Skip to main content
Read about

Difficulté à avaler

La difficulté à avaler peut être causée par quelque chose d’aussi simple que de ne pas mâcher suffisamment vos aliments, mais peut également être le signe de maladies graves, comme un accident vasculaire cérébral ou un cancer.
·
Un homme avec la bouche ouverte et les mains en coupe son menton.
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated October 2, 2023

Quiz sur les difficultés à avaler

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de vos difficultés à avaler.

7 most common cause(s)

Illustration of a doctor beside a bedridden patient.
Accident ischémique transitoire
RGO
Illustration of various health care options.
Eosinophilic esophagitis
Illustration of a person thinking with cross bandaids.
Myasthenia gravis
Illustration of a person thinking with cross bandaids.
Esophageal diverticulum (zenker’s diverticulum)
Illustration of a health care worker swabbing an individual.
Esophageal obstruction
Illustration of a health care worker swabbing an individual.
Achalasia

Quiz sur les difficultés à avaler

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de vos difficultés à avaler.

J'ai du mal à avaler le quiz

Qu'est-ce que la difficulté à avaler ?

Difficulté à avaler, ou dysphagie, survient lorsque les muscles et les nerfs qui vous permettent d'avaler deviennent irrités, comprimés ou endommagés. C'est plus fréquent avec l'âge.

Vous pouvez avoir l'impression que de la nourriture est coincée dans votre gorge ou votre poitrine, ou provoquer de la toux, des brûlures d'estomac, des douleurs lors de la déglutition, des régurgitations (la nourriture remonte dans votre gorge) et de la bave.

Parfois, la difficulté à avaler est causée par quelque chose de simple, comme manger trop vite ou mal mâcher. Mais cela peut être causé par des problèmes physiques au niveau de votre œsophage, comme un blocage ou un gonflement. Ou cela peut être le signe d’une maladie grave, comme un cancer ou un accident vasculaire cérébral.

Le traitement peut inclure des médicaments, une endoscopie ou une intervention chirurgicale.

Conseil de pro

La difficulté à avaler provoque beaucoup d'inconfort, mais elle peut également entraîner une aspiration, c'est-à-dire lorsque de la nourriture ou du liquide pénètre dans les voies respiratoires au lieu de l'œsophage. Tout le monde aspire un peu, mais lorsque les gens ont des difficultés à avaler, ils peuvent aspirer davantage, ce qui peut entraîner une pneumonie. —Dr Judy Kim

Causes

1. Obstruction œsophagienne

Symptômes

Une obstruction œsophagienne empêche la nourriture, les liquides et la salive d'atteindre votre estomac. Le blocage peut être causé par des aliments, généralement des aliments durs comme de la viande (ou des objets comme un os dans la viande), qui restent coincés dans votre œsophage. Cela se produit généralement si vous ne mâchez pas correctement ou si vous n’avez pas assez de dents pour briser votre nourriture. Les symptômes apparaissent soudainement.

Cancer de l’œsophage – ou plus rarement de l’estomac – peut également causer des problèmes de déglutition en raison du rétrécissement de l’œsophage. Dans ce cas, vous pouvez également présenter d'autres symptômes, notamment une perte de poids, du sang dans vos selles etanémie.

Traiter l'obstruction œsophagienne

Allez aux urgences si vous avez avalé quelque chose de pointu (comme un os), si la nourriture a l'impression d'être coincée pendant un moment ou si vous ne pouvez même pas avaler de la salive. Vous devrez peut-être subir une endoscopie pour éliminer l’obstruction.

Si vous présentez des symptômes de cancer de l'œsophage ou de l'estomac, consultez immédiatement votre médecin. Le traitement dépend du type de cancer dont vous souffrez et peut inclure une intervention chirurgicale et une chimiothérapie.

2. RGO (reflux gastro-œsophagien)

Symptômes

  • Difficulté à avaler
  • Brûlures d'estomac
  • Régurgitation
  • Douleur thoracique
  • Une toux chronique
  • Une sensation que quelque chose est coincé dans la gorge

Reflux gastro-œsophagien (RGO) se produit lorsque l'acide gastrique retourne dans votre œsophage, provoquant une sensation de brûlure dans la poitrine ou dans le haut de l'abdomen. Le RGO est très courant et touche 18 à 28 % des personnes aux États-Unis, selonune étude publiée dansIntestin.

