Skip to main content
Read about

Sensibilité à la lumière

Comment savoir quand la sensibilité à la lumière est causée par quelque chose d'aussi léger qu'une sécheresse oculaire ou d'aussi grave qu'un décollement de rétine.
·
Illustration d’une fenêtre avec un soleil jaune avec une teinte jaune clair recouvrant la majeure partie.
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated June 11, 2022

Quiz sur la sensibilité à la lumière

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de votre sensibilité à la lumière.

10 most common cause(s)

Illustration of various health care options.
Conjonctivite virale
Illustration of a health care worker swabbing an individual.
Conjonctivite bactérienne (œil rose)
Illustration of a health care worker swabbing an individual.
Yeux chroniquement secs
Migraine
Illustration of a doctor beside a bedridden patient.
Paupière enflammée (blépharite)
Illustration of a doctor beside a bedridden patient.
Oeil rayé
Illustration of a doctor beside a bedridden patient.
Scleritis
Illustration of a person thinking with cross bandaids.
Encephalitis or meningitis
Illustration of a person thinking with cross bandaids.
Torn retina or retinal detachment
Illustration of various health care options.
Keratitis (cornea infection)

Quiz sur la sensibilité à la lumière

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de votre sensibilité à la lumière.

Répondez au quiz sur la sensibilité à la lumière

La sensibilité à la lumière, appelée photophobie, est un problème relativement courant qui peut varier de léger à grave. C’est lorsque la lumière semble trop vive et vous fait plisser les yeux, mais elle peut aussi être irritante ou causer de la douleur chez les personnes qui y sont sensibles.

La sensibilité à la lumière peut être causée simplement par une fatigue oculaire ou des yeux secs, ou par des problèmes tels que des infections oculaires, des blessures oculaires ou des problèmes de structure de l'œil. Les personnes ayant des yeux plus clairs sont plus susceptibles d’être sensibles à la lumière, car les yeux plus foncés contiennent plus de pigments pour se protéger d’un éclairage intense.

Il peut également s'agir d'un effet secondaire de certains médicaments, ou d'un symptôme d'allergies, d'une gueule de bois ou de troubles du cerveau ou du système nerveux comme la migraine. Cela peut également survenir avec l’âge.

Vous pouvez réduire la sensibilité à la lumière en évitant la lumière vive, en utilisant des gouttes pour les yeux ou en portant des lunettes de soleil à l'intérieur. Mais vous devriez consulter votre ophtalmologiste pour déterminer la cause sous-jacente si ces étapes ne résolvent pas votre problème.

Certaines causes de cette sensibilité peuvent entraîner d’autres problèmes oculaires ou visuels si elles ne sont pas traitées, tandis que d’autres sont si graves que vous devez vous rendre aux urgences.

Causes

1. Sécheresse oculaire

Symptômes

  • Sensibilité à la lumière
  • Douleur oculaire
  • Sentir qu'il y a quelque chose dans tes yeux
  • les yeux rouges
  • Les yeux qui piquent
  • Vision floue

La cause la plus fréquente de sensibilité à la lumière estœil sec. Les déclencheurs de la sécheresse oculaire comprennent le vieillissement et les changements dans les niveaux d’hormones. Les personnes atteintes de maladies telles que le syndrome de Sjögren et la maladie de Parkinson peuvent présenter un risque accru de sécheresse oculaire.

La sécheresse oculaire peut également être un effet secondaire de certains médicaments, tels que les antidépresseurs, les médicaments contre les allergies et les médicaments de chimiothérapie.

Votre ophtalmologiste peut diagnostiquer la sécheresse oculaire. Le traitement peut inclure le changement des médicaments qui provoquent une sensibilité à la lumière, le port de lentilles de contact spéciales et l'utilisation de gouttes oculaires en vente libre. Dans certains cas, votre médecin peut recommander des procédures pour traiter la sécheresse oculaire, telles que la fermeture de vos conduits lacrymaux pour réduire la perte de larmes ou le déblocage des petites glandes sébacées situées au bord de vos paupières.

