Skip to main content
Read about

Engourdissement des orteils

·
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated June 17, 2022

Quiz sur l'engourdissement des orteils

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de votre engourdissement.

La plupart des gens ont ressenti un engourdissement des mains ou des bras suite à des événements quotidiens, comme dormir sur le bras ou maintenir une certaine position trop longtemps. Mais qu’en est-il de l’engourdissement des orteils ? Les orteils engourdis ne sont pas aussi courants et peuvent être inquiétants. Les causes incluent les maladies circulatoires, systémiques, environnementales et inflammatoires, il est donc important de contacter votre médecin. Lisez ci-dessous pour en savoir plus sur les causes de l’engourdissement des orteils, les traitements possibles et bien plus encore.

Quiz sur l'engourdissement des orteils

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de votre engourdissement.

Répondez à un quiz sur l'engourdissement des orteils

Engourdissements et picotements dans les orteils expliqués

La perte de sensation dans une partie du corps est souvent appelée engourdissement. De nombreuses personnes ont ressenti cette sensation en s'endormant trop longtemps sur un bras tordu ou en tapant trop longtemps sur un clavier. Cependant, les symptômes d’engourdissement des orteils ne sont pas aussi fréquents et peuvent être inquiétants. Par ailleurs, leengourdissement des orteilspeut être associé à d’autres symptômes qui peuvent sembler étranges.

Symptômes courants accompagnant l’engourdissement des orteils

Si vous ressentez un engourdissement des orteils, il est probable que vous ressentirez également :

  • Brûler oupicotement
  • Sensation de fourmillements et d'aiguilles
  • Manque de coordination ou chute
  • Froideurou sensibilité au toucher
  • Faible pouls dans les jambes ou les pieds
  • Plaies aux orteils et aux pieds qui mettent du temps à guérir

Ces symptômes d'engourdissement des orteils sont souvent temporaires, mais contrairement à la possibilité de trouver un soulagement rapide pour des symptômes tels queengourdissement des mains, l'engourdissement des orteils peut être plus difficile à résoudre. Par conséquent, il est important de faire un suivi auprès de votre médecin et d’obtenir les soins appropriés dès que vous remarquez des symptômes d’engourdissement des orteils.

Qu’est-ce qui cause l’engourdissement des orteils ?

L'engourdissement des orteils est le résultat d'une blessure, d'une compression ou d'une irritation d'un nerf ou d'une branche d'un des nerfs de votre pied et parfois jusqu'à la jambe. Le pied est composé de nombreux nerfs et petits vaisseaux sanguins qui commencent plus haut dans la jambe et se ramifient dans diverses directions pour donner du sang et des sensations dans tout le pied. Pour cette raison, les causes entraînant un engourdissement des orteils sont variées, mais peuvent être divisées dans les catégories suivantes.

Causes circulatoires

Les conditions qui provoquent un rétrécissement des vaisseaux sanguins peuvent réduire le flux sanguin vers les membres et entraîner une perte de sensation. Les orteils sont particulièrement sensibles car ils sont les plus éloignés des gros vaisseaux et peuvent perdre la circulation en premier. Le rétrécissement des vaisseaux sanguins est le plus souvent provoqué par une accumulation de plaque dans les vaisseaux. Ce processus est connu sous le nomathérosclérose et est la principale cause de maladies cardiaques et d’accidents vasculaires cérébraux.

Maladie systémique

Les causes liées à une maladie systémique peuvent être les suivantes.

  • Métabolique: Un dysfonctionnement des processus que votre corps utilise au quotidien, par exemple le diabète, peut également affecter à la fois le fonctionnement de vos nerfs et le diamètre de vos vaisseaux sanguins. Cela provoque un engourdissement des parties périphériques du corps, en particulier des orteils et des mains (cette condition est connue sous le nom deneuropathie périphérique).
  • Héréditaire: Certaines maladies héréditaires rares telles queMaladie de Charcot-Marie-Tooth peut affecter plusieurs nerfs du corps et entraîner un engourdissement dans plusieurs parties du corps.

Causes environnementales

Les causes environnementales des douleurs aux orteils peuvent être liées aux habitudes de vie ou à certaines expositions.