Le RGO peut provoquer une inflammation persistante pouvant entraîner une complication appelée sténose œsophagienne, également appelée sténose peptique. Il s’agit d’un rétrécissement anormal de l’œsophage qui peut rendre la déglutition encore plus difficile et empêcher les aliments d’atteindre votre estomac.

Traiter le RGO

Les traitements du RGO consistent à modifier vos habitudes alimentaires pour éviter les aliments qui déclenchent des brûlures d'estomac. Les médicaments peuvent être utilisés pour réduire la quantité d'acide produite par votre estomac, tels que les antiacides, les inhibiteurs de la pompe à protons et les anti-H2.

Si vous avez des sténoses œsophagiennes, vous devrez peut-être les dilater (élargir) pendant une endoscopie pour soulager vos symptômes.

3. Œsophagite à éosinophiles

Symptômes

  • Difficulté à avaler
  • Douleur thoracique
  • Impact alimentaire
  • Brûlures d'estomac

L'œsophagite à éosinophiles (EoE) survient lorsque l'œsophage devient enflammé par un type de cellule immunitaire appelée éosinophiles. On pense qu’il s’agit d’une maladie du système immunitaire causée par l’exposition à certains allergènes. Les personnes atteintes d'EoE peuvent également souffrir d'autres troubles allergiques, tels queasthme,eczéma, ou des allergies alimentaires.

L'accumulation d'éosinophiles peut endommager le tissu œsophagien, provoquant des difficultés à avaler et augmentant le risque que des aliments restent coincés dans votre gorge.

Traiter l'EoE

Un gastro-entérologue fera une biopsie de votre tissu œsophagien lors d'une endoscopie (par un tube qui descend dans votre gorge). L'EoE est traitée avec des médicaments tels que des inhibiteurs de la pompe à protons pour réduire l'inflammation. Vous pouvez également consulter un diététiste, qui pourra créer pour vous un régime alimentaire qui vous aidera à éviter certains allergènes.

Conseil de pro

Beaucoup de gens pensent que les difficultés à avaler ne concernent que les personnes âgées. Cependant, plusieurs maladies peuvent toucher les personnes plus jeunes, comme l’œsophagite à éosinophiles. Il est important de prendre les symptômes au sérieux et de se faire évaluer par un médecin. —Dr. Aiguille

4. Achalasie

Symptômes

  • Difficulté à avaler
  • Régurgitation
  • Douleur thoracique
  • Brûlures d'estomac
  • Perte de poids

L’achalasie est une maladie rare dans laquelle votre œsophage ne bouge pas correctement lorsque vous avalez, ce qui rend difficile la propulsion des aliments jusqu’à votre estomac. L'achalasie empêche également le muscle sphincter situé au bas de votre œsophage de se détendre normalement, ce qui empêche les aliments de se vider correctement dans l'estomac.

La maladie est causée par des cellules nerveuses œsophagiennes endommagées, qui empêchent les muscles de l’œsophage de fonctionner comme ils le devraient. Les symptômes apparaissent progressivement et s'aggravent avec le temps.

Traiter l'achalasie

Il n’existe aucun remède contre l’achalasie. Le traitement comprend des médicaments tels que des inhibiteurs calciques, des relaxants musculaires et des injections de Botox, bien qu'ils soient moins efficaces. Un traitement est une procédure appelée dilatation pneumatique, dans laquelle votre médecin insère un ballon dans votre œsophage et le gonfle pour élargir votre œsophage. Dans certains cas, une intervention chirurgicale est nécessaire pour couper l’extrémité du sphincter œsophagien.

5. Accident vasculaire cérébral ou accident ischémique transitoire (AIT)

Symptômes

UNaccident vasculaire cérébral se produit lorsque le flux sanguin est arrêté par un caillot dans votre cerveau ou lorsqu’il y a un saignement dans votre cerveau. UNaccident ischémique transitoire (AIT), souvent appelé « mini-AVC », peut provoquer des symptômes similaires à ceux d’un accident vasculaire cérébral, mais il dure moins de 24 heures.

