Skip to main content
Read about

7 causes de la peau pâle

Comment savoir quand la pâleur est normale et quand elle est le signe d’une maladie grave.
·
Illustration représentant une vue de trois quarts d'une jeune femme assise sur un bloc bleu clair, les bras croisés devant elle, appuyée sur ses cuisses. Sa peau est d'un ton pêche très clair et pâle. Il y a un point d'interrogation blanc à droite de son corps. Elle porte un crop top bleu moyen à manches courtes, un short en jean taille haute bleu foncé et des baskets bleues. Ses cheveux courts avec une frange sont vert clair.
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated September 9, 2021

Quiz sur la peau pâle

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de votre peau pâle.

7 most common cause(s)

Illustration of a health care worker swabbing an individual.
Vitiligo
Hypothyroïdie
Carence en vitamine B12
Déficience en fer
URI aigus
Illustration of various health care options.
Blood cancers
Illustration of a person thinking with cross bandaids.
Sepsis

Quiz sur la peau pâle

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de votre peau pâle.

Répondez à un quiz sur la peau pâle

La peau pâle apparaît lorsque la couleur disparaît de votre visage. Cela peut arriver lorsque vous êtes effrayé ou choqué. Lorsque vous avez peur, le flux sanguin augmente vers vos organes vitaux dans le cadre de la réaction de combat ou de fuite, tandis que les vaisseaux sanguins se contractent (se rétrécissent) dans d’autres zones, comme la surface de votre peau. Et lorsque votre peau reçoit moins de sang, votre teint pâlit.

Une peau pâle peut être le signe d’un manque de globules rouges normaux (anémie), ce qui signifie que moins d’oxygène est délivré à votre corps. Cela peut être dû à une carence nutritionnelle, à une perte de sang ou à un cancer du sang comme la leucémie. D’autres causes de peau pâle incluent l’hypotension artérielle ou les infections.

Bien sûr, certaines personnes ont naturellement la peau pâle. C’est probablement génétique et ce n’est pas préoccupant.

Si vous présentez d'autres symptômes accompagnés d'une peau pâle, tels que de la fatigue, une perte de poids inexpliquée ou des ecchymoses plus faciles, vous devez appeler votre médecin.

Causes

1. Anémie ferriprive

Symptômes

Gens avecanémie ont une pénurie de globules rouges sains, qui transportent l’oxygène vers les tissus du corps. Une forme courante d’anémie est l’anémie ferriprive, causée par de faibles niveaux de fer. Cela peut survenir lorsque des personnes perdent du sang au fil du temps, par exemple à la suite de saignements gastriques ou intestinaux causés par des affections telles que des ulcères. Les femmes qui ont des saignements menstruels abondants peuvent également développer une anémie ferriprive.

L'anémie ferriprive peut s'aggraver avec le temps. Cela peut entraîner des problèmes cardiaques et des complications pendant la grossesse.

Votre médecin peut recommander des suppléments de fer en cas d'anémie ferriprive légère. Si la maladie est grave, vous aurez peut-être besoin d’une perfusion de fer ou d’une transfusion sanguine. Si votre médecin soupçonne que vos symptômes sont causés par une hémorragie interne, vous devrez peut-être effectuer des tests supplémentaires pour localiser la source de l'hémorragie.

Quelles sont les causes de l’anémie ferriprive ?

« L’anémie ferriprive peut survenir lorsqu’une personne présente des saignements gastro-intestinaux de l’estomac ou des intestins. Une peau pâle pourrait en fait être l'un des premiers signes, car le sang dans vos selles peut ne pas être visible à l'œil nu ; les médecins appellent cela du « sang occulte ».Dr. Anne Jacobsen

2. Infections respiratoires

Symptômes

  • Toux
  • Nez qui coule
  • Congestion
  • Fièvre et frissons
  • Fatigue
  • Peau pâle

Les infections respiratoires comprennent des conditions telles quegrippe (la grippe), une infection de la gorge et lerhume. Lorsque vous souffrez d’une maladie respiratoire, les vaisseaux sanguins de votre peau se contractent afin que votre corps puisse rediriger le flux sanguin pour traiter l’infection. Cela vous fait paraître pâle.