  • Toxines : Les toxines qui causent des lésions nerveuses comprennent des métaux lourds comme le plomb et des substances comme l'alcool. Une exposition excessive à l’un ou l’autre peut provoquer des lésions nerveuses entraînant un engourdissement.
  • Déséquilibre vitaminique : Certaines vitamines sont essentielles au bon fonctionnement nerveux, comme les vitamines E et B12. Au fil du temps, des carences en ces vitamines peuvent entraîner des lésions nerveuses et des blessures. À l’inverse, une exposition excessive à la vitamine B6 peut provoquer un engourdissement oupicotement dans l'orteil; cependant, cela nécessiterait probablement un montant important sur une période prolongée.
  • Traumatisme: Toute situation dans laquelle le pied ou la jambe est écrasé ou endommagé entraînera un engourdissement des orteils et des douleurs nerveuses. Cependant, le traumatisme ne doit pas toujours être grave. Des circonstances aussi simples que des chaussures trop serrées peuvent également provoquer un traumatisme compressif des nerfs des pieds et des orteils.

Causes inflammatoires

Les causes inflammatoires de la douleur aux orteils peuvent être liées aux éléments suivants.

  • Auto-immune : De nombreuses maladies inflammatoires qui entraînent une attaque du corps contre lui-même peuvent également affecter les nerfs et provoquer des blessures entraînant un engourdissement. Des conditions telles quesclérose en plaques etlupus sont des exemples de telles maladies auto-immunes.
  • Infections : Les infections bactériennes telles que la maladie de Lyme et de multiples infections virales telles que le zona peuvent provoquer une inflammation et des lésions nerveuses entraînant des symptômes d'engourdissement des orteils.

9 conditions possibles d'engourdissement des orteils

La liste ci-dessous montre les résultats de l'utilisation de notre quiz par les utilisateurs de Buoy qui ont ressenti un engourdissement des orteils. Cette liste ne constitue pas un avis médical et peut ne pas représenter avec précision ce que vous avez.

Syndrome du tunnel tarsien

Le tunnel tarsien est un espace étroit situé à l’intérieur de la cheville, à côté des os de la cheville.Syndrome du tunnel tarsien est une compression, ou une compression, sur un nerf important appelé nerf tibial postérieur. Cette compression produit des symptômes n’importe où le long du trajet du nerf allant de l’intérieur de la cheville au pied.

Vous devriez consulter votre médecin traitant qui coordonnera vos soins avec un spécialiste des muscles et des os (chirurgien orthopédiste). Le syndrome du tunnel tarsien est traité avec des analgésiques, des injections de corticostéroïdes, des étirements, du glaçage, de la physiothérapie ainsi que des orthèses spéciales pour chaussures.

Sciatique

La sciatique est un terme général décrivant toute douleur lancinante à la jambe qui commence au niveau de la colonne vertébrale et se propage vers l'extérieur de la jambe. On l'appelle également nerf pincé, radiculopathie lombaire, névralgie sciatique, névrite sciatique ou neuropathie sciatique.

La cause de loin la plus courante est une hernie discale ou une « glissade » dans la colonne vertébrale inférieure. Cela signifie qu’une partie du matériau de rembourrage à l’intérieur du disque a été poussée vers l’extérieur et appuie sur une racine nerveuse. Les spasmes du muscle piriforme autour du nerf sciatique, ainsi que le rétrécissement du canal rachidien appelé sténose rachidienne, peuvent également provoquersciatique.

Les symptômes comprennent des douleurs lancinantes dans la jambe qui commencent soudainement ou se développent progressivement. Il peut y avoir une faiblesse, un engourdissement et une sensation de picotements. Dans les cas graves, il peut y avoir des difficultés à bouger le pied ou à plier le genou.

Le diagnostic repose sur les antécédents du patient, l'examen physique et de simples tests de levée des jambes.

Le traitement implique une thérapie physique, des anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens et des relaxants musculaires. Dans certains cas, des injections de corticostéroïdes dans la colonne vertébrale et une intervention chirurgicale peuvent être tentées. Les massages et l'acupuncture sont également parfois utiles.