Après un accident vasculaire cérébral ou un AIT, vous pourriez avoir un affaiblissement des muscles de l'oropharynx (la partie médiane de votre gorge) ou cela pourrait affecter votre réflexe de déglutition. Ces deux éléments provoquent des difficultés à avaler.

Traiter un accident vasculaire cérébral ou un AIT

Si vous présentez des symptômes d’accident vasculaire cérébral ou d’AIT, rendez-vous immédiatement aux urgences. Les AIT doivent être pris aussi au sérieux qu’un accident vasculaire cérébral, car ils augmentent le risque de subir un véritable accident vasculaire cérébral. Le traitement comprend des médicaments anticoagulants et éventuellement une intervention chirurgicale.

6. Myasthénie grave

Symptômes

  • Difficulté à avaler
  • Faiblesse musculaire
  • Vision trouble
  • Paupières tombantes
  • Troubles de l'élocution

La myasthénie grave est une maladie auto-immune qui provoque une faiblesse musculaire dans diverses parties de votre corps, telles que la mâchoire, les paupières, les bras et les jambes. Cela se produit lorsque votre système immunitaire attaque par erreur les protéines qui régulent la connexion entre vos nerfs et vos muscles.

Cela provoque une faiblesse dans diverses parties de votre corps et peut interférer avec votre capacité à avaler.

Traiter la myasthénie

Bien que la myasthénie ne puisse pas être guérie, elle peut être traitée avec des corticostéroïdes, des immunosuppresseurs et des médicaments appelés inhibiteurs de la cholinestérase. Vous devrez peut-être également subir une intervention chirurgicale pour retirer le thymus, la glande qui produit les anticorps qui attaquent votre corps en cas de myasthénie grave.

7. Diverticule œsophagien (diverticule de Zenker)

Symptômes

  • Difficulté à avaler
  • Douleur thoracique
  • Régurgitation
  • Mauvaise haleine

Un diverticule œsophagien est une poche saillante dans la muqueuse de votre œsophage. Le type le plus courant est le diverticule de Zenker (ZD), qui se développe près du sphincter supérieur, le muscle qui aide à empêcher la nourriture et la salive de pénétrer dans vos voies respiratoires.

On pense que la ZD est causée par l’épaississement de certains muscles de la gorge, qui se produit naturellement avec l’âge. La ZD est plus fréquente chez les hommes de plus de 70 ans.

Un petit diverticule peut ne pas vous déranger, mais un gros diverticule peut entraîner des difficultés à avaler. La nourriture et la salive peuvent s'accumuler dans le diverticule, provoquant une mauvaise haleine ou une régurgitation.

Traiter la ZD

Votre médecin ou gastro-entérologue peut diagnostiquer la ZD avec un test d'hirondelle barytée. Dans ce test d’imagerie, vous buvez un liquide qui permet à votre médecin de voir votre œsophage sur une radiographie. Les personnes atteintes de ZD modérée à sévère peuvent avoir besoin d'une intervention chirurgicale ou d'une diverticulotomie pour briser les muscles.

Autres causes possibles

Un certain nombre de conditions peuvent entraîner des difficultés à avaler, notamment :

  • Troubles de la motilité, tels que spasme œsophagien distal, œsophage Jackhammer, motilité œsophagienne inefficace et obstruction de l'écoulement de la jonction œsophagogastrique
  • Toile œsophagienne (une membrane qui se forme à travers la gorge)
  • Hypertrophie de la thyroïde (goitre)
  • La maladie de Parkinson
  • SLA (sclérose latérale amyotrophique)
  • Anomalies de l'aorte ou de l'artère sous-clavière

Dr Rx

Lorsqu'il est difficile de commencer à avaler dès que vous commencez à manger ou à boire, il s'agit probablement d'une cause oropharyngée. Il peut être préférable de consulter un neurologue ou un orthophoniste. Lorsqu'il y a des difficultés quelques secondes après avoir avalé et qu'il semble que quelque chose soit coincé dans la gorge ou la poitrine, il est plus probable qu'il s'agisse de l'œsophage et consulter un gastro-entérologue peut s'avérer très utile. —Dr. Aiguille

Quand appeler le médecin

Consultez votre médecin si vous présentez l'un des symptômes suivants :

  • Difficulté à avaler des solides ou des liquides
  • Douleur à la déglutition
  • Tousser en essayant d'avaler
  • Perte de poids due à des difficultés à manger
  • Symptômes de reflux qui ne répondent pas aux médicaments en vente libre, tels que les antiacides

Dois-je aller aux urgences ?