Conseil de pro

La sensibilité à la lumière n’est pas quelque chose que vous devez gérer seul. Cela peut être le signe avant-coureur d’un problème oculaire nécessitant un traitement, il vaut donc vraiment la peine d’en discuter avec votre médecin. —Dr. Karen Horst

2. Migraines

Symptômes

  • Sensibilité à la lumière ouson
  • Aura (changements dans la façon dont vous percevez la lumière et le son)
  • Mal de tête
  • Nausée
  • Vomissement
  • Fatigue
  • Des picotements ou un engourdissement dans le corps

Une autre cause fréquente de sensibilité à la lumière estmigraine. Il s’agit d’une maladie neurologique qui provoque des maux de tête modérés à sévères. Les migraines peuvent survenir de temps en temps ou être chroniques (survenant au moins 15 jours par mois).

La lumière peut être très douloureuse et aggraver les maux de tête lors d’une migraine, et peut être un déclencheur chez certaines personnes.

D'autres déclencheurs incluent les changements hormonaux, le stress et les changements météorologiques. Certains aliments et boissons tels que l'alcool, les boissons contenant de la caféine, le fromage vieilli et les aliments salés et transformés peuvent également déclencher des migraines.

Les traitements contre la migraine peuvent inclure des médicaments en vente libre ou sur ordonnance qui réduisent la fréquence et la gravité de vos maux de tête. Ces médicaments peuvent être pris par voie orale ou par pulvérisation nasale ou injection. Il existe également des médicaments qui préviennent les migraines (comme les injections de Botox) et d'autres qui traitent les migraines lorsqu'elles surviennent, comme les triptans.

3. Fatigue oculaire

Symptômes

  • Sensibilité à la lumière
  • Yeux irrités
  • Vision trouble
  • Cou ou épaules tendus
  • Difficulté à garder les yeux ouverts

La fatigue oculaire se produit lorsque vos yeux se fatiguent à cause d’une utilisation excessive. Cela peut être causé par l’épuisement ou lorsque vous devez vous concentrer sur un domaine pendant de longues périodes, comme lorsque vous conduisez ou utilisez votre ordinateur. La fatigue oculaire causée par trop de temps passé devant un écran est appelée fatigue oculaire numérique. UNétude dans le British Medical Journal Open Ophthalmology note qu'au moins 50 % des utilisateurs d'ordinateurs en ont fait l'expérience à un moment donné.

Les symptômes de fatigue oculaire disparaissent généralement une fois que vous avez reposé vos yeux. Vous pouvez éviter la fatigue oculaire numérique en évitant de passer trop de temps devant un écran, en prenant des pauses programmées lors de l'utilisation de votre ordinateur ou de votre téléphone, en modifiant la luminosité de votre appareil et en vous assurant que la taille du texte est suffisamment grande pour être lue sans difficulté.

4. Blépharite (paupière enflammée)

Symptômes

  • Sensibilité à la lumière
  • Paupières rouges et gonflées
  • Paupières qui démangent
  • Des pellicules ressemblant à des pellicules à la base de vos paupières
  • Cils qui poussent anormalement ou tombent facilement
  • Sentir qu'il y a quelque chose dans tes yeux

La blépharite, ou inflammation des paupières, est une irritation du bord ou du bord de la paupière. Elle peut être causée par le maquillage, des affections cutanées comme le psoriasis ou une infection de la peau à la base des cils (causée par des bactéries ou des acariens des cils ou des poux).

La blépharite peut également être déclenchée par une inflammation ou une obstruction des glandes sébacées de vos paupières, ce qui peut être douloureux et irriter les yeux.

La blépharite doit toujours être traitée par votre médecin. Sans soins appropriés, elle peut devenir chronique et entraîner des infections des paupières et de la cornée, des yeux secs qui ne supportent pas les lentilles de contact, ainsi que des cicatrices et des déformations des paupières.

