Skip to main content
Read about

Symptômes, causes et questions courantes de douleurs aiguës et lancinantes au pied

·
Illustration d'une femme assise avec une jambe pliée contre le sol et l'autre pliée avec le genou pointé vers le haut et son pied droit dans ses mains. Elle grimace, montre des dents blanches, et des lignes blanches avec des cercles bleus au bout ainsi que deux éclairs jaunes sortent du pied dans ses mains. Elle a de longs cheveux violets, une peau couleur pêche clair et porte un débardeur flou, des leggings capri marron et une sneaker vert clair sur l'autre pied.
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated October 20, 2021

Quiz sur les douleurs aiguës aux pieds

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de votre douleur.

Comprenez vos symptômes aigus et lancinants de douleur au pied, y compris 9 causes et questions courantes.

9 most common cause(s)

Syndrome du tunnel tarsien
Tendinopathie du tibial postérieur
Illustration of a person thinking with cross bandaids.
Neuropathie périphérique idiopathique chronique
Fasciite plantaire
Entorse du pied
Illustration of a doctor beside a bedridden patient.
Charcot arthropathy of the foot
Illustration of a doctor beside a bedridden patient.
Foreign body in foot
Illustration of various health care options.
Frostnip of the lower limbs
Illustration of various health care options.
Jones fracture (broken foot)

Quiz sur les douleurs aiguës aux pieds

Répondez à un quiz pour découvrir la cause de votre douleur.

Répondez à un quiz sur les douleurs aiguës au pied

9 causes de douleurs aiguës et lancinantes au pied

Cette liste ne constitue pas un avis médical et peut ne pas représenter avec précision ce que vous avez.

Syndrome du tunnel tarsien

Le tunnel tarsien est un espace étroit situé à l’intérieur de la cheville, à côté des os de la cheville.Syndrome du tunnel tarsien est une compression, ou une compression, sur un nerf important appelé nerf tibial postérieur. Cette compression produit des symptômes n’importe où le long du trajet du nerf allant de l’intérieur de la cheville au pied.

Vous devriez consulter votre médecin traitant qui coordonnera vos soins avec un spécialiste des muscles et des os (chirurgien orthopédiste). Le syndrome du tunnel tarsien est traité avec des analgésiques, des injections de corticostéroïdes, des étirements, du glaçage, de la physiothérapie ainsi que des orthèses spéciales pour chaussures.

Tendinopathie du tibial postérieur

Tendinopathie du tibial postérieur

Le tendon du tibial postérieur attache le muscle du mollet aux os situés sous le pied. Il offre stabilité et soutien de la voûte plantaire. Si ce tendon est endommagé, le résultat peut être un pied plat et instable.

La tendinopathie du tibial postérieur est le plus souvent une blessure sportive, dans laquelle le tendon devient enflammé ou déchiré par une utilisation excessive ou un impact important.

Les symptômes comprennent des douleurs à la cheville et au pied, parfois accompagnées d'un gonflement. La douleur s'aggrave avec toute activité, même debout ou marchant. En position debout, la voûte plantaire du patient sera affaissée et plate et l'avant du pied sera pointé vers l'extérieur. Le patient sera incapable de se tenir debout sur le pied blessé et de relever le talon.

Le diagnostic repose sur les antécédents du patient, l'examen physique et l'imagerie telle qu'une radiographie, une tomodensitométrie ou une IRM.

Le traitement implique du repos, des analgésiques en vente libre, des orthèses (coussinets de chaussures), des appareils orthodontiques et parfois des injections de stéroïdes dans le tendon endommagé. La chirurgie peut être tentée, mais elle a tendance à être complexe et ne peut pas toujours restaurer complètement le tendon.

