Skip to main content
Read about

Douleur au sternum

La douleur dans la poitrine peut être vague et difficile à identifier. Apprenez les causes.
·
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated October 2, 2023

Quiz sur les douleurs au sternum

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de votre douleur.

6 most common cause(s)

Arthrose
RGO
Costochondrite aiguë
Illustration of a health care worker swabbing an individual.
Crise cardiaque
Illustration of various health care options.
Pleurisy
Illustration of a person thinking with cross bandaids.
Sternum fracture

Quiz sur les douleurs au sternum

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de votre douleur.

Répondez à un quiz sur les douleurs au sternum

Le sternum, également connu sous le nom de sternum, est l'os long et plat situé au milieu de votre poitrine. Vous pouvez ressentir des douleurs dans cette zone en raison d’une infection, d’une inflammation, d’une blessure ou d’une dégradation du cartilage affectant le sternum lui-même.

Des problèmes avec les organes voisins comme le cœur, les poumons et l’œsophage peuvent également provoquer des douleurs dans cette zone. Cela comprend une crise cardiaque, une pleurésie (une inflammation des poumons) et un reflux acide.

Habituellement, si la douleur se situe au niveau du sternum, vous ressentirez une douleur aiguë lorsque vous pousserez au milieu de votre poitrine. Mais comme les symptômes de la douleur thoracique sont très similaires à ceux d’autres causes de douleur thoracique, vous devrez peut-être passer des tests pour vérifier la présence d’une crise cardiaque et d’autres affections graves.

Si votre problème concerne uniquement votre sternum, vous vous sentirez peut-être mieux avec du repos, des étirements doux et des médicaments anti-inflammatoires. Mais s’il y a d’autres problèmes, vous pourriez avoir besoin de médicaments sur ordonnance, d’injections articulaires ou d’une intervention chirurgicale.

Causes des douleurs au sternum

1. Costochondrite

Symptômes

  • Douleur dans le sternum, généralement aiguë
  • Aggravation de la douleur avec une respiration profonde ou un mouvement
  • Pousser ou appuyer sur le sternum est douloureux.

Costochondrite est une inflammation du cartilage qui relie vos côtes à votre sternum. C’est la cause la plus fréquente de douleur aux os thoraciques. Habituellement, vous ressentez de la douleur lorsque vous appuyez sur les côtés de votre sternum. Dans de nombreux cas, la cause est inconnue, mais elle est parfois liée à l'exercice ou à une maladie récente.

Parce que la costochondrite ressemble beaucoup à des causes plus graves de douleurs au sternum, vous devriez consulter un médecin. Ils feront probablement une radiographie pulmonaire et un électrocardiogramme (ECG), ce qui sera normal s'il s'agit d'une costochondrite.

Habituellement, la costochondrite s’améliore avec du repos et des étirements doux. Mais si vous êtes très mal à l’aise, de la glace et des médicaments anti-inflammatoires peuvent vous aider. Si la douleur est intense, vous aurez peut-être besoin d’une injection de stéroïdes.

Dr Rx

Si vous souffrez de costochondrite ou de tension musculaire, demandez à votre médecin combien de temps vos symptômes pourraient durer et comment vous pouvez gérer vos symptômes. C’est un soulagement de recevoir un diagnostic d’une maladie qui ne met pas la vie en danger, mais cela ne signifie pas que votre douleur disparaît immédiatement ! Il y a des choses que vous pouvez faire pour contrôler la douleur. —Dr. Anne Jacobsen

2. Arthrite sternoclaviculaire

Symptômes

  • Douleur au sommet du sternum
  • Aggravation de la douleur avec l'activité
  • Gonflement et sensibilité
  • Douleur irradiant dans les bras

L'arthrose est une dégradation du cartilage articulaire au fil du temps. L'articulation sternoclaviculaire est l'endroit où le haut du sternum (sternum) rencontre la clavicule (clavicule).

L'arthrose dans cette zone peut provoquer des douleurs au niveau du sternum, en particulier près de la partie supérieure. Cela se produit avec l’âge, mais cela peut survenir plus tôt si vous avez déjà eu une blessure dans cette zone. Parce que c’est la zone où votre torse se connecte à vos bras, cette articulation travaille dur. UNétudier dans leJournal de rhumatologie clinique ont découvert que 90 % des personnes de plus de 60 ans souffrent d'arthrose au niveau de cette articulation, mais que toutes ne présentent pas de symptômes.