Un pied creux

Un pied creux est une voûte plantaire haute qui ne s’aplatit pas sous l’effet du poids. Ce type de pied peut provoquer des douleurs.

Vous devriez consulter votre médecin traitant si vous ressentez beaucoup de douleurs aux pieds. Le traitement chirurgical n’est utilisé qu’en cas de douleur intense.

Névrome de Morton

Névrome de Morton, également appelé sous son ancien nom névrome de Morton, est un épaississement du tissu fibreux de la plante du pied. Ce tissu encapsule le nerf menant aux troisième et quatrième orteils.

Il ne s’agit pas réellement d’une tumeur du nerf, comme son nom l’indique. L'épaississement est causé par des années de traumatisme, d'irritation et/ou de compression des pieds. Les chaussures à talons hauts, surtout si elles sont étroites ou serrées, sont une cause fréquente. Cette maladie est le plus souvent observée chez les femmes de plus de 45 ans.

Les symptômes comprennent une douleur brûlante dans la plante du pied, en particulier lors de la marche ou de la course. La maladie ne guérit pas d’elle-même et peut entraîner des douleurs chroniques aux pieds.

Le diagnostic repose sur un examen physique du pied avec de simples exercices d'amplitude de mouvement et parfois une radiographie.

Le traitement comprend le passage à des chaussures mieux ajustées qui ne compriment pas le nerf ; utiliser des orthèses dans les chaussures pour soulager davantage le nerf ; et dans certains cas, l'utilisation d'injections de corticostéroïdes.

Rareté: Rare

Principaux symptômes : engourdissement du pied, douleur dans la plante du pied, douleur au toucher du pied, douleur dans les deux pieds, blessure au pied

Urgence: Auto-traitement

Faiblesse du bas de la jambe

Toute faiblesse des jambes est le signe d’une atteinte nerveuse, ce qui est très inquiétant et nécessite d’aller immédiatement consulter un médecin !

Rareté: Rare

Principaux symptômes : faiblesse du bas de la jambe, faiblesse du pied, faiblesse du bras, perte de vision, douleur pelvienne sévère

Urgence: Salle d'urgence de l'hôpital

Faible niveau de calcium

L'hypocalcémie est une condition dans laquelle il n'y a pas assez de calcium dans le sang. Le calcium est un minéral contenu dans le sang et aide le cœur et les autres muscles à fonctionner correctement. Il est également nécessaire au maintien de dents et d’os sains. De faibles niveaux de calcium peuvent rendre les os cassants et plus facilement fracturés. Les problèmes de parathyroïde et la carence en vitamine D sont des causes courantes de cette maladie.

Vous devriez envisager de consulter un professionnel de la santé pour discuter de vos symptômes. Les faibles niveaux de calcium peuvent être évalués par un examen de vos symptômes et un test sanguin. Une fois diagnostiqué, le traitement dépend de la cause de votrefaible niveau de calciums.

Rareté: Rare

Principaux symptômes : fatigue, essoufflement, irritabilité, engourdissement général, picotements dans les pieds

Urgence: Médecin de soins primaires

Faiblesse du pied

Toute faiblesse du pied est le signe d’une atteinte nerveuse, ce qui est très inquiétant et nécessite d’aller immédiatement consulter un médecin !

Rareté: Rare

Principaux symptômes : faiblesse des pieds, faiblesse du bas de la jambe, douleur intense au bassin, entendre des voix ou voir des choses qui n'existent pas, faiblesse des bras

Urgence: Salle d'urgence de l'hôpital

Carence en folate (vitamine)

L'acide folique (folate) est une vitamine nécessaire à la fabrication de nouvelles cellules dans le corps, notamment les globules rouges qui transportent l'oxygène dans le sang et dans divers tissus du corps.Carence en folates fait référence à une condition dans laquelle il n’y a pas assez d’acide folique dans le corps et peut entraîner des symptômes tels que fatigue, manque d’énergie, malaise et difficultés respiratoires.

Vous pouvez traiter vous-même cette maladie en toute sécurité en prenant un comprimé d’acide folique (folate) chaque jour. L'acide folique est également présent naturellement dans des aliments tels que les épinards, les germes, le brocoli, les haricots verts, les pois, les pois chiches, le riz brun, les rognons, le foie et les pommes de terre. Manger davantage de ces aliments peut également atténuer les symptômes.