Rareté: Ultra rare

Principaux symptômes : pied enflé, douleur dans un pied, boiterie, douleur dans une cheville, douleur spontanée à la cheville

Symptômes qui n’apparaissent jamais avec la tendinopathie du tibial postérieur : accident de coupe récent

Urgence: Médecin de soins primaires

Fasciite plantaire

Fasciite plantaire est une condition dans laquelle l’épaisse bande de tissu qui traverse la plante du pied devient enflammée. Il s'agit d'un problème courant chez les coureurs, les personnes en surpoids et celles qui portent des chaussures avec un soutien inadéquat. Lorsque l’épaisse bande de tissu (fascia) devient enflammée, cela peut provoquer des douleurs au talon.

Vous pouvez traiter vous-même cette affection en toute sécurité avec des analgésiques en vente libre (Advil, Motrin), ainsi que des semelles de chaussures (orthèses) pour aider à répartir plus uniformément la pression sur les pieds. Si la douleur ne commence pas à s’atténuer, consultez un physiothérapeute.

Fracture de Jones (pied cassé)

Une fracture de Jones est une fracture d'un os situé à l'extérieur du pied (appelé cinquième métatarsien). Une fracture de Jones peut être soit une fracture de stress (une petite cassure capillaire qui se développe avec le temps), soit une fracture soudaine due à un traumatisme. Cela peut entraîner une douleur, un gonflement et une sensibilité à l’extérieur du pied.

Vous devriez consulter votre médecin traitant ou un service de soins d’urgence aujourd’hui. En attendant, la méthode de soins RICE doit être appliquée : repos (ne pas toucher le pied blessé), glace (appliquer un sac de glace sur la zone blessée), compression (une enveloppe élastique pour contrôler l'enflure) et élévation (élever le pied légèrement au-dessus). le niveau du cœur pour réduire l'enflure). Un médecin peut effectuer une radiographie et mettre un plâtre ou une attelle sur le pied.

Rareté: Rare

Principaux symptômes : difficulté à marcher, douleur constante au pied, douleur dans un pied, ecchymose au pied, blessure au pied

Symptômes qui surviennent toujours avec la fracture de Jones (pied cassé) : douleur au pied due à une blessure, douleur au toucher du pied, douleur constante au pied, douleur dans la moitié avant du pied, douleur à l'extérieur du pied

Urgence: Visite en personne

Gelure des membres inférieurs

Le Frostnip est un dommage des couches les plus externes de la peau causé par une exposition au froid (à 32F ou 0C ou moins). On le trouve le plus souvent chez les personnes pratiquant des activités de loisirs comme le camping, la chasse ou les sports de neige.

Les personnes suspectées d'engelure doivent retirer leurs vêtements mouillés. Frotter les zones touchées aggrave les dommages causés aux tissus. Vous devriez vous rendre aux soins d'urgence. Si le réchauffement peut se produire sans risque de recongélation, il peut être essayé sur le terrain. En cas de soins d'urgence, les médecins vous guideront pour réchauffer doucement la zone blessée dans de l'eau à 98-102F (37C-39C). De plus, de l'ibuprofène, des antibiotiques et une injection contre le tétanos peuvent être nécessaires.

Rareté: Rare

Principaux symptômes : douleur au pied, pied enflé, engourdissement du pied, rougeur du pied, boiterie

Symptômes qui surviennent toujours avec les engelures des membres inférieurs : orteil froid

Urgence: Visite en personne

Corps étranger dans le pied

Un corps étranger dans le pied se produit lorsqu'un objet comme un éclat, un clou ou un verre se loge dans la peau.

Vous devriez demander des soins rapides dans une clinique de soins d’urgence. Nettoyez délicatement la zone avec de l'eau et du savon. Appliquez une pommade antibiotique et un pansement. Une prophylaxie contre le tétanos peut être nécessaire.