Les infections respiratoires peuvent devenir dangereuses si votre niveau d’oxygène descend trop en dessous de la plage normale. Le repos peut généralement vous aider à vous remettre d’une infection virale, mais vous devriez consulter votre médecin si vous avez du mal à respirer ou si vos symptômes ne s’améliorent pas. Vous devrez peut-être prendre des antibiotiques ou des médicaments antiviraux ou recevoir une oxygénothérapie.

Se faire vacciner contre la grippe chaque année peut minimiser le risque de développer des symptômes graves comme un manque d'oxygène.

3. Carence en folates

Symptômes

  • Peau pâle
  • Fatigue
  • Diminution de l'énergie
  • Difficulté à respirer

La carence en folate est un manque de vitamine B9 (folate). Cette vitamine est nécessaire à la fabrication des globules rouges qui transportent l’oxygène dans tout le corps. De faibles niveaux de folate entraînent une pénurie de globules rouges sains, ou anémie.

Une mauvaise alimentation peut entraîner cette carence en vitamines, tout comme l’alcoolisme et certains médicaments. Les femmes enceintes sont plus susceptibles de développer une carence en folate, car un fœtus en croissance a besoin de beaucoup de folate pour se développer. C'est pourquoi il est conseillé aux femmes enceintes de prendre quotidiennement un supplément contenant de l'acide folique (un type de folate utilisé dans les suppléments).

Une carence en folate peut imiter d’autres troubles comme l’hypothyroïdie ou l’anémie aplasique, il est donc important de consulter immédiatement un médecin pour les exclure. Si un test sanguin montre que vous avez un faible taux de folate, votre médecin peut vous recommander de prendre des suppléments d’acide folique.

4. Hypothyroïdie

Symptômes

  • Peau sèche et pâle
  • Fatigue ou faiblesse
  • Gain de poids
  • Constipation

La thyroïde est une glande située dans votre cou qui produit des hormones qui aident à contrôler le métabolisme de votre corps. L’hypothyroïdie survient lorsque la thyroïde ne produit pas suffisamment de ces hormones. Cela peut provoquer des changements cutanés, notamment une sécheresse ou une peau pâle.

Hypothyroïdie a de nombreuses causes. La cause la plus fréquente est la thyroïdite de Hashimoto, une maladie auto-immune qui amène le système immunitaire à attaquer la glande thyroïde. La radiothérapie et certains médicaments (comme le lithium) peuvent également provoquer une hypothyroïdie. Certaines femmes développent cette maladie pendant ou après la grossesse.

Lorsqu'elle n'est pas traitée, l'hypothyroïdie peut entraîner des complications telles que des problèmes cardiaques et l'infertilité. Les femmes enceintes doivent consulter immédiatement leur médecin si elles présentent des signes d'hypothyroïdie, car la maladie peut nuire au fœtus.

Le traitement varie en fonction de la cause sous-jacente, même si de nombreuses personnes devront prendre des médicaments contenant des hormones thyroïdiennes synthétiques.

Comment diagnostique-t-on une peau pâle chez les teints plus foncés ?

"Parfois, la peau pâle n'est pas visible chez les patients au teint plus foncé jusqu'à ce que le médecin vérifie l'intérieur de la bouche du patient ou examine l'intérieur de ses paupières." —Dr. Jacobsen

5. Vitiligo

Symptômes

  • Taches pâles ou blanches sur la peau
  • Blanchiment ou grisonnement prématuré des cheveux

Le vitiligo se produit lorsque des taches blanches se développent sur la peau en raison d'une perte de couleur (pigment) dans ces zones.

Elle est causée par un problème au niveau des cellules productrices de pigments, appelées mélanocytes. Le système immunitaire du corps les attaque. Environ 20 à 30 % des personnes qui en sont atteintes ont un parent proche qui en est atteint. Elle est considérée comme une réponse auto-immune et a tendance à survenir chez les personnes atteintes d’autres maladies auto-immunes comme celle de Hashimoto.

Le vitiligo peut également être causé par un traumatisme cutané, comme un coup de soleil grave.

Le vitiligo apparaît généralement d’abord sur les mains et le visage et peut se propager avec le temps. Des plaques de peau pâles peuvent être le seul symptôme. Parfois, cela disparaît tout seul. Si ce n’est pas le cas, consultez votre médecin. Des traitements tels que des crèmes médicamenteuses et la luminothérapie peuvent être recommandés pour restaurer la couleur de la peau.