Votre médecin peut prescrire des radiographies, un scanner ou une IRM pour diagnostiquer l'arthrite sternoclaviculaire. Le repos et les médicaments anti-inflammatoires peuvent vous aider à vous sentir mieux. Certaines personnes peuvent avoir besoin d’injections articulaires de médicaments stéroïdiens. Lorsque la douleur au sternum est intense, vous devrez peut-être subir une intervention chirurgicale.

3. Tension musculaire

Symptômes

  • Douleur aiguë ou douloureuse dans le sternum
  • Aggravation de la douleur avec le mouvement
  • Spasme musculaire
  • Ecchymose ou sensibilité d'un muscle de la paroi thoracique

Un muscle tendu ou tiré dans la paroi thoracique peut provoquer des douleurs aux os thoraciques. Cette blessure est causée par une surutilisation ou des mouvements répétitifs, une augmentation du niveau d’activité ou un mouvement soudain et inapproprié. Des élongations musculaires peuvent également survenir lors d'une maladie provoquant de la toux ou des vomissements.

Le repos, la glace et les analgésiques en vente libre peuvent soulager la tension musculaire. Mais dans les cas plus graves, vous pourriez avoir besoin d’une thérapie physique ou d’une intervention chirurgicale.

4. Brûlures d’estomac et reflux acide

Symptômes

  • Douleur brûlante dans la poitrine, l'abdomen ou la gorge après avoir mangé
  • Douleur au sternum
  • Mauvaise haleine ou mauvais goût dans la bouche

Les brûlures d'estomac sont une brève douleur brûlante dans la gorge, la poitrine ou l'abdomen causée par l'acide gastrique. Lorsque cela arrive fréquemment, cela peut être un signe dereflux d'acide.

Les deuxbrûlures d'estomac et le reflux sont causés par unproblème avec le sphincter (anneau de muscles) qui sépare l’œsophage de l’estomac. Lorsque le sphincter ne se ferme pas hermétiquement ou s’ouvre trop fréquemment, l’acide gastrique ou les aliments peuvent sortir de l’estomac et retourner dans l’œsophage.

Les brûlures d'estomac peuvent également être causées par une hernie hiatale, qui survient lorsqu'une partie de l'estomac glisse à travers un trou du diaphragme (le muscle qui sépare la poitrine de l'abdomen).

Certains aliments et boissons, notamment les aliments épicés ou gras, l'alcool et le café, peuvent déclencher des brûlures d'estomac. Les personnes en surpoids et les femmes enceintes présentent un risque plus élevé de reflux.

Votre médecin peut vous prescrire des modifications de votre mode de vie et de votre alimentation, des médicaments et parfois une intervention chirurgicale.

5. Pleurésie

Symptômes

Les poumons et l’intérieur de la poitrine sont recouverts d’un mince tissu protecteur appelé plèvre. La pleurésie est une inflammation et un gonflement de ce tissu. Une infection pulmonaire virale ou bactérienne, une maladie auto-immune ou d'autres affections des poumons ou de la poitrine peuvent provoquer une pleurésie.

Le repos, les médicaments anti-inflammatoires en vente libre (ibuprofène) et parfois les antibiotiques peuvent vous aider à aller mieux.

6. Crise cardiaque

Symptômes

  • Douleur ou pression sous le sternum
  • Douleur irradiant vers le bras ou la mâchoire
  • Essoufflement
  • Nausée
  • Transpiration

Certaines personnes ayant uncrise cardiaque ressentez des douleurs thoraciques dans ou sous le sternum. Une crise cardiaque est un blocage d’une artère du cœur, qui empêche le sang et l’oxygène d’atteindre cette zone. Elle est causée par un caillot de sang qui se propage à partir d’une accumulation de graisse (plaque) à l’intérieur de l’artère.

Une crise cardiaque peut mettre la vie en danger et nécessite un traitement immédiat. Lorsque vous vous rendez aux urgences pour des douleurs au sternum, vous passerez probablement des tests comme un ECG, des analyses de sang et une radiographie pulmonaire.

Le traitement doit commencer dès que possible après le début des symptômes, alors appelez le 9-1-1 si votre douleur pourrait être liée au cœur. Vous pouvez recevoir des médicaments ou subir une procédure comme un cathétérisme cardiaque avec des traitements par ballonnet ou par stent pour ouvrir vos artères. Les cas graves peuvent nécessiter une intervention chirurgicale pour créer un pontage autour de l'artère bloquée.