Rareté: Rare

Principaux symptômes : douleur au pied, pied marchant sur un objet

Symptômes qui surviennent toujours en cas de corps étranger dans le pied : douleur au pied, pied marchant sur un objet

Urgence: Visite en personne

Entorse du pied

Les os de la cheville et du pied sont maintenus ensemble par des ligaments, qui sont des bandes de tissus durs. Unentorse de la cheville est un type de blessure dans lequel un ou plusieurs ligaments sont trop étirés, provoquant la déchirure de minuscules fibres des ligaments. Dans la plupart des cas, le ligament ne se déchire pas complètement. Une entorse est causée par un étirement excessif ou une déchirure des ligaments. Cela peut se produire lorsque le pied roule, se tord ou tourne trop.

Neuropathie périphérique idiopathique chronique

Neuropathie périphérique fait référence à la sensation d’engourdissement, de picotement et de fourmillements dans les pieds. Idiopathique signifie que la cause n’est pas connue et chronique signifie que la maladie persiste sans s’améliorer ni s’aggraver.

Cette maladie touche le plus souvent les personnes de plus de 60 ans. La neuropathie idiopathique n’a aucune cause connue.

Les symptômes comprennent un engourdissement inconfortable et des picotements dans les pieds ; difficulté à se tenir debout ou à marcher en raison de la douleur et du manque de sensibilité normale ; et faiblesse et crampes dans les muscles des pieds et des chevilles.

La neuropathie périphérique peut grandement interférer avec la qualité de vie, c'est pourquoi un médecin doit être consulté afin de traiter les symptômes et de réduire l'inconfort.

Le diagnostic est posé par un examen physique ; des tests sanguins pour exclure d’autres conditions ; et des études neurologiques et musculaires telles que l'électromyographie.

Le traitement implique des analgésiques en vente libre ; des analgésiques sur ordonnance pour gérer les douleurs plus intenses ; physiothérapie et mesures de sécurité pour compenser la perte de sensation dans les pieds ; et des chaussures thérapeutiques pour aider à l’équilibre et à la marche.

Rareté: Rare

Principaux symptômes : engourdissement distal, douleurs musculaires, raideur articulaire, engourdissement des deux côtés du corps, perte de masse musculaire

Urgence: Médecin de soins primaires

Arthropathie de Charcot du pied

L'arthropathie de Charcot du pied est un syndrome dans lequel les patients présentant un engourdissement des pieds, qui peut être causé par diverses affections sous-jacentes telles que le diabète, développent un affaiblissement des os du pied et de la cheville. Ainsi, ils peuvent présenter des fractures et des luxations des os et des articulations qui surviennent avec peu de traumatisme.

Vous devriez consulter votre médecin traitant qui coordonnera probablement les soins avec un spécialiste des muscles et des os (chirurgien orthopédiste). Le traitement implique généralement une fente protectrice, une attelle de marche ou un plâtre.

Rareté: Rare

Principaux symptômes : douleurs articulaires, gonflement constant du pied, douleur dans un pied, gonflement chaud et rouge du pied, gonflement des deux pieds

Symptômes qui surviennent toujours avec l'arthropathie de Charcot du pied : gonflement rouge et chaud du pied, gonflement constant du pied

Urgence: Médecin de soins primaires

Questions que votre médecin peut poser sur une douleur aiguë et lancinante au pied

  • Vous êtes-vous récemment blessé au pied ?
  • On vous a déjà dit que vous aviez les pieds plats ?
  • Courez-vous pour faire de l'exercice ou pour faire du sport ?
  • Quelle est votre masse corporelle ?

Auto-diagnostiquez avec notre service gratuitAssistant de bouée si vous répondez oui à l'une de ces questions.

Statistiques de vérification des symptômes de la douleur au pied aiguë et lancinante

Les personnes qui ont ressenti des douleurs aiguës et lancinantes au pied ont également ressenti :

  • 5%Engourdissement des pieds
  • 4%Pied enflé
  • 3%Pied qui picote

Les personnes qui ont ressenti des douleurs aiguës et lancinantes au pied étaient le plus souvent associées à :

  • 50%Tendinopathie du tibial postérieur
  • 33%Entorse du pied
  • 16%Fasciite plantaire

Les personnes qui ont ressenti une douleur aiguë et lancinante au pied présentaient des symptômes persistants pour :

  • 32%Plus d'un mois
  • 26%Moins d'une semaine
  • 22%Moins d'une journée

Source : Résultats agrégés et anonymisés deAssistant de bouée.