6. Cancers du sang

Symptômes

Une peau pâle peut être le signe de cancers du sang tels que la leucémie, le myélome multiple etlymphome. Cela se produit parce que ces maladies entraînent des problèmes de production de globules rouges. Les gens peuvent donc développer une anémie, ce qui les rend pâles.

Les symptômes des cancers du sang peuvent imiter les symptômes de maladies moins graves, comme la grippe, l'épuisement ou simplement une sensation d'épuisement. Si votre rétablissement prend plus de temps que prévu après une maladie pseudo-grippale, ou si vous présentez des saignements ou des ecchymoses inhabituels, consultez votre médecin.

Le traitement du cancer du sang peut inclure des médicaments, une chimiothérapie, une radiothérapie, une greffe de cellules souches et une intervention chirurgicale.

7. Sepsie

Symptômes

La septicémie est la réponse extrême de votre corps à une infection bactérienne telle quepneumonie ouappendicite. La peau peut paraître pâle, en particulier lorsque la septicémie est compliquée par un choc ou une tension artérielle très basse. Les personnes dont le système immunitaire est affaibli ou qui ont des problèmes de santé chroniques peuvent être plus susceptibles de développer une septicémie lorsqu'elles tombent malades.

La septicémie est une urgence médicale et vous devriez vous rendre aux urgences. Les médecins effectueront des tests pour trouver la source de l’infection et vous traiteront avec des antibiotiques par voie intraveineuse.

Autres causes possibles

Voici d’autres conditions qui peuvent provoquer une peau pâle :

  • Les maladies chroniques telles quefibrose kystique, des problèmes cardiaques ou pulmonaires, ou d’autres types de cancer.
  • Une artère bloquée dans votre jambe (dans ce cas, vous auriez une peau pâle affectant uniquement cette zone).
  • L'anxiété ou la nervosité, bien que les accès de peau pâle soient brefs et s'améliorent généralement rapidement sans traitement.

Quand appeler le médecin

Il est important de surveiller votre peau pâle et d’appeler votre médecin si vous avez la peau pâle et :

  • Saignements ou ecchymoses anormaux ou accrus
  • Épuisement ou fatigue
  • Étourdissements
  • Faiblesse musculaire

Dois-je aller aux urgences pour une peau pâle ?

Vous devriez vous rendre aux urgences si vous présentez l’un de ces signes d’un problème plus grave :

  • Douleur thoracique
  • Difficulté à respirer
  • Évanouissement ou perdre connaissance
  • Rythme cardiaque rapide
  • Pression artérielle faible
  • Du sang dans vos vomissements ou vos selles
  • Confusion

Traitements

Soins à domicile

  • Adoptez une alimentation équilibrée comprenant une variété de fruits et de légumes, notamment des légumes-feuilles foncés, des légumineuses (haricots) et du bœuf.
  • Limitez votre consommation d’alcool.
  • Demandez à votre médecin si vous devez prendre un supplément vitaminique, surtout si vous êtes enceinte ou essayez de le devenir.

Conseil de soins préventifs

"Assurez-vous de respecter vos rendez-vous pour les examens physiques annuels avec votre médecin traitant et d'effectuer les tests recommandés. Des analyses de sang et des tests de dépistage de routine, comme une coloscopie, peuvent détecter certaines de ces conditions avant que vous ne développiez des symptômes."Dr. Jacobsen

Autres options de traitement

  • Suppléments de vitamines ou de fer
  • Médicament
  • Transfusion sanguine
  • Traitements du cancer tels que la chimiothérapie et la radiothérapie
  • Traitement complémentaire basé sur un diagnostic précis
Share your story
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.
Dr. Jacobsen is a board-certified Emergency Medicine physician and writer for Buoy Health. She received her undergraduate degrees in Chemistry and Biology from Macalester College (2006) and graduated from the University of Kansas School of Medicine (2010). She completed an Emergency Medicine residency program at the University of Missouri-Kansas City (2013). She practices community Emergency Medic...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

Tooltip Icon.
Read this next
Slide 1 of 4

Skip to main contentSkip to accessibility services
7 min read
No Ads

7 Causes of Pale Skin

How to tell when paleness is normal and when it’s a sign of serious conditions.
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated September 9, 2021

Pale skin questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your pale skin.