Rareté: Rare

Principaux symptômes : fatigue, humeur dépressive, irritabilité, nausées ou vomissements, diarrhée

Symptômes qui n’apparaissent jamais en cas de carence en folate (vitamine) : gonflement abdominal

Urgence: Appel téléphonique ou visite en personne

Neuropathie périphérique idiopathique chronique

Neuropathie périphérique fait référence à la sensation d’engourdissement, de picotement et de fourmillements dans les pieds. Idiopathique signifie que la cause n’est pas connue et chronique signifie que la maladie persiste sans s’améliorer ni s’aggraver.

Cette maladie touche le plus souvent les personnes de plus de 60 ans. La neuropathie idiopathique n’a aucune cause connue.

Les symptômes comprennent un engourdissement inconfortable et des picotements dans les pieds ; difficulté à se tenir debout ou à marcher en raison de la douleur et du manque de sensibilité normale ; et faiblesse et crampes dans les muscles des pieds et des chevilles.

La neuropathie périphérique peut grandement interférer avec la qualité de vie, c'est pourquoi un médecin doit être consulté afin de traiter les symptômes et de réduire l'inconfort.

Le diagnostic est posé par un examen physique ; des tests sanguins pour exclure d’autres conditions ; et des études neurologiques et musculaires telles que l'électromyographie.

Le traitement implique des analgésiques en vente libre ; des analgésiques sur ordonnance pour gérer les douleurs plus intenses ; physiothérapie et mesures de sécurité pour compenser la perte de sensation dans les pieds ; et des chaussures thérapeutiques pour aider à l’équilibre et à la marche.

Rareté: Rare

Principaux symptômes : engourdissement distal, douleurs musculaires, raideur articulaire, engourdissement des deux côtés du corps, perte de masse musculaire

Urgence: Médecin de soins primaires

Traitement et soulagement des orteils engourdis

Quand consulter un médecin

Si vous ressentez des épisodes fréquents et persistants d'engourdissement des orteils, consultez votre médecin pour trouver la cause exacte de votre état afin d'obtenir un traitement approprié.

Traitement à domicile

En fonction de la cause, votre médecin peut d’abord suggérer d’autres modifications du mode de vie telles que :

  • Alimentation équilibrée et riche en vitamines essentielles pour garder les nerfs en bonne santé : Les fruits et légumes, les grains entiers, les protéines maigres et les graisses saines peuvent fournir à votre corps la nutrition nécessaire au maintien de vos nerfs.
  • Exercice régulier: Maintenir un poids optimal grâce à l’exercice et à une alimentation équilibrée peut non seulement prévenir, mais également contrôler les maladies métaboliques telles que l’obésité et le diabète.
  • Médicaments pour détendre les vaisseaux sanguins : Il existe de nombreux types de médicaments qui peuvent lutter contre la constriction de vos vaisseaux sanguins en les dilatant (en les relaxant) et en favorisant la circulation.
  • Anticonvulsivants : Certains médicaments anticonvulsivants peuvent également être utilisés pour lutter contre les douleurs nerveuses telles quegabapentine (Neurontine).
  • Thérapie physique: Si l'engourdissement de vos orteils est dû à un traumatisme provoquant une compression des nerfs et des vaisseaux sanguins menant à vos orteils, votre médecin peut vous suggérer un traitement pour aider à soulager la pression de ces parties du corps, ce qui peut également améliorer votre amplitude de mouvement et votre posture.
  • Chirurgie: Si les autres traitements sont inefficaces et que vos symptômes d'engourdissement des orteils continuent de progresser ou de s'aggraver, votre médecin peut vous recommander d'envisager des options chirurgicales pour combattre vos symptômes.

Quand c'est une urgence

Si vous ressentez des symptômes de difficultés d’élocution, d’affaissement du visage ou de faiblesse au point que vous ne pouvez pas lever le pied ou la jambe, appelez immédiatement le 911. Cela pourrait être le signe d’un accident vasculaire cérébral.