Le traitement de la plupart des causes de blépharite consiste à laver régulièrement la paupière et les cils, à utiliser des lingettes pour les yeux en vente libre, à appliquer des compresses chaudes et à ne pas utiliser de maquillage ou d'autres produits susceptibles d'aggraver vos symptômes.

Si ceux-ci ne fonctionnent pas, votre médecin peut vous recommander d’autres traitements, tels que des gouttes ophtalmiques sur ordonnance contenant des antibiotiques ou des antibiotiques oraux.

5. Conjonctivite (oeil rose)

Symptômes

  • Sensibilité à la lumière
  • Sentir qu'il y a quelque chose dans tes yeux
  • Une sensation « granuleuse » dans vos yeux
  • les yeux rouges
  • Écoulement de votre œil qui peut être aqueux ou rempli de pus
  • Douleur oculaire

La conjonctivite est une inflammation de la conjonctive qui recouvre la surface de vos yeux. La conjonctive est généralement claire, mais elle peut apparaître rose rougeâtre lorsqu’elle est enflammée. C’est pourquoi la conjonctivite est appelée « œil rose ».

Les causes de la conjonctivite comprennent les infections virales ou bactériennes des yeux, les allergies, la présence d'un corps étranger dans vos yeux ou un produit chimique qui a éclaboussé vos yeux. La conjonctivite causée par un virus ou une bactérie peut souvent se propager d'une personne à une autre. Ceci est particulièrement fréquent chez les enfants d’âge scolaire.

Le traitement peut inclure des gouttes ophtalmiques sur ordonnance et l’application de compresses froides ou chaudes sur vos yeux plusieurs fois par jour. La conjonctivite virale disparaît d'elle-même, mais certaines formes de conjonctivite bactérienne peuvent devoir être traitées avec des antibiotiques.

6. Kératite (infection de la cornée)

Symptômes

  • Sensibilité à la lumière
  • Rougeur des yeux
  • Douleur oculaire
  • Sentir qu'il y a quelque chose dans tes yeux
  • Vision floue
  • Difficulté à ouvrir les yeux

La kératite est une inflammation de la cornée, qui est la couche transparente située à l'avant de l'œil qui recouvre la pupille et l'iris. Elle peut être causée par des infections virales ou bactériennes, une blessure à l’œil, la présence d’un corps étranger dans votre œil et le port trop long de lentilles de contact.

Si une infection est suspectée, votre médecin peut également prélever un échantillon sur écouvillon pour déterminer le type d’infection que vous pourriez avoir.

Le traitement de la kératite peut inclure des antibiotiques et d'autres médicaments tels que des gouttes oculaires pour soulager vos symptômes et réduire l'inflammation. Il est important de suivre le plan de traitement de votre médecin, qui comprendra le fait de ne pas porter de lentilles de contact pendant un certain temps, car ne pas le faire peut augmenter le risque de dommages permanents à votre cornée, de cicatrices et de perte de vision.

Conseil de pro

Demandez à votre médecin ce que vous devriez faire à la maison pour vous aider à traiter votre problème. Passez en revue toutes les gouttes en vente libre que vous utilisez avec votre médecin. Examinez également la façon dont vous utilisez vos lentilles de contact pour vous assurer que vous ne vous exposez pas à un risque plus élevé de problèmes oculaires. —Dr Hoerst

7. Abrasion cornéenne

Symptômes

  • Sensibilité à la lumière
  • Vision trouble
  • Sentir qu'il y a quelque chose dans tes yeux
  • Rougeur
  • Écoulement oculaire

UNabrasion de la cornée est une égratignure superficielle et particulièrement douloureuse sur la cornée. La plupart des abrasions cornéennes sont causées par une blessure à l'œil ou par la présence d'un corps étranger dans votre œil (comme du sable ou de la saleté), mais elles peuvent également se développer si vous avez les yeux secs ou si vous utilisez mal vos lentilles de contact.