Pale skin questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your pale skin.

Pale skin symptom checker

Pale skin occurs when the color drains from your face. It can happen when you’re frightened or shocked. When you’re scared, blood flow increases to your vital organs as part of the fight or flight response, while the blood vessels constrict (narrow) in other areas, like the surface of your skin. And when your skin gets less blood flow, your complexion turns pale.

Pale skin can be a sign that you have a shortage of normal red blood cells (anemia), which means that less oxygen is delivered to your body. This can be from a nutritional deficiency, blood loss, or a blood cancer like leukemia.  Other causes of pale skin include low blood pressure or infection.

Of course, some people naturally have pale skin. It’s probably genetic and not a cause for concern.

If you have other symptoms along with pale skin—such as fatigue, unexplained weight loss, or you bruise more easily—you should call your doctor.

Causes

1. Iron deficiency anemia

Symptoms

People with anemia have a shortage of healthy red blood cells, which carry oxygen to the body’s tissues. One common form of anemia is iron deficiency anemia, which is caused by low iron levels. It can occur when people lose blood over time, such as through stomach or intestinal bleeding caused by conditions like ulcers. Women who experience heavy menstrual bleeding may also develop iron deficiency anemia.

Iron deficiency anemia can become more severe over time. It can lead to heart problems and complications in pregnancy.

Your doctor may recommend iron supplements for mild iron deficiency anemia. If the condition is severe, you may need an iron infusion or blood transfusion. If your doctor suspects that your symptoms are caused by internal bleeding, you may need further testing to locate the source of the bleeding.

What causes iron deficiency anemia?

“Iron deficiency anemia can occur when someone has gastrointestinal bleeding from their stomach or intestines.  Pale skin could actually be one of the first signs, since blood in your stools may not be visible to the naked eye; doctors refer to this as ‘occult blood.’”—Dr. Anne Jacobsen

2. Respiratory infections

Symptoms

  • Cough
  • Runny nose
  • Congestion
  • Fever and chills
  • Fatigue
  • Pale skin

Respiratory infections include conditions like influenza (the flu), throat infection, and the common cold. When you have a respiratory illness, the blood vessels in your skin constrict so your body can redirect blood flow to treat the infection. This makes you look pale.

Respiratory infections can become dangerous if your oxygen levels drop too far below the normal range. Rest can usually help you recover from a viral infection, but you should see your doctor if you have trouble breathing or your symptoms don’t get better. You may need to take antibiotics or antiviral medication or receive oxygen therapy.

Getting the flu vaccine every year can minimize your risk of developing serious symptoms like low oxygen.

Pale skin questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your pale skin.

Pale skin symptom checker

3. Folate deficiency

Symptoms

  • Pale skin
  • Fatigue
  • Decreased energy
  • Trouble breathing

Folate deficiency is a shortage of vitamin B9 (folate). This vitamin is needed to make red blood cells, which carry oxygen throughout the body. Low folate levels lead to a shortage of healthy red blood cells, or anemia.

A poor diet can lead to this vitamin deficiency, as can alcoholism and some medications. Pregnant women are more likely to develop a folate deficiency because a growing fetus needs a lot of folate for development. This is why pregnant women are advised to take a daily supplement containing folic acid (a type of folate used in supplements.)

Folate deficiency can mimic other disorders like hypothyroidism or aplastic anemia, so it’s important to see a doctor right away to rule those out. If a blood test shows you’re low in folate, your doctor may recommend taking folic acid supplements.

4. Hypothyroidism

Symptoms

The thyroid is a gland in your neck that makes hormones to help control your body’s metabolism. Hypothyroidism occurs when the thyroid doesn’t produce enough of these hormones. This can cause skin changes, including dryness or pale skin.

Hypothyroidism has many causes. The most common cause is Hashimoto’s thyroiditis, an autoimmune condition that causes the immune system to attack the thyroid gland. Radiation therapy and certain medications (such as lithium) can also cause hypothyroidism. Some women develop the condition during or after pregnancy.

When untreated, hypothyroidism can cause complications such as heart problems and infertility. Pregnant women should see their doctor immediately if they have signs of hypothyroidism because the disease can harm the fetus.

