Skip to main content
Read about

21 raisons pour lesquelles vous ressentez des douleurs thoraciques aléatoires du côté gauche ou droit

·
Une femme avec ses mains sur sa poitrine ressentant de la douleur.
Tooltip Icon.
Written by Carina Ryder, MS, BSN.
Certified Nurse Midwife, Takoma Park Gynecology
Last updated September 28, 2023

Quiz sur les douleurs thoraciques

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de votre douleur.

Même si les douleurs thoraciques peuvent être très effrayantes, elles ne sont souvent pas aussi graves qu’il y paraît. La douleur à gauche, à droite ou au milieu de la poitrine peut provenir d'un trouble d'anxiété ou d'une crise de panique, de brûlures d'estomac ou de détresse gastrique, de RGO, du SCI et de nombreuses autres affections.

21 most common cause(s)

Embolie pulmonaire
Bronchite
Illustration of a person thinking with cross bandaids.
Asthme
Pneumonie
Costochondrite aiguë
RGO
Ulcère de l'estomac
Abcès pulmonaire
Anxiété
Fibrillation auriculaire
Pneumothorax
Illustration of a health care worker swabbing an individual.
Crise cardiaque
Illustration of a doctor beside a bedridden patient.
Angine de poitrine
Illustration of a health care worker swabbing an individual.
Zona
Dissection de l'aorte
Illustration of a health care worker swabbing an individual.
A hiatal hernia
Illustration of a health care worker swabbing an individual.
Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy
Illustration of various health care options.
Hemothorax
Illustration of a doctor beside a bedridden patient.
Myocarditis
Illustration of various health care options.
Rib bruise
Illustration of various health care options.
Rib fracture

Quiz sur les douleurs thoraciques

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de votre douleur.

Répondez à un quiz sur les douleurs thoraciques

Qu’est-ce qui cause la douleur sur le côté gauche ou droit de ma poitrine ?

Les douleurs thoraciques peuvent être très effrayantes. Mais outre une crise cardiaque, de nombreuses affections peuvent provoquer des douleurs thoraciques du côté droit ou gauche, notamment celles liées aux poumons, aux muscles et à la digestion.

Lorsqu’une douleur thoracique soudaine surgit de nulle part et que vous n’avez pas pris de repas copieux ni subi de traumatisme physique ou mental, n’attendez pas pour obtenir de l’aide. Surtout si la douleur est soudaine, aiguë, récurrente et s'estompant, ou s'accompagne d'un engourdissement des membres. Et si vous n’êtes pas sûr de la cause de votre douleur, rendez-vous aux urgences ou appelez le 911.

Douleur thoracique côté gauche vs côté droit

Les gens pensent souvent qu’une douleur thoracique du côté gauche est le signe d’une crise cardiaque, car c’est là que se trouve le cœur. Mais une douleur sur le côté gauche de la poitrine ne signifie pas toujours qu’il s’agit d’un problème cardiaque. Et la douleur du côté droit ne doit pas être ignorée. Les crises cardiaques peuvent provoquer des douleurs dans tout le corps, du côté gauche de la poitrine au côté droit de la poitrine et même dans d'autres zones comme l'épaule ou la mâchoire. Cela peut aussi être différent chez les hommes et les femmes.

Être capable de décrire l'emplacement de la douleur, comme une douleur dans le haut de la poitrine, une douleur thoracique du côté gauche ou une douleur thoracique du côté droit, peut aider à diagnostiquer la cause de votre douleur thoracique et à obtenir le bon traitement plus tôt.

