Skip to main content
Read about

Engourdissement des testicules

·
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated June 17, 2022

Quiz sur l'engourdissement des testicules

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de votre engourdissement.

L’engourdissement des testicules peut être alarmant car il est très probablement causé par un nerf comprimé ou endommagé. Une irritation du nerf de l’aine et un problème du nerf de la cuisse peuvent provoquer des picotements dans le scrotum. Une hernie discale dans le bas du dos peut également provoquer des picotements dans les testicules et dans la région pubienne. Lisez maintenant pour plus d’informations sur les causes et les options de traitement.

5 most common cause(s)

Encéphalomyélite disséminée
Illustration of a doctor beside a bedridden patient.
Disque bombé
Illustration of various health care options.
Problème du nerf de la cuisse (Meralgia Paresthetica)
Illustration of various health care options.
Groin nerve irritation
Illustration of a person thinking with cross bandaids.
Multiple sclerosis (MS)

Quiz sur l'engourdissement des testicules

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de votre engourdissement.

Répondez au quiz sur l'engourdissement des testicules

3 causes d'engourdissement des testicules

Cette liste ne constitue pas un avis médical et peut ne pas représenter avec précision ce que vous avez.

Problème nerveux de la cuisse (méralgie paresthésique)

Méralgie paresthésique est une maladie nerveuse qui provoque un engourdissement, des picotements ou une douleur sur une zone de la peau située sur la partie supérieure externe de la cuisse. Ceci est dû à la compression d'un nerf appelé nerf cutané latéral de la cuisse lorsqu'il passe sous un ligament fibreux résistant appelé ligament inguinal.

Vous devriez consulter votre médecin traitant pour confirmer le diagnostic et discuter des options de traitement. Généralement, cette affection est traitée par du repos, de la physiothérapie, des analgésiques et parfois des injections de corticostéroïdes.

Rareté: Rare

Principaux symptômes : douleur à l'extérieur de la hanche, douleur dans une cuisse, engourdissement de la cuisse, picotements dans le haut de la jambe, engourdissement de la hanche

Symptômes qui n'apparaissent jamais en cas de problème du nerf de la cuisse (méralgie paresthésique) : nouveau mal de tête, hanche enflée, hanches enflées, gonflement d'une hanche, gonflement d'une jambe, faiblesse des deux jambes, faiblesse d'une jambe

Urgence: Médecin de soins primaires

Sclérose en plaques (SEP)

La sclérose en plaques, ou SEP, est une maladie du système nerveux central. Le système immunitaire du corps attaque les fibres nerveuses et leur enveloppe de myéline. Cela provoque des cicatrices irréversibles appelées « sclérose », qui interfèrent avec la transmission des signaux entre le cerveau et le corps.

La cause est inconnue. Cela peut être lié à une prédisposition génétique. La maladie apparaît généralement entre 20 et 50 ans et est beaucoup plus fréquente chez les femmes que chez les hommes. D'autres facteurs de risque comprennent les antécédents familiaux ; les infections virales telles qu'Epstein-Barr ; avoir d'autres maladies auto-immunes; et fumer.

Les symptômes comprennent un engourdissement ou une faiblesse des bras, des jambes ou du corps ; perte partielle ou totale de la vision d'un ou des deux yeux ; sensation de picotement ou de choc, surtout dans le cou ; tremblement; et perte de coordination.

Le diagnostic repose sur les antécédents du patient, un examen neurologique, des analyses de sang, une IRM et parfois une ponction lombaire.

Il n’existe aucun remède contre la SEP, mais le traitement aux corticostéroïdes et aux échanges plasmatiques (plasmaphérèse) peut ralentir l’évolution de la maladie et gérer les symptômes pour une meilleure qualité de vie.

Hernie discale (glissement) dans le bas du dos

UNhernie discale, rupture ou « glissade » signifie qu’un disque vertébral – l’un des coussinets de tissu mou situés entre chacun des os vertébraux – s’est déformé. Son matériau de rembourrage a été poussé contre, et éventuellement à travers, l'anneau de tissu fibreux qui le contient normalement. Cela provoque des douleurs, des engourdissements et une faiblesse dans les jambes.

Le processus de vieillissement normal fait perdre de l'humidité aux disques et les rend plus fins, ce qui les rend plus vulnérables au « glissement ».

Les hommes âgés de 30 à 50 ans sont les plus susceptibles. Le tabagisme, l’obésité, le manque d’exercice et le fait de soulever des objets incorrects sont également des facteurs de risque.

Les symptômes comprennent des douleurs, une faiblesse, des engourdissements et des picotements dans le dos, les jambes et les pieds.

Le diagnostic repose sur les antécédents du patient, l'examen neurologique et l'IRM.

Le traitement commence par du repos, des anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens, de la physiothérapie et parfois des injections péridurales de stéroïdes dans le dos pour soulager la douleur et l'inflammation.

Une intervention chirurgicale visant à retirer la partie herniée du disque – la partie qui a été déplacée – peut également être utile.

