Vomiting/nausea questionnaire

Answer our clinicians' questions to get a vomiting/nausea treatment prescription for $25 and know if your vomiting/nausea is serious.

Vomiting/nausea questionnaire

Answer our clinicians' questions to get a vomiting/nausea treatment prescription for $25 and know if your vomiting/nausea is serious.

See vomiting/nausea treatment options

Only available in: CA, NY, TX, FL, IL, NC, PA, OH, MI, and WA

What is regurgitation?

Regurgitation occurs when food, liquid, or stomach acids comes back up from the stomach and into the mouth. Unlike vomiting, there’s no nausea and no stomach pain or cramping. You may not even realize it’s happening until you feel or taste it in your mouth.

What is coming back up can include undigested food and drink along with stomach acid and yellowish-greenish liquid called bile.

It can be from eating too much or too fast, from being pregnant, or being obese. But it is often caused by gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD) or peptic ulcer disease. Other causes include gastritis, gastroparesis, irritable bowel syndrome, and multiple sclerosis.

Recurrent (repetitive) regurgitation can also cause the same symptoms as these other diseases because the acid or bile can irritate the lining of your stomach, esophagus, and throat.

Is regurgitation serious?

"Although regurgitation is unpleasant, it is rarely dangerous." —Dr. Chandra Manuelpillai

Causes

1. GERD

Symptoms

  • Burning in the upper abdomen
  • Throat or chest irritation
  • Retching or nausea
  • Acid reflux coming into the mouth (heartburn) or regurgitation

Gastroesophageal reflux disease or GERD occurs when the sphincter muscle between your food pipe (esophagus) and your stomach does not completely close. This can cause stomach acid to flow upward through your esophagus, resulting in a burning sensation sometimes known as heartburn.

Regurgitation occurs in approximately 80% of people with GERD. Acid reflux may occasionally occur due to foods you eat, such as spicy foods, and can also occur more regularly in pregnant people or may be a side effect of certain medications. While some people occasionally get acid reflux and many of the symptoms overlap with indigestion, people who experience these symptoms frequently may be diagnosed with GERD.

If you have GERD, you may need to modify your diet and may need to take medication to control the symptoms and prevent damage from frequent regurgitation of stomach acid.

2. Gastric distention

Symptoms

  • Bloating
  • Feeling uncomfortably full

Gastric distention mainly occurs when you eat or drink too much or too fast. Symptoms can get worse when you eat spicy, fried, or greasy foods or drink alcohol or carbonated beverages. It can also happen if you eat or drink before going to sleep, and if you have too much stress, take certain medications, or are overweight or pregnant.

Unfortunately, if it’s from overeating, you just have to wait until you feel better. Resting or light activity such as taking a walk may help. Or try an over-the-counter medication, including:

  • Bismuth subsalicylate (Pepto-Bismol or Kaopectate) for upset stomach
  • Anti-gas medicine such as simethicone (Gas-X)
  • Antacids such as Tums (calcium carbonate) or Milk of Magnesia (magnesium hydroxide) or Maalox.

Vomiting/nausea questionnaire

Answer our clinicians' questions to get a vomiting/nausea treatment prescription for $25 and know if your vomiting/nausea is serious.

See vomiting/nausea treatment options

Only available in: CA, NY, TX, FL, IL, NC, PA, OH, MI, and WA

3. Peptic ulcer

Symptoms

  • Burning upper abdominal pain that gets worse after eating
  • Loss of appetite and/or nausea
  • Bloating or belching

Peptic ulcers, also called stomach ulcers, can form anywhere on the lining of the stomach or your small intestines. They are sores or breaks in the stomach lining caused by inflammation.

This is usually caused by:

  • Infection with the bacteria, H pylori
  • Medications, including nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) like ibuprofen (Advil) or aspirin
  • Alcohol overuse

Just as with a cut or other injury, your body needs time to heal. But it’s difficult for your stomach because every time you eat, you release acid to digest the food. This can re-injure the stomach lining.

Your doctor may prescribe medications that decrease acid production, protecting the stomach lining, and/or treat H pylori infection, if present. You should also avoid alcohol, smoking, and foods and medications that can cause irritation and inflammation.

4. Overweight or pregnant

Symptoms

  • Feeling full sooner than normal or after eating less than usual

Being overweight or pregnant can cause regurgitation. Normally, the sphincter (a ring of muscle) prevents stomach contents from going backwards into the esophagus (the tube connecting your mouth with your stomach).

But increased pressure in the abdomen (from excess weight or the developing baby) forces food back up through the sphincter and into your mouth.

Eating or drinking too much or too fast can cause symptoms. Eating certain foods or beverages (such as spicy, fried, or greasy foods, or alcohol or carbonated drinks) or lying down or going to sleep immediately after eating or drinking can worsen symptoms.

Treatment includes eating smaller, more frequent meals, avoiding foods that trigger symptoms, staying upright after eating, and not wearing tight-fitting clothing.