Même si une douleur thoracique qui touche uniquement le côté droit de la poitrine est moins susceptible d’être un problème cardiaque, cela ne signifie pas que la douleur thoracique du côté droit n’est pas grave. Les douleurs thoraciques du côté droit peuvent avoir de nombreuses causes, notamment

  • Pneumonie
  • Côte meurtrie ou cassée
  • Muscle thoracique déchiré
  • Infection virale
  • Problèmes de vésicule biliaire, de foie, de pancréas, de rate ou de poumons
  • Douleur pleurétique (inflammation autour du poumon)
  • Caillot de sang dans le poumon
  • Troubles digestifs comme le SCI, le RGO ou les brûlures d'estomac

Causes courantes de douleurs thoraciques

1. Reflux acide, RGO et brûlures d'estomac

Le reflux acide, les brûlures d'estomac ou le RGO peuvent ressembler à une sensation de brûlure dans la poitrine et derrière le sternum. La sensation peut monter et descendre dans la gorge et il y a souvent une sensation de brûlure acide dans la gorge. Cela se produit souvent après avoir mangé, surtout si vous prenez des repas copieux, buvez de l'alcool ou fumez pendant ou après le repas et vous allongez trop tôt après avoir mangé.

Beaucoup de gens confondent cette sensation avec une crise cardiaque, car elle peut être inconfortable et provoquer des douleurs au milieu de la poitrine.

2. Angine de poitrine (maladie coronarienne)

L'angine, également appelée maladie coronarienne et maladie cardiaque, est une affection qui se développe à partir de l'accumulation de plaque dans les artères. La douleur thoracique causée par l’angine de poitrine est due à une mauvaise circulation sanguine vers le cœur. Les symptômes sont souvent confondus avec des brûlures d’estomac ou une indigestion.

Les symptômes comprennent une sensation de lourdeur au niveau de la poitrine, un engourdissement, des brûlures, des courbatures et des douleurs à la poitrine. L'inconfort est généralement ressenti principalement au niveau de la poitrine, mais il est également fréquent au niveau de l'épaule ou du bras gauche, du cou ou du dos. D'autres symptômes sont des nausées, des sueurs, une oppression thoracique et des douleurs au bras ou à la mâchoire gauche.

3. Anxiété

L’anxiété provoque souvent des douleurs et un inconfort au niveau de la poitrine ainsi qu’une accélération du rythme cardiaque. Près de 25 % des patients qui signalent des douleurs thoraciques à leur médecin reçoivent un diagnostic de trouble panique, qui peut provoquer une douleur au milieu de la poitrine et une sensation qui peut ressembler à une crise cardiaque.

Mais tout inconfort thoracique ne doit pas être ignoré, car les patients souffrant de trouble panique et de douleurs thoraciques présentent des taux plus élevés de maladies cardiovasculaires. Chaque fois que vous ressentez des douleurs thoraciques, en particulier chez les personnes souffrant de troubles anxieux, rendez-vous aux urgences pour vous assurer qu’il ne s’agit pas de quelque chose de plus grave.

4. Dissection aortique

Une dissection aortique se produit lorsque le gros vaisseau sanguin sortant du cœur se déchire. À mesure que le sang traverse la déchirure, d’autres couches de tissu cardiaque peuvent commencer à se séparer. La douleur est soudaine et ressemble à une sensation de déchirement.

Vous pouvez le ressentir du côté gauche, avoir des étourdissements et avoir des difficultés à parler et à voir. Si le sang traverse la paroi aortique, cela peut être mortel. Obtenez des soins médicaux immédiats.

Les symptômes d’une dissection aortique comprennent des douleurs thoraciques suffisamment graves pour vous couper le souffle. La douleur irradie dans le dos et est si intense que les évanouissements sont fréquents.

5.Asthme

Pour la plupart des personnes asthmatiques, les symptômes sont légers et gérables. Mais souvent, surtout lorsqu'elle est aggravée par des allergies, une crise d'asthme peut être grave, provoquant une oppression thoracique accompagnée d'une respiration sifflante, d'un essoufflement et d'une toux.

Toute personne asthmatique doit toujours avoir sur elle un inhalateur en vente libre. Si vous faites une crise d'asthme et ressentez des douleurs thoraciques, consultez immédiatement un médecin et utilisez vos inhalateurs selon les directives de votre médecin.

