Skip to main content
Read about

Nerf pincé

Si vous ressentez de la douleur ou un engourdissement, il se peut que vous ayez un nerf pincé. Apprenez pourquoi cela se produit et comment le traiter.
·
Illustration d'un homme de dos, avec sa main droite sur le bas du dos et sa gauche sur son épaule gauche. Deux taches jaunes se trouvent dans le bas et le haut du dos. Des éclairs jaunes sortent des spots. L'homme ne porte pas de chemise et porte des sous-vêtements bleu clair. Ses cheveux sont châtain foncé et bouclés.
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated October 25, 2022

Quiz sur les nerfs pincés

Répondez à un quiz pour savoir si vous avez un nerf pincé.

Quiz sur les nerfs pincés

Répondez à un quiz pour savoir si vous avez un nerf pincé.

Répondez à un quiz sur un nerf pincé

Qu'est-ce qu'un nerf pincé ?

Un nerf pincé est une condition dans laquelle quelque chose près du nerf pousse dessus, l'empêchant de fonctionner ou entraînant une douleur. Les autres noms pour un nerf pincé sont : Neuropathie de compression, radiculopathie, nerf comprimé, mononeuropathie.

Lorsqu’une hernie discale exerce une pression sur un nerf rachidien dans le bas du dos, vous remarquerez peut-être une douleur descendant à l’arrière de votre jambe. S'il y a un nerf médian pincé dans votre poignet, cela peut entraîner un engourdissement, une douleur et une faiblesse de la main, connu sous le nom de syndrome du canal carpien. Le syndrome du canal carpien affecte4 à 5% de la population, est plus fréquente chez les femmes et chez les personnes âgées de 40 à 60 ans.

Un nerf comprimé peut créer des sensations telles que des fourmillements, un engourdissement, une faiblesse musculaire ou une douleur. Cela peut se produire dans de nombreuses zones de votre corps, comme le cou, les bras, les mains, le dos, les jambes ou les pieds. L’endroit où vous ressentez la douleur dépend de l’emplacement du nerf.

Symptômes les plus courants

Dr Rx

Les symptômes se situent dans des zones très spécifiques où se déplace le nerf. La sensation est décrite comme électrique, lancinante ou semblable à une crampe. Parfois, il n’y a aucune douleur et les symptômes sont principalement un engourdissement ou une faiblesse. —Dr Brian Walcott

Vous pouvez ressentir les symptômes d’un nerf pincé presque partout dans le corps. Mais il existe certaines similitudes.

  • Les sensations changent et peuvent inclure des fourmillements, des brûlures, des engourdissements.
  • Douleur vive qui se propage.
  • Faiblesse musculaire.

La localisation des symptômes dépend de l’endroit où se trouve le nerf.

  • Poignet : dans la main, mais le plus souvent au niveau du pouce, de l'index, du majeur et de l'annulaire.
  • Coude : avant-bras et main, le plus souvent au niveau du petit doigt et du côté de la main.
  • Aisselles : faiblesse des mains ou des doigts, sensations au niveau du dos de la main.
  • Cou : ressenti dans le cou, l’épaule, le bras ou la main.
  • Bas du dos : ressenti dans le dos, les jambes ou les pieds.
  • Jambe extérieure : ressentie dans le bas de la jambe et le pied, notamment lors de la levée du pied au niveau de la cheville.

Si vous souffrez de diabète, vous pouvez confondre un nerf pincé dans le bas du dos avec des lésions nerveuses causées par le diabète. Les lésions nerveuses dues au diabète ne causeront probablement pas de maux de dos. De plus, les symptômes commencent généralement dans les pieds et se font sentir dans les deux jambes.

Quiz sur les nerfs pincés

Répondez à un quiz pour savoir si vous avez un nerf pincé.

Répondez au quiz sur les nerfs pincés

Causes du nerf pincé

Un nerf pincé est causé par une pression excessive sur un nerf. Il s’agit généralement d’une activité répétée ou non-stop pendant une longue période. Par exemple, croiser les jambes peut entraîner un engourdissement de l’extérieur de la jambe et du dessus du pied. Lorsque les jambes sont croisées, le nerf situé près de l’os externe de votre jambe est comprimé par l’autre jambe.

Un nerf pincé se produit également à cause de la pression exercée par d’autres structures à l’intérieur de votre corps, comme une hernie discale. Dans ce cas, les symptômes peuvent s’aggraver en se penchant en avant et s’améliorer en se penchant en arrière.

Les problèmes liés au vieillissement, tels que la perte osseuse ou des activités telles que soulever des poids, sont plus susceptibles de provoquer des douleurs au bas du dos et au cou.

Pinching of the median nerve in the wrist is called carpal tunnel syndrome

Que se passera-t-il si un nerf pincé n’est pas traité ?