7. Fracture du sternum

Symptômes

  • Douleur au sternum
  • Aggravation de la douleur lors de la respiration, de la toux ou du mouvement
  • Gonflement et sensibilité du sternum

La fracture du sternum est une fracture de l'os du sternum. Cela ne se produit généralement qu'en cas de traumatisme grave, comme un accident de voiture ou une chute de grande hauteur. Les ceintures de sécurité sauvent des vies dans les accidents de voiture, mais elles traversent le sternum, ce qui peut le fracturer en cas d'accident violent.

Parce que briser l’os nécessite une telle force, les médecins prescriront des tomodensitogrammes supplémentaires pour vérifier les blessures aux organes vitaux situés derrière le sternum, notamment le cœur, les poumons et les principaux vaisseaux sanguins.

De la glace, des analgésiques en vente libre et, parfois, des analgésiques sur ordonnance peuvent soulager votre douleur au sternum. Vous devrez peut-être subir une intervention chirurgicale pour réparer la fracture ou pour traiter d'autres blessures à l'intérieur de la poitrine.

Conseil de pro

Un certain nombre des affections mentionnées ici (par exemple, la costochondrite, les tensions musculaires et la pleurésie) sont ce que les médecins appellent un « diagnostic d'exclusion ». Cela signifie qu’il n’existe pas de test spécifique pour poser le diagnostic et que les symptômes peuvent imiter ceux d’autres maladies graves. Une fois que nous avons exclu tout problème grave, nous traitons le problème non grave le plus probable. —Dr. Jacobsen

Autres causes possibles

D'autres conditions pouvant causer des douleurs près du sternum comprennent :

  • Pneumonie oubronchite
  • Un caillot de sang dans le poumon (embolie pulmonaire)
  • Anxiété
  • Tumeurs
  • Les patients ayant subi une opération à cœur ouvert peuvent ressentir des douleurs chroniques au sternum, car les médecins doivent diviser cet os en deux pour effectuer l'intervention.
  • Certaines personnes souffrent de maladies génétiques qui font que le sternum s'enfonce dans la poitrine ou fait saillie vers l'avant, ce qui peut provoquer des douleurs.

Quand appeler le médecin

  • Douleur au sternum suite à une blessure mineure
  • La douleur n’est pas contrôlée par le repos, la glace et les médicaments en vente libre.

Dois-je aller aux urgences pour des douleurs au sternum ?

Étant donné que ces affections peuvent présenter des symptômes qui se chevauchent, de nombreuses personnes souffrant de douleurs au sternum devront subir un test de dépistage d'une crise cardiaque. Vous devez vous rendre immédiatement aux urgences si vous présentez l'un des symptômes suivants :

  • Douleur au sternum ou à la poitrine qui ne provient pas d’une blessure mineure
  • Douleur irradiant vers les bras, la mâchoire ou le dos
  • Essoufflement, nausées, transpiration ouvertiges
  • Douleur liée à un accident de voiture ou à une autre blessure traumatique

Conseil de pro

La douleur au sternum est une plainte pour laquelle nous devons vraiment prendre en compte chaque élément de preuve pour pouvoir poser le bon diagnostic en toute confiance. Les analyses de sang montrent s'il y a une blessure au muscle cardiaque ou une infection. Un ECG montre s'il y a des changements électriques dus à une crise cardiaque. Une radiographie pulmonaire ou un scanner peuvent montrer certaines infections. —Dr. Jacobsen

Traitements

Soins à domicile

Si vous avez subi une blessure mineure ou si votre médecin a exclu les causes graves de votre douleur, essayez ce qui suit :

  • Repos
  • Glace
  • Médicaments anti-inflammatoires ou analgésiques en vente libre

Autres options de traitement

  • Médicaments sur ordonnance comme des antibiotiques ou des médicaments pour le cœur
  • Injection articulaire
  • Thérapie physique
  • Chirurgie
Share your story
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.
Dr. Jacobsen is a board-certified Emergency Medicine physician and writer for Buoy Health. She received her undergraduate degrees in Chemistry and Biology from Macalester College (2006) and graduated from the University of Kansas School of Medicine (2010). She completed an Emergency Medicine residency program at the University of Missouri-Kansas City (2013). She practices community Emergency Medic...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

12 people found this helpful
Tooltip Icon.
Read this next
Slide 1 of 4

Skip to main contentSkip to accessibility services
7 min read
No Ads

Sternum Pain

Pain in the chest can be vague and hard to pinpoint. Learn the causes.
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated October 12, 2021

Quit smoking therapy and medication

Answer our clinicians' questions to get medication to help you stop smoking for $25 and skip the doctor's office.

Quit smoking therapy and medication

Answer our clinicians' questions to get medication to help you stop smoking for $25 and skip the doctor's office.