Treatment varies depending on the underlying cause, though many people will need to take medication that contains synthetic thyroid hormones.

How is pale skin diagnosed in darker complexions?

"Sometimes pale skin isn’t noticeable in patients with darker complexions until the doctor checks inside the patient’s mouth or examines the insides of their eyelids." —Dr. Jacobsen

5. Vitiligo

Symptoms

  • Pale or white patches on the skin
  • Premature whitening or graying of hair

Vitiligo is when white patches develop on the skin because of a loss of color (pigment) in these areas.

It’s caused by a problem with the pigment-producing cells, called melanocytes. The body’s immune system attacks them. About 20% to 30% of people who get it have a close relative who has it. It is considered an autoimmune response and tends to occur in people with other autoimmune diseases like Hashimoto’s.

Vitiligo can also be caused by skin trauma, such as a severe sunburn.

Vitiligo usually appears on the hands and face first and may spread over time. Pale patches of skin may be the only symptom. Sometimes, it goes away on its own. If it doesn’t, see your doctor. Treatments such as medicated creams and light therapy may be recommended to restore skin color.

6. Blood cancers

Symptoms

Pale skin can be a sign of blood cancers such as leukemia, multiple myeloma, and lymphoma. It occurs because these diseases cause problems with the production of red blood cells. So people may develop anemia, which makes them look pale.

Symptoms of blood cancers can mimic symptoms of less serious conditions, such as the flu, exhaustion, or just feeling run down. If your recovery is taking longer than expected after a flu-like illness, or if you have unusual bleeding or bruising, see your doctor.

Treatment for blood cancer may include medications, chemotherapy, radiation therapy, stem cell transplantation, and surgery.

Pale skin questionnaire

Use our free symptom checker to find out what's causing your pale skin.

Pale skin symptom checker

7. Sepsis

Symptoms

Sepsis is your body’s extreme response to a bacterial infection such as pneumonia or appendicitis. Skin can appear pale, particularly when sepsis is complicated by shock or severely low blood pressure. People with weakened immune systems or chronic health problems may be more likely to develop sepsis when they become ill.

Sepsis is a medical emergency and you should go to the ER. Doctors will perform tests to find the source of infection and treat you with intravenous antibiotics.

Other possible causes

Here are other conditions that can cause pale skin:

  • Chronic diseases such as cystic fibrosis, heart or lung problems, or other types of cancers.
  • A blocked artery in your leg (in this case you’d have pale skin only affecting that area).
  • Anxiety or nervousness, though bouts of pale skin will be brief and usually improve quickly without treatment.

When to call the doctor

It’s important to monitor your pale skin and call your doctor if you have pale skin and:

  • Abnormal or increased bleeding or bruising
  • Exhaustion or fatigue
  • Dizzy spells
  • Muscle weakness

Should I go to the ER for pale skin?

You should go to the ER if you have any of these signs of a more serious problem:

  • Chest pain
  • Difficulty breathing
  • Fainting or losing consciousness
  • Rapid heart rate
  • Low blood pressure
  • Blood in your vomit or stools
  • Confusion

Treatments

At-home care

  • Eat a balanced diet that includes a variety of fruits and vegetables, including dark leafy greens, legumes (beans), and beef.
  • Limit alcohol intake.
  • Ask your doctor if you need to take a vitamin supplement, especially if you’re pregnant or trying to become pregnant.

Preventive care tip

"Make sure you keep appointments for annual physical exams with your primary care doctor and complete recommended tests. Routine blood work and screening tests like a colonoscopy can catch some of these conditions before you develop symptoms."—Dr. Jacobsen

Other treatment options

  • Vitamin or iron supplements
  • Medication
  • Blood transfusion
  • Cancer treatments such as chemotherapy and radiation therapy
  • Additional treatment based on specific diagnosis
Share your story
Dr. Jacobsen is a board-certified Emergency Medicine physician and writer for Buoy Health. She received her undergraduate degrees in Chemistry and Biology from Macalester College (2006) and graduated from the University of Kansas School of Medicine (2010). She completed an Emergency Medicine residency program at the University of Missouri-Kansas City (2013). She practices community Emergency Medic...
Read full bio

Was this article helpful?

3 people found this helpful
Tooltip Icon.