Skip to main content
Read about

Causes du gonflement du poignet et comment traiter un poignet enflé

·
Une illustration d’une main et d’un poignet. Une grosse bosse dépasse du côté du poignet avec quatre lignes rouges qui en émanent.
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated May 22, 2023

Quiz sur le poignet enflé

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de votre gonflement du poignet.

Un poignet enflé est généralement un symptôme après une blessure traumatique, notamment une entorse du poignet, des ecchymoses ou des fractures osseuses. D’autres causes de gonflement du poignet peuvent provenir d’une surutilisation ou d’une arthrite causée par une inflammation des articulations. Lisez ci-dessous pour plus d’informations sur les causes et les options de traitement.

7 most common cause(s)

Illustration of a health care worker swabbing an individual.
Pseudopolyarthrite rhizomélique
Polyarthrite rhumatoïde
Arthrite psoriasique
Entorse du poignet
Illustration of a person thinking with cross bandaids.
Ténosynovite de De Quervain
Illustration of a health care worker swabbing an individual.
Repetitive strain injury of the upper arm
Illustration of various health care options.
Buckle fracture of distal radius

Quiz sur le poignet enflé

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de votre gonflement du poignet.

Répondez à un quiz sur le poignet enflé

Symptômes de poignet enflé

UNpoignet enflé est généralement le résultat d’une blessure associée à des événements traumatisants entraînant des entorses et des fractures. Si vous ne vous souvenez pas d'une blessure au poignet, vous ressentez peut-être un gonflement dû à d'autresproblèmes chroniques. Par exemple, le stress dû à des activités répétitives telles que le tricot et la dactylographie peut entraîner un gonflement.

L'enflure, en général, est le résultat d'une accumulation de liquide dans les tissus de votre corps. Lorsqu’une zone du corps devient enflammée, blessée ou endommagée, les petits vaisseaux sanguins du corps commencent à laisser échapper du liquide. Les globules blancs arrivent également pour réparer les dégâts, ce qui entraîne davantage de liquide et un gonflement supplémentaire.

Symptômes courants accompagnant un poignet enflé

Si vous ressentez un gonflement du poignet, vous pouvez également ressentir les symptômes suivants.

Certains de ces symptômes peuvent survenir avant l’apparition du gonflement, il est donc important de connaître et de pouvoir identifier ces signes. Dès que vous observez des symptômes, prenez rendez-vous avec votre médecin pour recevoir les soins adaptés.

Causes du poignet enflé

De nombreux facteurs peuvent entraîner un gonflement du poignet. Les détails suivants peuvent vous permettre de mieux comprendre vos symptômes. Cependant, vous devriez consulter un médecin pour un diagnostic approprié si le gonflement de votre poignet s'aggrave ou persiste.

Structure du poignet

Le poignet est une articulation composée de plusieurs composants : os, muscles, nerfs, vaisseaux sanguins, ligaments et tendons. Le poignet est susceptible de se blesser et de gonfler à de nombreux endroits. Voir cette image pour unreprésentation visuelle.

Toute condition provoquant une contrainte, une utilisation excessive ou des dommages à ces composants peut entraînerla douleur au poignet, blessure et gonflement. Il est essentiel de prendre rendez-vous avec votre médecin pour obtenir un diagnostic précis et un traitement approprié.

Causes traumatisantes

Les événements traumatisants, tels que les accidents de la route, peuvent provoquer des blessures évidentes au poignet. D'autres événements peuvent également entraîner des blessures.

  • Chutes: Tomber sur une main tendue provoque un traumatisme direct au poignet. Les os peuvent facilement se déplacer et se briser, les nerfs et les vaisseaux sanguins peuvent être pincés et sectionnés, et les muscles et les ligaments peuvent être déchirés. Quel que soit le mécanisme exact, un gonflement du poignet se produira.
  • Les blessures sportives: Semblable aux chutes, le gonflement du poignet dû à des blessures est un phénomène courant dans les sports de contact, comme le football et le hockey. De plus, des blessures et un gonflement du poignet peuvent survenir dans les sports pouvant entraîner des chutes, comme le ski, le volley-ball ou le vélo.