Consultez votre médecin si vous pensez avoir une abrasion cornéenne ou si vous vous êtes blessé à l'œil. Non traitée, elle peut évoluer vers un ulcère cornéen et endommager définitivement votre vision.

Si un corps étranger a provoqué l’abrasion, votre médecin le retirera. Les traitements peuvent inclure des gouttes ou des pommades oculaires hydratantes, des gouttes ou des pommades oculaires antibiotiques et le port temporaire d'un cache-œil. Dans certains cas, une intervention chirurgicale peut être nécessaire pour lisser la surface de la cornée.

8. Sclérite

Symptômes

  • Sensibilité à la lumière
  • Douleur oculaire intense
  • Inflammation oculaire
  • Déchirure
  • Douleur oculaire profonde pouvant s'étendre au visage et à la tête

La sclérite est une inflammation du blanc de l’œil. On l’observe généralement chez les personnes atteintes de maladies auto-immunes telles quelupus etpolyarthrite rhumatoïde (PR). Non traitée, la sclérite peut conduire à la cécité.

Le traitement peut inclure des pilules de corticostéroïdes, des anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens (comme l'ibuprofène), des solutions oculaires, des antibiotiques, des médicaments sur ordonnance et des médicaments immunosuppresseurs. Dans les cas graves, une intervention chirurgicale peut être nécessaire pour sauver votre vision.

9. Rétine déchirée ou décollement de rétine

Symptômes

  • Sensibilité à la lumière
  • Des « flotteurs » apparaissant dans votre champ de vision
  • Champ de vision rétréci
  • Vision floue

Le décollement de rétine se produit lorsque la rétine se déchire ou se détache du fond de l'œil. La rétine contient des cellules sensibles à la lumière qui organisent les informations visuelles et les envoient à votre cerveau. Vous ne ressentirez peut-être pas de douleur liée au décollement de rétine, mais vous serez sensible à la lumière.

Un décollement de rétine est considéré comme une urgence et doit être traité immédiatement pour éviter une perte de vision permanente. Si vous subissez une perte soudaine de vision, vous devez vous rendre immédiatement aux urgences. La chirurgie est généralement nécessaire pour réparer une rétine déchirée ou détachée. Cela peut améliorer votre vision, même si certaines personnes ne retrouvent jamais complètement leur vision.

10. Encéphalite ou méningite

Symptômes

  • Sensibilité à la lumière
  • Sensibilité au son
  • Fièvre
  • Crise d'épilepsie
  • Mal de tête
  • Confusion
  • Raideur de la nuque
  • Difficulté à bouger

L'encéphalite et la méningite sont des inflammations du cerveau. L'encéphalite est une inflammation du tissu cérébral etméningite est une inflammation des revêtements superficiels du cerveau (méninges). Les deux peuvent être causés par des virus, des bactéries, des champignons et d’autres conditions inflammatoires. Dans certains cas, l’encéphalite et la méningite surviennent en même temps.

Certains cas sont bénins, les seuls symptômes étant des maux de tête et une sensibilité à la lumière. Mais les cas plus graves sont graves et peuvent être mortels. Si vous ressentez un léger mal de tête et une sensibilité à la lumière, vous devriez consulter votre médecin.

Rendez-vous aux urgences si vos symptômes sont graves ou s'accompagnent d'autres symptômes tels que de la confusion, des convulsions ou des difficultés à bouger.

Le diagnostic de méningite et d'encéphalite repose sur vos symptômes, des tests d'imagerie cérébrale et d'autres analyses de sang. Souvent, une ponction lombaire ou un test de ponction lombaire est nécessaire pour examiner le liquide entourant le cerveau et la moelle épinière afin de rechercher une infection ou une inflammation.