Rareté: Commun

Principaux symptômes : douleur dans le bas du dos, douleur modérée dans le dos, douleur dans le dos qui descend dans la jambe, douleur dans le dos qui s'aggrave en position assise, faiblesse des jambes

Urgence: Médecin de soins primaires

Irritation du nerf de l'aine

Plusieurs nerfs irriguent l'aine, l'intérieur de la cuisse et la région génitale. Le piégeage ou l'irritation de l'un de ces nerfs peut entraîner une douleur ou un engourdissement dans cette zone. Ceci est souvent causé par une intervention chirurgicale dans cette zone, mais peut également se produire sans cause spécifique.

Vous devriez discuter de vos symptômes avec votre médecin traitant. Parfois, une référence à un spécialiste est nécessaire. Le traitement comprend souvent une injection d’anesthésique local.

Rareté: Rare

Principaux symptômes : engourdissement de la cuisse, engourdissement de l'aine, engourdissement des testicules, douleur aiguë au testicule ou au scrotum, douleur aiguë à l'aine

Urgence: Médecin de soins primaires

Encéphalomyélite aiguë disséminée

Encéphalomyélite aiguë disséminée est une inflammation du système nerveux, généralement due au système immunitaire de votre corps, qui peut détruire la couche protectrice des plus gros nerfs du système nerveux, provoquant des changements neurologiques.

Tout changement neurologique doit immédiatement envoyer quelqu'un à l'hôpital, où l'imagerie du cerveau révélera des dommages à vos nerfs et éliminera d'autres causes possibles. Le traitement implique des antiviraux ou des antibiotiques en cas d'infection possible, mais à l'inverse, des médicaments immunosuppresseurs seront instaurés si c'est réellement votre propre système immunitaire qui fait les dégâts.

Statistiques du vérificateur de symptômes d'engourdissement des testicules

Les personnes qui ont ressenti un engourdissement des testicules ont également ressenti :

  • 18%Engourdissement du pénis
  • 7%Douleur dans un testicule
  • 6%Douleur testiculaire

Les personnes ayant ressenti un engourdissement des testicules étaient le plus souvent associées à :

  • 33%Irritation du nerf de l'aine
  • 33%Problème du nerf de la cuisse (Meralgia Paresthetica)
  • 33%Hernie discale (glissée) dans le bas du dos

Les personnes qui ont ressenti un engourdissement des testicules présentaient des symptômes persistants pour :

  • 42%Moins d'une journée
  • 22%Moins d'une semaine
  • 20%Plus d'un mois

Source : Résultats agrégés et anonymisés deAssistant bouée.

Share your story
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.

Was this article helpful?

1 person found this helpful
Tooltip Icon.
Read this next
Slide 1 of 2

Skip to main contentSkip to accessibility services
Read about

Testicle Numbness

Table of Contents
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated June 17, 2022

Testicle numbness quiz

Take a quiz to find out what's causing your numbness.

Testicle numbness can be alarming since it is most likely caused by a compressed or damage nerve. Groin nerve irritation and a thigh nerve issue can cause tingling in the scrotum. A herniated disk in the lower back can also can also cause tingling testicles and pubic area. Read now for more information on causes and treatment options.

5 most common causes

Disseminated Encephalomyelitis
Illustration of a doctor beside a bedridden patient.
Bulging disc
Illustration of various health care options.
Thigh Nerve Issue (Meralgia Paresthetica)
Illustration of a person thinking with cross bandaids.
Groin nerve irritation
Illustration of a health care worker swabbing an individual.
Multiple sclerosis (MS)

3 causes of testicle numbness

This list does not constitute medical advice and may not accurately represent what you have.

Thigh nerve issue (meralgia paresthetica)

Meralgia paresthetica is a nerve condition that causes an area of skin over the upper outer thigh to feel numb, tingly, or painful. This is caused by compression of a nerve known as the lateral cutaneous nerve of the thigh as it passes underneath a tough fibrous ligament known as the inguinal ligament.

You should visit your primary care physician to confirm the diagnosis and discuss treatment options. Generally, this condition is treated with rest, physical therapy, pain medication, and occasionally corticosteroid injections.

Rarity: Rare

Top Symptoms: pain in the outside of the hip, pain in one thigh, thigh numbness, tingling upper leg, hip numbness

Symptoms that never occur with thigh nerve issue (meralgia paresthetica): new headache, swollen hip, swollen hips, swelling of one hip, leg swelling, weakness of both legs, leg weakness

Urgency: Primary care doctor

Multiple sclerosis (MS)

Multiple sclerosis, or MS, is a disease of the central nervous system. The body's immune system attacks nerve fibers and their myelin covering. This causes irreversible scarring called "sclerosis," which interferes with the transmission of signals between the brain and the body.

The cause is unknown. It may be connected to a genetic predisposition. The disease usually appears between ages 20 to 50 and is far more common in women than in men. Other risk factors include family history; viral infections such as Epstein-Barr; having other autoimmune diseases; and smoking.

Symptoms include numbness or weakness in arms, legs, or body; partial or total loss of vision in one or both eyes; tingling or shock-like sensation, especially in the neck; tremor; and loss of coordination.