Causes positionnelles

Les positions telles que taper à la machine et tricoter qui exercent une pression directe sur les nerfs du poignet peuvent provoquer un stress et des blessures chroniques. Ces activités peuvent sembler bénignes, mais lorsqu'elles sont pratiquées souvent, elles peuvent entraîner une blessure au poignet pouvant entraîner des blessures.gonflement chronique.

Causes inflammatoires

Les processus qui provoquent une inflammation des composants du poignet, en particulier des vaisseaux sanguins et des nerfs, peuvent provoquer une compression et une pression qui entraînent inévitablement un gonflement et également des blessures.

  • Arthrite: L'arthrite est un terme général désignant plusieurs affections qui provoquent une inflammation douloureuse et une raideur des os et des articulations. Les processus arthritiques peuvent affecter de nombreuses parties du poignet et provoquer des irritations qui entraînent souvent des blessures. De nombreuses personnes souffrant d'arthrite ont plusieurs articulations enétat constant de gonflement.
  • Kystes : Kystes sont des sacs remplis de liquide, d'air ou d'autres matériaux qui peuvent se former dans n'importe quelle partie du corps. Le corps reconnaît ces structures remplies de liquide comme étrangères et développe souvent une réponse réparatrice qui entraîne un gonflement autour du kyste.

Cette liste ne constitue pas un avis médical et peut ne pas représenter avec précision ce que vous avez.

Entorse du poignet

UNentorse du poignet est une blessure aux ligaments du poignet. Une entorse légère implique simplement un étirement des ligaments, tandis que des entorses plus graves peuvent déchirer les ligaments.

Vous devriez voir votre médecin traitant demain. Il ou elle peut demander une imagerie pour s'assurer qu'il n'y a pas d'autres dommages aux os du poignet.

Polyarthrite rhumatoïde

Polyarthrite rhumatoïde est un trouble inflammatoire chronique qui affecte la muqueuse des articulations, les rendant épaissies et douloureuses. Elle peut également affecter d’autres parties du corps telles que le cœur, les poumons, les yeux et le système circulatoire.

La polyarthrite rhumatoïde est une maladie auto-immune, ce qui signifie que le système immunitaire de l'organisme se retourne contre lui-même pour des raisons inconnues.

Les femmes âgées de 30 à 60 ans sont les plus à risque. Les autres facteurs de risque sont les antécédents familiaux, le tabagisme et l'obésité.

Les premiers symptômes comprennent des articulations chaudes, enflées, raides et douloureuses, en particulier les doigts et les orteils ; fatigue; et de la fièvre. Habituellement, les mêmes articulations des deux côtés du corps sont touchées.

Si elles ne sont pas traitées, des lésions et des déformations irréversibles des articulations peuvent survenir, accompagnées d’autres complications. Un diagnostic précoce peut permettre de commencer un traitement préventif le plus tôt possible.

Le diagnostic est posé par un examen physique ; des analyses de sang; et radiographie, tomodensitométrie ou IRM.

Il n’existe aucun remède contre la polyarthrite rhumatoïde, mais la maladie peut être prise en charge pour améliorer la qualité de vie. Le traitement comprend des anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens ; les stéroïdes ; médicaments antirhumatismaux; thérapie physique; et parfois une intervention chirurgicale pour réparer les articulations.

Microtraumatismes répétés du haut du bras

Microtraumatismes répétés du haut du bras est causée par une utilisation répétitive et constante.

Vous n’avez pas besoin de traitement, reposez-vous simplement de votre surutilisation. Le port d’un corset et une thérapie physique peuvent être utiles.