6. Fibrillation auriculaire

La fibrillation auriculaire est une fréquence cardiaque rapide et irrégulière lorsque les cavités supérieures du cœur battent de manière désynchronisée avec les cavités inférieures du cœur. Le rythme cardiaque rapide et palpitant peut parfois provoquer des douleurs thoraciques. La fibrillation auriculaire ne provoque pas toujours de symptômes. Parfois, on le découvre lors d’un examen physique de routine.

Les symptômes de la fibrillation auriculaire, également appelée A-fib, comprennent des sensations de léthargie, une faiblesse générale, des palpitations cardiaques, des étourdissements, de la confusion, des difficultés respiratoires et parfois des douleurs thoraciques. A-fib augmente votre risque d’accident vasculaire cérébral et de problèmes cardiaques.

7. Bronchite

Bien que la douleur thoracique causée par la bronchite soit généralement légère, la toux peut aggraver la douleur.

Les symptômes de la bronchite comprennent une toux sèche et sèche, de la fatigue et du mucus jaunâtre, blanchâtre ou verdâtre qui peut être strié de sang. La bronchite peut également provoquer un essoufflement, de la fièvre et une sensation d'oppression dans la poitrine.

8. Costochondrite

Parfois, la douleur thoracique est causée par une costochondrite, une inflammation autour des côtes. C’est une cause assez fréquente de douleurs thoraciques et elle est souvent ressentie au milieu de la poitrine.

La costochondrite peut être causée par des activités quotidiennes, comme des accidents ou des chutes, une toux abondante, des vomissements, une élongation musculaire dans la poitrine lors d'exercices ou d'activités sportives intenses, un accident de voiture (peut être dû au gonflement de l'airbag) et certains types d'arthrite ou bursite.

Le principal symptôme de la costochondrite est une douleur aiguë dans la paroi thoracique et les côtes qui va et vient. Une respiration lourde peut intensifier la douleur, tout comme la toux ou les éternuements.

9. Crise cardiaque

Lorsque le flux sanguin vers une partie du cœur est interrompu, généralement à cause d'une rupture de plaque dans une artère coronaire, cela peut provoquer des douleurs thoraciques d'intensité variable, en particulier du côté gauche. Vous pouvez également ressentir un essoufflement, des nausées, des sueurs et un malaise. Étant donné que les symptômes d’une crise cardiaque ne sont pas exactement les mêmes pour chaque personne, même une légère douleur thoracique doit être prise au sérieux.

Si vous ressentez des douleurs thoraciques et que vous n'en avez jamais ressenti auparavant, en particulier en cas d'essoufflement ou de douleur irradiant vers le bras, le dos ou la mâchoire, supposez que vous faites une crise cardiaque et appelez le 911.

10. Hernie hiatale

Une hernie hiatale se produit lorsqu'une partie de l'estomac passe à travers une ouverture du diaphragme, qui est un muscle qui sépare l'abdomen de la poitrine.

Les symptômes sont généralement légers, mais après avoir mangé, vous pouvez ressentir des douleurs à la poitrine, en particulier du côté gauche, ainsi que des brûlures d'estomac, des problèmes d'œsophage, des régurgitations ou des difficultés à avaler.

Le risque de hernie hiatale augmente avec l'âge et la prise de poids. Un changement de régime alimentaire et des repas plus petits peuvent soulager la douleur et l’inconfort.

11. Cardiomyopathie hypertrophique

Lorsqu’une partie du cœur devient plus épaisse que le reste, on parle de cardiomyopathie hypertrophique. Cette maladie rend plus difficile pour le cœur de pomper le sang dans tout le corps. La cardiomyopathie hypertrophique peut se développer soudainement dans le tissu cardiaque, alors consultez un médecin si vous vous évanouissez après un exercice ou si vous présentez des symptômes inexpliqués.

Elle est généralement héréditaire et peut affecter tout âge, mais les patients plus jeunes présentent généralement des formes plus graves de la maladie. Parfois, on le découvre lorsqu'un athlète s'effondre soudainement et subit un arrêt cardiaque.