Diagnosis is made through patient history, neurological examination, blood tests, MRI, and sometimes a spinal tap.

There is no cure for MS, but treatment with corticosteroids and plasma exchange (plasmapheresis) can slow the course of the disease and manage symptoms for better quality of life.

Herniated (slipped) disk in the lower back

A herniated, ruptured, or "slipped" disc means that a vertebral disc – one of the soft pads of tissue that sit between each of the vertebral bones – has becomes squeezed out of shape. Its cushioning material has been forced against, and possibly through, the ring of fibrous tissue that normally contains it. This causes pain, numbness, and weakness in the legs.

The normal aging process causes the discs lose moisture and become thinner, making them more vulnerable to "slipping."

Most susceptible are men from ages 30 to 50. Smoking, obesity, lack of exercise, and improper lifting are also risk factors.

Symptoms include pain, weakness, numbness, and tingling in the back, leg, and foot.

Diagnosis is made through patient history, neurological examination, and MRI scan.

Treatment begins with rest, nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs, physical therapy, and sometimes epidural steroid injections into the back to ease pain and inflammation.

Surgery to remove the herniated part of the disc – the part that was squeezed out of place – can also be helpful.

Rarity: Common

Top Symptoms: lower back pain, moderate back pain, back pain that shoots down the leg, back pain that gets worse when sitting, leg weakness

Urgency: Primary care doctor

Groin nerve irritation

There are several nerves supplying the groin, inner thigh and genital region. Entrapment or irritation of one of these nerves can result in pain or numbness in this area. This is often caused by surgery in this area but can happen without a specific cause as well.

You should discuss your symptoms with your primary care physician. Sometimes a referral to a specialist is needed. Treatment often includes an injection with a local anesthetic.

Rarity: Rare

Top Symptoms: thigh numbness, groin numbness, testicle numbness, sharp testicle or scrotum pain, sharp groin pain

Urgency: Primary care doctor

Acute disseminated encephalomyelitis

Acute disseminated encephalomyelitis is an inflammation of the nervous system, typically due to your body's own immune system, can strip the protective layering of the nervous system's biggest nerves, causing neurologic changes.

Any neurologic changes should immediately send someone to the hospital, where imaging the brain will reveal damage to your nerves and rule out other possible causes. Treatment involves anti-virals or antibiotics in case of a possible infection, but oppositely, immune-suppressive drugs would be started if it really is your own immune system doing the damage.

Testicle numbness symptom checker statistics

People who have experienced testicle numbness have also experienced:

  • 18% Penis Numbness
  • 7% Pain In One Testicle
  • 6% Testicle Pain

People who have experienced testicle numbness were most often matched with:

  • 33% Groin Nerve Irritation
  • 33% Thigh Nerve Issue (Meralgia Paresthetica)
  • 33% Herniated (Slipped) Disk In The Lower Back

People who have experienced testicle numbness had symptoms persist for:

  • 42% Less than a day
  • 22% Less than a week
  • 20% Over a month

Source: Aggregated and anonymized results from Buoy Assistant.

Hear what 2 others are saying
Just a little concerned but I feel fine…Posted June 24, 2021 by M.
I’ve started to feel kind of random numbness around my nuts :( It happened a while ago like around a few months and it just feels weird… it kind of happened when I’m laying around and maybe in a weird position, but it’s just like the feeling of your foot falling asleep but without the tingling as far as I can tell. I’m 16 and I do normal teenager activities if you know what I mean, but I don’t think that’s the cause. I’m not very fat, but it could be that I might be putting too much weight on them by laying around. It doesn’t happen when I sleep, but just randomly, even if I’m standing upright or lying down. It’s not frequent but just thought I’d share cuz what the heck. Anyways, I feel fine. I can still perform for lack of a better term and I’ve been walking a lot recently (around 3 miles a day) so maybe that might be the cause… Anyways I’ll just try to eat better and maybe not lay around too much. I hope it’s not because I have a health problem. I have a normal amount of fat for someone my age. I don’t know my muscle to fat percentage, but I’m not obese or anything, but it could be that I need to lose some fat.
Sensitive sack/tightnessPosted December 7, 2020 by K.
I got epididymitis from straining my groin while lifting I guess. That’s what the doctor says. I do work in construction and lift heavy almost every other day. Got tested for STDS and bacterial infection multiple times and came back negative—just to get that out of the way. Weeks later epididymitis is gone after antibiotics. Seems like everything is going good and on the right track. But now it seems like my ballsack is "sensitive." When I’m at home, after relaxing for a bit, my sack is where it’s "normal" to me, hanging down, a bit sorry for being so descriptive. But when I’m at work or working out or generally just moving and doing active things, my sack is tight. Testicles don’t bother me, but it’s like my sack is sensitive and looks a little irritated. When I touch it sometimes to check on it, it feels like I'm gently poking it with pins is the best way I can describe it.

Was this article helpful?

20 people found this helpful
Tooltip Icon.
Read this next
Slide 1 of 2