Rareté: Rare

Principaux symptômes : douleur dans le haut du bras due à une utilisation excessive, faiblesse du haut du bras, engourdissement du haut du bras

Symptômes qui surviennent toujours lors de microtraumatismes répétés du haut du bras : douleur dans le haut du bras due à une utilisation excessive

Symptômes qui n’apparaissent jamais en cas de microtraumatismes répétés du haut du bras : blessure au haut du bras, douleur intense au haut du bras

Urgence: Auto-traitement

Arthrite psoriasique

Arthrite psoriasique est une complication du psoriasis, qui rend la peau épaissie, rouge et squameuse. L'arthrite peut apparaître avant ou après l'apparition du psoriasis.

Les deux affections sont des maladies auto-immunes, dans lesquelles le corps s’attaque lui-même, et on pense qu’elles sont causées par des facteurs génétiques et environnementaux.

Les personnes les plus sensibles sont les personnes âgées de 30 à 50 ans ayant des antécédents familiaux de la maladie et qui souffrent déjà de psoriasis.

Les symptômes incluent les articulations d’un ou des deux côtés du corps qui deviennent douloureuses, enflées et chaudes ; gonflement et déformation des doigts et des orteils ; ongles piqués et écaillés; douleurs aux pieds dans les talons et la plante des pieds ; et des douleurs articulaires dans le bas du dos.

Il est important de se faire soigner, car le rhumatisme psoriasique peut endommager de façon permanente les articulations, les yeux et le cœur.

Le diagnostic repose sur un examen physique, des radiographies et une IRM. Des analyses de sang et des analyses de liquide articulaire peuvent confirmer l’arthrite psoriasique.

Le traitement comprend des anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens en vente libre ; médicaments antirhumatismaux; les immunosuppresseurs ; et des injections de stéroïdes pour les articulations. Une intervention chirurgicale pour remplacer les articulations endommagées peut également être tentée.

Pseudopolyarthrite rhizomélique

Pseudopolyarthrite rhizomélique (PMR) est une maladie chronique qui implique une inflammation, des douleurs douloureuses et une raideur matinale. Elle affecte les muscles proches du milieu du corps, notamment les épaules, les hanches et le dos. Sa cause n’est pas connue, mais elle est plus fréquente chez les personnes de plus de 50 ans.

Vous devriez envisager de consulter un professionnel de la santé dans les jours suivants pour discuter de vos symptômes. La PMR peut être évaluée en examinant vos symptômes et vos antécédents médicaux. Votre prestataire peut également effectuer une analyse de sang. Une fois diagnostiqué, il peut être traité avec des stéroïdes sur ordonnance, qui peuvent améliorer les symptômes en une semaine.

Ténosynovite de De Quervain

Ténosynovite de De Quervain est une affection douloureuse affectant les tendons du côté du pouce du poignet. Si vous souffrez de ténosynovite de Quervain, vous ressentirez une douleur en tournant votre poignet, en saisissant quoi que ce soit ou en serrant le poing.

Vous devriez consulter votre médecin traitant pour confirmer le diagnostic et discuter des options de traitement. Vous pouvez également réduire la douleur et l'enflure avec des analgésiques en vente libre, tels que l'ibuprofène (Advil, Motrin), le naproxène (Aleve).

Rareté: Rare

Principaux symptômes : engourdissement des mains, douleur au pouce, faiblesse de la main, faiblesse d'une main, engourdissement d'une main

Symptômes qui surviennent toujours avec la ténosynovite de de quervain :douleur au pouce

Urgence: Médecin de soins primaires

Contusion du poignet

Une ecchymose est une lésion des vaisseaux sanguins qui ramènent le sang vers le cœur (les capillaires et les veines), ce qui provoque une accumulation de sang. Cela explique la couleur bleu/violet de la plupart des bleus.Des ecchymoses au poignet sont fréquents, souvent dus à des blessures mineures.