Le traitement peut inclure des traitements antiviraux ou antibiotiques et des médicaments pour gérer les symptômes, tels que des médicaments anticonvulsivants.

Autres causes possibles

Un certain nombre d'autres conditions peuvent provoquer une sensibilité à la lumière :

  • Lésions cérébrales traumatiques (TCC), y compris les commotions cérébrales
  • Artérite temporale
  • Rage
  • Dépression et autres troubles du système nerveux ou troubles cérébraux

Quand appeler le médecin

Il est important de consulter immédiatement un médecin en cas d’apparition ou d’aggravation d’une sensibilité à la lumière. En effet, tous les cas de sensibilité à la lumière ne disparaîtront pas d’eux-mêmes et vous pourriez souffrir d’une maladie sous-jacente nécessitant un traitement. Consultez votre médecin si vous avez :

  • Le sentiment qu'il y a quelque chose dans tes yeux
  • Écoulement oculaire
  • Rougeur des yeux

Dr Rx

Si vous présentez un changement brusque de votre vision, il s’agit d’une urgence oculaire et traitez-la comme telle. Si vous ne pouvez pas consulter immédiatement votre médecin traitant ou votre ophtalmologiste, vous devez généralement vous rendre aux urgences. De nombreux problèmes oculaires peuvent survenir, et la plupart peuvent être traités, mais seulement si une évaluation appropriée est effectuée au bon moment. —Dr Hoerst

Dois-je aller aux urgences pour une sensibilité à la lumière ?

Rendez-vous aux urgences si vous êtes sensible à la lumière et :

Traitement

Traitement à domicile

Si la sensibilité à la lumière est légère et ne provoque pas d’autres problèmes tels qu’une modification de la vision, votre médecin peut vous recommander de la traiter en :

  • Repos
  • Porter des lunettes de soleil
  • Utiliser des gouttes pour les yeux en vente libre
  • Appliquer des compresses chaudes

Votre médecin peut également recommander un plan de traitement à domicile si vous ressentez une sensibilité à la lumière causée par une migraine, des allergies ou une sécheresse oculaire.

Autres traitements possibles

  • Médicaments sur ordonnance, y compris des gouttes oculaires contenant des antibiotiques ou des stéroïdes
  • Analgésique
  • Chirurgie
Share your story
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.
Dr. Hoerst is a board-certified Neurologist. She received her undergraduate degree in Neuroscience from the University of Scranton in 2005 and Jefferson Medical College (now Sidney Kimmel Medical College) in 2009. She completed an internal medicine internship, neurology residency and vascular neurology fellowship at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital in Philadelphia (2014). After completing her...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

1 person found this helpful
Tooltip Icon.
Read this next
Slide 1 of 4

Skip to main contentSkip to accessibility services
10 min read
No Ads

Sensitivity to Light

How to know when light sensitivity is caused by something as mild as dry eye or as serious as retinal detachment.
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated April 28, 2021

Sensitivity to light questionnaire

Answer our clinicians’ questions to learn if your sensitivity to light is serious and get a migraines refills treatment prescription for $25 if necessary.

Sensitivity to light questionnaire

Answer our clinicians’ questions to learn if your sensitivity to light is serious and get a migraines refills treatment prescription for $25 if necessary.

See sensitivity to light treatment options

Only available in: CA, NY, TX, FL, IL, NC, PA, OH, MI, and WA

Sensitivity to light, called photophobia, is a relatively common problem that can range from mild to severe. It’s when light seems too bright and makes you squint, but it can also be irritating or cause pain in people who are sensitive to it.

Sensitivity to light can be caused simply by eye strain or dry eyes, or by issues like eye infections, eye injuries, or problems with the structure of the eye. People with a lighter eye color are more likely to have light sensitivity because darker-colored eyes contain more pigment to protect against harsh lighting.

It can also be a side effect of certain medications, or a symptom of allergies, hangover, or brain or nervous system disorders such as migraine. It can also occur as we age.