Alors que certaines personnes atteintes de cardiomyopathie hypertrophique ne présentent aucun symptôme, d’autres peuvent ressentir des étourdissements, des évanouissements lors d’activités intenses, des douleurs thoraciques en courant ou en faisant de l’exercice, des palpitations et un essoufflement au réveil. Parfois, les athlètes sont dépistés par échocardiographie.

12. Abcès du poumon

Un abcès pulmonaire est une maladie très rare et résulte généralement d’une infection grave des poumons comme la pneumonie ou la tuberculose. Il peut y avoir des douleurs thoraciques lors de la respiration ou de la toux en raison d'une inflammation des poumons et de la paroi thoracique.

Les symptômes comprennent de la fièvre, une perte d'appétit, une sensation générale de nausée pendant plusieurs semaines ou mois, une massue des doigts, une couleur de peau bleutée et des douleurs thoraciques.

13. Myocardite

Si le muscle cardiaque est infecté et enflammé, une myocardite pourrait en être la cause. La myocardite est rare mais peut souvent entraîner de graves problèmes cardiaques et certaines personnes peuvent avoir besoin d'une transplantation cardiaque. Si vous présentez des symptômes de grippe accompagnés de douleurs thoraciques intenses, consultez immédiatement un médecin.

Les symptômes de la myocardite sont similaires à ceux de la grippe, notamment la fatigue, la fièvre, les douleurs articulaires et musculaires. Les douleurs thoraciques, la respiration rapide et les évanouissements sont d'autres symptômes de la myocardite. Une radiographie pulmonaire peut être nécessaire pour diagnostiquer une myocardite.

14. Ulcères peptiques

Un ulcère gastroduodénal est une zone crue ou une plaie ouverte dans la muqueuse de l'estomac ou au début de l'intestin grêle. Lorsque l’estomac ou les intestins ne peuvent pas se protéger contre les acides gastriques forts, des ulcères peuvent se former.

Le symptôme le plus courant d’un ulcère gastroduodénal est une douleur abdominale ou thoracique, accompagnée de légères nausées. Votre douleur peut s'atténuer lorsque vous mangez de la nourriture ou prenez des antiacides et des brûlures d'estomac. Un gastro-entérologue peut effectuer un test appelé endoscopie haute pour voir si vous avez un ulcère gastroduodénal.

15. Pneumonie

La pneumonie est une maladie respiratoire. Les bactéries, les virus et les champignons peuvent provoquer une infection pulmonaire qui évolue en pneumonie. Vous pouvez ressentir une douleur thoracique aiguë qui s'aggrave lorsque vous toussez ou respirez profondément.

Le principal symptôme de la pneumonie est la toux, souvent accompagnée d'un mucus épais et de couleur jaune. Vous pouvez également avoir de la fièvre, des frissons et un essoufflement. Si une personne est âgée, a un système immunitaire faible ou souffre de problèmes de santé graves, consultez immédiatement un médecin. La pneumonie chez les personnes âgées peut rapidement mettre la vie en danger

16. Muscle tiré

Lorsqu'un muscle est tiré, trop sollicité ou déchiré au niveau de la poitrine, il peut y avoir une douleur thoracique qui peut donner l'impression qu'il s'agit d'une crise cardiaque.

Les élongations musculaires peuvent être causées par une mauvaise forme pendant l'exercice, une levée de poids intense ou un exercice cardiovasculaire, un balancement d'une batte, une partie de football ou un mouvement soudain dans le mauvais sens. Les accidents de voiture, les chutes et autres accidents peuvent également provoquer des élongations dans les muscles de la poitrine.

Si le muscle tiré se trouve dans la région abdominale ou dans le dos, vous pouvez ressentir des douleurs thoraciques accompagnées de raideurs et d'ecchymoses. Vous pouvez le ressentir lorsque vous effectuez des mouvements comme des étirements.

17. Bleu aux côtes

Une côte meurtrie peut provoquer une douleur thoracique intense. Une côte meurtrie est généralement due à un coup direct sur la poitrine, comme lors d'un accident de voiture, d'une chute ou d'une pratique sportive.