Vous pouvez traiter cela à la maison avec R.I.C.E – repos (exercice selon la tolérance), glace (10 à 20 minutes à la fois), compression (facultatif, avec un bandage ou du ruban adhésif) et élévation.

Rareté: Rare

Principaux symptômes : blessure au poignet, douleur dans un poignet, douleur au poignet due à une blessure, gonflement d'un poignet, ecchymose au poignet

Symptômes qui surviennent toujours en cas de contusion du poignet : blessure au poignet

Urgence: Auto-traitement

Fracture de la boucle du radius distal

Une fracture par boucle du poignet, également connue sous le nom de fracture du tore, est une affection plus fréquente chez les enfants âgés de 5 à 10 ans en raison de l'élasticité de leurs os. Cette fracture se produit lorsqu’une force est appliquée sur le radius (l’un des deux os de l’avant-bras), provoquant la fracture de l’os le long du cartilage de croissance.

Vous devriez consulter votre médecin traitant dans les prochaines 24 heures. Le traitement de ce type de fracture est l’immobilisation dans un plâtre.

Rareté: Commun

Principaux symptômes : douleur constante à l'avant-bras, douleur à l'avant-bras due à une blessure, douleur dans un avant-bras, avant-bras enflé, blessure au poignet

Symptômes qui surviennent toujours en cas de fracture par boucle du radius distal :douleur à l'avant-bras due à une blessure, douleur constante à l'avant-bras

Urgence: Médecin de soins primaires

Traitements et soulagement du poignet enflé

Traitements et prévention à domicile

Si les symptômes de gonflement de votre poignet sont le résultat d’un mauvais positionnement, essayez ces conseils d’auto-soins et ces suggestions de soulagement.

  • Pratiquer l'ergonomie : Si vous passez une grande partie de votre journée à taper sur un clavier ou à faire des activités qui exercent une pression sur le poignet, prévoyez du temps pour des pauses régulières. Gardez vos poignets dans une position détendue et neutre lorsque vous tapez et envisagez d'utiliser des supports en mousse et des claviers qui diminuent la tension du poignet.
  • Utilisez des équipements de protection lors d’activités sportives : L'utilisation de protège-poignets lors d'activités telles que le snowboard, le roller, la gymnastique et le tennis peut aider à prévenir les blessures.
  • Protéger la maison des dangers : Apportez des changements à votre maison qui peuvent aider à prévenir les chutes. Remplacez les tapis et nattes glissants, installez des mains courantes dans la salle de bain ou la douche et éclairez les espaces pour éviter les déplacements accidentels dans l'obscurité.
  • Appliquer de la glace puis chauffer : Mettre de la glace sur votre poignet aidera à réduire l'enflure et toute douleur. Limitez l’application de glace ou de chaleur à 20 minutes à la fois. Vous pouvez le faire toutes les deux heures pour vous soulager.

Quand consulter un médecin

Consultez votre médecin rapidement si vos symptômes de gonflement suggèrent une blessure grave au poignet. Ces symptômes comprennent des ecchymoses, des douleurs lancinantes, des engourdissements et/ou des picotements. En fonction de votre diagnostic, votre médecin peut suggérer ce qui suit.

  • Physiothérapie ou rééducation : Votre médecin peut vous prescrire des exercices d'étirement ou un programme de physiothérapie/réadaptation pour vous aider à restaurer l'amplitude de mouvement, la force et la stabilité de votre poignet.
  • Plâtres ou attelles : Si vous avez un os cassé, vous aurez peut-être besoin d'un plâtre ou d'une attelle pour aider à maintenir les morceaux fracturés ensemble pendant le processus de guérison. Même si votre blessure au poignet est due à une entorse, vous devrez peut-être porter un sprint pour protéger les parties du poignet pendant leur guérison.
  • Médicaments non inflammatoires : Votre médecin peut vous prescrire ce type de médicament pour lutter contre les processus arthritiques qui provoquent un gonflement.
  • Anticonvulsivants (médicaments anti-épileptiques) : Ne vous inquiétez pas, le gonflement de votre poignet n’est probablement pas le résultat de convulsions. Certains médicaments anticonvulsivants sont également utilisés pour lutter contre les douleurs nerveuses pouvant entraîner un gonflement, commegabapentine (Neurontin), ou carbamazépine (Tegretol).