Share your story
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.

Was this article helpful?

Tooltip Icon.
Read this next
Slide 1 of 2

Skip to main content
Read about

Sharp, Stabbing Foot Pain Symptoms, Causes & Common Questions

An illustration of a woman sitting with one leg bent against the ground and the other bent with the knee pointing upward and her right foot in her hands. She is grimacing, showing white teeth, and white lines with blue circles at the end as well as two yellow lightning bolts come from the foot in her hands. She has long, purple hair, light peach-toned skin, and is wearing a blur tank top, brown capri leggings, and a light green sneaker on the other foot.
Tooltip Icon.
Last updated March 27, 2024

Sharp foot pain quiz

Take a quiz to find out what's causing your pain.

Understand your sharp, stabbing foot pain symptoms, including 9 causes and common questions.

9 most common cause(s)

Tarsal Tunnel Syndrome
Posterior Tibialis Tendinopathy
Illustration of various health care options.
Chronic Idiopathic Peripheral Neuropathy
Plantar Fasciitis
Foot Sprain
Illustration of a health care worker swabbing an individual.
Charcot arthropathy of the foot
Illustration of various health care options.
Foreign body in foot
Illustration of a doctor beside a bedridden patient.
Frostnip of the lower limbs
Illustration of a person thinking with cross bandaids.
Jones fracture (broken foot)

Sharp foot pain quiz

Take a quiz to find out what's causing your pain.

Take sharp foot pain quiz

⚡️ Powered by AI

Get personalized answers to your health questions

Our clinically-backed AI will ask you questions and provide an answer specific to your unique health situation.

✨ BETA

Your response today was provided by ChatGPT trained on the proprietary content of this page. Please note, this tool is for information purposes only and not intended to be used as a substitute for professional advice. You assume responsibility for decisions made with your individual medical situation.

Was this information helpful?

Thank you! Buoy values your feedback. The more we know about what’s working – and what could improve – the better we can make our experience.

9 causes of sharp, stabbing foot pain

This list does not constitute medical advice and may not accurately represent what you have.

Tarsal tunnel syndrome

The tarsal tunnel is a narrow space that lies on the inside of the ankle next to the ankle bones. Tarsal tunnel syndrome is a compression, or squeezing, on an important nerve called the posterior tibial nerve. This compression produces symptoms anywhere along the path of the nerve running from the inside of the ankle into the foot.

You should visit your primary care physician who will coordinate your care with a muscle and bone specialist (orthopedic surgeon). Tarsal tunnel syndrome is treated with pain medication, corticosteroid injections, stretching, icing, physical therapy, and also special orthotic inserts for shoes.

Posterior tibialis tendinopathy

Posterior tibialis tendinopathy

The posterior tibialis tendon attaches the calf muscle to the bones on the underside of the foot. It provides stability and arch support. If this tendon is damaged, the result may be a flat, unstable foot.

Posterior tibialis tendinopathy is most often a sports injury, where the tendon becomes inflamed or torn through overuse or high impact.

Symptoms include pain down the ankle and into the foot, sometimes with swelling. The pain becomes worse with any activity, even standing or walking. When standing, the patient's arch will be collapsed and flat and the front of the foot will point outward. The patient will be unable to stand on the injured foot and raise the heel.

Diagnosis is made through patient history, physical examination, and imaging such as x-ray, CT scan, or MRI.

Treatment involves rest, over-the-counter pain relievers, orthotics (shoe pads,) braces, and sometimes steroid injections into the damaged tendon. Surgery can be tried, but tends to be complex and cannot always restore the tendon completely.