You can reduce light sensitivity by avoiding bright light, using eye drops, or wearing sunglasses indoors. But you should see your eye doctor to determine the underlying cause if these steps do not help your problem.

Some causes of this sensitivity may lead to further problems with your eyes or vision if they aren’t treated, while others are so serious that you need to go to the ER.

Causes

1. Dry eye

Symptoms

  • Sensitivity to light
  • Eye pain
  • Feeling that something is in your eye
  • Red eyes
  • Itchy eyes
  • Blurred vision

The most common cause of sensitivity to light is dry eye. Triggers of dry eyes include getting older and changes in hormone levels. People who have conditions such as Sjogren’s syndrome and Parkinson’s disease may have increased risk of dry eye disease.

Dry eye can also be a side effect of some medications, such as antidepressants, allergy medications, and chemotherapy drugs.

Your eye doctor can diagnose dry eye disease. Treatment may include changing medications that are causing light sensitivity, wearing special contact lenses, and using over-the-counter eye drops. In some cases, your doctor may recommend procedures that treat dry eye, such as closing your tear ducts to reduce tear loss or unblocking the small oil glands on the edge of your eyelids.

Pro Tip

Sensitivity to light isn’t something you should just deal with on your own. It can be a warning sign of an eye problem that needs treatment, so it’s definitely worth discussing with your doctor. —Dr. Karen Hoerst

2. Migraine

Symptoms

  • Sensitivity to light or sound
  • Aura (changes in how you sense light and sound)
  • Head pain
  • Nausea
  • Vomiting
  • Fatigue
  • Tingling or numbness in the body

Another common cause of light sensitivity is migraine. This is a neurological condition that causes moderate to severe headaches. Migraines can occur once in a while or be chronic (occurring at least 15 days a month).

Light can be very painful and worsen headaches during a migraine, and may be a trigger in some people.

Other triggers include hormonal changes, stress, and weather changes. Certain foods and drinks such as alcohol, caffeinated beverages, aged cheese, and salty and processed foods can also trigger migraines.

Treatments for migraine may include over-the-counter or prescription medication that reduce the frequency and severity of your headaches. These medications may be taken orally or via nasal spray or injection. There are also drugs that prevent migraine headaches (such as Botox injections) and others that treat migraine headaches when they occur, such as triptans.

3. Eye strain

Symptoms

  • Sensitivity to light
  • Sore eyes
  • Blurry vision
  • Tense neck or shoulders
  • Difficulty keeping your eyes open

Eye strain occurs when your eyes get tired from overuse. It can be caused by exhaustion or when you have to focus on one area for long periods of time, like when you’re driving or using your computer. Eye strain caused by too much screen time is called digital eye strain. A study in the British Medical Journal Open Ophthalmology notes that at least 50% of computer users have experienced it at some point.

Symptoms of eye strain usually go away once you’ve rested your eyes. You can prevent digital eye strain by avoiding prolonged screen time, taking scheduled breaks from computer or phone use, changing the brightness of your device, and ensuring the text size is large enough to read without difficulty.

Sensitivity to light questionnaire

Answer our clinicians’ questions to learn if your sensitivity to light is serious and get a migraines refills treatment prescription for $25 if necessary.

See sensitivity to light treatment options

Only available in: CA, NY, TX, FL, IL, NC, PA, OH, MI, and WA

4. Blepharitis (inflamed eyelid)

Symptoms

  • Sensitivity to light
  • Red, swollen eyelids
  • Itchy eyelids
  • Dandruff-like flakes at the base of your eyelids
  • Eyelashes that grow abnormally or fall out easily
  • Feeling that something is in your eye

Blepharitis, or eyelid inflammation, is an irritation of the rim or margin of the eyelid. It can be caused by makeup, skin conditions such as psoriasis, or an infection of the skin at the base of the eyelashes (caused by bacteria or eyelash mites or lice).