Quand c'est une urgence

Cherchez des soins immédiats si :

  • Le gonflement ou la douleur devient intense
  • Vous pensez avoir subi une blessure grave au poignet : Comme suite à un accident de voiture ou à une chute
  • Vous présentez des signes d’infection : Comme de la fièvre, des nausées ou des vomissements
  • Vous perdez la sensation dans votre main ou votre bras pendant une période prolongée

Questions que votre médecin peut poser sur le poignet enflé

  • Votre zone enflée est-elle chaude et rouge ?
  • Vous venez de subir une blessure à fort impact (par exemple une chute, une collision, un accident ou un traumatisme sportif) ?
  • De la fièvre aujourd'hui ou la semaine dernière ?
  • Comment expliqueriez-vous la cause de votre douleur au poignet ?

Auto-diagnostiquez avec notre service gratuitAssistant de bouée si vous répondez oui à l'une de ces questions.

Share your story
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.
Dr. Rothschild has been a faculty member at Brigham and Women’s Hospital where he is an Associate Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School. He currently practices as a hospitalist at Newton Wellesley Hospital. In 1978, Dr. Rothschild received his MD at the Medical College of Wisconsin and trained in internal medicine followed by a fellowship in critical care medicine. He also received an MP...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

1 person found this helpful
Tooltip Icon.

References

  1. Broken wrist (wrist fracture). UW Medicine. UW Medicine Link
  2. Vorvick LJ. Wrist pain. U.S. National Library of Medicine: MedlinePlus. Updated December 6, 2018. MedlinePlus Link
  3. Diagnosing wrist & hand repetitive use injuries. NYU Langone Health. NYU Langone Health Link
  4. Arthritis of the Wrist. American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons: OrthoInfo. Reviewed April 2016. OrthoInfo Link
  5. Meena S, Gupta A. Dorsal wrist ganglion: Current review of literature. J Clin Orthop Trauma. 2014;5(2):59-64. NCBI Link

Skip to main contentSkip to accessibility services
Read about

Causes of Wrist Swelling & How to Treat a Swollen Wrist

Tooltip Icon.
Last updated March 15, 2021

Swollen wrist quiz

Take a quiz to find out what's causing your swollen wrist.

A swollen wrist is usually a symptom after a traumatic injury, including wrist sprains, bruising, or bone fractures. Other causes of swelling in the wrist can arise from overuse or arthritis which is caused by inflammation of the joints. Read below for more information on causes and treatment options.

8 most common causes

Illustration of a health care worker swabbing an individual.
Polymyalgia Rheumatica
Rheumatoid Arthritis
Psoriatic Arthritis
Swollen Wrist
Wrist Sprain
Illustration of various health care options.
De Quervain's Tenosynovitis
Illustration of various health care options.
Repetitive strain injury of the upper arm
Illustration of a doctor beside a bedridden patient.
Buckle fracture of distal radius

Swollen wrist quiz

Take a quiz to find out what's causing your swollen wrist.

Take swollen wrist quiz

Swollen wrist symptoms

A swollen wrist is usually the result of an injury associated with traumatic events that result in sprains and fractures. If you don't remember injuring your wrist, you may be experiencing swelling from other chronic issues. For example, stress from repetitive activities such as knitting and typing can result in swelling.

Swelling, in general, is the result of fluid that builds up in your body's tissues. When an area of the body becomes inflamed, injured, or damaged, the small blood vessels in the body begin to leak fluid. White blood cells also arrive to repair the damage, resulting in more fluid and further swelling.