Questions que votre médecin peut poser sur l'engourdissement des orteils

  • Avez-vous déjà reçu un diagnostic de problème psychiatrique, tel que la dépression, la bipolaire, la schizophrénie ou un trouble anxieux ?
  • En position allongée sur une surface ferme, gardez les deux jambes tendues. Demandez à un ami de lever lentement une jambe à la fois en soulevant votre cheville en l'air. Avez-vous mal à cette jambe avant de la relever complètement en position perpendiculaire ? (C'est ce qu'on appelle le test de la jambe droite.)
  • Quelle est votre masse corporelle ?
  • L’engourdissement du pied affecte un pied ou les deux pieds ?

Auto-diagnostiquez avec notre service gratuitAssistant bouée si vous répondez oui à l'une de ces questions.

Hear what 2 others are saying
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.
mes piedsPosted January 18, 2024 by f.
mon histoire MES PIEDS J'ai la sensation que mes dessous de pieds sont en eponge quand je marche et mes orteils sont comme engourdies mais sans picotements des crampes sur dessus du pied parfois mais douloureuses j'ai déja consulté mais on m'a prescrit un médicament asa 80mg cela m'aide mais pas assez que faire?
La sensibilité du pied gauchePosted November 6, 2023 by K.
Depuis quelques jours j'ai une perte de la sensibilité de mon orteil gauche et 2 autres doigts du même pied...sans douleur particuliere
Dr. Rothschild has been a faculty member at Brigham and Women’s Hospital where he is an Associate Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School. He currently practices as a hospitalist at Newton Wellesley Hospital. In 1978, Dr. Rothschild received his MD at the Medical College of Wisconsin and trained in internal medicine followed by a fellowship in critical care medicine. He also received an MP...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

8 people found this helpful
Tooltip Icon.

References

  1. Shelat AM. Numbness and tingling. U.S. National Library of Medicine: MedlinePlus. Updated December 6, 2018. MedlinePlus Link
  2. Lusis AJ. Atherosclerosis. Nature. 2000;407(6801):233-241. NCBI Link
  3. Peripheral neuropathy fact sheet. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. Updated August 16, 2018. NINDS Link
  4. Chracot-marie-tooth disease. National Organization for Rare Disorders. Published 2009. NORD Link
  5. Ask the doctor: Can vitamin B6 cause tingling? Harvard Medical School: Harvard Health Publishing. Published March 2012. Harvard Health Publishing Link
  6. Numbness or tingling. National Multiple Sclerosis Society. National MS Society Link
  7. How lupus affects the nervous system. Lupus Foundation of America. Updated July 15, 2013. Lupus Link

Skip to main contentSkip to accessibility services
Read about

Toe Numbness

Tooltip Icon.

Most people have experienced numbness in hands or arms from everyday occurrences like sleeping on your arm or holding a certain position too long. But, what about numbness in toes? Numb toes aren't as common, and can be worrisome. Causes include circulatory, systemic disease, environmental, and inflammatory, so it's important to contact your doctor. Read below to learn more about what causes toe numbness, possible treatments, and more.

9 most common causes

Toe numbness quiz

Take a quiz to find out what's causing your numbness.

Take toe numbness quiz

Numbness and tingling in toes explained

Loss of sensation in a body part is often referred to as numbness. Many people have experienced this sensation upon falling asleep for too long on a crooked arm or typing for too long on a keyboard. However, symptoms of toe numbness are not as common an occurrence and can be worrisome. Furthermore, the toe numbness may be associated with other symptoms that may feel strange.

Common accompanying symptoms of toe numbness

If you're experiencing toe numbness, it's likely that you will also experience:

  • Burning or tingling
  • Pins and needles sensation
  • Lack of coordination or falling
  • Coldness or sensitivity to touch
  • Weak pulse in the legs or feet
  • Sores on the toes and feet that take long to heal

These toe numbness symptoms are often temporary, but unlike being able to find quick relief for symptoms such as hand numbness, toe numbness may be more difficult to resolve. As a result, it is important to follow-up with your doctor and get appropriate care as soon as you notice toe numbness symptoms.

What causes numbness in toes?