Les symptômes d'une ecchymose aux côtes comprennent une douleur et une sensibilité près de la côte blessée ainsi qu'une douleur thoracique qui augmente lorsque vous respirez profondément, bougez, toussez ou éternuez.

18. Fracture des côtes

Une côte fracturée peut être due à un accident, comme une chute ou un accident de voiture. Une toux intense peut également fracturer une côte, tout comme des mouvements répétitifs ou un exercice trop intense. Une douleur thoracique constante et s'aggravant lors de la respiration ou du mouvement pourrait être le signe d'une fracture des côtes.

Comme pour d’autres blessures aux côtes, les symptômes d’une fracture des côtes comprennent une gêne lors de la respiration profonde, une douleur lors de la flexion ou de la torsion, ou une sensation de pression dans la poitrine ou dans la région des côtes.

19. Bardeaux

Le zona provient du même virus qui cause la varicelle. Si vous avez déjà eu la varicelle, vous pouvez contracter le zona.

L’un des premiers signes du zona peut être une douleur intense à la poitrine et au dos, suivie d’une éruption cutanée douloureuse et vésiculeuse. La douleur peut être vive, brûlante et donner l’impression que le cœur fait mal.

Le zona peut être très douloureux s’il n’est pas traité rapidement. Si vous pensez avoir un zona, appelez votre médecin ou rendez-vous aux urgences.

20. Pneumothorax (poumon effondré)

Le pneumothorax est le terme médical désignant un poumon affaissé. Lorsque le poumon s’effondre, il ne peut pas se dilater lorsque vous essayez de respirer. Cela rend la respiration difficile, accompagnée de graves douleurs thoraciques et pulmonaires. C'est généralement très douloureux.

Un poumon effondré peut survenir soudainement et sans avertissement. Cela peut être dû à une blessure (comme une côte fracturée) ou à une maladie, comme une pneumonie. Les symptômes peuvent être légers ou sévères avec une douleur intense.

21. Embolie pulmonaire

Une embolie pulmonaire se produit lorsque le flux sanguin vers les poumons via l'artère pulmonaire est bloqué. Il s'agit généralement d'un caillot de sang dans les jambes ou dans le bassin qui se propage vers les poumons. Vous pouvez ressentir une douleur thoracique intense, surtout lorsque vous essayez de respirer.

Si vous vous sentez essoufflé, si vous ressentez une douleur thoracique intense qui s'aggrave lorsque vous respirez profondément, bougez ou toussez, et si vous toussez avec du mucus rose et mousseux, consultez immédiatement un médecin.

Share your story
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.
Dr. Peter Steinberg is a board-certified urologist and the director of endourology and kidney stone management at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center. He is also an Assistant Professor at Harvard Medical School. He received his undergraduate degree in biochemistry from Middlebury College (1999) and graduated from University of Pennsylvania Medical School (2003). He completed a urology residency a...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

Tooltip Icon.
Read this next
Slide 1 of 6

Skip to main content
Read about

21 Reasons You Have Random Left or Right Side Chest Pain

Tooltip Icon.
Written by
Carina Ryder, MS, BSN.
Certified Nurse Midwife, Takoma Park Gynecology
Last updated December 21, 2022

Chest pain quiz

Take a quiz to find out what's causing your pain.

While chest pain can be very scary, it often is not as serious as it may seem. Pain on the left, right, or middle of the chest can be from an anxiety or panic attack disorder, heartburn or gastric distress, GERD, IBS, and many other conditions.

21 most common causes

Pulmonary Embolism
Bronchitis
Illustration of a health care worker swabbing an individual.
Asthma
Pneumonia
Acute Costochondritis
GERD
Stomach Ulcer
Lung Abscess
Anxiety
Atrial Fibrillation
Pneumothorax
Illustration of a doctor beside a bedridden patient.
Heart Attack
Illustration of a doctor beside a bedridden patient.
Angina pectoris
Illustration of a person thinking with cross bandaids.
Shingles
Aortic Dissection
Illustration of a health care worker swabbing an individual.
A hiatal hernia
Illustration of a health care worker swabbing an individual.
Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy
Illustration of a health care worker swabbing an individual.
Hemothorax
Illustration of a health care worker swabbing an individual.
Myocarditis
Illustration of a doctor beside a bedridden patient.
Rib bruise
Illustration of a doctor beside a bedridden patient.
Rib fracture

Chest pain quiz

Take a quiz to find out what's causing your pain.