Common accompanying symptoms of a swollen wrist

If you're experiencing wrist swelling, you may also experience the following symptoms.

Some of these symptoms may occur before the swelling emerges, so it is important to know and be able to identify these signs. As soon as you observe symptoms, make an appointment with your doctor to receive appropriate care.

Swollen wrist causes

Many factors can lead to wrist swelling. The following details may give you a better understanding of your symptoms. However, you should see a physician for a proper diagnosis if your wrist swelling worsens or persists.

Wrist structure

The wrist is a joint with multiple components — bones, muscles, nerves, blood vessels, ligaments, and tendons. The wrist is susceptible to injury and subsequent swelling in numerous places. See this image for a visual representation.

Any condition that causes stress, overuse, or damage to these components can result in wrist pain, injury, and swelling. It is essential to make an appointment with your physician to get an accurate diagnosis and proper treatment.

Traumatic causes

Traumatic events, such as motor vehicle accidents, can cause obvious injury to the wrist. Other events may also result in injury.

  • Falls: Falling on an outstretched hand puts direct trauma on the wrist. Bones can easily shift and break, nerves and blood vessels can be pinched and severed, and muscles and ligaments can be torn. Regardless of the exact mechanism, wrist swelling will occur.
  • Sports injuries: Similar to falls, wrist swelling from injuries is a common occurrence in contact sports, such as football and hockey. Furthermore, wrist injury and swelling can occur in sports that may involve falls such as skiing, volleyball, or biking.

Positional causes

Positions such as typing and knitting that put direct pressure on the nerves in the wrist can cause chronic stress and injury. These activities may seem benign, but when performed often, they can lead to a wrist injury that can result in chronic swelling .

Inflammatory causes

Processes that cause inflammation of the components of the wrist, especially the blood vessels and nerves, can cause compression and pressure that results in inevitable swelling and also injury.

  • Arthritis: Arthritis is a general term for multiple conditions that cause painful inflammation and stiffness of the bones and joints. Arthritic processes can affect many parts of the wrist and cause irritation that often leads to injury. Many people with arthritis have multiple joints that are in a constant state of swelling.
  • Cysts: Cysts are sacs filled with fluid, air, or other material that can form in any part of the body. The body recognizes these fluid-filled structures as foreign, and the body often mounts a reparative response that results in swelling around the cyst.

This list does not constitute medical advice and may not accurately represent what you have.

Swollen wrist quiz

Take a quiz to find out what's causing your swollen wrist.

Take swollen wrist quiz

Wrist sprain

A wrist sprain is an injury to the ligaments in the wrist. A mild sprain involves just stretching of the ligaments while more severe sprains can tear the ligaments.

You should see your primary care doctor tomorrow. He or she may request imaging to make sure that there is no further damage to the bones of the wrist.

Rheumatoid arthritis

Rheumatoid arthritis is a chronic inflammatory disorder that affects the lining of the joints, causing them to become thickened and painful. It can also affect other parts of the body such as the heart, lungs, eyes, and circulatory system.

Rheumatoid arthritis is an autoimmune disease, which means the body's immune system turns against itself for unknown reasons.

Most at risk are women from ages 30-60. Other risk factors are family history, smoking, and obesity.

Early symptom include warm, swollen, stiff, painful joints, especially the fingers and toes; fatigue; and fever. Usually, the same joints on both sides of the body are affected.

If untreated, irreversible joint damage and deformity can occur, with other complications. Early diagnosis can allow preventive treatment to begin as soon as possible.

Diagnosis is made through physical examination; blood tests; and x-ray, CT scan, or MRI.

There is no cure for rheumatoid arthritis, but the disease can be managed to improve quality of life. Treatment includes nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs; steroids; anti-rheumatic drugs; physical therapy; and sometimes surgery to repair the joints.