See smoking treatment options

Only available in: CA, NY, TX, FL, IL, NC, PA, OH, MI, and WA

The sternum, also known as the breastbone, is the long, flat bone in the middle of your chest. You can have pain in this area because of infection, inflammation, injury, or the breakdown of cartilage affecting the sternum itself.

Problems with nearby organs like the heart, lungs, and esophagus can also cause pain in this area. This includes a heart attack, pleurisy (a lung inflammation), and acid reflux.

Usually, if the pain is in the actual sternum, you’ll have sharp pain when you push in the middle of your chest. But because the symptoms of chest bone pain are so similar to other causes of chest pain, you might need to have tests to check for heart attack and other serious conditions.

If your problem is just with your actual sternum, you may feel better with rest, gentle stretching, and anti-inflammatory medications. But if there are other issues, you might need prescription medications, joint injections, or surgery.

Causes of sternum pain

1. Costochondritis

Symptoms

  • Pain in the sternum, usually sharp
  • Worsening pain with deep breathing or movement
  • Pushing or pressure on the sternum is painful.

Costochondritis is inflammation of the cartilage that links your ribs to your sternum. It’s the most common cause of chest bone pain. Usually you feel pain when you push on the sides of your sternum. In many cases, the cause is unknown, but it is sometimes related to exercise or a recent illness.

Because costochondritis feels so much like more serious causes of sternum pain, you should see a doctor. They will probably do a chest X-ray and an electrocardiogram (EKG), which will be normal if it's costochondritis.

Usually, costochondritis gets better with rest and gentle stretching. But if you are very uncomfortable, ice and anti-inflammatory medication can help. If the pain is severe, you may need a steroid injection.

Dr. Rx

If you have costochondritis or a muscle strain, ask your doctor how long your symptoms might last, and how you can manage your symptoms. It’s a relief to be diagnosed with a non-life-threatening condition, but it doesn’t mean that your pain goes away immediately! There are things you can do to control the pain. —Dr. Anne Jacobsen

2. Sternoclavicular arthritis

Symptoms

  • Pain at the top of the sternum
  • Worsening pain with activity
  • Swelling and tenderness
  • Pain radiating into the arms

Osteoarthritis is a breakdown of joint cartilage over time. The sternoclavicular joint is where the top of the sternum (breastbone) meets the clavicle (collarbone).

Osteoarthritis in this area can cause pain in the sternum, especially near the top part. It happens as you age, but it might occur earlier if you had a previous injury in that area. Because this is the area where your torso connects to your arms, this joint works hard. A study in the Journal of Clinical Rheumatology found that 90% of people over the age of 60 have osteoarthritis in this joint, but not all have symptoms.

Your doctor may order X-rays, a CT scan, or an MRI to diagnose sternoclavicular arthritis. Rest and anti-inflammatory medication may help you feel better. Some people may need joint injections with steroid medications. When sternum pain is severe, you may need surgery.

Quit smoking therapy and medication

Answer our clinicians' questions to get medication to help you stop smoking for $25 and skip the doctor's office.

See smoking treatment options

Only available in: CA, NY, TX, FL, IL, NC, PA, OH, MI, and WA

3. Muscle strain

Symptoms

  • Sharp or achy pain in the sternum
  • Worsening pain with movement
  • Muscle spasm
  • Bruising or tenderness of a chest wall muscle

A strained or pulled muscle in the chest wall can cause chest bone pain. This injury is caused by overuse or repetitive movement, an increase in activity level, or a sudden improper movement. Pulled muscles can also happen during an illness that causes coughing or vomiting.

Rest, ice, and over-the-counter pain medications can relieve muscle strain. But in more severe cases, you may need physical therapy or surgery.

4. Heartburn and acid reflux

Symptoms

  • Burning pain in the chest, abdomen, or throat after eating
  • Pain in the sternum
  • Bad breath or bad taste in your mouth

Heartburn is a brief burning pain in your throat, chest, or abdomen that is caused by stomach acid. When it happens frequently, it can be a sign of acid reflux.

Both heartburn and reflux are caused by a problem with the sphincter (ring of muscles) that separates the esophagus from the stomach. When the sphincter doesn’t close tightly or opens too frequently, stomach acid or food can travel out of the stomach back into the esophagus.

Heartburn can also be caused by a hiatal hernia, which happens when part of the stomach slips through a hole in the diaphragm (the muscle that separates the chest from the abdomen).

Certain foods and drinks, including spicy or fatty foods, alcohol, and coffee, can trigger heartburn. Overweight people and pregnant women have a higher risk for reflux.

Your doctor may prescribe changes to your lifestyle and diet, medications, and sometimes surgery.