Blepharitis can also be triggered by inflammation or clogs in the oil glands in your eyelids, which can be painful and irritate the eye.

Blepharitis should always be treated by your doctor. Without proper care, it can become chronic and lead to infections of the eyelids and cornea, dry eyes that can’t tolerate contact lenses, and scarring and deformity of the eyelids.

Treatment for most causes of blepharitis includes washing the eyelid and lashes regularly, using over-the-counter eye wipes, applying warm compresses, and not using any makeup or other products that might be worsening your symptoms.

If these don’t work, your doctor may recommend other treatments, such as prescription eye drops that contain antibiotics or oral antibiotics.

5. Conjunctivitis (pink eye)

Symptoms

  • Sensitivity to light
  • Feeling that something is in your eye
  • A “gritty” feeling in your eye
  • Red eyes
  • Discharge from your eye that may be watery or filled with pus
  • Eye pain

Conjunctivitis is an inflammation of the conjunctiva, which covers the surface of your eyes. The conjunctiva is usually clear, but it can appear reddish-pink when it’s inflamed. This is why conjunctivitis is called “pink eye.”

Causes of conjunctivitis include viral or bacterial infections of the eyes, allergies, a foreign object in your eye, or a chemical that splashed in your eye. Conjunctivitis caused by a virus or bacteria can often spread from one person to another. This is particularly common in school-aged children.

Treatment may include prescription eye drops and applying cold or warm compresses to your eyes several times a day. Viral conjunctivitis goes away on its own, but some forms of bacterial conjunctivitis may need to be treated with antibiotics.

6. Keratitis (cornea infection)

Symptoms

  • Sensitivity to light
  • Eye redness
  • Eye pain
  • Feeling that something is in your eye
  • Blurred vision
  • Difficulty opening your eyes

Keratitis is inflammation of the cornea, which is the clear layer on the front of your eye that covers your pupil and iris. It can be caused by viral or bacterial infections, an eye injury, a foreign body in your eye, and wearing your contact lenses for too long.

If an infection is suspected, your doctor may also take a swab sample to determine what type of infection you may have.

Treatment of keratitis may include antibiotics and other medications such as eye drops to help your symptoms and reduce inflammation. It’s important to follow your doctor’s treatment plan—which will include not wearing contacts for a period of time—because not doing so may increase the risk of permanent damage to your cornea, scarring, and vision loss.

7. Corneal abrasion

Symptoms

  • Sensitivity to light
  • Blurry vision
  • Feeling that something is in your eye
  • Redness
  • Eye discharge

A corneal abrasion is a particularly painful, superficial scratch on your cornea. Most corneal abrasions are caused by an eye injury or a foreign body in your eye (like sand or dirt), but they can also develop if you have dry eye or are using your contact lenses incorrectly.

See your doctor if you think you have a corneal abrasion or have injured your eye. Left untreated, it can progress to a corneal ulcer and permanently damage your vision.

If a foreign object caused the abrasion, your doctor will remove it. Treatments may include moisturizing eye drops or ointment, antibiotic eye drops or ointments, and wearing an eyepatch temporarily. In some cases, surgery may be needed to smooth the surface of the cornea.

8. Scleritis

Symptoms

  • Sensitivity to light
  • Severe eye pain
  • Eye inflammation
  • Tearing
  • Deep eye ache that may extend into your face and head

Scleritis is inflammation of the whites of your eye. It’s usually seen in people with autoimmune disorders such as lupus and rheumatoid arthritis (RA). Left untreated, scleritis may lead to blindness.

Treatment may include corticosteroid pills, nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (like ibuprofen), eye solutions, antibiotics, prescription medication, and immunosuppressive drugs. In severe cases, surgery may be necessary to save your vision.

9. Torn retina or retinal detachment

Symptoms

  • Sensitivity to light
  • “Floaters” appearing in your field of vision
  • Narrowing field of vision
  • Blurred vision

Retinal detachment occurs when the retina tears or detaches from the back of the eye. The retina contains light-sensitive cells that organize visual information and send it to your brain. You may not experience pain with retinal detachment, but you will be sensitive to light.