Repetitive strain injury of the upper arm

Repetitive strain injury of the upper arm is caused by consistent repetitive use.

You do not need treatment, just rest from your overuse. Wearing a brace and physical therapy might be helpful.

Rarity: Uncommon

Top Symptoms: upper arm pain from overuse, upper arm weakness, upper arm numbness

Symptoms that always occur with repetitive strain injury of the upper arm: upper arm pain from overuse

Symptoms that never occur with repetitive strain injury of the upper arm: upper arm injury, severe upper arm pain

Urgency: Self-treatment

Psoriatic arthritis

Psoriatic arthritis is a complication of psoriasis, which causes the skin to become thickened, red, and scaly. Arthritis may appear before or after the psoriasis appears.

Both conditions are autoimmune diseases, where the body attacks itself, and are thought to be caused by genetic and environmental factors.

Most susceptible are people from 30 to 50 years of age with a family history of the disease and who already have psoriasis.

Symptoms include the joints on one or both sides of the body becoming painful, swollen, and hot; swelling and deformity of the fingers and toes; pitted, flaking fingernails; foot pain in the heels and soles; and joint pain in the low back pain.

It is important to seek treatment, as psoriatic arthritis can permanently damage the joints, eyes, and heart.

Diagnosis is made through physical examination, x-rays, and MRI. Blood tests and joint fluid tests can confirm psoriatic arthritis.

Treatment includes over-the-counter, nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs; anti-rheumatic medication; immunosuppressants; and steroid injections for the joints. Surgery to replace damaged joints may also be tried.

Polymyalgia rheumatica

Polymyalgia rheumatica (PMR) is a chronic condition that involves inflammation, aching pain, and morning stiffness. It affects muscles close to the middle of the body, including the shoulders, hips, and back. Its cause is not known, but it is more common in people over 50 years old.

You should consider visiting a healthcare provider within the next day to discuss your symptoms. PMR can be evaluated with a review of your symptoms and medical history. Your provider may also perform a blood test. Once diagnosed, it can be treated with prescription steroid medication, which can improve symptoms within one week.

De quervain's tenosynovitis

De Quervain's tenosynovitis is a painful condition affecting the tendons on the thumb side of the wrist. If you have de Quervain's tenosynovitis, you will feel pain upon turning your wrist, grasping anything, or making a fist.

You should visit your primary care physician to confirm the diagnosis and discuss treatment options. You can also reduce pain and swelling with over-the-counter pain relievers, such as ibuprofen (Advil, Motrin), naproxen (Aleve).

Rarity: Uncommon

Top Symptoms: hand numbness, thumb pain, hand weakness, weakness in one hand, numbness in one hand

Symptoms that always occur with de quervain's tenosynovitis:thumb pain

Urgency: Primary care doctor

Contusion of the wrist

A bruise is the damage of the blood vessels that return blood to the heart (the capillaries and veins), which causes pooling of the blood. This explains the blue/purple color of most bruises. Bruises of the wrist are common, often due to minor injuries.

You can treat this at home with R.I.C.E - rest (exercise as tolerated), ice (10-20 minutes at a time), compression (this is optional, with bandage or tape), and elevation.

Rarity: Rare

Top Symptoms: wrist injury, pain in one wrist, wrist pain from an injury, swelling of one wrist, wrist bruise

Symptoms that always occur with contusion of the wrist: wrist injury

Urgency: Self-treatment

Buckle fracture of distal radius

A buckle fracture of the wrist, also known as a torus fracture, is a condition that are most common in children aged 5-10 years due to the elasticity of their bones. This fracture occurs when force is applied to the radius (one of the two bones of the forearm), causing the bone to split along the growth plate.

You should visit your primary care physician within the next 24 hours. The treatment for this kind of fracture is immobilization in a cast.