Take chest pain quiz

What’s causing pain on the left or right side of my chest?

Chest pain can be very frightening. But there are many conditions besides a heart attack that can cause chest pain on the right or left side, including those related to the lungs, muscles, and digestion.

When sudden chest pain comes out of nowhere, and you haven’t had a big meal or experienced a physical or mental trauma, do not wait to get help. Especially if the pain is sudden, sharp, recurring and fading, or is accompanied by numbing of the limbs. And if you are not sure what is causing your pain, go to the ER or call 911.

Chest pain left side vs right side

People often think chest pain on the left side is a sign of a heart attack because that is where the heart is located. But pain on the left side of the chest doesn’t always mean it’s a heart issue. And pain on the right side shouldn’t be ignored. Heart attacks can cause pain all over the body—from the left side of the chest, to the right side of the chest, and even in other areas like the shoulder or jaw. It can also be different in men and women.

Being able to describe the location of the pain—like upper chest pain, left side chest pain, or right side chest pain—can help with diagnosing the cause of your chest pain and getting the right treatment sooner.

While chest pain that is only on the right side of the chest is less likely to be a heart issue, it doesn’t mean that right side chest pain isn’t serious. There can be many reasons for chest pains on the right side, including

  • Pneumonia
  • Bruised or broken rib
  • Torn chest muscle
  • Viral infection
  • Gallbladder, liver, pancreas, spleen, or lung issues
  • Pleuritic pain (inflammation around the lung)
  • Blood clot in the lung
  • Digestive condition like IBS, GERD, or heartburn

Chest pain quiz

Take a quiz to find out what's causing your pain.

Take chest pain quiz

Common causes of chest pain

1. Acid reflux, GERD, and heartburn

Acid reflux, heartburn, or GERD can feel like a burning sensation in the chest and behind the breastbone. The sensation can move up and down the throat and there is often a feeling of burning acid in the throat. It often happens after eating, especially if you have large meals, drink alcohol or smoke during or after the meal, and lie down too soon after eating.

Many people confuse this sensation with having a heart attack, as it can be uncomfortable and cause pain in the middle of the chest.

2. Angina pectoris (coronary artery disease)

Angina, also called coronary artery disease and heart disease, is a condition that develops from plaque buildup in the arteries. Chest pain from angina pectoris is because of poor blood flow to the heart. Symptoms are often mistaken for heartburn or indigestion.

Symptoms include a feeling of heaviness in the chest area, numbness, burning, aching, and pain in the chest. Discomfort is usually felt mostly in the chest area, but it is also common in the left shoulder or arm, neck, or back. Other symptoms are nausea, sweating, tightness in the chest, and pain in the left arm or jaw.

3. Anxiety

Anxiety often causes pain and discomfort in the chest as well as a speeding up of the heartbeat. Nearly 25% of patients who report chest pain to their doctors are diagnosed with a panic disorder, which can cause pain in the middle of the chest area and a feeling that can seem like having a heart attack.

But any chest discomfort shouldn’t be ignored, as patients with panic disorder and chest pain have higher rates of cardiovascular disease. Whenever you have chest pain—especially for people with anxiety disorder—go to the ER to make sure it isn’t something more serious.

4. Aortic dissection

An aortic dissection is when the large blood vessel coming off from the heart tears. As blood rushes through the tear, other layers of heart tissue can begin to separate. The pain is sudden and feels like a tearing sensation.

You may feel it on the left side, be dizzy, and have trouble speaking and seeing. If the blood ruptures through the aortic wall, it can be fatal. Get immediate medical care.

Symptoms of an aortic dissection include chest pain that is severe enough to knock the wind out of you. The pain radiates down the back and is so intense that fainting is common.