5. Pleurisy

Symptoms

The lungs and the inside of the chest are covered with a thin protective tissue called the pleura. Pleurisy is inflammation and swelling of this tissue. A viral or bacterial lung infection, autoimmune disease, or other conditions in the lungs or chest can cause pleurisy.

Rest, over-the-counter anti-inflammatory medications (ibuprofen), and sometimes antibiotics can help you get better.

6. Heart attack

Symptoms

  • Pain or pressure under the sternum
  • Pain radiating to the arm or jaw
  • Shortness of breath
  • Nausea
  • Sweating

Some people having a heart attack experience chest pain in or under the sternum. A heart attack is a blockage in an artery of the heart, which prevents blood and oxygen from reaching that area. It is caused by a blood clot that travels from a fatty buildup (plaque), inside the artery.

Heart attack can be life-threatening and requires immediate treatment. When you go to the ER for sternum pain, you’ll likely have tests like an EKG, blood tests, and a chest X-ray.

Treatment should begin as soon as possible after symptoms start, so call 9-1-1, if your pain could be heart related. You may get medications or have a procedure like a heart catheterization with balloon or stent treatments to open up your arteries. Severe cases may need surgery to create a bypass around the blocked artery.

7. Sternum fracture

Symptoms

  • Pain in the sternum
  • Worsening pain when breathing, coughing, or moving
  • Swelling and tenderness of the sternum

Sternum fracture is a break in the sternum bone. This usually only happens in a serious trauma, like a car accident or falls from a high height. Seatbelts save lives in car accidents, but they cross over the sternum, which can fracture it in a high-impact crash.

Because breaking the bone requires such force, doctors will order additional CT scans to check for injuries to the vital organs behind the sternum, including the heart, lungs, and major blood vessels.

Ice, over-the-counter pain medications, and, sometimes, prescription pain medications may relieve your sternum pain. You may need surgery to fix the break or to treat other injuries inside the chest.

Pro Tip

A number of the conditions mentioned here (for instance, costochondritis, muscle strain, and pleurisy) are what doctors refer to as a “diagnosis of exclusion.” This means that there’s not one specific test to make the diagnosis and that the symptoms can mimic the symptoms of other serious conditions. Once we rule out anything serious, we treat the non-serious problem that is most likely. —Dr. Jacobsen

Other possible causes

Other conditions that may cause pain near the sternum include:

  • Pneumonia or bronchitis
  • A blood clot in the lung (pulmonary embolism)
  • Anxiety
  • Tumors
  • Patients who have had open heart surgery may have chronic pain in the sternum because doctors have to split this bone in half to perform the procedure.
  • Some people have genetic conditions that cause the sternum to sink into the chest or to jut forward, and this may cause pain.

Quit smoking therapy and medication

Answer our clinicians' questions to get medication to help you stop smoking for $25 and skip the doctor's office.

See smoking treatment options

Only available in: CA, NY, TX, FL, IL, NC, PA, OH, MI, and WA

When to call the doctor

  • Pain in the sternum from a minor injury
  • Pain is not controlled with rest, ice, and over-the-counter medications.

Should I go to the ER for sternum pain?

Because these conditions may have overlapping symptoms, many people with pain in the sternum will need to be tested for a heart attack. You should go to the ER immediately if you have any of the following:

  • Sternum or chest bone pain that isn’t from a minor injury
  • Pain radiating to your arms, jaw, or back
  • Shortness of breath, nausea, sweating, or dizziness
  • Pain related to a car accident or other traumatic injury

Treatments

At-home care

If you had a minor injury or if your doctor has ruled out serious causes of your pain, try the following:

  • Rest
  • Ice
  • Over-the-counter anti-inflammatory or pain medications

Pro Tip

Pain in the sternum is a complaint where we really need to consider every piece of evidence to feel confident making the right diagnosis. Bloodwork shows if there is injury to the heart muscle or an infection. An EKG shows if there are electrical changes from a heart attack. A chest x-ray or CT scan can show some infections. —Dr. Jacobsen

Other treatment options

  • Prescription medications like antibiotics or heart medications
  • Joint injection
  • Physical therapy
  • Surgery
Share your story
Dr. Jacobsen is a board-certified Emergency Medicine physician and writer for Buoy Health. She received her undergraduate degrees in Chemistry and Biology from Macalester College (2006) and graduated from the University of Kansas School of Medicine (2010). She completed an Emergency Medicine residency program at the University of Missouri-Kansas City (2013). She practices community Emergency Medic...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

10 people found this helpful
Tooltip Icon.