Prenez rendez-vous avec votre médecin. Dans la plupart des cas, il ne s’agit pas d’une urgence et le nerf pincé se résorbe souvent tout seul.

Mais si vous remarquez des changements cutanés, une perte de poids involontaire, de la fièvre, des frissons, des sueurs nocturnes, une faiblesse ou des symptômes intestinaux ou vésicaux, contactez votre médecin.

Comment soigner un nerf pincé ?

L’emplacement du nerf pincé détermine la manière dont il sera traité. Même s’ils essaient tous de soulager la pression.

Par exemple, si vous avez un nerf pincé au poignet, votre médecin pourra vous prescrire une attelle à porter la nuit pour empêcher votre main de se plier. Votre médecin peut également vous recommander de ne pratiquer aucune activité qui exerce une pression sur ces nerfs, comme taper sur un clavier.

Conseil de pro

ÔL’une des idées fausses les plus courantes est la suivante :Les gens pensent souvent qu’un nerf pincé à cause d’un disque bombé dans la colonne vertébrale nécessite une intervention chirurgicale pour être réparé. Le contraire est vrai. La plupart des gens se rétablissent complètement sans chirurgie. —Dr Walcott

Traitement du nerf pincé

Un nerf pincé dans le cou (radiculopathie cervicale) peut généralement être traité par immobilisation, médicaments anti-inflammatoires, physiothérapie et injections péridurales de stéroïdes. Les symptômes s'améliorent avec ces traitements non invasifs en environ75 % à 90 % des personnes avec radiculopathie cervicale.

Même si les médicaments ne soulagent pas un nerf pincé, ils peuvent aider à soulager la douleur. Discutez avec votre médecin des meilleures options de traitement pour vous.

Consultez votre médecin dans les six à huit semaines si vous continuez à présenter des symptômes, plus tôt si votre faiblesse ou votre douleur s'aggrave. De nombreux nerfs pincés s'améliorent après avoir modifié vos activités, suivi une thérapie physique et pris des médicaments.

Si les symptômes ne s’améliorent pas, votre médecin peut vous prescrire des médicaments ou des tests ou traitements supplémentaires, notamment

  • Les études de conduction nerveuse et l'électromyographie (EMG) aident à déterminer quel nerf est comprimé.
  • Une injection péridurale d'un stéroïde et d'un analgésique (c'est-à-dire de la lidocaïne) à proximité du ou des nerfs provoquant la douleur.
  • Parfois, la chirurgie est une option lorsque les autres traitements n’ont pas fonctionné. Par exemple, un nerf pincé au poignet peut être soulagé par une intervention chirurgicale pour libérer le canal carpien.

Ready to treat your pinched nerve?

We show you only the best treatments for your condition and symptoms—all vetted by our medical team. And when you’re not sure what’s wrong, Buoy can guide you in the right direction.See all treatment options
Illustration of two people discussing treatment.

Quiz sur les nerfs pincés

Répondez à un quiz pour savoir si vous avez un nerf pincé.

Répondez au quiz sur les nerfs pincés

Comment prévenir un nerf pincé

Certains changements de mode de vie peuvent réduire le risque de pincement d'un nerf, comme arrêter de fumer, perdre du poids si vous êtes en surpoids, éviter les exercices extrêmes. Évitez les activités répétitives telles que taper sans pause ou soulever des poids. Essayez également de ne pas exercer de pression sur certaines parties de votre corps, en particulier sur vos bras et vos jambes, pendant une longue période.

Share your story
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.
Dr. Walcott is a dual fellowship trained neurosurgeon that specializes in neurovascular disease. His clinical interests are in the management of patients with stroke, brain aneurysms, arteriovenous malformations, cavernous malformations, carotid artery disease, moyamoya disease, brain tumors, and spinal cord tumors. He performs both surgery and minimally invasive, endovascular procedures. Dr. Walc...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

1 person found this helpful
Tooltip Icon.
Read this next
Slide 1 of 4

Skip to main contentSkip to accessibility services
4 min read
No Ads

Pinched Nerve

If you have pain or numbness, you may have a pinched nerve. Learn why it happens and how to treat.
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated March 26, 2021

Pinched nerve questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out if you have pinched nerve.

Pinched nerve questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out if you have pinched nerve.

Pinched nerve symptom checker

What is a pinched nerve?

A pinched nerve is a condition where something near the nerve pushes on it, causing it to not function or result in pain. Other names for a pinched nerve are: Compression neuropathy, radiculopathy, compressed nerve, mononeuropathy

When a herniated disc is putting pressure on a spinal nerve in your lower back, you may notice pain traveling down the back of your leg. If there is a pinched median nerve in your wrist, it could lead to numbness, pain, and weakness in your hand, known as carpal tunnel syndrome. Carpal tunnel syndrome affects 4-5% of the population, is more common in females, and in people between the ages of 40-60 years.