A retinal detachment is considered an emergency and should be treated immediately to prevent permanent vision loss. If you experience sudden loss of vision, you should go to the ER immediately. Surgery is usually necessary to repair a torn or detached retina. It may improve your vision, though some people never fully recover their vision.

Sensitivity to light questionnaire

Answer our clinicians’ questions to learn if your sensitivity to light is serious and get a migraines refills treatment prescription for $25 if necessary.

See sensitivity to light treatment options

Only available in: CA, NY, TX, FL, IL, NC, PA, OH, MI, and WA

10. Encephalitis or meningitis

Symptoms

  • Sensitivity to light
  • Sensitivity to sound
  • Fever
  • Seizure
  • Headache
  • Confusion
  • Neck stiffness
  • Difficulty moving

Encephalitis and meningitis are inflammations of the brain. Encephalitis is inflammation of the brain tissue and meningitis is an inflammation of the surface coverings of the brain (meninges). Both can be caused by viruses, bacteria, fungi, and other inflammatory conditions. In some instances, both encephalitis and meningitis occur at the same time.

Some cases are mild, with the only symptoms being a headache and light sensitivity. But more severe cases are serious and can be fatal. If you have a mild headache and light sensitivity, you should see your doctor.

Go to the ER if your symptoms are severe or occur with other symptoms such as confusion, seizures, or difficulty moving.

Diagnosis of meningitis and encephalitis is made based on your symptoms, brain imaging tests, and other blood tests. Often, a lumbar puncture or spinal tap test is needed to examine the fluid surrounding the brain and spinal cord to look for infection or inflammation.

Treatment may include antiviral or antibiotic treatments and medications to manage symptoms, such as anticonvulsant medication.

Other possible causes

A number of other conditions can cause light sensitivity:

  • Traumatic brain injuries (TBI), including concussions
  • Temporal arteritis
  • Rabies
  • Depression and other nervous system disorders or brain disorders

When to call the doctor

It’s important to see a doctor right away for any new or worsening sensitivity to light. This is because not all cases of light sensitivity will go away on their own and you may have an underlying condition that needs treatment. See your doctor if you have:

  • A feeling that something is in your eye
  • Eye discharge
  • Eye redness

Dr. Rx

If you are having any abrupt change in your vision, this an eye emergency and treat it as such. If you can’t see your personal doctor or eye doctor immediately, you generally need to go to the emergency department. There are a lot of problems that can occur with your eye, and most are treatable, but only if you have appropriate evaluation done at the right time. —Dr. Hoerst

Should I go to the ER for sensitivity to light?

Go to the ER if you have sensitivity to light and:

Treatment

Pro Tip

Ask your doctor what you should be doing at home to help treat your problem. Review any over-the-counter drops you are using with your doctor. Also review how you are using your contact lenses to be sure you’re not putting yourself at higher risk of eye problems. —Dr. Hoerst

At-home treatment

If light sensitivity is mild and isn’t causing other problems such as change in vision, your doctor may recommend treating it by:

  • Resting
  • Wearing sunglasses
  • Using over-the-counter eye drops
  • Applying warm compresses

Your doctor may also recommend an at-home treatment plan if you experience light sensitivity caused by migraine, allergies, or dry eye.

Other possible treatments

  • Prescription medications, including eye drops with antibiotics or steroids
  • Pain medication
  • Surgery
Share your story
Dr. Hoerst is a board-certified Neurologist. She received her undergraduate degree in Neuroscience from the University of Scranton in 2005 and Jefferson Medical College (now Sidney Kimmel Medical College) in 2009. She completed an internal medicine internship, neurology residency and vascular neurology fellowship at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital in Philadelphia (2014). After completing her...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

1 person found this helpful
Tooltip Icon.