Vous devriez vous rendre aux urgences si vous présentez l’un de ces signes de problèmes plus graves :

  • Difficulté soudaine à avaler
  • Incapable de boire des liquides
  • Difficulté à respirer
  • Baver
  • Faiblesse, engourdissement ou paralysie

Traitements

Soins à domicile

  • Prendre des médicaments, tels que des inhibiteurs de la pompe à protons, des corticostéroïdes et des immunosuppresseurs
  • Effectuer des exercices et des techniques qui coordonnent mieux votre déglutition et stimulent les nerfs qui déclenchent la déglutition
  • Manger des repas plus petits et plus fréquents
  • Mâcher les aliments lentement et soigneusement
  • Couper vos aliments en petits morceaux (si nécessaire)
  • Éviter les aliments et les boissons qui aggravent les brûlures d'estomac et le reflux acide, comme les aliments épicés et l'alcool
  • Arrêter de fumer

Autres options de traitement

  • Thérapies telles que la chimiothérapie si vous avez un cancer
  • Dilatation pneumatique
  • Injections de Botox
  • Chirurgie
Share your story
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.
Dr. Kim is a Gastroenterology Fellow at New York Presbyterian Hospital/Columbia University where she also completed her residency training in Internal Medicine. She received her medical degree at Washington University in St. Louis and earned her BA in Biology at Harvard College. Her specialty is Gastroenterology, with a research interest in gastric cancer and clinical outcomes.

Was this article helpful?

Tooltip Icon.

Skip to main contentSkip to accessibility services
7 min read
No Ads

Difficulty Swallowing

Difficulty swallowing can be caused by something as simple as not chewing your food enough but can also be a sign of serious conditions, such as a stroke or cancer.
Table of Contents
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated October 29, 2020

Trouble swallowing questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your trouble swallowing.

Trouble swallowing questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your trouble swallowing.

Trouble swallowing symptom checker

What is difficulty swallowing?

Difficulty swallowing, or dysphagia, occurs when the muscles and nerves that allow you to swallow become irritated, compressed, or damaged. It is more common with age.

It may feel like food is stuck in your throat or chest, or cause coughing, heartburn, pain when swallowing, regurgitation (food coming back up your throat), and drooling.

Sometimes, difficulty swallowing is caused by something simple, like eating too fast or poor chewing. But it can be caused by physical issues with your esophagus, such as a blockage or swelling. Or it may be a sign of a serious condition, such as cancer or a stroke.

Treatment may include medication, endoscopy, or surgery.

Pro Tip

Difficulty swallowing causes a lot of discomfort, but it can also lead to aspiration, which is when food or liquid gets into the airways instead of the esophagus. Everyone aspirates a little bit, but when people have difficulty swallowing, they can aspirate more, which can lead to pneumonia. —Dr. Judy Kim

Causes

1. Esophageal obstruction

Symptoms

An esophageal obstruction prevents food, liquid, and saliva from reaching your stomach. The blockage may be caused by food, usually tough items like meat (or objects such as a bone in the meat), that gets stuck in your esophagus. This typically occurs if you don’t chew properly or don’t have enough teeth to break up your food. The symptoms come on suddenly.

Cancer of the esophagus—or less commonly, the stomach—can also cause difficulty swallowing because your esophagus narrows. In this case, you may also have other symptoms, including weight loss, blood in your stool, and anemia.

Treating esophageal obstruction

Go to the ER if you swallowed something sharp (like a bone), the food feels like it’s stuck for a while, or you can’t even swallow saliva. You may need to have an endoscopy to remove the obstruction.

If you have symptoms of esophageal or stomach cancer, see your doctor immediately. Treatment depends on the type of cancer you have and may include surgery and chemotherapy.