5. Asthma

For most people with asthma, symptoms are mild and manageable. But often, especially when aggravated by allergies, an asthma attack can be serious, causing chest tightness along with wheezing, shortness of breath, and coughing.

Anyone who has asthma should carry an over-the-counter inhaler with them at all times. If you are having an asthma attack and have chest pain, get medical attention immediately and use your inhalers as directed by your doctor.

6. Atrial fibrillation

Atrial fibrillation is a rapid and irregular heart rate when the heart’s upper chambers beat out of sync with the lower chambers of the heart. The fast, pulsing heartbeat can sometimes cause chest pain. Atrial fibrillation does not always cause symptoms. Sometimes it is discovered during a routine physical exam.

Symptoms of atrial fibrillation, also called A-fib, include feelings of lethargy, overall weakness, heart palpitations, dizziness, confusion, difficulty breathing, and sometimes chest pain. A-fib increases your risk for a stroke and problems with the heart.

7. Bronchitis

While chest pain from bronchitis is usually mild, coughing can worsen the pain.

The symptoms of bronchitis include a dry, hacking cough, fatigue, and yellowish, whitish, or greenish mucus that may be streaked with blood. Bronchitis can also cause shortness of breath, fever, and a feeling of tightness in the chest.

8. Costochondritis

Sometimes chest pain is caused by costochondritis—inflammation around the ribs. It is a fairly common cause of chest pain and is often felt in the middle of the chest.

Costochondritis can be caused by daily activities, like accidents or falls, coughing a lot, vomiting, pulled muscle in the chest during strenuous exercises or sports activities, a car accident (can be from the air bag inflating), and some types of arthritis or bursitis.

The main symptom of costochondritis is a sharp pain in the chest wall and ribs that comes and goes. Heavy breathing can intensify the pain, along with coughing or sneezing.

9. Heart attack

When blood flow to part of the heart is cut off,  usually from a plaque rupture in a coronary artery, it can cause varying amounts of chest pain, especially on the left side. You may also have shortness of breath, nausea, sweating, and not feeling well. Since the symptoms of a heart attack are not exactly the same for every person, even mild chest pain needs to be taken seriously.

If you have chest pain and have never had it before, especially with shortness of breath or pain radiating to your arm, back or jaw, assume you are having a heart attack and call 911.

10. Hiatal hernia

A hiatal hernia is when some of the stomach pushes through an opening of the diaphragm, which is a muscle that separates the abdomen from the chest.

Symptoms are usually  mild, but after eating you may have pain in the chest, especially on the left side, along with heartburn, esophagus problems, regurgitation, or trouble swallowing.

The risk for a hiatal hernia increases with age and weight gain. A change in diet and eating smaller meals can help with pain and discomfort.

11. Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy

When part of the heart becomes thicker than the rest, the condition is called hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. The condition makes it harder for the heart to pump blood throughout the body.  Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy can develop suddenly in the heart tissue, so get medical attention if you faint after exercise or have unexplained symptoms.

It is usually inherited and can affect any age, but younger patients typically have more severe forms of the condition. Sometimes it is discovered when an athlete suddenly collapses and has a cardiac arrest.  

While some people with hypertrophic cardiomyopathy don’t have symptoms, others may experience dizziness, fainting during strenuous activities, chest pain while running or exercising, palpitations, and shortness of breath when waking up. Sometimes athletes are screened for it with an echocardiography.

Chest pain quiz

Take a quiz to find out what's causing your pain.

Take chest pain quiz

12. Lung abscess

A lung abscess is a very rare condition, and is typically from a severe infection of the lungs like pneumonia or tuberculosis. There may be chest pain when breathing or coughing from inflammation of the lungs and chest wall.

Symptoms include a fever, loss of appetite, an overall sick feeling for several weeks or months, clubbing of the fingers, a bluish skin color, and chest pain.

13. Myocarditis

If the heart muscle becomes infected and inflamed, myocarditis could be the cause. Myocarditis is rare but can often lead to severe cardiac issues and some people may need a heart transplant. If you have flu symptoms with intense chest pain, get medical care right away.