A compressed nerve can create sensations like pins and needles, numbness, muscle weakness, or pain. It can happen in many areas of your body, such as your neck, arms, hands, back, legs, or feet. Where you feel the pain depends on the location of the nerve.

Most common symptoms

Dr. Rx

Symptoms are in very specific areas where the nerve travels. The sensation is described as electric, stabbing, or cramping-like. Sometimes there is no pain, and the symptoms are mainly numbness or weakness. - Dr. Brian Walcott

You can feel the symptoms of a pinched nerve almost anywhere in the body. But there are some similarities.

  • Sensations change and can include pins and needles, burning, numbness.
  • Sharp pain that spreads.
  • Muscle weakness.

The location of symptoms depends on where the nerve is.

  • Wrist: in the hand, but most often in the thumb, index, middle, and ring finger.
  • Elbow: forearm and hand—most commonly in the little finger and side of the hand.
  • Underarm: weakness of hands or fingers, sensations in the back of the hand.
  • Neck: felt in the neck, shoulder, arm, or hand.
  • Lower back: felt in the back, legs, or feet.
  • Outer leg: felt in the lower leg and foot, especially when raising the foot at the ankle.

If you have diabetes, you may confuse a pinched nerve in the lower back with nerve damage from diabetes. Nerve damage from diabetes probably won’t cause any back pain. Also, symptoms usually start in the feet and will be felt in both leg.

Pinched nerve questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out if you have pinched nerve.

Pinched nerve symptom checker

Pinched nerve causes

A pinched nerve is caused by too much pressure on a nerve. It’s usually an activity that’s repeated or nonstop for a long time. For example, crossing legs can lead to numbness around the outside of your leg and top of the foot. When legs are crossed, the nerve near your outer leg bone gets compressed by your other leg.

A pinched nerve also happens because of pressure from other structures inside your body, like a herniated disc. In this case, symptoms may be worse when leaning forward and improve when leaning backward.

Aging-related issues such as bone loss or from activities like lifting weight are more likely to cause lower back and neck pain.

Pinching of the median nerve in the wrist is called carpal tunnel syndrome

What will happen if a pinched nerve goes untreated?

Make an appointment with your doctor. In most cases, it is not an emergency, and often the pinched nerve will resolve on its own.

But if you notice skin changes, unintentional weight loss, fever, chills, night sweats, weakness, or bowel or bladder symptoms, contact your doctor.

How do you heal a pinched nerve?

The location of the pinched nerve determines how it is treated. Though they all try to relieve the pressure.

For instance, if you have a pinched nerve at the wrist, then your doctor may give you a brace to wear at night to keep your hand from bending. Your doctor may also recommend not doing any activity that puts pressure on these nerves, such as typing.

Pinched nerve treatment

A pinched nerve in the neck (cervical radiculopathy) can usually be treated with immobilization, anti-inflammatory medications, physical therapy, and epidural steroid injections. Symptoms improve with these non-invasive treatments in about 75%-90% of people with cervical radiculopathy.

While medications won’t help a pinched nerve, they can help relieve pain. Talk to your doctor about the best treatment options for you.

Follow-up with your doctor within six to eight weeks if you continue to have symptoms, sooner if your weakness or pain gets worse. Many pinched nerves get better after changing your activities, doing physical therapy, and taking medication.

If symptoms don’t improve, your doctor may prescribe medications or additional tests or treatments, including

  • Nerve conduction studies and electromyography (EMG) help determine which nerve is compressed.
  • An epidural injection of a steroid and pain reliever (i.e. lidocaine) close to the nerve(s) causing the pain.
  • Sometimes, surgery is an option when other treatments haven’t worked. For instance, a pinched nerve in the wrist may be helped by surgery to release the carpal tunnel.

Pro Tip

One of the most common misconceptions is: People often think that a pinched nerve from a bulging disc in your spine requires surgery to fix. The opposite is true. Most people recover completely without surgery. - Dr. Walcott

Pinched nerve questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out if you have pinched nerve.

Pinched nerve symptom checker

How to prevent a pinched nerve

Certain lifestyle changes can lower your risk of a pinched nerve such as quitting smoking, losing weight if you are overweight, avoiding extreme exercises. Avoid repetitive activities such as typing for without breaks or lifting weights. Also, try not to put pressure on parts of your body, particularly your arms and legs, for a long period.

Share your story
Dr. Walcott is a dual fellowship trained neurosurgeon that specializes in neurovascular disease. His clinical interests are in the management of patients with stroke, brain aneurysms, arteriovenous malformations, cavernous malformations, carotid artery disease, moyamoya disease, brain tumors, and spinal cord tumors. He performs both surgery and minimally invasive, endovascular procedures. Dr. Walc...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

2 people found this helpful
Tooltip Icon.