2. GERD (gastroesophageal reflux disease)

Symptoms

  • Difficulty swallowing
  • Heartburn
  • Regurgitation
  • Chest pain
  • Chronic cough
  • A feeling that something is stuck in your throat

Gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD) occurs when stomach acid flows back into your esophagus, causing a burning sensation in your chest or upper abdomen. GERD is very common, affecting 18% to 28% of people in the U.S, according to a study published in Gut.

GERD can cause ongoing inflammation that may lead to a complication called esophageal strictures, also called peptic strictures. This is an abnormal tightening of the esophagus that can make swallowing even more difficult and prevent food from reaching your stomach.

Treating GERD

Treatments for GERD include changing your eating habits to avoid foods that trigger heartburn. Medications can be used to lower the amount of acid your stomach produces, such as antacids, proton pump inhibitors, and H2-blockers.

If you have esophageal strictures, you may need to have them dilated (widened) during an endoscopy to relieve your symptoms.

Trouble swallowing questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your trouble swallowing.

Trouble swallowing symptom checker

3. Eosinophilic esophagitis

Symptoms

  • Difficulty swallowing
  • Chest pain
  • Food impaction
  • Heartburn

Eosinophilic esophagitis (EoE) occurs when the esophagus becomes inflamed with a type of immune cell called eosinophils. It’s thought to be an immune system disease caused by exposure to certain allergens. People with EoE may also have other allergic disorders, such as asthma, eczema, or food allergies.

The build-up of eosinophils can damage the esophageal tissue, causing difficulty swallowing and increasing your risk of food getting stuck in your throat.

Treating EoE

A gastroenterologist will do a biopsy of your esophageal tissue during an endoscopy (through a tube that goes down your throat). EoE is treated with medications such as proton pump inhibitors to reduce inflammation. You may also see a dietitian, who can create a diet for you that helps you avoid certain allergens.

Pro Tip

Many people think that difficulty swallowing only affects the elderly. However, there are several diseases that can affect younger people, such as eosinophilic esophagitis. It is important to take symptoms seriously and be evaluated by a physician. —Dr. Kim

4. Achalasia

Symptoms

  • Difficulty swallowing
  • Regurgitation
  • Chest pain
  • Heartburn
  • Weight loss

Achalasia is a rare disorder in which your esophagus doesn’t move properly when you swallow, making it difficult for food to be propelled down to your stomach. Achalasia also prevents the sphincter muscle at the bottom of your esophagus from relaxing normally, which prevents food from emptying into the stomach properly.

The condition is caused by damaged esophageal nerve cells, which prevent the muscles of the esophagus from functioning as they should. Symptoms appear gradually and worsen over time.

Treating achalasia

There is no cure for achalasia. Treatment includes medications like calcium channel blockers, muscle relaxants, and Botox injections, though these are less effective. One treatment is a procedure called pneumatic dilation, in which your doctor inserts a balloon in your esophagus and inflates it to widen your esophagus. In some cases, surgery is necessary to cut the end of the esophageal sphincter.

5. Stroke or transient ischemic attack (TIA)

Symptoms

  • Difficulty swallowing
  • Headache
  • Weakness
  • Numbness
  • Paralysis on one side of the face or body
  • Slurred speech
  • Abnormal vision

A stroke occurs when blood flow is stopped by a clot in your brain or when there’s a bleed in your brain. A transient ischemic attack (TIA) often called a “mini-stroke” can cause similar symptoms as a stroke, but it lasts for less than 24 hours.

After a stroke or TIA, you may have weakened muscles of the oropharynx (the middle part of your throat) or it may affect your swallowing reflex. These both cause difficulty swallowing.

Treating stroke or a TIA

If you have symptoms of a stroke or TIA, immediately go to the emergency room. TIAs need to be taken as seriously as a stroke because they increase your risk of experiencing a full-blown stroke. Treatment includes anti-clotting medication and possibly surgery.

6. Myasthenia gravis

Symptoms

  • Difficulty swallowing
  • Muscle weakness
  • Blurry vision
  • Droopy eyelids
  • Slurred speech

Myasthenia gravis is an autoimmune disorder that causes muscle weakness in various parts of your body, such as your jaw, eyelids, arms, and legs. It occurs when your immune system mistakenly attacks the proteins that regulate the connection between your nerves and muscles.

This causes weakness in various parts of your body and can interfere with your ability to swallow.