Rarity: Ultra rare

Top Symptoms: swollen foot, pain in one foot, limping, pain in one ankle, spontaneous ankle pain

Symptoms that never occur with posterior tibialis tendinopathy: recent cutting accident

Urgency: Primary care doctor

Plantar fasciitis

Plantar fasciitis is a condition where the thick band of tissue that runs across the bottom of the foot becomes inflamed. This is a common problem in runners, people who are overweight, and those who wear shoes with inadequate support. When the thick band of tissue (fascia) becomes inflamed, it can cause heel pain.

You can safely treat this condition on your own with over-the-counter pain killers (Advil, Motrin), as well as shoe inserts (orthotics) to help distribute pressure to the feet more evenly. If pain does not begin to subside, seek consultation with a physical therapist.

Jones fracture (broken foot)

A Jones Fracture is a fracture of a bone on the outside of the foot (called the fifth metatarsal). A Jones fracture can be either a stress fracture (a tiny hairline break that develops with time), or a sudden break due to trauma. This can result in pain, swelling, and tenderness on the outside of the foot.

You should visit your primary care physician or an urgent care today. Until then, the RICE method of care should be performed: rest (stay off the injured foot), ice (apply an ice pack to injured area), compression (an elastic wrap to control swelling), and elevation (raising the foot slightly above the level of the heart to reduce swelling). A doctor may perform a X-ray and put a cast or splint on the foot.

Rarity: Rare

Top Symptoms: difficulty walking, constant foot pain, pain in one foot, foot bruise, foot injury

Symptoms that always occur with jones fracture (broken foot): foot pain from an injury, pain when touching the foot, constant foot pain, pain in the front half of the foot, pain in the outside of the foot

Urgency: In-person visit

Frostnip of the lower limbs

Frostnip is damage of the outermost layers of the skin caused by exposure to the cold (at or below 32F or 0C). It is most commonly found in people doing leisurely activities like camping, hunting, or snow sports.

Those with suspected frostnip should have wet clothing removed. Rubbing affected areas worsens damage to the tissue. You should go to an urgent care. If rewarming can occur without chance of refreezing, it can be tried in the field. At urgent care, the doctors will guide you in gently re-warming the wounded area in 98-102F (37C-39C) water. Further, ibuprofen, antibiotics, and a tetanus shot may be necessary

Rarity: Rare

Top Symptoms: foot pain, swollen foot, foot numbness, foot redness, limping

Symptoms that always occur with frostnip of the lower limbs: cold toe

Urgency: In-person visit

Foreign body in foot

A foreign body in foot occurs when something like a splinter, nail, or glass becomes lodged in the skin.

You should seek prompt care at an urgent care clinic. Gently clean the area with soap and water. Apply an antibiotic ointment and bandage. Tetanus prophylaxis may be needed.

Rarity: Rare

Top Symptoms: foot pain, foot stepping on an object

Symptoms that always occur with foreign body in foot: foot pain, foot stepping on an object

Urgency: In-person visit

Foot sprain

The bones of the ankle and foot are held together by ligaments, which are bands of tough tissue. An ankle sprain is a type of injury where one or more of the ligaments is stretched too far, causing tiny fibers in the ligaments to tear. In most cases, the ligament does not tear completely. A sprain is caused by the ligaments being stretched too far or tearing. This can happen when the foot rolls rolls, twists or turns too much.

Chronic idiopathic peripheral neuropathy

Peripheral neuropathy refers to the feeling of numbness, tingling, and pins-and-needles sensation in the feet. Idiopathic means the cause is not known, and chronic means the condition is ongoing without getting better or worse.

The condition is most often found in people over age 60. Idiopathic neuropathy has no known cause.

Symptoms include uncomfortable numbness and tingling in the feet; difficulty standing or walking due to pain and lack of normal sensitivity; and weakness and cramping in the muscles of the feet and ankles.