Rarity: Common

Top Symptoms: constant forearm pain, forearm pain from an injury, pain in one forearm, swollen forearm, wrist injury

Symptoms that always occur with buckle fracture of distal radius:forearm pain from an injury, constant forearm pain

Urgency: Primary care doctor

Swollen wrist quiz

Take a quiz to find out what's causing your swollen wrist.

Take swollen wrist quiz

Swollen wrist treatments and relief

At-home treatments and prevention

If your wrist swelling symptoms are the result of mal-positioning, try these self-care tips and suggestions for relief.

  • Practice ergonomics: If you spend much of your day typing at a keyboard or doing activities that put pressure on the wrist, make time for regular breaks. Keep your wrists in a relaxed, neutral position when you type and consider using foam supports and keyboards that decrease wrist tension.
  • Use protective gear during sports activities: Using wrist guards during activities such as snowboarding, rollerblading, gymnastics, and tennis can help prevent injury.
  • Hazard-proof the home: Make changes in your home that can help prevent falls. Replace slippery rugs and mats, install handrails in the bathroom or shower, and illuminate spaces to prevent accidental trips in the dark.
  • Apply ice then heat: Putting ice on your wrist will help reduce swelling and any pain. Limit application of ice or heat to 20 minutes at a time. You can do this every couple of hours for relief.

When to see a doctor

See your doctor promptly if your swelling symptoms suggest a serious wrist injury. These symptoms include bruising, shooting pain, numbness and/or tingling. Depending on your diagnosis, your doctor may suggest the following.

  • Physical therapy or rehabilitation: Your doctor may prescribe stretching exercises or a physical therapy/rehabilitation program to help you restore range of motion, strength, and stability to your wrist.
  • Casts or splints: If you have a broken bone, you may need a cast or splint to help hold the fractured pieces together during the healing process. Even if your wrist injury is due to a sprain, you may need to wear a sprint to protect the parts of the wrist as they heal.
  • Non-inflammatory medications: Your doctor may prescribe this type of medication to combat arthritic processes that are causing swelling.
  • Anticonvulsants (anti-seizure medication): Do not be alarmed, your wrist swelling is most likely not the result of seizures. Some anticonvulsant medications are also used to combat nerve pain that can lead to swelling, such as gabapentin (Neurontin), or carbamazepine (Tegretol).

When it is an emergency

Seek immediate care if:

  • The swelling or pain becomes severe
  • You believe have suffered a serious wrist injury: Such as from a car accident or fall
  • You show signs of infection: Such as fever, feelings of nausea, or you vomit
  • You lose feeling in your hand or arm for a prolonged period

Questions your doctor may ask about swollen wrist

  • Is your swollen area warm and red?
  • Did you just suffer from a high impact injury (e.g., a fall, collision, accident or sports trauma)?
  • Any fever today or during the last week?
  • How would you explain the cause of your wrist pain?

Self-diagnose with our free Buoy Assistant if you answer yes on any of these questions.

Share your story
Dr. Rothschild has been a faculty member at Brigham and Women’s Hospital where he is an Associate Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School. He currently practices as a hospitalist at Newton Wellesley Hospital. In 1978, Dr. Rothschild received his MD at the Medical College of Wisconsin and trained in internal medicine followed by a fellowship in critical care medicine. He also received an MP...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

8 people found this helpful
Tooltip Icon.

References

  1. Broken wrist (wrist fracture). UW Medicine. UW Medicine Link
  2. Vorvick LJ. Wrist pain. U.S. National Library of Medicine: MedlinePlus. Updated December 6, 2018. MedlinePlus Link
  3. Diagnosing wrist & hand repetitive use injuries. NYU Langone Health. NYU Langone Health Link
  4. Arthritis of the Wrist. American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons: OrthoInfo. Reviewed April 2016. OrthoInfo Link
  5. Meena S, Gupta A. Dorsal wrist ganglion: Current review of literature. J Clin Orthop Trauma. 2014;5(2):59-64. NCBI Link