Toe numbness is the result of injury, compression or irritation of a nerve or a branch of one of the nerves in your foot and sometimes as high up as your leg. The foot is composed of many different nerves and small blood vessels that begin higher up in the leg and branch off in various directions to give blood flow and sensation throughout the foot. Because of this, causes that result in toe numbness are varied, but can be divided into the following categories.

Circulatory causes

Conditions that cause narrowing of the blood vessels can reduce blood flow to the limbs and cause losses in sensation. The toes are especially susceptible because they are farthest from large vessels and may lose circulation first. Narrowing of the blood vessels is most often caused by plaque build-up in the vessels. This process is known as atherosclerosis and is the primary cause of heart disease and stroke.

Systemic disease

Causes related to systemic disease may include the following.

  • Metabolic: Dysfunction in the processes that your body uses day-to-day, for example, diabetes, can also affect both the way your nerves function and the diameter of your blood vessels. This causes numbness in the peripheral parts of the body, especially the toes and hands (this condition is known as peripheral neuropathy).
  • Hereditary: Some uncommon inherited disorders such as Charcot-Marie-Tooth disease can affect multiple nerves in the body and result in numbness in multiple parts of the body.

Environmental causes

Environmental causes of toe pain may be related to lifestyle habits or certain exposures.

  • Toxins: Toxins that cause injury to the nerves include heavy metals such as lead and substances such as alcohol. Too much exposure to either can cause nerve damage that leads to numbness.
  • Vitamin imbalance: There are certain vitamins that are essential to healthy nerve function such as vitamins E and B12. Deficiencies in these vitamins over time can lead to nerve damage and injury. Conversely, exposure to too much vitamin B6 can cause numbness or tingling in the toe; however, this would likely require a large amount over a prolonged period.
  • Trauma: Any situation where the foot or leg is crushed or damaged will result in toe numbness and nerve pain. However, trauma does not always need to be severe. Circumstances as simple as shoes that are too tight can also cause compressive trauma to the nerves of the feet and toes.

Inflammatory causes

Inflammatory causes of toe pain may be related to the following.

  • Autoimmune: Many inflammatory diseases that result in the body attacking itself can also affect the nerves and cause injury that results in numbness. Conditions such as multiple sclerosis and lupus are examples of such autoimmune diseases.
  • Infections: Bacterial infections such as Lyme disease and multiple viral infections such as shingles can cause inflammation and nerve injury that results in toe numbness symptoms.

9 possible toe numbness conditions

The list below shows results from the use of our quiz by Buoy users who experienced toe numbness. This list does not constitute medical advice and may not accurately represent what you have.

Toe numbness quiz

Take a quiz to find out what's causing your numbness.

Take toe numbness quiz

Tarsal tunnel syndrome

The tarsal tunnel is a narrow space that lies on the inside of the ankle next to the ankle bones. Tarsal tunnel syndrome is a compression, or squeezing, on an important nerve called the posterior tibial nerve. This compression produces symptoms anywhere along the path of the nerve running from the inside of the ankle into the foot.

You should visit your primary care physician who will coordinate your care with a muscle and bone specialist (orthopedic surgeon). Tarsal tunnel syndrome is treated with pain medication, corticosteroid injections, stretching, icing, physical therapy, and also special orthotic inserts for shoes.

Sciatica

Sciatica is a general term describing any shooting leg pain that begins at the spine and travels down the outside of the leg. It is also called pinched nerve, lumbar radiculopathy, sciatic neuralgia, sciatic neuritis, or sciatic neuropathy.

By far the most common cause is a herniated or "slipped" disc in the lower spine. This means some of the cushioning material inside the disc has been forced outward and is pressing on a nerve root. Spasms of the piriformis muscle around the sciatic nerve, as well as the narrowing of the spinal canal called spinal stenosis, can also cause sciatica.

Symptoms include shooting leg pain that begins suddenly or develops gradually. There may be weakness, numbness, and a pins-and-needles sensation. In severe cases, there may be difficulty moving the foot or bending the knee.

Diagnosis is made through patient history, physical examination, and simple leg-raise tests.

Treatment involves physical therapy, nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs, and muscle relaxants. In some cases, corticosteroid spinal injections and surgery may be tried. Massage and acupuncture are also sometimes helpful.