Treating myasthenia

While myasthenia can’t be cured, the condition can be treated with corticosteroids, immunosuppressants, and medications called cholinesterase inhibitors. You may also need surgery to take out the thymus, the gland that produces the antibodies that attack your body in myasthenia gravis.

7. Esophageal diverticulum (Zenker’s diverticulum)

Symptoms

  • Difficulty swallowing
  • Chest pain
  • Regurgitation
  • Bad breath

An esophageal diverticulum is a protruding pouch in the lining of your esophagus. The most common type is a Zenker’s diverticulum (ZD), which develops near the upper sphincter, the muscle that helps keep food and saliva from entering your airway.

ZD is thought to be caused by the thickening of certain throat muscles, which occurs naturally with age. ZD is most common in men over 70.

A small diverticulum may not bother you, but a large one can cause difficulty swallowing. Food and saliva may collect in the diverticulum, causing bad breath or regurgitation.

Treating ZD

Your doctor or gastroenterologist can diagnose ZD with a barium swallow test. In this imaging test, you drink a liquid that allows your doctor to see your esophagus on an X-ray. People with moderate to severe ZD may need surgery, or a diverticulotomy, to break apart the muscles.

Other possible causes

A number of conditions can cause difficulty swallowing, including:

  • Motility disorders, such as distal esophageal spasm, Jackhammer esophagus, ineffective esophageal motility, and esophagogastric junction outflow obstruction
  • Esophageal web (a membrane that forms across the throat)
  • Enlarged thyroid (goiter)
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • ALS (amyotrophic lateral sclerosis)
  • Abnormalities of the aorta or subclavian artery

Dr. Rx

When there is difficulty even just starting a swallow right as you initiate eating or drinking, then it is more likely an oropharyngeal cause—it may be best to see a neurologist or speech language pathologist. When there is difficulty a few seconds after you swallow and it seems like something is stuck in the throat or chest area, it is more likely esophageal and seeing a gastroenterologist may be most helpful. —Dr. Kim

Trouble swallowing questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your trouble swallowing.

Trouble swallowing symptom checker

When to call the doctor

See your doctor if you have any of the following symptoms:

  • Difficulty swallowing solids or liquids
  • Pain with swallowing
  • Coughing when trying to swallow
  • Weight loss due to difficulty eating
  • Reflux symptoms that don’t respond to over-the-counter medications, such as antacids

Should I go to the ER?

You should go to the ER if you have any of these signs of a more serious problem:

  • Sudden difficulty swallowing
  • Unable to drink any liquids
  • Difficulty breathing
  • Drooling
  • Weakness, numbness, or paralysis

Treatments

At-home care

  • Taking medication, such as proton pump inhibitors, corticosteroids, and immunosuppressants
  • Performing exercises and techniques that better coordinate your swallowing and stimulate the nerves that trigger swallowing
  • Eating smaller, more frequent meals
  • Chewing food slowly and thoroughly
  • Cutting your food into smaller pieces (if necessary)
  • Avoiding foods and drinks that worsen heartburn and acid reflux, such as spicy foods and alcohol
  • Quitting smoking

Other treatment options

  • Therapies such as chemotherapy if you have cancer
  • Pneumatic dilation
  • Botox injections
  • Surgery
Hear what 1 other is saying
Swallowing issuePosted December 20, 2020 by c.
I have had GERD since 1981 and it has been controlled with prescription acid blockers over the years and it has helped. About 8 years ago, with a change in diet, I was able to stop taking them. And then a few years later, from stress and a construction accident, my reflux came back and so went back on meds. But about two months ago I choked on a piece of asparagus and have had troubling trying swallowing since. Went to an ENT and he found nothing wrong. Then just had an endoscopy done 2 days ago and didn't find anything significantly wrong with my stomach or esophagus or throat, although they did dilate my esophagus and took a couple biopsies, but I'm still not swallowing right.
Dr. Kim is a Gastroenterology Fellow at New York Presbyterian Hospital/Columbia University where she also completed her residency training in Internal Medicine. She received her medical degree at Washington University in St. Louis and earned her BA in Biology at Harvard College. Her specialty is Gastroenterology, with a research interest in gastric cancer and clinical outcomes.

Was this article helpful?

Tooltip Icon.