5. Abnormal anatomy

Symptoms

  • Feeling as if food gets stuck in the esophagus
  • Feeling like food sits in the stomach
  • Feeling like food moves from the stomach back into the esophagus

Certain anatomical issues can interfere with your normal swallowing and digestion. These include esophageal stricture, hiatal hernia, or motility disorder.

  • Esophageal stricture is an abnormal narrowing of the esophagus, which may be from a genetic birth defect, cancer, or inflammation or scarring from acid reflux. It is treated with a procedure to dilate (widen) the esophagus.
  • A hiatal hernia is when part of your stomach is pushed into the chest cavity. Depending on the size of the hernia and the severity of symptoms, treatment can include weight loss, medications, or surgery.
  • Motility disorders (problems with the gastrointestinal tract) can lead to delays in gastric emptying. This can then cause food to stay in the stomach too long and eventually come back up into the esophagus. These are usually treated with diet changes and medications.

6. Rumination syndrome

Symptoms

Rumination syndrome is a rare cause of regurgitation. It is more common in infants and those with developmental disabilities. It can be thought of as a chronic cause of regurgitation. Symptoms occur daily and with almost every meal. It is caused by involuntary muscle contractions moving food backward.

Treatment depends on the cause. The treatment of infants often focuses on teaching parents proper feeding positions and avoiding distractions during feeding. People with developmental disabilities may use behavior therapy such as diaphragmatic breathing and biofeedback.

Although there is no medication to treat rumination syndrome, a proton pump inhibitor such as omeprazole (Prilosec) can be taken to protect the lining of the esophagus from stomach acid.

Other possible causes

There are other conditions that may cause regurgitation, but they’re rare or the regurgitation is not a typical symptom of the disease. These include multiple sclerosis and Parkinson’s disease.

Are regurgitation and GERD the same thing?

"Recurrent regurgitation may result in a burning sensation in the center of the chest from repeated exposure to stomach contents, including acid and bile. While symptoms can become very similar to gastroesophageal reflux (GERD), they are not the same thing." —Dr. Manuelpillai

Vomiting/nausea questionnaire

Answer our clinicians' questions to get a vomiting/nausea treatment prescription for $25 and know if your vomiting/nausea is serious.

See vomiting/nausea treatment options

Only available in: CA, NY, TX, FL, IL, NC, PA, OH, MI, and WA

When to call the doctor

Dr. Rx

"If symptoms are frequent, it is very important to discuss them with your doctor. Although it’s rarely a sign of something more serious, it can be a sign of diseases such as Parkinson’s and multiple sclerosis. Particularly if the symptoms of regurgitation are associated with difficulty swallowing, spasms, tremors, rigidity, numbness, or weakness."—Dr. Manuelpillai

  • If the symptoms are frequent or interfere with daily life.
  • If you develop other concerning symptoms such as tremors, rigidity, or a heavy sensation in your arms or legs, it could be a sign of Parkinson’s. If you experience blurry or double vision, numbness/tingling, or spasms, these may be early signs of multiple sclerosis.

Should I go to the ER for regurgitation?

Generally, you should not need to go to the emergency department for regurgitation. But if you are also having these symptoms, it could mean it’s a more serious problem:

  • If you are unable to swallow liquid, food, or your own saliva, it may be a sign of an esophageal obstruction. It needs to be treated or it can cause tissue damage.
  • If you are vomiting and unable to keep any food or fluid down.
  • If you develop chest pain, difficulty breathing, or dizziness.

Treatments

At-home care

There are some things you can do to prevent regurgitation:

  • Eat slowly and chew your food thoroughly.
  • Eat smaller, more frequent meals.
  • Avoid lying down after eating.
  • Lose weight if you’re overweight.
  • Wear loose pants and avoid belts. Tight-fitting clothes around the abdomen can put pressure on the stomach, which may cause regurgitation.
  • Avoid certain foods and drinks (spicy, greasy foods, and carbonated and alcoholic drinks).
  • Take antacids (such as TUMS) or proton-pump inhibitor such as esomeprazole (Nexium), lansoprazole (Prevacid), omeprazole (Prilosec), and pantoprazole (Protonix). These medications should not be used regularly.

Other treatment options

  • If you are having frequent symptoms or are regularly taking over-the-counter medications, discuss your symptoms with your doctor so they can rule out other underlying issues and treat them separately.
  • Prescription medications for GERD
Hear what 1 other is saying
Vomiting after eatingPosted April 26, 2021 by A.
I am not the medical type of person and my parents have never even used the term, but I have been having this issue since the age of consciousness of my behaviors. After reading this article, I think my problem is " rumination syndrome." Although it doesn't trouble me, except for the fact that I feel different because I don't see this happen to other people. My issue is that anytime I eat, even if I take drugs, I vomit them with their original taste in my mouth like when I put food in my mouth. And it has been like this for a very long time up until now. This is my story.
Dr. Manuelpillai is a board-certified Emergency Medicine physician. She received her undergraduate degree in Health Science Studies from Quinnipiac University (2002). She then went on to graduated from Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Sciences/The Chicago Medical School (2007) where she served on the Executive Student Council, as well as was the alternate delegate to the AMA/ISMS-MSS G...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

14 people found this helpful
Tooltip Icon.