Pes cavus

Pes cavus is a high arch of the foot that does not flatten with weight bearing. This foot type can cause pain.

You should visit your primary care physician if you are experiencing a lot of foot pain. Surgical treatment is only used when there is severe pain.

Morton neuroma

Morton neuroma, also called by the older name Morton's neuroma, is a thickening of fibrous tissue in the ball of the foot. This tissue encapsulates the nerve leading to the third and fourth toes.

It is not actually a tumor of the nerve, as the name suggests. The thickening is caused by years of trauma, irritation, and/or compression to the feet. High-heeled shoes, especially if narrow or tight, are a common cause. The condition is most often seen in women over age 45.

Symptoms include burning pain in the ball of the foot, especially with walking or running. The condition will not heal on its own and can lead to chronic foot pain.

Diagnosis is made through physical examination of the foot with simple range of motion exercises, and sometimes x-ray.

Treatment includes changing to better-fitting shoes that do not compress the nerve; using orthotics in the shoes to take more pressure off of the nerve; and in some cases the use of corticosteroid injections.

Rarity: Rare

Top Symptoms: foot numbness, pain in the sole of the foot, pain when touching the foot, pain in both feet, foot injury

Urgency: Self-treatment

Lower leg weakness

Any leg weakness is a sign of nerve damage, which is very worrisome and requires you to go see a doctor immediately!

Rarity: Uncommon

Top Symptoms: lower leg weakness, foot weakness, arm weakness, loss of vision, severe pelvis pain

Urgency: Hospital emergency room

Low calcium level

Hypocalcemia is a condition where there is not enough calcium in the blood. Calcium is a mineral contained in the blood and helps the heart and other muscles function properly. It is also needed to maintain healthy teeth and bones. Low calcium levels can cause bones to become brittle and more easily fractured. Parathyroid issues and vitamin D deficiency are common causes of this condition.

You should consider visiting a medical professional to discuss your symptoms. Low calcium levels can be evaluated with a review of your symptoms and a blood test. Once diagnosed, treatment depends on the cause of your low calcium levels.

Rarity: Rare

Top Symptoms: fatigue, shortness of breath, irritability, general numbness, tingling foot

Urgency: Primary care doctor

Foot weakness

Any foot weakness is a sign of nerve damage, which is very worrisome and requires you to go see a doctor immediately!

Rarity: Uncommon

Top Symptoms: foot weakness, lower leg weakness, severe pelvis pain, hearing voices or seeing things that aren't there, arm weakness

Urgency: Hospital emergency room

Folate (vitamin) deficiency

Folic acid (folate) is a vitamin that is needed to make new cells in the body, including red blood cells which carry oxygen through the blood and into various tissues throughout the body. Folate deficiency refers to a condition when there is not enough folic acid in the body, and can lead to symptoms such as tiredness, low energy, faintness, and difficulty breathing.

You can safely treat this condition on your own by taking a tablet of folic acid (folate) each day. Folic acid is also naturally occurring in foods such as spinach, sprouts, broccoli, green beans, peas, chickpeas, brown rice, kidney, liver, and potatoes. Eating more of these foods can help with symptoms as well.

Rarity: Rare

Top Symptoms: fatigue, depressed mood, irritability, nausea or vomiting, diarrhea

Symptoms that never occur with folate (vitamin) deficiency: abdominal swelling

Urgency: Phone call or in-person visit

Toe numbness quiz

Take a quiz to find out what's causing your numbness.

Take toe numbness quiz

Chronic idiopathic peripheral neuropathy

Peripheral neuropathy refers to the feeling of numbness, tingling, and pins-and-needles sensation in the feet. Idiopathic means the cause is not known, and chronic means the condition is ongoing without getting better or worse.

The condition is most often found in people over age 60. Idiopathic neuropathy has no known cause.

Symptoms include uncomfortable numbness and tingling in the feet; difficulty standing or walking due to pain and lack of normal sensitivity; and weakness and cramping in the muscles of the feet and ankles.

Peripheral neuropathy can greatly interfere with quality of life, so a medical provider should be seen in order to treat the symptoms and reduce the discomfort.

Diagnosis is made through physical examination; blood tests to rule out other conditions; and neurologic and muscle studies such as electromyography.