The symptoms of myocarditis are similar to the flu, including fatigue, fever, joint pain, and muscle aches. Chest pain, rapid breathing, and fainting are some other symptoms of myocarditis. A chest X-ray may be needed to diagnose myocarditis.

14. Peptic ulcers

A peptic ulcer is a raw area or open sore in the stomach lining or at the beginning of the small intestine. When the stomach or intestines can’t protect themselves against strong stomach acids these ulcers can form.

The most common symptom of a peptic ulcer is abdominal or chest pain, along with mild nausea. Your pain may get better when eating food or taking antacids and heartburn. A gastroenterologist can do a test called an upper endoscopy to see if you have a peptic ulcer.

15. Pneumonia

Pneumonia is a respiratory condition. Bacteria, viruses, and fungi can cause an infection in the lung that develops into pneumonia. You may have sharp chest pain that is worse when coughing or taking a deep breath

The main symptom of pneumonia is a cough, which is often accompanied by a thick and yellow-colored mucus. You may also have a fever, and chills and shortness of breath. If someone is elderly, has a weak immune system, or has any serious medical conditions, get medical attention immediately. Pneumonia in the elderly can quickly become life-threatening

16. Pulled muscle

When a muscle is pulled, over-stressed, or torn in the chest area, there can be chest pain that can feel like it may be a heart attack.

Pulled muscles can be caused by improper form during exercise, strenuous weight lifting or cardiovascular exercise, swinging a bat, playing soccer, or suddenly moving the wrong way. Car crashes, falls, and other accidents can also cause pulled chest muscles.

If the pulled muscle is in the abdominal or back area,  you may have chest pain along with stiffness and bruising. You may feel it when doing movements like stretching.

17. Rib bruise

A bruised rib can cause chest pain that is severe. A bruised rib is usually from a direct blow to the chest, like during a car accident, fall, or playing sports.

Symptoms of a rib bruise include pain and tenderness near the injured rib along with chest pain that increases when you breathe deeply, move, cough, or sneeze.

18. Rib fracture

A fractured rib can be from an accident, like a fall or car crash. Intense coughing can also fracture a rib, as can repetitive movements or overly intense exercise. Chest pain that is constant and gets worse when breathing or moving could be a sign of a rib fracture.

Like other rib injuries, symptoms of a rib fracture include discomfort when breathing deeply, pain while bending or twisting, or a feeling of pressure in the chest or rib area.

19. Shingles

Shingles is from the same virus that causes chickenpox. If you’ve ever had chickenpox, then you can get shingles.

One of the earliest signs of shingles can be intense chest and back pain, followed by a painful, blistering rash. The pain may be sharp, burning, and feel like the heart is hurting.

Shingles can be very painful if it’s not treated quickly.  If you think you have shingles, call your doctor or go to the ER.

20. Pneumothorax (collapsed lung)

Pneumothorax is the medical term for a collapsed lung. When the lung collapses, it cannot expand as you try to breathe. It makes it hard to breathe, along with severe chest and lung pain. It is usually very painful.

A collapsed lung can happen suddenly and without warning. It can be from an injury (like a fractured rib) or or an illness, like pneumonia. Symptoms can be mild or severe with intense pain.

21. Pulmonary embolism

A pulmonary embolism is when blood flow to the lungs through the pulmonary artery  is blocked. It is usually from a blood clot in the legs or pelvis that travels to the lungs. You may have intense chest pain, especially when trying to breathe.

If you feel short of breath, are experiencing intense chest pain that worsens when you breathe deeply, move, or cough, and have a cough with pink, foamy mucus, get immediate medical care.

Share your story
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.
Dr. Peter Steinberg is a board-certified urologist and the director of endourology and kidney stone management at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center. He is also an Assistant Professor at Harvard Medical School. He received his undergraduate degree in biochemistry from Middlebury College (1999) and graduated from University of Pennsylvania Medical School (2003). He completed a urology residency a...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

21 people found this helpful
Tooltip Icon.
Read this next
Slide 1 of 6