Peripheral neuropathy can greatly interfere with quality of life, so a medical provider should be seen in order to treat the symptoms and reduce the discomfort.

Diagnosis is made through physical examination; blood tests to rule out other conditions; and neurologic and muscle studies such as electromyography.

Treatment involves over-the-counter pain relievers; prescription pain relievers to manage more severe pain; physical therapy and safety measures to compensate for loss of sensation in the feet; and therapeutic footwear to help with balance and walking.

Rarity: Rare

Top Symptoms: distal numbness, muscle aches, joint stiffness, numbness on both sides of body, loss of muscle mass

Urgency: Primary care doctor

Charcot arthropathy of the foot

Charcot arthropathy of the foot is a syndrome where patients with numbness of their feet, which can be caused by a variety of underlying conditions such as diabetes, develop weakening of the bones in the foot and ankle. Thus they may have fractures and dislocations of the bones and joints that occur with little trauma.

You should visit your primary care physician who will likely coordinate care with a muscle and bone specialist (orthopedic surgeon). Treatment usually involves a protective split, walking brace, or cast.

Rarity: Rare

Top Symptoms: joint pain, constant foot swelling, pain in one foot, warm red foot swelling, swelling of both feet

Symptoms that always occur with charcot arthropathy of the foot: warm red foot swelling, constant foot swelling

Urgency: Primary care doctor

Questions your doctor may ask about sharp, stabbing foot pain

  • Did you recently injure your foot?
  • Have you ever been told you have flat feet?
  • Do you run for exercise or sport?
  • What is your body mass?

Self-diagnose with our free Buoy Assistant if you answer yes on any of these questions.

Sharp, stabbing foot pain symptom checker statistics

People who have experienced sharp, stabbing foot pain have also experienced:

  • 5% Foot Numbness
  • 4% Swollen Foot
  • 3% Tingling Foot

People who have experienced sharp, stabbing foot pain were most often matched with:

  • 50% Posterior Tibialis Tendinopathy
  • 33% Foot Sprain
  • 16% Plantar Fasciitis

People who have experienced sharp, stabbing foot pain had symptoms persist for:

  • 32% Over a month
  • 26% Less than a week
  • 22% Less than a day

Source: Aggregated and anonymized results from Buoy Assistant.

Hear what 7 others are saying
Once your story receives approval from our editors, it will exist on Buoy as a helpful resource for others who may experience something similar.
The stories shared below are not written by Buoy employees. Buoy does not endorse any of the information in these stories. Whenever you have questions or concerns about a medical condition, you should always contact your doctor or a healthcare provider.
Unresolved pain in foot.Posted February 14, 2024 by j.
experienced sharp stabbing burning pain under heel and in arch . Tried orthotics but it worsened pain. Gp ordered xray and ultrasound. The lady taking ultrasound pointed out a "mass" in area of arch. Result from radiologist " suggest clinical correlation". In other words, they don't know! One month on, still in pain and no solution!
Mysterious awful foot painPosted February 1, 2024 by J.
I have no idea what's going on but I will get random bouts of seething pain in my feet. It's no ordinary foot pain. My feet literally feel like they are frozen I live in San Diego California so the weather is not a factor and I dont over do it with walking. Seriously when I say frozen I mean they literally feel so cold they feel like they are burning. I guess kind of like frost bite. The pain usually spreads to the bottoms of my feet with a different kind of intense pain that feels like I walked forever in awful shoes. I have no idea why this is happening. (sometimes when this occurs just my toes will feel slightly cold to the touch even when it isnt cold. I noticed sometimes one foot might hurt slightly more than the other but it always affects both my feet.
Severe heel painPosted November 10, 2023 by R.
Since March 2021 I felt like something clipped my foodt and experiencing needle pain on my left foot. I have been in pain especially if I stepped on a stone it's painful.

Was this article helpful?

55 people found this helpful
Tooltip Icon.
Read this next
Slide 1 of 2