Treatment involves over-the-counter pain relievers; prescription pain relievers to manage more severe pain; physical therapy and safety measures to compensate for loss of sensation in the feet; and therapeutic footwear to help with balance and walking.

Rarity: Rare

Top Symptoms: distal numbness, muscle aches, joint stiffness, numbness on both sides of body, loss of muscle mass

Urgency: Primary care doctor

Treatment and relief for numb toes

When to see a doctor

If you experience frequent, persistent episodes of toe numbness, visit your doctor to find the exact cause of your condition in order to get appropriate treatment.

At-home treatment

Depending on the cause, your doctor may first suggest other lifestyle modifications such as:

  • Balanced diet rich in essential vitamins to keep the nerves healthy: Fruits and vegetables, whole grains, lean proteins, and healthy fats can provide your body with the nutrition necessary to maintain your nerves.
  • Regular exercise: Maintaining an optimal weight with exercise and a balanced diet can not only prevent, but also control metabolic diseases such as obesity and diabetes.
  • Medications to relax blood vessels: There are many different kinds of medication that can combat constriction in your blood vessels by dilating (relaxing) them and promoting circulation.
  • Anticonvulsants: Some anticonvulsant medications can also be used to combat nerve pain such as gabapentin (Neurontin).
  • Physical therapy: If your toe numbness is due to trauma that causes compression of the nerves and blood vessels leading to your toes, your doctor may suggest therapy to help take the pressure of these body parts, which also may improve your range of motion and posture.
  • Surgery: If other treatments are ineffective and your toe numbness symptoms continue to progress or worsen, your doctor may recommend looking into surgical options to combat your symptoms.

When it is an emergency

If you experience any symptoms of speech difficulty, facial drooping, or weakness to the point you cannot raise your foot or leg, call 911 immediately. These could be signs of a stroke.

Questions your doctor may ask about toe numbness

  • Have you ever been diagnosed with a psychiatric issue, such as depression, bipolar, schizophrenia, or anxiety disorder?
  • While lying down on a firm surface, keep both legs straight. Have a friend slowly raise one leg at a time by lifting your ankle into the air. Do you have pain in that leg before fully raising it to a perpendicular position? (This is called the straight leg test.)
  • What is your body mass?
  • The foot numbness affects one foot or both feet?

Self-diagnose with our free Buoy Assistant if you answer yes on any of these questions.

Hear what 1 other is saying
Three toe numbness...Posted October 2, 2020 by D.
It's not my big toe nor my #5 toe. It's the three in the middle that are numb. It's crazy. At times I can feel things with the three middle toes but other times I can't. I can't figure it out and can't find anything on the web that I can read to figure out why just these three toes go numb. I've never been involved in an accident. My feet have never had any trauma. But I did have to go to the doctor two years ago and get a shot in the foot because of the pain on the ball of the foot. But now lately I'm getting numbness on the other toes on the other foot. Now I need some answers.
Dr. Rothschild has been a faculty member at Brigham and Women’s Hospital where he is an Associate Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School. He currently practices as a hospitalist at Newton Wellesley Hospital. In 1978, Dr. Rothschild received his MD at the Medical College of Wisconsin and trained in internal medicine followed by a fellowship in critical care medicine. He also received an MP...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

15 people found this helpful
Tooltip Icon.

References

  1. Shelat AM. Numbness and tingling. U.S. National Library of Medicine: MedlinePlus. Updated December 6, 2018. MedlinePlus Link
  2. Lusis AJ. Atherosclerosis. Nature. 2000;407(6801):233-241. NCBI Link
  3. Peripheral neuropathy fact sheet. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. Updated August 16, 2018. NINDS Link
  4. Chracot-marie-tooth disease. National Organization for Rare Disorders. Published 2009. NORD Link
  5. Ask the doctor: Can vitamin B6 cause tingling? Harvard Medical School: Harvard Health Publishing. Published March 2012. Harvard Health Publishing Link
  6. Numbness or tingling. National Multiple Sclerosis Society. National MS Society Link
  7. How lupus affects the nervous system. Lupus Foundation of America. Updated July 15, 2013. Lupus Link